董事会会员

Paloma Corvalan

Paloma Corvalan
校长

罗纳尔·艾伯茨

罗纳尔·艾伯茨
董事会秘书

玛丽亚·金约瑟西·伊萨

玛丽亚·金约瑟西·伊萨
财务总监

内哈·巴塔(Neha Batta)

内哈·巴塔(Neha Batta)
战略发展总监

纳西拉·阿齐兹(Nasira Aziz)

纳西拉·阿齐兹(Nasira Aziz)
IWIS董事总经理兼联合主任

许海迪

许海迪
通讯总监

伊丽莎白保罗

伊丽莎白保罗
董事政策与影响

赫里斯汀·卡里尼奥

赫里斯汀·卡里尼奥
董事活动/会员资格/会员

里比·贝伦森

里比·贝伦森
副总裁兼业务发展总监

奈玛·穆尼尔(Naima Munir)

奈玛·穆尼尔(Naima Munir)
青年参与总监兼IWIS联合总监

Paloma Corvalan

博士
[EMAIL PROTECTED]

Paloma Corvalan博士是Sea Smart和SCWIST总裁的合作伙伴关系和开发经理。 借助Sea Smart,Paloma管理并提供了STEM教育计划,将儿童和青少年与大自然联系起来,激发他们追求对STEM的热爱,并赋予他们保护环境的能力。 Paloma是Homeward Bound的校友,这是一项针对STEM中的女性的国际领导计划,致力于致力于支持促进多样性和包容性,保护我们的环境并赋予青年权力的团体。 帕洛玛(Paloma)致力于领导一种可持续的生活方式,并在业余时间喜欢露营,骑山地自行车和滑雪板。

罗纳尔·艾伯茨

理学士
[EMAIL PROTECTED]

罗纳尔·艾伯茨(Ronel Alberts)坚信,增强女孩和妇女的权能,尤其是在STEAM领域,将带来更加可行的未来。 Ronel毕业于南非开普敦大学,获得计算机科学理学学士学位,并很快发现她具有综合技术和业务需求的诀窍。 她担任业务分析师已有20多年,在整个职业生涯中担任过许多领导职务。 她经营自己的咨询公司已有十多年了,她有幸在全球范围内从事具有挑战性和趣味性的项目。 Ronel坚信继续教育是创造可持续未来的方式,并且已经通过约翰·霍普金斯大学和阿姆斯特丹大学完成了许多在线课程。 在业余时间,可以发现Ronel和她的妻子与可爱的狗一起进行寻宝,骑摩托车和徒步旅行。 她目前担任SCWIST的秘书。

玛丽亚·金约瑟西·伊萨

博士
[EMAIL PROTECTED]

Maria Gyongyossy-Issa从UBC病理学和检验医学系退休,现任病理学教育中心主任。 很久以前,她在UBC获得了微生物学/免疫学荣誉理学士学位; 在英国伦敦获得免疫学博士学位; 并首次描述了T细胞受体。 作为博士后,玛丽亚在瑞士和法国滑雪,同时进行生物化学(补体)和血液(细胞凋亡)。 在萨斯喀彻温省,她在从事生物战剂T2毒素的工作时抚养了一个女儿。 移居温哥华和UBC,从事血小板研究并开发了多项专利。 在这期间,她在从幼儿园到继续医学教育的各个级别任教,指导研究生,为道格拉斯学院和印度尼西亚的CIDA开设生物学和生物化学课程。 她似乎无法退休,仍在教医学生。

玛丽亚(Maria)曾在董事会任职,曾两次担任SCWIST总裁,现在她又回到了司库。 她与SCWIST和《科学世界》合作,设计了针对多样性和性别平等的科学推广计划,其中三个由加拿大妇女与性别平等基金会资助。

玛丽亚(Maria)是加拿大国家赛艇队的赛艇运动员; 国际第3丹丹黑带跆拳道教练,痴迷的园丁,最重要的是–安吉·塞奇(Angie Sage)的Septimus Heap书中的首席巫师模型。
她不喜欢范式:她的座右铭是伊曼纽尔·康德(Emmanuel Kant)的格言,“敢于发现!”

内哈·巴塔(Neha Batta)


[EMAIL PROTECTED]

Neha Batta担任Cymax Group业务流程改进高级经理。 在Cymax集团,她在跨部门计划的制定和执行中扮演重要角色,以支持旨在实现卓越运营的长期公司目标。 Neha还监督和管理质量保证和合规框架的计划,估计和实施。 此外,Neha是受监管的加拿大移民顾问(RCIC),也是猎户座移民服务公司的董事总经理。 Orion移民服务总部位于本那比,为个人,企业和家庭提供移民解决方案。 Neha拥有印度理工学院(印度)的地理工程技术硕士学位,并获得了不列颠哥伦比亚大学(UBC)的移民证书:法律,政策和程序。 Neha对STEM的多样性和包容性以及移民与加拿大劳动力的融合充满热情。 在业余时间,她喜欢读书,散步和在各种专业和非营利组织做志愿者。 她最喜欢的自我激励诗句是:“一定要休息,但不要放弃!” 从诗中 约翰·格林利夫·惠提尔(John Greenleaf Whittier)着《不要退出》。

纳西拉·阿齐兹(Nasira Aziz)

理学学士,MBA
[EMAIL PROTECTED]

Nasira Aziz是SCWIST的领导力总监,在STEM领域具有不同背景,并获得了弗雷德里克顿大学(University of Fredericton)专注于创新领导力的MBA学位。 Nasira还拥有西蒙·弗雷泽大学(Simon Fraser University)的互动艺术与技术学士学位和巴基斯坦的化学硕士学位。 在2003年之前,她一直是全球的质量控制专业人员,教育家和办公室经理。纳西拉(Nasira)拥有使所有人都能接受教育的终生愿景。 在她职业生涯的早期,她参加了一项运动,在巴基斯坦乡村挨家挨户地进行活动,说服父母将孩子,尤其是女孩送去上学。

2003年之后,她致力于担任“全职妈妈”角色。 但是,这些年来,她一直致力于为社区做出积极的贡献。 她自愿为各个年级的孩子提供辅导,特别是那些可能无法辍学的孩子。 Nasira期待与可以帮助实现共同目标的组织合作。 她在正式技术和商业知识方面拥有丰富的经验,并了解当今企业在获得和维持竞争优势方面面临的挑战。 她于2018年加入SCWIST担任秘书。 她与SCWIST董事会合作,学习了一个组织的运作,同时帮助进一步提高了妇女在教育方面的成功,这是她深信不疑的事业。

许海迪

理学士
[EMAIL PROTECTED]

Heidi Hui是Carbon Engineering的知识产权(IP)分析师。 她 获得了化学工程学士学位, 卡尔加里大学。 在Carbon Engineering,她的主要职责 包括专利起草,专利美化,建立IP协议,以及 识别发明。 Heidi在实习期间首次涉足IP领域 在Cenovus。 在这个利基领域获得经验后,她将其用作 她以前在本那比D-Wave担任IP专家的职位的途径 她就诸如处理器设计和 集成电路制造。 她还支持处理器开发 和制造团队协调D-Wave的故障分析 超导芯片。 海蒂(Heidi)是学生指导的热心支持者, 尤其是属于少数群体的学生 STEM职业。 她的工作和志愿者不断激励着她 鼓励妇女争取有意义和有利可图的职业的经验 在STEM字段中。 Heidi是EGBC的注册企业所得税。 业余时间,她 喜欢阅读,打排球和跑步。

伊丽莎白保罗

工程学士。
[EMAIL PROTECTED]

从提供空间系统到开发零排放解决方案,共创美好的明天,伊丽莎白无法使世界变得更美好!
Elisabeth具有20多年在严苛环境下创建,管理复杂的产品和系统并将其推向市场的经验(例如,国际空间站上的CanadArm和来自太空的图像),具有战略领导力和业务发展总监的身份,伊丽莎白现已过渡到清洁技术(包括清洁氢能和消除食物浪费)。 伊丽莎白满怀激情地相信,性别混合可以提供更好和更强大的解决方案,以应对当今的挑战。 让女孩和妇女参与STEM领域对于我们的未来至关重要!

伊丽莎白曾在蒙特利尔高等理工学院和布鲁塞尔自由大学学习计算机工程。 在业余时间,她喜欢做饭,练习做调酒师,与两个儿子玩夏威夷四弦琴和足球。

赫里斯汀·卡里尼奥

博士,博士
[EMAIL PROTECTED]

克里斯蒂娜·卡里尼奥(KhristineCariño) 是母亲休假后重返工作岗位的冠军和导师。 她借鉴了自己重塑职业生涯的经验,并在超过25年的工作经验中担任过临床医生,副教授,流行病学家,公共卫生研究员,社会企业家,社区组织者和教育者。

她拥有东京医科牙科大学的牙科科学博士学位,以及流行病学和行为科学的国际牙科研究协会(IADR)的国际奖项,她于2005年来到加拿大,在不列颠哥伦比亚大学获得博士后奖学金。 然而,由于父母的要求,Khristine偏离了学业,并于2010年成为一名全职妈妈。作为妈妈和新移民的她所面临的挑战包括产后抑郁和社会孤立。 在2012年至2017年,她重新开始了研究生涯,但在兼顾家庭与工作之间挣扎。 在又一次职业生涯中断之后,她作为董事会成员更多地参与了SCWIST。

Khristine担任SCWIST传播总监(2018年2019月至2019年XNUMX月)和传播与事件总监(XNUMX年XNUMX月至XNUMX月) 特殊的结果 在会员和志愿者招募和保留方面; 数字通信战略规划,实施和评估; 和事件管理。 Khristine将于2020年至2022年重新加入董事会,其主要目标是加强SCWIST,将其作为一个平台,以提高知名度并突出STEM中的土著,黑人和有色人种(IBPOC)的声音。 作为现任活动,会员和关联公司的总监,Khristine致力于:(1)改善会员的体验和满意度,(2)通过连接加拿大各地的SCWIST会员来提高社区参与度,以及(3)确定和指导潜在的领导者,作为SCWIST的一部分领导继任策略。

在@khristinecarino上关注 TwitterInstagram.

里比·贝伦森


[EMAIL PROTECTED]

作为企业家,领导者,运营主管,导师和教练,我学会了享受自我发现和成就之旅的每一部分。 15年前,我以军官身份开始了领导之旅,此后,我与一些令人难以置信的公司合作,从亚马逊到快速成长的初创公司。 我已经学会了如何获得信任,倾听,参与和发展他人。 我是两个惊人的人类的妈妈,他们每天都在教我关于爱,耐心和好奇心的重要性。 我热衷于帮助他人。 我以任何方式可以。 我目前担任SCWIST的副总裁兼业务发展总监。

奈玛·穆尼尔(Naima Munir)

硕士。
[EMAIL PROTECTED]

Naima拥有电气和计算机工程硕士学位,重点是图像和信号处理。 她一年前加入SCWIST,并于2020年2021月当选SCWIST 2020-XNUMX董事会成员。她目前担任青年参与总监和IWIS联合主任。

内玛(Naima)热衷于倡导在STEM中女性平等和公正地任职。 她坚信在职业领域中促进各种形式的女性领导,并乐于就如何在职业场所中增强妇女权能提出新的想法。

独立承包商

阿什莉·范德普·克兰(Ashley van der Pouw Kraan)

阿什莉·范德普·克兰(Ashley van der Pouw Kraan)
ms infinity程序协调员

阿坎莎·楚德加(Akanksha Chudgar)

阿坎莎·楚德加(Akanksha Chudgar)
北部土著人外联协调员

谢丽尔·克里斯蒂安森(Cheryl Kristiansen),体育。

谢丽尔·克里斯蒂安森(Cheryl Kristiansen),体育。
使多样性成为可能和规模项目经理

阿什莉·范德普·克兰(Ashley van der Pouw Kraan)

硕士。
[EMAIL PROTECTED]

Ashley van der Pouw Kraan在Pitt Meadows出生并长大,目前居住在温哥华。 她一直对万物科学感兴趣,而地球科学在她的心中占有特殊的位置。 在过去的六年中,她曾在非正式科学教育中心Science World担任过各种职务,最近担任数字通信协调员。 当不在她的办公桌旁时,经常会发现她正在阅读或在城市中骑自行车。 作为MS Infinity计划协调员,她很高兴加入SCWIST团队。

阿坎莎·楚德加(Akanksha Chudgar)

硕士。
[EMAIL PROTECTED]

阿坎莎(Akanksha)在印度获得了经济学的学士学位,目前正在攻读 在乔治王子市的UNBC获得环境研究的研究生学位。 她曾接受过教育 在印度和北美的各种学校中。 她对人类的行为很感兴趣– 它们彼此之间以及自然环境之间的相互作用。 涉及变化的方面 人们与大自然(以及彼此)的互动使她更感兴趣。 她认为这可以 通过沟通,考虑人们的需求并向他们提供更多信息来完成 关于它们对自然的影响。

谢丽尔·克里斯蒂安森(Cheryl Kristiansen),体育。

硕士。
[EMAIL PROTECTED]

Cheryl在项目管理,工程创新和STEM的领先变革方面拥有丰富的专业知识。 她拥有机械工程学位,在替代燃料发动机技术方面的动手研究经验以及在石油和天然气领域的高级领导才能。 谢丽尔(Cheryl)在具有战略敏捷性的各种企业文化和组织模型中工作,与多个利益相关者一起有效地管理了国际工程项目,领导了不同的销售团队,并制定了营销策略以交付财务成果。

作为米切尔·奥德赛基金会(Mitchell Odyssey Foundation)的董事总经理,谢丽尔(Cheryl)通过创新计划开发了不列颠哥伦比亚省的学校网络,这些计划激励并激发高中学生从事STEM的职业。 谢丽尔(Cheryl)是一位认证的促进者,并为不列颠哥伦比亚的STEM教育者创建了“科学狂野”奥德赛研讨会。 她在加拿大各地举办了各种研讨会,包括在大专院校,行业会议和STEM组织举办的SCWIST多元设计研讨会。 作为WinSETT的主持人,谢丽尔(Cheryl)在艾伯塔省和卑诗省举办了有关领导变革,无意识偏见,盟友和领导力系列的研讨会。

谢丽尔(Cheryl)领导了SCWIST 成为可能 指导项目,以提高妇女在STEM中的地位。 她现在领导“制作 多元化 “可能”项目–与STEM公司合作创建多样性工具并建立包容性的工作场所文化,以拥抱和发展多样化的劳动力–以及新的SCALE项目,以提高SCWIST的组织效力,发展合作伙伴关系并扩大倡导以促进性别平等。 Cheryl十分热衷于与他人建立联系并合作以创建解决方案,并高度重视持续改进,并坚信多样性会推动创新!

Board of Directors

Paloma Corvalan

Paloma Corvalan
President

Ronel Alberts

Ronel Alberts
Co-Director of Affiliates

Maria Gyöngyössy-Issa

Maria Gyöngyössy-Issa
Director Finance

Neha Batta

Neha Batta
Director Strategic Development

Nasira Aziz

Nasira Aziz
Director Leadership & Co-Director IWIS

Heidi Hui

Heidi Hui
Director Communications

Elisabeth Paul

Elisabeth Paul
Director Policy & Impact

Khristine G. Cariño

Khristine G. Cariño
Director Events/Membership/Affiliates

Libi Berenson

Libi Berenson
Vice President & Director of Business Development

Naima Munir

Naima Munir
Director Youth Engagement & Co-Director IWIS

Paloma Corvalan

PhD
[email protected]

Paloma Corvalan, PhD, is the Partnerships and Development Manager at Sea Smart and SCWIST’s President. With Sea Smart, Paloma manages and delivers STEM educational programs that connect children and youth to nature, inspire them to pursue their love for STEM, and empower them to protect our environment. An alumna of Homeward Bound, an international leadership initiative for women in STEM, Paloma is committed to supporting groups that promote diversity and inclusion, protect our environment and empower youth. Paloma strives to lead a sustainable lifestyle and, in her spare time, loves camping, mountain biking and snowboarding.

Ronel Alberts

BSc
[email protected]

Ronel Alberts has a strong belief that the empowerment of girls and women, especially in STEAM fields, will lead to a more viable future. Ronel graduated from the University of Cape Town, South Africa, with a BSc in Computer Science, and quickly discovered she has a knack for synthesizing technology and business requirements. She has been a Business Analyst for over 20 years, and has held numerous leadership positions throughout her career. She has been running her own consulting company for over a decade, and has had the privilege of working around the globe on challenging and interesting projects. Ronel believes strongly that continuing education is the way to create a sustainable future, and has completed numerous online courses through Johns Hopkins University and the University of Amsterdam. In her spare time, Ronel and her wife can be found geocaching, motorcycling, and hiking with their adorable dogs. She is currently serving as SCWIST’s secretary.

Maria Gyöngyössy-Issa

PhD
[email protected]

Maria Gyongyossy-Issa is semi-retired from UBC’s Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine and past Director of the Pathology Education Centre. Long ago, she did an Honours BSc in microbiology/immunology at UBC; a PhD in immunology in London, UK; and was first to describe T cell receptors. As post doc, Maria skied in Switzerland and France while doing biochemistry (complement) and blood (apoptosis). In Saskatchewan she raised a daughter while working on the biological warfare agent, T2 toxin. Moved to Vancouver and UBC, worked on platelets and developed several patents. In between, she taught at every level from kindergarten to CME, supervised graduate students, mounted biology and biochemistry courses for Douglas College, and for CIDA in Indonesia. She can’t seem to retire and still teaches medical students.

Maria served on the Board of Directors and was twice President of SCWIST and now she’s back as Treasurer. With SCWIST and Science World, she designed science outreach programs that address diversity and gender equality, three of which were funded by Women and Gender Equality, Canada.

Maria is a Rowing Canada National Umpire; an international 3rd Dan Black Belt TaeKwonDo instructor, an obsessive gardener, and most importantly – the model for the Chief Wizard in Angie Sage’s Septimus Heap books.
She doesn’t like paradigms: her motto is Emmanuel Kant’s dictum, “Dare to find out!”

Neha Batta


[email protected]

Neha Batta works as a Senior Manager, Business Process Improvement at Cymax Group. At Cymax Group, she plays a significant role in the development and execution of cross-departmental initiatives to support long-term corporate objectives geared towards operational excellence. Neha also oversees and manages the planning, estimation and implementation of quality assurance and compliance frameworks. Additionally, Neha is a Regulated Canadian Immigration Consultant (RCIC) and is the Managing Director at Orion Immigration Services. Based in Burnaby, Orion Immigrations services provides immigration solutions for individuals, businesses and families. Neha earned a Master of Technology Degree in Geomatics Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology (India) and completed Certificate in Immigration: Laws, Policies and Procedures from University of British Columbia (UBC). Neha is passionate about diversity & inclusion in STEM and integration of immigrants into Canadian workforce.  In her spare time she loves to read books, go for long walks and volunteer with various professional and nonprofit organizations.  Her favorite verse for self-motivation is “Rest if you must, but don’t you quit!” from the poem Don’t Quit, by John Greenleaf Whittier.

Nasira Aziz

BSc, MBA
[email protected]

Nasira Aziz is the Director of Leadership at SCWIST with a diverse background in STEM fields and has done an MBA with a concentration in Innovation Leadership from University of Fredericton. Nasira also holds an undergraduate degree in Interactive Arts and Technology from Simon Fraser University and a master’s degree in Chemistry from Pakistan. She worked as a Quality Control professional, an educator and an office manager around the globe until 2003. Nasira has held a life-long vision of making education accessible to all. In the early years of her career, she became part of a campaign where she went door-to-door in rural Pakistan, persuading parents to send their children, especially girls, to school.

After 2003, she dedicated herself to a “stay-at-home mom” role. However, during all these years, she has been devoted to making a positive contribution in her community. She volunteered to tutor children of all grades, especially children who were at risk of failing of dropping out of school. Nasira is looking forward to working with organizations where she can help reach shared goals. She brings with her a variety of experiences with formal technology and business knowledge, as well as an understanding of the challenges businesses face today in gaining and sustaining competitive edge. She joined SCWIST in 2018 as secretary. Working with the SCWIST board, she learned the operations of an organization, while helping further the success of women in education, a cause she holds close to her heart.

Heidi Hui

BSc
[email protected]

Heidi Hui is an Intellectual Property (IP) Analyst at Carbon Engineering. She earned a Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering degree at the University of Calgary. At Carbon Engineering, her main responsibilities include patent drafting, patent landscaping, establishing IP protocols, and identifying inventions. Heidi first ventured in the IP field during her internship at Cenovus. After gaining experience in this niche field, she used it as an avenue to her previous role as an IP Specialist at D-Wave in Burnaby where she drafted patent applications on topics such as processor designs and integrated circuit fabrication.  She also supported the processor development and fabrication teams to coordinate failure analysis on D-Wave’s superconducting chips.  Heidi is an avid supporter of mentorship for students, especially students belonging to minority groups that are looking towards STEM careers. She is continuously motivated by her work and volunteer experience to encourage women to strive for meaningful and lucrative careers in STEM fields. Heidi is a registered E.I.T. with EGBC. In her spare time, she enjoys reading, playing volleyball, and running.

Elisabeth Paul

B.Eng.
[email protected]

From delivering Space Systems to developing Zero-Emission Solutions for a better tomorrow, nothing stands in Elisabeth’s way to make this world a better place!
Strategic Leader & Business Development Director with 20+ years of experience creating, managing and bringing to market complex products and systems in rigorous environments (such as the CanadArm on the International Space Station and Imagery from Space), Elisabeth has now transitioned to clean technologies (including clean hydrogen energy and eliminating food waste). Elisabeth passionately believes that a mix of gender delivers better and stronger solutions needed to face today’s challenges. Involving girls and women in STEM fields is key for our future!

Elisabeth studied Computer Engineering at École Polytechnique de Montréal and Université Libre de Bruxelles. In her spare time, she enjoys cooking, practicing at being a mixologist, playing ukulele and soccer with her two sons.

Khristine G. Cariño

DMD, PhD
[email protected]

Khristine Cariño is a champion and mentor for mothers returning to work after parenting sabbaticals. She draws on her experience of career reinvention and pivoting from over 25 years successively working as a clinical dentist, associate professor, epidemiologist, public health researcher, social entrepreneur, community organizer and educator.

With a PhD in Dental Sciences from Tokyo Medical and Dental University, and international awards from the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) in epidemiology and behavioral sciences, she came to Canada in 2005 for a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of British Columbia. However, due to parental demands, Khristine veered off the academic track and became a stay-home mom in 2010. Her challenges as a mom and a new immigrant included postpartum depression and social isolation. In 2012-2017, she relaunched her research career but struggled with family-work balance. After another career hiatus, she became more involved with SCWIST as a member of the Board.

As SCWIST Director for Communications (June 2018- May 2019) and Director for Communications and Events (June-Oct 2019), Khristine delivered exceptional results in membership and volunteer recruitment & retention; digital communications strategy planning, implementation and evaluation; and events management. Khristine is rejoining the board for 2020-2022 with the primary objective of strengthening SCWIST as a platform to increase visibility and highlight voices of  Indigenous, Black and Persons of Colour (IBPOC)  in STEM. As current Director for Events, Membership and Affiliates, Khristine is focused on: (1) improving member experience and satisfaction,(2) increasing community engagement by connecting SCWIST members across Canada, and (3) identifying & mentoring potential leaders as part of SCWIST’s leadership succession strategy.

Follow @khristinecarino on Twitter and Instagram.

Libi Berenson


[email protected]

As an entrepreneur, a leader, an operations executive, a mentor and a coach, I have learned to enjoy every part of the journey to self discovery and accomplishment. I have started my leadership journey 15 years ago as an officer in the military, since then I have worked with some incredible companies, from Amazon to fast-growing startups. I have learned how to gain trust, listen, engage and develop others. I am a mom to two amazing human beings who are teaching me every day about the importance of love, patience and curiosity. I am passionate about helping others. In any way I can. I currently hold the position of Vice President as well as Director of Business Development at SCWIST. 

Naima Munir

MSc.
[email protected]

Naima holds a Master’s degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering with a focus in Image and Signal Processing. She joined SCWIST a year ago and was elected to SCWIST 2020-2021 board in July 2020. She is currently serving as Director Youth Engagement and Co-Director IWIS.

Naima is passionate about advocating for equal and fair representation of women in STEM. She believes in promoting all forms of female leadership in the professional world and is happy to engage with new ideas on how to promote women empowerment in the professional workplace.

Independent Contractors

Ashley van der Pouw Kraan

Ashley van der Pouw Kraan
ms infinity Program Coordinator

Akanksha Chudgar

Akanksha Chudgar
North Indigenous Outreach Coordinator

 Cheryl Kristiansen, P. Eng.

Cheryl Kristiansen, P. Eng.
Make DIVERSITY Possible & SCALE Project Manager

Ashley van der Pouw Kraan

MSc.
[email protected]

Ashley van der Pouw Kraan was born and raised in Pitt Meadows, and currently resides in Vancouver. She has always been interested in all things science, with earth sciences holding a special place in her heart. She has spent the past six years working in a variety of roles at Science World, an informal science education centre, most recently as the Digital Communications Coordinator. When not at her desk, she can often be found reading, or cycling around the city. She is thrilled to join the SCWIST team as the ms infinity Program Coordinator.

Akanksha Chudgar

MSc.
[email protected]

Akanksha completed her undergraduate degree in Economics in India and is currently pursuing a graduate degree in environmental studies from UNBC in Prince George. She has worked with education in various schools in India as well as North America. She is interested in the behavior of human beings – their interaction with each other as well as the natural environment. The aspect that involves changing people’s interaction with nature (and each other) for the better interests her. She believes this can be done through communication, by considering people’s needs and by giving them more information about their impact on nature.

Cheryl Kristiansen, P. Eng.

MSc.
[email protected]

Cheryl brings diverse expertise in project management, engineering innovation and leading transformative change in STEM.  She has a degree in Mechanical Engineering, hands-on research experience in alternate fuels engine technology, and senior leadership success in the oil and gas sector.  Cheryl has worked in a variety of corporate cultures and organizational models with strategic agility, has effectively managed international engineering projects with multiple stakeholders, led diverse sales teams and created marketing strategies to deliver financial results.

As Managing Director of the Mitchell Odyssey Foundation, Cheryl developed a network of schools across BC with innovative programs that motivate and inspire high school students to pursue careers in STEM.  Cheryl is a certified facilitator and created the “Wild About Science” Odyssey Symposium for STEM educators in BC. She has delivered a variety of workshops across Canada, including SCWIST Diversity by Design workshops at post-secondary institutions, industry conferences and STEM organizations. As a WinSETT Facilitator, Cheryl has delivered seminars on Leading Change, Unconscious Bias, Allyship, and the Leadership Series in Alberta and BC. 

Cheryl led the SCWIST MakePossible mentoring project to advance women in STEM. She now leads the “Make DIVERSITY Possible” project – working with STEM companies to create diversity tools and build inclusive workplace cultures that embrace and advance a diverse workforce – as well as the new SCALE project to improve organizational effectiveness of SCWIST, develop partnerships and expand advocacy to advance gender equality. Cheryl is passionate about connecting and collaborating with others to create solutions, with a strong focus on continuous improvement and the belief that diversity drives innovation!