寻找自己的长处:Fariba Pacheleh在整个职业生涯中的成长和倡导

By 艾莉森·尼尔(Alison Knill) (推特: @alison_knill)

您在工作中面临一个问题:您正在与一个南美团队合作进行一个项目。 最初的面对面见面和问候后,通信切换为电话会议和视频通话。 那是当您注意到南美团队有时在您需要他们的意见时变得非常安静。 您如何确保开放的沟通?

法里巴·帕切列(Fariba Pacheleh),是SCWIST的前任总裁,目前是该公司的企业战略项目总监 卑诗省白酒分销处 谁最近被授予 加拿大皇家银行前25名加拿大移民奖,那就是她的生活。 她选择通过与人们的核心价值观联系的愿望来理解问题。

她说:“首先,作为人类,我们所有人都有不同的背景,不同的文化,但我们可以拥有相似的核心价值观。” “这对理解非常非常有帮助,因为如果您拥有相同的价值观,无论您来自何方,都可以建立联系,就可以有效地开展合作。”

正是在视频通话中,Fariba意识到当南美团队对英语会话的理解感到不舒服时,他们变得安静了。 他们不想因为表现出任何误解而感到尴尬。 为了解决该问题,Fariba派了一位讲西班牙语的同事参加所有会议,以帮助促进强有力的沟通和富有成效的团队活力。

成为领导者

创建富有成效的团队是Fariba的优势之一。 她可以看到一个人的擅长之处以及如何与他人相结合。

她说:“您可以建立这些优势,将其带入团队,并确保自己取得成功。” “这并不意味着您将不会遇到挑战,但是您会应对挑战并期待它们。”

寻找自己的优势和品牌是一个挑战。 在担任第一任管理职务时,Fariba努力放弃任务并委托他人。 如果她知道自己可以快速,高质量地完成这项工作,那为什么还要等别人去做呢? 委派使她将注意力集中在更重要的任务上。 这也让她的教练团队成员也可以学习新技能。 

当教练队犯错误时,法里巴还提高了她的领导能力。 她学会了使用三明治模型-赞美批评-但她对此技术并不感到真正。

她说:“我喜欢基于事实的[方法],因为我喜欢变得更加真诚,并且希望与人们保持联系。”

她喜欢进行前期沟通,因此提供事实反馈适合她的风格。 通过经验中学到的教训。 

她说:“当您担任更多领导职务时,会面临不同的挑战。” “您必须了解自己……看看是什么推动了您的操作,并开始学习有关情商的知识。”

是什么推动了法里巴的按钮? 以个人而非客观的方式对待事物。 她知道这会影响她处理情况的方式,例如当一位同事向她挑战时。 Fariba学会了改变自己的反应,以便她可以根据她认为有能力的人的建议更客观地看待事情。 赞助.

她说:“我有很棒的导师,是的,有几个赞助商,那些捍卫你和你的能力的人,即使你不在场。”

当谈到批评带来的伤痛感时,她的赞助商建议法里巴(Fariba):“放手,如果其中没有任何可以使您成长和学习的东西。 如果有人向您扔东西,那么如果您不接受它就不会成为您的东西。”

支持的重要性

拥有同龄人的支持和另类的观点可能是申请新的机会和工作,还是只是安全地工作之间的区别。 对于Fariba来说,有人说她应该绝对应聘是Fariba所需要的推动,并帮助她更加相信自己。

她仍然怀疑自己,但是现在她在了解了“冒名顶替综合症”后就明白了为什么。

她说:“现在,即使我仍然感到怀疑,我仍然有意识,但这并不会阻止我向前迈出一步。” “老实说,我认为作为移民,我们会更加怀疑自己。”

Fariba的职业生涯始于伊朗,她能够毫无问题地适应这种环境。 但是,当她来到加拿大时,她经历了人们的无意识偏见,并说她需要进一步证明自己。

她记得在加拿大的第一份工作期间,她在该领域积累了很多经验和教育,但是在最初的几年中,她一直在观察那些经验不足且受过良好教育的人正在寻求新的机会。 尽管他们是一个多元化的工作场所,但他们并未与移民雇员接洽。

她的口音使人们不相信她知道发生了什么,她觉得自己需要表演以表明自己知道如何做。 有时,她觉得自己像个局外人。

但是她继续学习不要把事情当成个人。 当谈话中出现文化差异时,她会幽默,或者会要求人们进行解释。

谈到文化差异时,法里巴说她的关键词是:“听,幽默感,随它去。”

加强性别平等

Fariba的经验表明,在工作场所提供支持,公平和包容至关重要。 在获得晋升和新工作方面,法里巴并不仅仅从男性赞助商或导师那里获得建议。 她知道许多行政女性都得到了男性的支持,以担任第一任行政职务。

她说:“这向我表明,对于女性来说,独自移动并不容易。” “您确实需要有一个非常强大的男性赞助商,这就是为什么男性参与性别平等如此重要的原因。”

法里巴(Fariba)大力倡导性别平等。 她认为获得政府支持是迈出的重要一步,但这项工作尚未完成。 各组织之间需要继续合作,需要男性的参与和支持,还需要帮助妇女改变自我观念。

她说:“妇女的权利是人权,我们不应该说男人或女人……二元或非二元的,我们都是人类。”

Fariba参与了一项重大合作 加拿大性别平等网络。 她是其中之一 西南工业大学 GENC的代表致力于建立国家合作行动,以解决影响妇女平等的障碍。

她目前还通过继续参与SCWIST来促进妇女平等,SCWIST主张通过妇女平等和包容性来实现平等和包容。 成为可能使多样性成为可能 程式。

随着倡导平等,多样性和包容性变得越来越普遍,特别是在组织和政府的支持下,法里巴说:“关于性别平等的对话很久以前就开始了,并陷入僵局。 现在,我感到随着组织围绕多样性和包容性进行讨论,力量正在发生转变。”

但是工作还没有完成。

“ [让平等和平等成为历史课还有很长的路要走,但是我们已经开始在董事会和领导角色中看到这种对话的效果。”

艾莉森·克尼尔(Alison Knill)毕业于UBC新闻学硕士课程,并且是前SCWIST传播实习生。 对艾莉森有疑问吗? 通过推特联系她 @alison_knill.

Finding Your Own Strengths: Fariba Pacheleh’s Growth and Advocacy Throughout Her Career

By Alison Knill (Twitter: @alison_knill)

You’re faced with a problem at work: you’re collaborating with a South American team on a project. After the initial in-person meet and greet, communication switches to conference and video calls. That’s when you notice that the South American team sometimes goes very quiet when you need their input. How do you ensure open communication?

For Fariba Pacheleh, a SCWIST past president and currently the Director of Corporate Strategic Projects at the BC Liquor Distribution Branch who was recently honored with the RBC Top 25 Canadian Immigrant award, that was her life. She chose to understand the problem through her desire to connect with people’s core values.

“First of all, as human beings we all can have different backgrounds, different cultures, but we can have similar core values,” she says. “That is very, very helpful to understand because if you share the same values, no matter where you come from, you can connect, you can work together effectively.”

It was during the video calls that Fariba realized the South American team went quiet when they weren’t comfortable with their understanding of the English conversation. They didn’t want to be embarrassed by showing any misunderstanding. To solve the problem, Fariba brought a Spanish-speaking coworker to all the meetings to help foster strong communication and a productive team dynamic.

Becoming a Leader

Creating productive teams is one of Fariba’s strengths. She can see where an individual excels and how to combine that with others.

“You can build those strengths, bring them into the team and ensure that you’re successful,” she says. “That doesn’t mean you are not going to have challenges, but you deal with them and you expect them.”

Finding her own strengths and brand was a challenge. In her first management role, Fariba struggled to let go of tasks and delegate. If she knew she could do the job quickly and in high quality, why wait for others to do the job? Delegating let her focus attention on the more important tasks. It also let her coach team members so they learned new skills too. 

Fariba also honed her leadership skills when it came to coaching team members who made mistakes. She learned to use the sandwich model – surrounding a critique with compliments – but she didn’t feel genuine in that technique.

“I like the fact-based [approach] because I like to be more genuine and I want to connect with people,” she says.

She prefers upfront communication so giving factual feedback fits her style; a lesson learned through  experience. 

“There are different challenges when you get more leadership roles,” she says. “You have to know yourself… see what pushes your buttons and start to learn about emotional intelligence.”

What pushed Fariba’s buttons? Taking things personally, rather than objectively. She knew it was affecting the way she handled situations, for instance when a co-worker challenged her. Fariba learned to change her reaction so she could view things more objectively based on advice from someone she considered a sponsor.

“I’ve had great mentors and yes, a couple of sponsors, those people who defend you and your abilities even when you are not  present,” she says.

Speaking of hurt feelings from criticism, her sponsor advised Fariba to, “let go if there is nothing in it that can make you grow and learn. If someone throws something at you, it doesn’t become yours if you don’t take it.”

The Importance of Support

Having peer support and an alternative perspective can be the difference between applying for new opportunities and jobs, or just playing it safe. For Fariba, having someone to say she should absolutely apply was the push Fariba needed and helped her to believe in herself more.

She still doubts herself, but now she understands why after learning about the Impostor Syndrome.

“Now, even if I still feel the doubt, I have awareness and it doesn’t stop me from moving forward and taking the step,” she says. “I think as immigrants, to be honest, we doubt ourselves more.”

Fariba started her career in Iran and she was able to fit into that environment without a problem. When she came to Canada, however, she experienced people’s unconscious bias and said she needed to prove herself more.

She remembers during her first job in Canada, she came in with a lot of experience and education in the field, but for the first couple of years, she watched as less experienced and educated people were approached for new opportunities. They didn’t approach the immigrant employees despite being a diverse workplace.

Her accent made people not trust her to know what was going on and she felt like she needed to perform to show she knew how to do the job. At times, she felt like an outsider.

But she continued learning to not take things personally. When cultural differences came up in conversation, she’d turn to humour, or would ask people to explain them.

When it came to experiencing cultural differences, Fariba says her key words are: “Listen, sense of humour and let it go.”

Strengthening Gender Equality

Fariba’s experience shows how important support, equity and inclusion are in the workplace. When it comes to getting promotions and new jobs, Fariba isn’t alone in getting advice from a male sponsor or mentor. She knows many executive women received support from men to get their first executive position.

“That shows to me that for women it’s not easy to move by yourself,” she says. “You really need to have a very strong male sponsor and that’s why the male participation in gender equality is so, so important.”

Fariba is a strong advocate for gender equality. She believes that having government support is a strong step, but the work isn’t done. There needs to be continued collaboration between organizations, male involvement and support, as well as help for women to change their self-perceptions.

“Women’s rights are human rights and we should not say women or men…binary or non-binary, we are all human,” she says.

One major collaborative effort that Fariba was involved in the Gender Equality Network Canada. She was one of the SCWIST representatives in the GENC, which focused on building a national collaborative action to address barriers that impact women’s equality.

She also currently works to promote women’s equality through her continued involvement with SCWIST, which advocates for equity and inclusion through the Make Possible and Make Diversity Possible programs.

As advocacy for equity, diversity and inclusion becomes more widespread, especially with support from organizations and the government, Fariba says: “The conversation about gender equality started a long time ago and got stalled. Now I feel that there is a power shift as organizations walk the talk about diversity and inclusion.”

But the work isn’t done yet.

“[There’s] still a long way to go to make equity and equality a history lesson, but we have started seeing the effect of this conversation in boardrooms and leadership roles.”

Alison Knill is a graduate of the Master of Journalism program at UBC and is a former SCWIST Communications Intern. Have questions for Alison? Contact her via Twitter @alison_knill.