العثور على نقاط القوة الخاصة بك: نمو فاريبا باشيله ودفاعها طوال حياتها المهنية

By أليسون نيل (تويتر: تضمين التغريدة)

تواجه مشكلة في العمل: أنت تتعاون مع فريق من أمريكا الجنوبية في مشروع. بعد اللقاء الشخصي الأولي والترحيب ، يتحول الاتصال إلى مكالمات الفيديو والمكالمات الجماعية. هذا عندما تلاحظ أن فريق أمريكا الجنوبية أحيانًا ما يكون هادئًا للغاية عندما تحتاج إلى مدخلاتهم. كيف تضمن التواصل المفتوح؟

ل فريبا باشيله، وهو رئيس سابق لـ SCWIST وهو حاليًا مدير المشاريع الاستراتيجية للشركات في فرع توزيع الخمور قبل الميلاد الذي تم تكريمه مؤخرًا بـ جائزة RBC لأفضل 25 مهاجر كندي، كانت تلك حياتها. اختارت أن تفهم المشكلة من خلال رغبتها في التواصل مع القيم الأساسية للناس.

"بادئ ذي بدء ، يمكننا جميعًا كبشر أن يكون لدينا خلفيات مختلفة وثقافات مختلفة ، ولكن يمكن أن تكون لدينا قيم جوهرية متشابهة" ، كما تقول. "هذا مفيد جدًا جدًا للفهم لأنه إذا كنت تشارك نفس القيم ، بغض النظر عن المكان الذي أتيت منه ، فيمكنك الاتصال ، ويمكنك العمل معًا بشكل فعال."

خلال مكالمات الفيديو ، أدركت فريبا أن فريق أمريكا الجنوبية صمت عندما لم يكونوا مرتاحين لفهمهم للمحادثة الإنجليزية. لا يريدون أن يشعروا بالحرج من خلال إظهار أي سوء تفاهم. لحل المشكلة ، أحضر فاريبا زميلًا يتحدث اللغة الإسبانية إلى جميع الاجتماعات للمساعدة في تعزيز التواصل القوي وديناميكية الفريق المنتجة.

أن تصبح قائدا

يعد تكوين فرق منتجة أحد نقاط قوة فريبا. يمكنها أن ترى أين يتفوق الفرد وكيف تدمج ذلك مع الآخرين.

"يمكنك بناء نقاط القوة تلك ، وإدخالها إلى الفريق والتأكد من أنك ناجح" ، كما تقول. "هذا لا يعني أنك لن تواجه تحديات ، لكنك تتعامل معها وتتوقعها."

كان العثور على نقاط قوتها وعلامتها التجارية تحديًا. في دورها الإداري الأول ، كافحت "فريبا" للتخلي عن المهام والتفويضات. إذا كانت تعلم أنها تستطيع القيام بالمهمة بسرعة وبجودة عالية ، فلماذا تنتظر حتى يقوم الآخرون بهذه المهمة؟ التفويض دعها تركز الانتباه على المهام الأكثر أهمية. كما أنها سمحت لأعضاء فريقها بالتدريب حتى يتعلموا مهارات جديدة أيضًا. 

صقلت فاريبا أيضًا مهاراتها القيادية عندما يتعلق الأمر بتدريب أعضاء الفريق الذين ارتكبوا أخطاء. لقد تعلمت استخدام نموذج الشطيرة - الذي يحيط بالنقد مع الإطراء - لكنها لم تشعر بصدق في هذه التقنية.

تقول: "أحب [النهج] القائم على الحقائق لأنني أحب أن أكون أكثر صدقًا وأريد التواصل مع الناس".

إنها تفضل التواصل الصريح ، لذا فإن إعطاء الملاحظات الواقعية يناسب أسلوبها ؛ درس تم تعلمه من خلال التجربة. 

"هناك تحديات مختلفة عندما تحصل على المزيد من الأدوار القيادية" ، كما تقول. "عليك أن تعرف نفسك ... انظر ما الذي يدفع أزرارك وتبدأ في التعرف على الذكاء العاطفي."

ما الذي دفع أزرار فريبا؟ أخذ الأمور على محمل شخصي وليس موضوعيًا. كانت تعلم أن ذلك يؤثر على الطريقة التي تتعامل بها مع المواقف ، على سبيل المثال عندما تحداها زميل في العمل. تعلمت فريبا تغيير رد فعلها حتى تتمكن من رؤية الأشياء بموضوعية أكبر بناءً على نصيحة من شخص تعتبره أ رعاية.

تقول: "كان لدي مرشدين رائعين ونعم ، زوجان من الرعاة ، هؤلاء الأشخاص الذين يدافعون عنك وعن قدراتك حتى عندما لا تكون حاضرًا".

في حديثها عن المشاعر المؤلمة من النقد ، نصح راعيها فريبا بأن "تفلت من الأمر إذا لم يكن هناك شيء يمكن أن يجعلك تنمو وتتعلم. إذا ألقى شخص ما عليك بشيء ، فلن يصبح ملكك إذا لم تأخذه ".

أهمية الدعم

يمكن أن يكون الحصول على دعم الأقران ومنظور بديل هو الفرق بين التقدم للحصول على فرص ووظائف جديدة ، أو مجرد اللعب بأمان. بالنسبة لفاريبا ، كان وجود شخص ما ليقول إنها يجب أن تقدم طلبًا هو الدافع الذي تحتاجه فريبا وساعدها على الإيمان بنفسها أكثر.

لا تزال تشك في نفسها ، لكنها الآن تفهم السبب بعد أن علمت عن متلازمة المنتحل.

وتقول: "الآن ، حتى لو كنت ما زلت أشعر بالشك ، فإن لدي وعيًا ولا يمنعني ذلك من المضي قدمًا واتخاذ الخطوة". "أعتقد أننا كمهاجرين ، بصراحة ، نشك في أنفسنا أكثر."

بدأت فريبا حياتها المهنية في إيران وتمكنت من التكيف مع تلك البيئة دون أي مشكلة. ومع ذلك ، عندما أتت إلى كندا ، واجهت التحيز اللاواعي لدى الناس وقالت إنها بحاجة إلى إثبات نفسها أكثر.

تتذكر خلال عملها الأول في كندا ، أنها جاءت مع الكثير من الخبرة والتعليم في هذا المجال ، ولكن في العامين الأولين ، شاهدت أنه يتم الاقتراب من الأشخاص الأقل خبرة وتعليمًا للحصول على فرص جديدة. لم يقتربوا من الموظفين المهاجرين على الرغم من كونهم مكان عمل متنوع.

جعلت لهجتها الناس لا يثقون بها لمعرفة ما كان يجري وشعرت أنها بحاجة إلى الأداء لتظهر أنها تعرف كيفية القيام بالمهمة. في بعض الأحيان ، شعرت وكأنها غريبة.

لكنها واصلت تعلم ألا تأخذ الأمور على محمل شخصي. عندما تظهر الاختلافات الثقافية في المحادثة ، كانت تلجأ إلى الدعابة ، أو تطلب من الناس شرحها.

عندما يتعلق الأمر بتجربة الاختلافات الثقافية ، تقول فاريبا إن كلماتها الأساسية هي: "اسمع ، حس الدعابة ودعه يذهب."

تعزيز المساواة بين الجنسين

تُظهر تجربة فاريبا مدى أهمية الدعم والإنصاف والإدماج في مكان العمل. عندما يتعلق الأمر بالحصول على الترقيات والوظائف الجديدة ، فاريبا ليست وحدها في الحصول على المشورة من راعٍ أو مرشد ذكر. إنها تعرف أن العديد من النساء التنفيذيات تلقين الدعم من الرجال للحصول على أول منصب تنفيذي.

تقول: "هذا يظهر لي أنه ليس من السهل بالنسبة للمرأة أن تتحرك بمفردها". "أنت حقًا بحاجة إلى راعٍ ذكر قوي جدًا وهذا هو السبب في أهمية مشاركة الذكور في المساواة بين الجنسين."

فاريبا مدافعة قوية عن المساواة بين الجنسين. إنها تعتقد أن الحصول على دعم حكومي هو خطوة قوية ، لكن العمل لم يكتمل. يجب أن يكون هناك تعاون مستمر بين المنظمات ، وإشراك الذكور ودعمهم ، وكذلك مساعدة النساء على تغيير تصوراتهن الذاتية.

"حقوق المرأة هي من حقوق الإنسان ، ولا ينبغي أن نقول النساء أو الرجال ... ثنائي أو غير ثنائي ، نحن جميعًا بشر" ، كما تقول.

أحد الجهود التعاونية الرئيسية التي شاركت فيها فاريبا في شبكة المساواة بين الجنسين كندا. كانت واحدة من SCWIST ممثلين في GENC ، والتي ركزت على بناء عمل تعاوني وطني لمعالجة الحواجز التي تؤثر على مساواة المرأة.

تعمل حاليًا أيضًا على تعزيز مساواة المرأة من خلال مشاركتها المستمرة مع SCWIST ، التي تدعو إلى المساواة والدمج من خلال جعل ذلك ممكنا و اجعل التنوع ممكنًا البرامج.

مع انتشار الدعوة إلى المساواة والتنوع والشمول ، خاصةً بدعم من المنظمات والحكومة ، تقول فاريبا: "بدأت المحادثة حول المساواة بين الجنسين منذ وقت طويل وتوقفت. الآن أشعر أن هناك تحولًا في القوة حيث أن المنظمات تتكلم عن التنوع والشمول ".

لكن العمل لم ينته بعد.

"لا يزال هناك طريق طويل لنقطعه لجعل الإنصاف والمساواة درسًا تاريخيًا ، لكننا بدأنا نرى تأثير هذه المحادثة في مجالس الإدارة والأدوار القيادية."

أليسون نيل هي خريجة برنامج ماجستير الصحافة في جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية وهي متدربة سابقة في الاتصالات في SCWIST. هل لديك أسئلة لأليسون؟ تواصل معها عبر تويتر تضمين التغريدة.

Finding Your Own Strengths: Fariba Pacheleh’s Growth and Advocacy Throughout Her Career

By Alison Knill (Twitter: @alison_knill)

You’re faced with a problem at work: you’re collaborating with a South American team on a project. After the initial in-person meet and greet, communication switches to conference and video calls. That’s when you notice that the South American team sometimes goes very quiet when you need their input. How do you ensure open communication?

For Fariba Pacheleh, a SCWIST past president and currently the Director of Corporate Strategic Projects at the BC Liquor Distribution Branch who was recently honored with the RBC Top 25 Canadian Immigrant award, that was her life. She chose to understand the problem through her desire to connect with people’s core values.

“First of all, as human beings we all can have different backgrounds, different cultures, but we can have similar core values,” she says. “That is very, very helpful to understand because if you share the same values, no matter where you come from, you can connect, you can work together effectively.”

It was during the video calls that Fariba realized the South American team went quiet when they weren’t comfortable with their understanding of the English conversation. They didn’t want to be embarrassed by showing any misunderstanding. To solve the problem, Fariba brought a Spanish-speaking coworker to all the meetings to help foster strong communication and a productive team dynamic.

Becoming a Leader

Creating productive teams is one of Fariba’s strengths. She can see where an individual excels and how to combine that with others.

“You can build those strengths, bring them into the team and ensure that you’re successful,” she says. “That doesn’t mean you are not going to have challenges, but you deal with them and you expect them.”

Finding her own strengths and brand was a challenge. In her first management role, Fariba struggled to let go of tasks and delegate. If she knew she could do the job quickly and in high quality, why wait for others to do the job? Delegating let her focus attention on the more important tasks. It also let her coach team members so they learned new skills too. 

Fariba also honed her leadership skills when it came to coaching team members who made mistakes. She learned to use the sandwich model – surrounding a critique with compliments – but she didn’t feel genuine in that technique.

“I like the fact-based [approach] because I like to be more genuine and I want to connect with people,” she says.

She prefers upfront communication so giving factual feedback fits her style; a lesson learned through  experience. 

“There are different challenges when you get more leadership roles,” she says. “You have to know yourself… see what pushes your buttons and start to learn about emotional intelligence.”

What pushed Fariba’s buttons? Taking things personally, rather than objectively. She knew it was affecting the way she handled situations, for instance when a co-worker challenged her. Fariba learned to change her reaction so she could view things more objectively based on advice from someone she considered a sponsor.

“I’ve had great mentors and yes, a couple of sponsors, those people who defend you and your abilities even when you are not  present,” she says.

Speaking of hurt feelings from criticism, her sponsor advised Fariba to, “let go if there is nothing in it that can make you grow and learn. If someone throws something at you, it doesn’t become yours if you don’t take it.”

The Importance of Support

Having peer support and an alternative perspective can be the difference between applying for new opportunities and jobs, or just playing it safe. For Fariba, having someone to say she should absolutely apply was the push Fariba needed and helped her to believe in herself more.

She still doubts herself, but now she understands why after learning about the Impostor Syndrome.

“Now, even if I still feel the doubt, I have awareness and it doesn’t stop me from moving forward and taking the step,” she says. “I think as immigrants, to be honest, we doubt ourselves more.”

Fariba started her career in Iran and she was able to fit into that environment without a problem. When she came to Canada, however, she experienced people’s unconscious bias and said she needed to prove herself more.

She remembers during her first job in Canada, she came in with a lot of experience and education in the field, but for the first couple of years, she watched as less experienced and educated people were approached for new opportunities. They didn’t approach the immigrant employees despite being a diverse workplace.

Her accent made people not trust her to know what was going on and she felt like she needed to perform to show she knew how to do the job. At times, she felt like an outsider.

But she continued learning to not take things personally. When cultural differences came up in conversation, she’d turn to humour, or would ask people to explain them.

When it came to experiencing cultural differences, Fariba says her key words are: “Listen, sense of humour and let it go.”

Strengthening Gender Equality

Fariba’s experience shows how important support, equity and inclusion are in the workplace. When it comes to getting promotions and new jobs, Fariba isn’t alone in getting advice from a male sponsor or mentor. She knows many executive women received support from men to get their first executive position.

“That shows to me that for women it’s not easy to move by yourself,” she says. “You really need to have a very strong male sponsor and that’s why the male participation in gender equality is so, so important.”

Fariba is a strong advocate for gender equality. She believes that having government support is a strong step, but the work isn’t done. There needs to be continued collaboration between organizations, male involvement and support, as well as help for women to change their self-perceptions.

“Women’s rights are human rights and we should not say women or men…binary or non-binary, we are all human,” she says.

One major collaborative effort that Fariba was involved in the Gender Equality Network Canada. She was one of the SCWIST representatives in the GENC, which focused on building a national collaborative action to address barriers that impact women’s equality.

She also currently works to promote women’s equality through her continued involvement with SCWIST, which advocates for equity and inclusion through the Make Possible and Make Diversity Possible programs.

As advocacy for equity, diversity and inclusion becomes more widespread, especially with support from organizations and the government, Fariba says: “The conversation about gender equality started a long time ago and got stalled. Now I feel that there is a power shift as organizations walk the talk about diversity and inclusion.”

But the work isn’t done yet.

“[There’s] still a long way to go to make equity and equality a history lesson, but we have started seeing the effect of this conversation in boardrooms and leadership roles.”

Alison Knill is a graduate of the Master of Journalism program at UBC and is a former SCWIST Communications Intern. Have questions for Alison? Contact her via Twitter @alison_knill.