تدرك SCWIST التحديات التي يمكن أن تأتي مع كونك وافدًا جديدًا إلى كندا ولبناء مهنة في STEM (العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات). يهدف برنامج النساء المهاجرات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (IWIS) الخاص بنا إلى تطوير مجتمع داعم حيث يمكن للنساء مشاركة خبراتهن وطلب المشورة وتوسيع شبكاتهن. تم تصميم الأحداث وورش العمل لدينا لمساعدة النساء المدربين دوليًا في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) لبدء وبناء حياتهم المهنية في كندا.

ما الذي يمكن أن يقدمه لك IWIS؟

الشبكات

تعد أحداث شبكة IWIS الخاصة بنا بيئة آمنة ومنخفضة الضغط للنساء المهاجرات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات للتعلم من المهنيين الناجحين الآخرين في مجال العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات وكذلك الأفراد الذين يدعمون مجتمع المهاجرين. من بين المتحدثين نساء مهاجرات من خلفيات متنوعة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) يشاركن خبراتهن ويقدمن النصائح للتغلب على العقبات التي يواجهنها كوافدات جدد في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

ورش عمل تنمية المهارات

توفر ورش عمل IWIS الخاصة بنا أدوات للنساء المهاجرات لتحقيق النجاح في صناعات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات في كندا. تتضمن هذه الجلسات التركيز على التحديات المحددة التي يواجهها العديد من الوافدين الجدد ، وتطوير مهارات قابلة للتنفيذ لمواجهة هذه التحديات ، وتوفير بيئة غير رسمية وآمنة لممارسة هذه المهارات وتطويرها قبل تطبيقها في مكان العمل. تشمل ورش العمل السابقة:

  • ما يجب فعله وما لا يجب فعله في مجال الاستثمار
  • الانتقال الوظيفي إلى التكنولوجيا (مع جمعية الشابات المسيحيات)
  • البحث عن صوتك (مع ISSofBC)

معرض الوظائف SCWIST وأدوات البحث عن عمل

في عام 2019 ، استضافت SCWIST أول حدث سنوي لها بعنوان SCWIST Women في معرض وظائف STEM! تضمن الحدث أكثر من 10 عارضين من شركات التكنولوجيا البارزة ، والشركات المحلية الناشئة ، والمنظمات التي تدعم النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. اجتذب الحدث أكثر من 200 مشارك ، العديد منهم من الوافدات الجدد إلى كندا. بالإضافة إلى العارضين ، تضمن معرض التوظيف:

  • مصور محترف
  • استئناف مراجعة
  • ممارسة المقابلة من خلال لعب الأدوار

المصادر

ستحصل على مجموعة ممتازة من الموارد المصممة خصيصًا للنساء المهنيات المهاجرات. وتشمل هذه:

  • نشرة SCWIST شهرية للبقاء على اتصال مع أهم الأحداث والقصص والمعلومات المهنية
  • الإرشاد من خلال منصتنا المجانية Make Possible
  • IWIS - حزمة المعلومات والموارد - تحتوي على روابط لمواقع حول التخطيط الوظيفي ودورات ESL عالية المستوى (اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة ثانية) والشبكات

فوائد الانضمام إلى IWIS

  • كن جزءًا من النساء المهاجرات في فانكوفر في مجتمع STEM
  • تواصل مع مجموعة كبيرة من النساء المهاجرات وغير المهاجرات من خلال أحداث SCWIST
  • احصل على معلومات قيمة بشكل أسرع من خلال موارد IWIS
  • قم بتطوير مهارات البحث عن الوظائف والمهارات المهنية من خلال حضور فعاليات IWIS
  • تطوع في IWIS لتطوير مهاراتك من خلال برنامج التطوع المخصص واكتساب خبرة كندية مهمة للغاية

شارك في IWIS

أحداث IWIS متاحة لعامة الناس ، وإذا أصبحت عضوًا في SCWIST ، فستتمتع أيضًا بخصومات العضوية والوصول إلى فرص التطوع للمساعدة في تطوير مهاراتك القيادية. بصفتك عضوًا في SCWIST ، ستصبح جزءًا من مجتمع من النساء المتنوعات والديناميكيات المتحمسات للعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM). من السهل التسجيل! تعرف على المزيد حول عضوية SCWIST وفوائدها على صفحة عضوية SCWIST.

أحداث IWIS القادمة

يرجى مراقبة SCWIST حدث التقويم، سيتم نشر جميع أحداث IWIS القادمة هناك. اشتراك إلى النشرة الإخبارية المجانية SCWIST لتبقى على اطلاع!

موارد أخرى مفيدة إذا كنت جديدًا في كندا

SCWIST recognizes the challenges that can come with being a newcomer to Canada and to build a career in STEM (science, technology, engineering and math). Our Immigrating Women in STEM (IWIS) program has a mission to develop a supportive community where women can share their experiences, seek advice, and broaden their networks. Our events and workshops are designed to help internationally trained women in STEM to start and build their careers in Canada.

What can IWIS Offer You?

Networking

Our IWIS networking events are a safe and low-pressure environment for immigrant women in STEM to learn from other successful immigrant STEM professionals as well as individuals who support the immigrant community. Speakers include immigrant women from diverse STEM backgrounds who share their experiences and offer advice to overcome obstacles they face as female newcomers in STEM fields. 

Skill Development Workshops

Our IWIS workshops provide tools for immigrant women to find success in Canada’s STEM industries. These sessions include a focus on specific challenges faced by many newcomers, develop actionable skills to address these challenges, and provide a casual, safe environment to practice and develop these skills before applying them in the workplace.  Past workshops include:

  • Investing Do’s and Don’ts
  • Career Transitions into Tech (with YWCA)
  • Finding Your Voice (with ISSofBC)

SCWIST Job Fair & Job-Seeking Tools

In 2019, SCWIST hosted its first annual SCWIST Women in STEM Job Fair!  The event included over 10 exhibitors from high-profile technology companies, up-and-coming local startups, and organizations that support women in STEM. The event attracted over 200 attendees, many of whom were female newcomers to Canada. In addition to exhibitors, the job fair included: 

  • Professional headshot photographer
  • Resume review
  • Interview practice through role play

Resources

You’ll get access to an excellent selection of resources tailored towards immigrating professional women. These include:

  • A monthly SCWIST newsletter to stay connected with the hottest events, stories and career information
  • Mentorship through our free Make Possible platform
  • IWIS – information and resource package – It contains links to sites about career planning, high-level ESL (English as a second language) courses and networking

Benefits of Joining IWIS

  • Become part of the Vancouver Immigrant Women in STEM community
  • Connect with a large group of immigrant and non-immigrant women through SCWIST events
  • Gain valuable information faster through IWIS resources
  • Develop job search and career skills by attending IWIS events
  • Volunteer for IWIS to develop your skills through the custom volunteering program and gain very important Canadian experience

Participate in IWIS

IWIS events are available to the general public and if you become a SCWIST member, you will also enjoy membership discounts and access to volunteering opportunities to help develop your leadership skills. As a SCWIST member, you will become part of a community of diverse and dynamic women passionate about science, technology, engineering and math (STEM). It’s easy to sign up! Find out more about SCWIST membership and its benefits at the SCWIST Membership page.

Upcoming IWIS Events

Please keep an eye on SCWIST’s Event Calendar, all upcoming IWIS events will be posted there. Subscribe to our free SCWIST newsletter to stay informed!

Other Helpful Resources if You’re New to Canada