科学家转变为政治家:Amita Kuttner博士就科学与政策进行访谈

By 索尼娅·朗曼 (SCWIST数字内容创建者)

Amita Kuttner博士,北温哥华人,拥有加州大学圣克鲁斯分校的天体物理学博士学位。 我有机会与他们讨论了他们争取绿党领导的运动,以及他们的学术背景如何使他们为政治生活做好了准备。

Amita最初决定,当他们是研究生时,他们想涉足政治。 尽管他们一直(并且仍然)对研究保持不变,但他们意识到世界上有许多方面需要紧急关注。 这种认识是在美国最后一次大选之际发生的,那是一次巨大的警钟。

在决定要做什么时,Amita发现他们擅长分析联邦问题。 “作为科学家,我认为党派协作从根本上来说很尴尬,因为您不想选择一套理想,我应该能够谈论自己的假设,我感兴趣的成果并开发出一些东西,” Amita说。 “绿党是最能使我做到这一点的地方,并且提出了一些我认为没有解决的政策。”

在与绿党前领导人伊丽莎白·梅的初次会晤中,艾米塔强调了有关人工智能和自动化的讨论的重要性,因为他们认为人工智能是政府必须积极主动而不是被动应对的领域。 May建议Amita担任绿党的科学和创新政策评论家。

工作是多方面的:一个人是该党的发言人,这需要理解该党在问题上的立场并能够对其进行解释。 另一个是跟踪部长,了解或批评其他政党的观点。 鉴于其他部委的工作,该角色还需要向国会议员建议对立法进行修正。 最后一部分是根据成员资格和核心价值观制定的绿党选举平台。

当被问及这个职位与他们以前做过的事情相比时,Amita说:“在学术界工作了很多年,处理了资金不足问题,并希望在许多不同领域获得研究支持后,能够批评该学科非常令人满足。当前政府对所有研究的资金投入的方式,告诉他们这是不足的,实际上正在研究如何做得更好。 因此,这就是我所做的事情:我制定了政策,提出了这些政策,然后又传给了具有制定政策经验的人。”

Amita坚信他们的学术训练有助于他们开展政治事业。 但是,他们不只是进行研究和培训。 “对我有帮助的是教学和科学交流。 例如,了解何时要向他人扔出事实,何时不愿意向他人讲事实或想出一种隐喻的说话方式。 您还可以在学术界建立人脉关系,学会与人交谈,进行对话并打开交流途径。 “整个科学过程和研究过程也完全适用且有用。 我认为这是其他任何人都无法参与的政治事务,我们需要吸引更多有能力的人。”

Amita Kuttner博士在不列颠哥伦比亚省温哥华举行的SCWIST联邦选举辩论2019中代表加拿大绿党,这是一次无党派活动,旨在了解有关科学的政党政策,基于科学的政策,性别平等。 要了解有关他们工作的更多信息,请访问 https://amitakuttner.ca/ 或在Twitter上关注他们 @阿米塔·库特纳.

Sonya Langman是SCWIST的数字内容创建者。 在SCWIST之外,她是UBC跨学科肿瘤学系的博士学位候选人。 对Sonya有疑问吗? 通过电子邮件发送电子邮件至director-communications [at] scwist.ca进行联系。

Scientist Turned Politician: An Interview with Dr. Amita Kuttner about Science and Policy

By Sonya Langman (SCWIST Digital Content Creator)

Dr. Amita Kuttner, a North Vancouver native, has a PhD in astrophysics from the University of California, Santa Cruz. I had a chance to talk with them about their campaign for the Leadership of the Green Party, and how their academic background prepared them for political life.

Amita first decided that they wanted to step into politics when they were a grad student. Although they had (and still have) an unchanging love for research, they realized there are many aspects of the world that needed urgent attention. This realization came around the time that the US had their last election, which was a massive wake-up call.

When deciding what to run for, Amita found that they were adept to analyzing federal issues. “As a scientist, I think fundamentally partisanship is awkward because you don’t want to pick a set of ideals, I should just be able to talk about my assumptions, the outcomes I’m interested in, and develop something,” says Amita. “The Green Party was the place that was going to best allow me to do that and also bring some of the policy forward that I thought was not being addressed.”

In initial meetings with Elizabeth May, the former Green Party leader, Amita emphasized the importance of discussions regarding artificial intelligence and automation, as they viewed it as an area where the government must be proactive rather than reactive. May suggested that Amita take on the position of a science and innovation policy critic for the Green Party.

The job is multifaceted: one piece is being the spokesperson for the party which necessitates understanding where the party stands on issues and being able to explain it. Another is keeping track of ministers and understanding or critiquing other parties’ views. The role also requires suggesting amendments to legislation to members of parliament, given the work of other ministries. The final part is developing the Green Party’s election platform on the basis of policies that come from the membership and core values.

When asked how this position compares to what they’ve previously done, Amita says, “After spending so many years in academia and dealing with underfunding and wanting support for research in so many different areas, it was so satisfying to be able to critique the way that current government funding is being put towards all research in general, telling them that it’s inadequate, and actually looking into how to do it better. So that’s kind of what I did: I structured policies, I put them forward, and then it went through to somebody with experience in writing out policy.”

Amita strongly believes their academic training helped them launch their political career; however, they weren’t just doing research and training. “The things that helped me were teaching and scientific communication. For example, understanding when you want to throw facts at people and when you don’t, when you want to tell stories or figure out a way to speak in a metaphor. You also gain networking in academia and learn to talk to people, to bring up conversations, and to open pathways of communication,” Amita explains. “The entire scientific process and research process are also completely applicable and useful. That’s something that I think nobody else comes to politics with and we need to get more people that are capable of that.”

Dr. Amita Kuttner represented the Green Party of Canada at the SCWIST Federal Elections Debate 2019 in Vancouver, BC, which was non-partisan event to learn about party policies for science, science-based policy, gender equity. To learn more about their work, visit https://amitakuttner.ca/ or follow them on Twitter @AmitaKuttner.

Sonya Langman is a Digital Content Creator for SCWIST. Outside of SCWIST, she is a PhD Candidate in the Interdisciplinary Oncology department at UBC. Have questions for Sonya? Email director-communications[at]scwist.ca to get in touch.