من مجلس إدارتنا التطوعي إلى فريقنا من القادة المتحمسين والمتحمسين في مجال العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، نعمل معًا لدفع رسالتنا ورؤيتنا إلى الأمام.

مجلس الادارة

بوه تان

بوه تان
President

ساينا بيتاري

ساينا بيتاري
مدير المالية

جين واتسون

جين واتسون
مدير إشراك الشباب

ميلاني راتنام

ميلاني راتنام
مدير السياسة والمناصرة ونائب الرئيس

ياسمين بارمار

ياسمين بارمار
مدير التسويق والاتصالات

ماريا جيونجيوسي عيسى

ماريا جيونجيوسي عيسى
سكرتير

ايرين ديبروين

ايرين ديبروين
مدير بناء المجتمع

بوه تان

دكتوراه
[البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

بوه هي رائدة أعمال وعالمة في الخلايا الجذعية ومعلمة ومتحدث 2x TEDx وأم لطفلين. مع درجة الدكتوراه في بيولوجيا الخلايا الجذعية ، يكمل بوه حاليًا درجة الدكتوراه الثانية مع التركيز في تعليم العلوم. هي المؤسس والرئيس التنفيذي لأكاديمية STEMedge حيث تقوم بإنشاء برامج لدعم طلاب المدارس الثانوية لتطوير القدرات البحثية في STEM. عادت إلى مجلس الإدارة كرئيسة لـ SCWIST.

ساينا بيتاري

دكتوراه
[البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

ساينا هي باحثة في المجلس الوطني للباحثين في كندا وتدعم COVID-19 وجهود البحث والتطوير الأخرى المتعلقة بالعدوى الفيروسية. مع دكتوراه. في علم الأحياء الدقيقة ، يكمن شغفها في أبحاث فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية / الإيدز. وهي مناصرة لإصلاح السياسات من أجل إدراج العلم بشكل أفضل في صنع السياسات. انضم ساينا إلى مجلس SCWIST كمدير للشؤون المالية.

جين واتسون

MPhil ، PMP
[البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

JeAnn هو منسق إدارة المشاريع في Genome BC. مع خلفية في الكيمياء الحيوية ، وتخصصت في المركبات الطبيعية والاصطناعية في استقلاب الدواء ، وشهادة PMP ، اختار JeAnn الانتقال بعيدًا عن مقاعد البدلاء. وهي أيضًا نائبة رئيس جمعية التقدم العلمي وتركز على توفير فرص العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) للسكان ناقصي التمثيل. هي مديرة مشاركة الشباب في SCWIST.

ميلاني راتنام

بكالوريوس ، دكتوراه
[البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

ميلاني راتنام عالمة أعصاب حاصلة على درجة الدكتوراه من جامعة تورنتو مع التركيز على العمليات الخلوية التي تنظم الالتهاب بعد السكتة الدماغية. إنها رائدة أعمال ، وداعية ، وداعمة شغوفة للشباب الذين يتابعون العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. تنضم ميلاني إلى مجلس SCWIST كمديرة للسياسة والدعوة للتركيز على تحسين التبادل الإلكتروني للبيانات وتمثيل المرأة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

ياسمين بارمار

ماجستير
[البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

تتمتع ياسمين بارمار بخلفية في علم وظائف الأعضاء وعلم الحركة في الطب الحيوي ، وقد بنت مهنة في المبيعات والعمليات. كانت ياسمين متطوعة مع SCWIST في لجنة تطوير الأعمال ، ولديها شغف لرفع مستوى النساء ذوات البشرة الملونة اللواتي يرغبن في ممارسة مهنة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM). انضمت ياسمين إلى مجلس الإدارة كمديرة للتسويق والاتصالات.

ماريا جيونجيوسي عيسى

دكتوراه
[البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

ماريا جيونجيوسي عيسى هو شبه متقاعد من قسم علم الأمراض وطب المختبرات بجامعة كولومبيا البريطانية والمدير السابق لمركز تعليم علم الأمراض. منذ فترة طويلة ، حصلت على درجة البكالوريوس مع مرتبة الشرف في علم الأحياء الدقيقة / علم المناعة من جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية ؛ دكتوراه في علم المناعة في لندن ، المملكة المتحدة ؛ وكان أول من وصف مستقبلات الخلايا التائية. كطبيبة ما بعد الدكتوراه ، تزلجت ماريا في سويسرا وفرنسا أثناء عملها في الكيمياء الحيوية (مكمل) والدم (موت الخلايا المبرمج). في ساسكاتشوان ، قامت بتربية ابنة أثناء عملها على عامل الحرب البيولوجية ، توكسين تي 2. انتقل إلى فانكوفر وجامعة كولومبيا البريطانية ، وعمل على الصفائح الدموية وطور العديد من براءات الاختراع. فيما بينها ، قامت بالتدريس في كل مستوى من رياض الأطفال إلى التعليم الطبي المستمر ، وأشرفت على طلاب الدراسات العليا ، ودورات علم الأحياء والكيمياء الحيوية لكلية دوغلاس ، و CIDA في إندونيسيا. لا يبدو أنها تتقاعد ولا تزال تدرس طلاب الطب. 

عملت ماريا في مجلس الإدارة وشغلت مرتين منصب رئيس SCWIST والآن عادت كسكرتيرة مؤقتة. مع SCWIST و Science World ، صممت برامج التوعية العلمية التي تعالج التنوع والمساواة بين الجنسين ، تم تمويل ثلاثة منها من قبل النساء والمساواة بين الجنسين ، كندا. 

ماريا هي حكام كندا الوطني للتجديف. دولي 3rd Dan Black Belt TaeKwonDo مدرب ، بستاني مهووس ، والأهم من ذلك - نموذج كبير الساحر في Angie Sage's سبتيموس كومة الكتب. 

إنها لا تحب النماذج: شعارها هو قول إيمانويل كانط ، "تجرؤ على اكتشاف!"

إيرين هي مديرة مشروع في Genome BC تدعم تعليم الجينوم لمتخصصي الرعاية الصحية ولديها خلفية في الهندسة وتطوير المستحضرات الصيدلانية قبل السريرية. بدأت Erin التطوع مع SCIWST كعضو في اللجنة التوجيهية لـ جعل ذلك ممكنا مشروع توجيهي للنهوض بالمرأة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات وينضم الآن إلى مجلس الإدارة كمدير مؤقت لبناء المجتمع.

متعاقدون مستقلون

شيريل كريستيانسن

شيريل كريستيانسن
جعل التنوع ممكنا ومدير مشروع النطاق

أشلي فان دير بو كران

أشلي فان دير بو كران
منسق الاتصالات والفعاليات

Akanksha Chudgar

Akanksha Chudgar
منسق التوعية بالسكان الأصليين

بوجا مورتي

بوجا مورتي
منسق msinfinity

جاكلين إيبينا

جاكلين إيبينا
منسق msinfinity

مريم لوكلير

مريم لوكلير
منسق كيبيك

ناتاشا بيردي

ناتاشا بيردي
الاتصال الشبابي برامج السكان الأصليين

شيريل كريستيانسن

P.Eng
[البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

تقدم شيريل خبرات متنوعة في إدارة المشاريع والابتكار الهندسي وقيادة التغيير التحويلي في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. لديها شهادة في الهندسة الميكانيكية ، وخبرة بحثية عملية في تكنولوجيا محركات الوقود البديل ، ونجاح القيادة العليا في قطاع النفط والغاز. عملت شيريل في مجموعة متنوعة من ثقافات الشركات والنماذج التنظيمية بخفة الحركة الاستراتيجية ، وأدارت بفعالية مشاريع هندسية دولية مع العديد من أصحاب المصلحة ، وقادت فرق مبيعات متنوعة ووضعت استراتيجيات تسويق لتحقيق نتائج مالية.

بصفتها المدير الإداري لمؤسسة ميتشل أوديسي ، طورت شيريل شبكة من المدارس في جميع أنحاء كولومبيا البريطانية مع برامج مبتكرة تحفز وتلهم طلاب المدارس الثانوية لمتابعة مهن في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. شيريل هي ميسرة معتمدة وأنشأت ندوة Odyssey "Wild About Science" لمعلمي العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات في كولومبيا البريطانية. لقد قدمت مجموعة متنوعة من ورش العمل في جميع أنحاء كندا ، بما في ذلك ورش عمل SCWIST Diversity by Design في مؤسسات ما بعد الثانوية ، ومؤتمرات الصناعة ، ومنظمات STEM. بصفتها ميسرًا لـ WinSETT ، قدمت شيريل ندوات حول قيادة التغيير ، والتحيز اللاواعي ، والصداقة ، وسلسلة القيادة في ألبرتا وكولومبيا البريطانية. 

قادت شيريل SCWIST جعل ذلك ممكنا مشروع توجيهي للنهوض بالمرأة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. هي الآن تقود "Make تنوع مشروع "ممكن" - العمل مع شركات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات لإنشاء أدوات متنوعة وبناء ثقافات مكان العمل الشاملة التي تحتضن وتطور قوة عاملة متنوعة - بالإضافة إلى مشروع SCALE الجديد لتحسين الفعالية التنظيمية لـ SCWIST ، وتطوير الشراكات وتوسيع نطاق الدعوة لتعزيز المساواة بين الجنسين. شيريل شغوفة بالتواصل والتعاون مع الآخرين لإيجاد حلول ، مع تركيز قوي على التحسين المستمر والاعتقاد بأن التنوع يدفع الابتكار!

أشلي فان دير بو كران


[البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

أشلي (هي / لها) حاصلة على بكالوريوس في البيئة والاستدامة من جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية. عندما لا تعمل على إنشاء مستقبل أنظف وأكثر اخضرارًا للجيل القادم ، يمكن العثور عليها وهي تبتكر القصص وتشترك في المساحات الرقمية. ashleypk.com

أكملت أكانكشا شهادتها الجامعية في الاقتصاد في الهند وتسعى حاليًا للحصول على درجة حاصل على درجة الدراسات العليا في الدراسات البيئية من UNBC في الأمير جورج. عملت في مجال التعليم في مدارس مختلفة في الهند وكذلك أمريكا الشمالية. تهتم بسلوك البشر - تفاعلهم مع بعضهم البعض وكذلك مع البيئة الطبيعية. الجانب الذي يتضمن التغيير تفاعل الناس مع الطبيعة (ومع بعضهم البعض) لمصلحتها بشكل أفضل. هي تعتقد أن هذا يمكن أن يكون من خلال التواصل ، من خلال النظر في احتياجات الناس ومن خلال منحهم المزيد من المعلومات حول تأثيرها على الطبيعة.

تخرجت بوجا مؤخرًا من جامعة أوتاوا بدرجة البكالوريوس في علوم الكمبيوتر وقاصر في علم النفس. لديها شغف كبير بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ولا سيما تحسين التعليم وإمكانية الوصول إلى العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات للشابات. كما أنها مهتمة بشكل خاص بتقاطع الفنون مع العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEAM) ، وكيف يمكن استخدامها لتشجيع المزيد من الاهتمام بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات لأنها تُظهر مدى ضخامة القدرات الموجودة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. إنها متحمسة لمواصلة الدفاع عن النساء من جميع الخلفيات والثقافات لمتابعة وإشعال اهتماماتهن في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. خارج العمل ، تحب العمل بيديها سواء كان الطبخ أو إنشاء مشاريع إبداعية.

أكملت جاكلين شهادتها الجامعية في علم الأحياء مع تخصص فرعي في الكيمياء من جامعة ويلفريد لوريير. تهتم بسلوك النباتات - وتحديداً تفاعلها مع جسم الإنسان. يشمل وقتها الماضي البحث عن الطعام والتعرف على البيئة المحيطة بها. إنها تتفهم الحاجة إلى مجتمع ، خاصة خلال هذه الأوقات. تحب خلق الفرص التي تساعد الناس على النمو والتعلم من بعضهم البعض. بصفتها طالبة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) ، فهي تعلم الحاجة إلى قيادات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات يمكنها المساعدة في توجيه الفتيات الصغيرات المهتمات بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات!

حقيقة ممتعة: تعيش في مزرعة بها بقرة وخراف.

مريم طالبة جامعية تتخصص في علم الأعصاب السلوكي مع تخصص فرعي في علوم الكمبيوتر. إنها مهتمة بعلم النفس السلوكي وكيف يمكن أن تساعدنا النماذج الحسابية وأساليب البحث في فهم وتفسير السلوك البشري بشكل أفضل. تتركز اهتماماتها المهنية الرئيسية في أبحاث تجربة المستخدم والتفاعلات بين الإنسان والحاسوب ، وتخطط في النهاية للحصول على درجة أعلى في علم النفس الهندسي. لقد اختبرت مريم بشكل مباشر أهمية نماذج STEM النسائية الداعمة في حياة الفتاة الصغيرة ، وجعلت مهمتها هي ضمان حصول الفتيات الصغيرات في كيبيك على الدعم والتشجيع الذي يحتاجون إليه من برنامج MS Infinity التابع لـ SCWIST.

حصلت ناتاشا على درجة البكالوريوس في الفيزياء التطبيقية من جامعة سيمون فريزر حيث كانت موضوعاتها المفضلة هي الديناميكا الكهربية وفيزياء الجوامد. كرئيسة لجمعية الطلاب الجامعيين في جامعة SFU ، قامت ببناء خبرتها في بناء المجتمع وإنشاء أحداث مؤثرة ومستدامة لمجتمع العلوم. منذ التخرج ، تدربت مع منظمات في تسويق تكنولوجيا المناخ ، واستدامة المحيطات ، وتطوير البناء المستدام. ناتاشا شغوفة بمشاريع الطاقة النظيفة وتقليل النفايات وتقنيات المناخ الأخرى. إنها متحمسة للعمل مع SCWIST لمشاركة الفرص والمسارات في STEM مع الجيل الأصغر من الطلاب. في أوقات فراغها ، تستمتع ناتاشا بالدراجات النارية ، واستكشاف المسارات المحلية ، وهي تبحث حاليًا عن أفضل سندويشات التاكو في البر الرئيسي السفلي.

From our volunteer Board of Directors to our team of passionate and motivated leaders in STEM, we work together to propel our mission and vision forward.

Board of Directors

Poh Tan

Poh Tan
President

Saina Beitari

Saina Beitari
Director of Finance

JeAnn Watson

JeAnn Watson
Director of Youth Engagement

Melanie Ratnam

Melanie Ratnam
Director of Policy and Advocacy & Vice President

Jasmine Parmar

Jasmine Parmar
Director of Marketing and Communications

Maria Gyongyossy-Issa

Maria Gyongyossy-Issa
Secretary

Erin DeBruin

Erin DeBruin
Director of Community Building

Poh Tan

PhD
[email protected]

Poh is an entrepreneur, stem cell scientist, educator, 2x TEDx speaker, and mother of two boys. With a Ph.D in stem cell biology, Poh is currently completing a second PhD with a focus in science education. She is the founder and CEO of STEMedge Academy where she creates programs to support high school students develop research capacity in STEM. She returns to the Board of Directors as SCWIST’s President.

Saina Beitari

PhD
[email protected]

Saina is a researcher at the National Researcher Council of Canada and supports COVID-19 and other viral infection R&D efforts. With a Ph.D. in microbiology, her passion lies in HIV/AIDS research. She is an advocate for policy reform for better inclusion of science in policy making. Saina joins the SCWIST Board as Director of Finance.

JeAnn Watson

MPhil, PMP
[email protected]

JeAnn is a Project Management Coordinator at Genome BC. With a background in Biochemistry, specializing in natural and synthetic compounds in drug metabolism, and a PMP certification, JeAnn chose to transition away from the bench. She is also the vice chair for the Society for Scientific Advancement and is focused on providing STEM opportunities to underrepresented populations. She is SCWIST’s Director of Youth Engagement.

Melanie Ratnam

BSc, PhD
[email protected]

Melanie Ratnam is a neuroscientist with a PhD from the University of Toronto with a focus on cellular processes that regulate inflammation after stroke. She is an entrepreneur, advocate, and passionate supporter of youth pursuing STEM. Melanie joins the SCWIST Board as Director of Policy and Advocacy to focus on improving EDI and representation of women in STEM.

Jasmine Parmar

MSc
[email protected]

Jasmine Parmar has a background in Biomedical Physiology and Kinesiology and built a career in sales and operations. Jasmine has been a volunteer with SCWIST in the Business Development committee, and she has a passion for raising the profile of women of colour who want to pursue a career in STEM. Jasmine joins the board as Director Marketing and Communications.

Maria Gyongyossy-Issa

PhD
[email protected]

Maria Gyongyossy-Issa is semi-retired from UBC’s Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine and past Director of the Pathology Education Centre. Long ago, she did an Honours BSc in microbiology/immunology at UBC; a PhD in immunology in London, UK; and was first to describe T cell receptors. As post doc, Maria skied in Switzerland and France while doing biochemistry (complement) and blood (apoptosis). In Saskatchewan she raised a daughter while working on the biological warfare agent, T2 toxin. Moved to Vancouver and UBC, worked on platelets and developed several patents. In between, she taught at every level from kindergarten to CME, supervised graduate students, mounted biology and biochemistry courses for Douglas College, and for CIDA in Indonesia. She can’t seem to retire and still teaches medical students. 

Maria served on the Board of Directors and was twice President of SCWIST and now she’s back as Interim Secretary. With SCWIST and Science World, she designed science outreach programs that address diversity and gender equality, three of which were funded by Women and Gender Equality, Canada. 

Maria is a Rowing Canada National Umpire; an international 3rd Dan Black Belt TaeKwonDo instructor, an obsessive gardener, and most importantly – the model for the Chief Wizard in Angie Sage’s Septimus Heap books. 

She doesn’t like paradigms: her motto is Emmanuel Kant’s dictum, “Dare to find out!”

Erin DeBruin


[email protected]

Erin is a Project Manager at Genome BC supporting genomics education for health care professionals and has a background in engineering and pre-clinical pharmaceutical development. Erin started volunteering with SCIWST as a steering committee member of the MakePossible mentoring project to advance women in STEM and now joins the board as the interim Director of Community Building.

Independent Contractors

 Cheryl Kristiansen

Cheryl Kristiansen
Make DIVERSITY Possible & SCALE Project Manager

Ashley van der Pouw Kraan

Ashley van der Pouw Kraan
Communications and Events Coordinator

Akanksha Chudgar

Akanksha Chudgar
North Indigenous Outreach Coordinator

Pooja Moorti

Pooja Moorti
msinfinity Coordinator

Jaqueline Ipina

Jaqueline Ipina
msinfinity Coordinator

Maryam Leclerc

Maryam Leclerc
Quebec Coordinator

Natasha Birdi

Natasha Birdi
Youth Engagement Indigenous Programs Liaison

Cheryl Kristiansen

P.Eng
[email protected]

Cheryl brings diverse expertise in project management, engineering innovation and leading transformative change in STEM.  She has a degree in Mechanical Engineering, hands-on research experience in alternate fuels engine technology, and senior leadership success in the oil and gas sector.  Cheryl has worked in a variety of corporate cultures and organizational models with strategic agility, has effectively managed international engineering projects with multiple stakeholders, led diverse sales teams and created marketing strategies to deliver financial results.

As Managing Director of the Mitchell Odyssey Foundation, Cheryl developed a network of schools across BC with innovative programs that motivate and inspire high school students to pursue careers in STEM.  Cheryl is a certified facilitator and created the “Wild About Science” Odyssey Symposium for STEM educators in BC. She has delivered a variety of workshops across Canada, including SCWIST Diversity by Design workshops at post-secondary institutions, industry conferences and STEM organizations. As a WinSETT Facilitator, Cheryl has delivered seminars on Leading Change, Unconscious Bias, Allyship, and the Leadership Series in Alberta and BC. 

Cheryl led the SCWIST MakePossible mentoring project to advance women in STEM. She now leads the “Make DIVERSITY Possible” project – working with STEM companies to create diversity tools and build inclusive workplace cultures that embrace and advance a diverse workforce – as well as the new SCALE project to improve organizational effectiveness of SCWIST, develop partnerships and expand advocacy to advance gender equality. Cheryl is passionate about connecting and collaborating with others to create solutions, with a strong focus on continuous improvement and the belief that diversity drives innovation!

Ashley van der Pouw Kraan


[email protected]

Ashley (she/her) has a BA in Environmentalism and Sustainability from the University of British Columbia. When she is not working to create a cleaner, greener future for the next generation, she can be found creating, storytelling and sharing in digital spaces. ashleypk.com

Akanksha Chudgar


[email protected]

Akanksha completed her undergraduate degree in Economics in India and is currently pursuing a graduate degree in environmental studies from UNBC in Prince George. She has worked with education in various schools in India as well as North America. She is interested in the behavior of human beings – their interaction with each other as well as the natural environment. The aspect that involves changing people’s interaction with nature (and each other) for the better interests her. She believes this can be done through communication, by considering people’s needs and by giving them more information about their impact on nature.

Pooja Moorti


[email protected]

Pooja has recently graduated from the University of Ottawa with a BSc in Computer Science and a minor in Psychology. She has a great passion for STEM in particular improving education and accessibility to STEM for younger women. She is also especially interested in the intersection of Arts with STEM (STEAM), and how it can be utilized to encourage more interest in STEM as it shows how large the capabilities within STEM are. She is excited to continue to advocate for women from all backgrounds and cultures to pursue and ignite their interests in STEM. Outside of work, she loves work with her hands whether it is cooking or creating creative projects.

Jaqueline Ipina


[email protected]

Jaqueline completed her undergraduate degree in Biology with a minor in Chemistry from Wilfrid Laurier University. She is interested in the behavior of plants – specifically their interaction with the human body. Her past time includes foraging and learning about the environment surrounding her. She understands the need for a community, especially during these times. She loves to create opportunities that help people grow and learn from one another. As a STEM student, she knows the need for female STEM leaders that can help guide the young girls interested in STEM!

Fun Fact: She lives on a farm with a cow and sheep.

Maryam Leclerc


[email protected]

Maryam is an undergraduate student pursuing a specialization in Behavioural Neuroscience with a minor in Computer Science. She is interested in behavioural psychology and how computational models and research methods can help us understand and interpret human behaviour better. Her main career interests are in User Experience Research and human-computer interactions and she eventually plans on pursuing a higher degree in Engineering Psychology. Maryam has experienced first hand the importance of supportive female STEM models in a young girl’s life, and has made it her mission to ensure that the young girls of Quebec get the support and encouragement they need from SCWIST’s MS Infinity Program.

Natasha Birdi


[email protected]

Natasha holds a Bachelor’s degree in Applied Physics from Simon Fraser University where her favourite topics were electrodynamics and solid-state physics. As President of SFU’s Science Undergraduate Society, she built her expertise in community building and creating impactful, sustainable events for the science community. Since graduating, she has interned with organizations in climate tech marketing, ocean sustainability, and sustainable building developments. Natasha is passionate about clean energy projects, waste reduction, and other climate technology. She is excited to be working with SCWIST to share opportunities and pathways in STEM with the younger generation of students. In her spare time, Natasha enjoys motorcycling, exploring local trails, and is currently on the search for the best tacos in the lower mainland.