عالم تحول إلى سياسي: مقابلة مع الدكتورة أميتا كوتنر حول العلم والسياسة

By سونيا لانجمان (منشئ المحتوى الرقمي SCWIST)

الدكتورة أميتا كوتنر، مواطن من شمال فانكوفر ، حاصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الفيزياء الفلكية من جامعة كاليفورنيا ، سانتا كروز. سنحت لي الفرصة للتحدث معهم حول حملتهم من أجل قيادة حزب الخضر ، وكيف أعدتهم خلفيتهم الأكاديمية للحياة السياسية.

قرر أميتا في البداية أنهم يريدون الدخول في السياسة عندما كانوا طلابًا متخرجين. على الرغم من أن لديهم (ولا يزالون) حبًا ثابتًا للبحث ، فقد أدركوا أن هناك العديد من جوانب العالم التي تحتاج إلى اهتمام عاجل. جاء هذا الإدراك في الوقت الذي أجرت فيه الولايات المتحدة انتخاباتها الأخيرة ، والتي كانت بمثابة جرس إنذار كبير.

عندما قرر أميتا ما الذي سيترشح له ، وجد أنهم بارعون في تحليل القضايا الفيدرالية. يقول أميتا: "بصفتي عالمًا ، أعتقد أن الحزبية بشكل أساسي أمر محرج لأنك لا تريد اختيار مجموعة من المُثُل ، يجب أن أكون قادرًا على التحدث عن افتراضاتي والنتائج التي أهتم بها وتطوير شيء ما" . "كان حزب الخضر هو المكان الذي كان سيسمح لي على أفضل وجه بالقيام بذلك وأيضًا تقديم بعض السياسات التي اعتقدت أنه لم يتم تناولها."

في اجتماعات أولية مع إليزابيث ماي ، الزعيمة السابقة لحزب الخضر ، شدد أميتا على أهمية المناقشات المتعلقة بالذكاء الاصطناعي والأتمتة ، حيث رأوا أنه مجال يجب أن تكون فيه الحكومة استباقية بدلاً من رد الفعل. قد اقترح أن يتولى أميتا منصب ناقد لسياسة العلوم والابتكار لحزب الخضر.

الوظيفة متعددة الأوجه: قطعة واحدة هي أن تكون المتحدث باسم الحزب ، الأمر الذي يستلزم فهم موقف الحزب بشأن القضايا والقدرة على شرحها. آخر هو تتبع الوزراء وفهم أو انتقاد آراء الأطراف الأخرى. كما يتطلب الدور اقتراح تعديلات على التشريعات على أعضاء البرلمان ، بالنظر إلى عمل الوزارات الأخرى. الجزء الأخير هو تطوير البرنامج الانتخابي لحزب الخضر على أساس السياسات التي تأتي من العضوية والقيم الأساسية.

عندما سُئل عن كيفية مقارنة هذا الموقف بما فعلوه سابقًا ، قال أميتا ، "بعد قضاء سنوات عديدة في الأوساط الأكاديمية والتعامل مع نقص التمويل والرغبة في الدعم للبحث في العديد من المجالات المختلفة ، كان من المُرضي جدًا أن تكون قادرًا على نقد الطريقة التي يتم بها توجيه التمويل الحكومي الحالي لجميع الأبحاث بشكل عام ، وإخبارهم بأنها غير كافية ، والنظر في كيفية القيام بذلك بشكل أفضل. لذلك هذا نوع من ما فعلته: قمت بهيكلة السياسات ، وطرحها ، ثم انتقلت إلى شخص لديه خبرة في كتابة السياسة ".

تعتقد أميتا بشدة أن تدريبهم الأكاديمي ساعدهم على بدء حياتهم المهنية السياسية ؛ ومع ذلك ، لم يكونوا يقومون فقط بالبحث والتدريب. "الأشياء التي ساعدتني كانت التدريس والتواصل العلمي. على سبيل المثال ، فهم متى تريد إلقاء الحقائق على الأشخاص وعندما لا تريد ذلك ، عندما تريد سرد القصص أو اكتشاف طريقة للتحدث باستعارة. يشرح أميتا أنك تكتسب أيضًا شبكات في الأوساط الأكاديمية وتتعلم التحدث إلى الناس ، وإثارة المحادثات ، وفتح مسارات الاتصال. "العملية العلمية وعملية البحث بأكملها قابلة للتطبيق ومفيدة أيضًا. هذا شيء أعتقد أنه لا أحد يأتي إلى السياسة ونحتاج إلى الحصول على المزيد من الأشخاص القادرين على ذلك ".

مثلت الدكتورة أميتا كوتنر حزب الخضر الكندي في SCWIST Federal Elections Debate 2019 في فانكوفر ، كولومبيا البريطانية ، والذي كان حدثًا غير حزبي للتعرف على سياسات الحزب للعلوم والسياسات القائمة على العلم والمساواة بين الجنسين. لمعرفة المزيد عن عملهم ، قم بزيارة https://amitakuttner.ca/ أو متابعتها على تويتر تضمين التغريدة.

سونيا لانجمان هي منشئ محتوى رقمي لـ SCWIST. خارج SCWIST ، هي طالبة دكتوراه في قسم الأورام متعدد التخصصات في جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية. هل لديك أسئلة لسونيا؟ مدير الاتصالات عبر البريد الإلكتروني [في] scwist.ca للتواصل.

Scientist Turned Politician: An Interview with Dr. Amita Kuttner about Science and Policy

By Sonya Langman (SCWIST Digital Content Creator)

Dr. Amita Kuttner, a North Vancouver native, has a PhD in astrophysics from the University of California, Santa Cruz. I had a chance to talk with them about their campaign for the Leadership of the Green Party, and how their academic background prepared them for political life.

Amita first decided that they wanted to step into politics when they were a grad student. Although they had (and still have) an unchanging love for research, they realized there are many aspects of the world that needed urgent attention. This realization came around the time that the US had their last election, which was a massive wake-up call.

When deciding what to run for, Amita found that they were adept to analyzing federal issues. “As a scientist, I think fundamentally partisanship is awkward because you don’t want to pick a set of ideals, I should just be able to talk about my assumptions, the outcomes I’m interested in, and develop something,” says Amita. “The Green Party was the place that was going to best allow me to do that and also bring some of the policy forward that I thought was not being addressed.”

In initial meetings with Elizabeth May, the former Green Party leader, Amita emphasized the importance of discussions regarding artificial intelligence and automation, as they viewed it as an area where the government must be proactive rather than reactive. May suggested that Amita take on the position of a science and innovation policy critic for the Green Party.

The job is multifaceted: one piece is being the spokesperson for the party which necessitates understanding where the party stands on issues and being able to explain it. Another is keeping track of ministers and understanding or critiquing other parties’ views. The role also requires suggesting amendments to legislation to members of parliament, given the work of other ministries. The final part is developing the Green Party’s election platform on the basis of policies that come from the membership and core values.

When asked how this position compares to what they’ve previously done, Amita says, “After spending so many years in academia and dealing with underfunding and wanting support for research in so many different areas, it was so satisfying to be able to critique the way that current government funding is being put towards all research in general, telling them that it’s inadequate, and actually looking into how to do it better. So that’s kind of what I did: I structured policies, I put them forward, and then it went through to somebody with experience in writing out policy.”

Amita strongly believes their academic training helped them launch their political career; however, they weren’t just doing research and training. “The things that helped me were teaching and scientific communication. For example, understanding when you want to throw facts at people and when you don’t, when you want to tell stories or figure out a way to speak in a metaphor. You also gain networking in academia and learn to talk to people, to bring up conversations, and to open pathways of communication,” Amita explains. “The entire scientific process and research process are also completely applicable and useful. That’s something that I think nobody else comes to politics with and we need to get more people that are capable of that.”

Dr. Amita Kuttner represented the Green Party of Canada at the SCWIST Federal Elections Debate 2019 in Vancouver, BC, which was non-partisan event to learn about party policies for science, science-based policy, gender equity. To learn more about their work, visit https://amitakuttner.ca/ or follow them on Twitter @AmitaKuttner.

Sonya Langman is a Digital Content Creator for SCWIST. Outside of SCWIST, she is a PhD Candidate in the Interdisciplinary Oncology department at UBC. Have questions for Sonya? Email director-communications[at]scwist.ca to get in touch.