تاريخ من المشاركة العامة والدعوة

خدم أعضاء SCWIST في مجموعة متنوعة من اللجان أو قدموا أوراقًا ، بما في ذلك المجلس الاستشاري الكندي حول وضع المرأة ، ولجنة BC Partners in Science Awareness ، واللجنة الاستشارية العلمية لرئيس الوزراء ، ومجلس العلوم في BC (الآن Innovate BC) ، والمرأة في اللجنة التوجيهية للعلوم والتكنولوجيا والحرف والهندسة ، والتحالف الكندي للمرأة في الهندسة والعلوم والحرف والتكنولوجيا (CCWESTT). تضمنت أوجه التعاون التنظيمي المبكرة CAWIS ، والرابطة الكندية للفتيات في العلوم (CAGIS) ، والمرأة في المهن والتكنولوجيا (WITT) ، والنوع الاجتماعي والعلوم والتكنولوجيا (GASAT) ، رابطة معلمي العلوم في كولومبيا البريطانية (BCSTA). للمشاركة الحالية في الدعوة ، يرجى قراءة المزيد هنا.

الربع الأول من القرن

في ربيع عام 1981 ، اجتمعت ست عالمات على شرفة مغطاة بالياسمين في منزل فانكوفر للتخطيط لمؤتمر للنساء في مجال العلوم. كان هنا ، في الشرفة الأمامية لماجي بينستون ، حيث كان "ستة شجعان" - ماري فيكرز ، هيلدا تشينغ ، آبي شوارتز ، ماري جو دنكان ، ديانا هيربست وماجي بينستون وضعوا خططًا لجمع النساء في العلوم. "ملأت رائحة ياسمين ياسمين بيضاء كبيرة الهواء بينما جلسنا ووضعنا خططنا على الشرفة الأمامية." هيلدا تشينغ

تم تأسيس SCWIST كمجتمع في 30 يوليو 1981. ماري فيكرزيتذكر الرئيس المؤسس كيف "نمت المجموعة بشكل كبير" في عامها الأول: "لقد قدمنا ​​ثمانية برامج عامة وبدأنا أول سجل للنساء في العلوم في كولومبيا البريطانية ويوكون. تلقت برامجنا ردودًا إيجابية أقنعتنا بالحاجة إلى منظمة مثل SCWIST. على سبيل المثال ، كان لدينا غرفة مزدحمة عندما عقدنا حلقة نقاش حول السؤال ، هل يمكن لعالمة موهوبة من بلدة صغيرة في الغرب أن تجد السعادة ووظيفة دائمة في مؤسسة علمية؟ "

"من المناسب والملائم أن تتمتع المرأة بفرص متساوية للوصول إلى وظائف في مجال العلوم والتكنولوجيا".

ماري فيكرز

ماري فيكرز ، معلمة علم الأحياء في كلية دوغلاس في نيو وستمنستر في ذلك الوقت ، تنسب الفضل لماجي بينستون في نجاح المؤتمر الوطني لعام 1983 حول المرأة في العلوم.

"نظم أعضاء SCWIST أول مؤتمر على الإطلاق في كندا للنساء في مجال العلوم ، لكن ماجي هي التي حفزتنا. كانت "العقول" التي تقف وراء ذلك ". نظرًا لسمعة ماجي ، حضر العلماء النسويون ، بما في ذلك أختها التوأم ، كمتحدثين ضيوف من الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا ، مع حضور أكثر من 300 مشارك.

بعد مؤتمر SCWIST الناجح ، والاستجابة الواسعة لوقائع المؤتمر الوطني الأول للمرأة في العلوم والهندسة والتكنولوجيا ، 20-22 مايو 1983 ، فانكوفر ، كولومبيا البريطانية ، كانت الجمعية متأكدة أكثر من أي وقت مضى أنها يمكن أن تساعد الشباب تزيد الفتيات والنساء من اختياراتهن المهنية من خلال الرياضيات والعلوم. تم تأكيد هذا الاعتقاد من خلال ورش العمل الصيفية للفتيات في العلوم ، التي بدأت في عام 1984 ، والتي لقيت بحماس من قبل الفتيات والآباء ومعلمي المدارس الابتدائية في كولومبيا البريطانية. وفي الوقت نفسه ، تمت دعوة أعضاء SCWIST للعمل في المجلس الاستشاري الكندي التابع للحكومة الفيدرالية بشأن وضع المرأة. من الواضح أن جهود SCWIST تم الاعتراف بها.

تاريخ من الجوائز لنساء SCWIST

فاز أعضاء SCWIST:

  • جائزة رئيس مجلس الوزراء للتميز في التدريس في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والرياضيات
  • جائزة PLOYSAR للتميز في التدريس
  • جائزة إيف سيفوري للتواصل العلمي
  • جائزة مايكل سميث للاتصالات العلمية
  • جائزة أفضل متطوع من مجلس العلوم في كولومبيا البريطانية
  • جائزة فانكوفر لمتطوع العام
  • العديد من جوائز YWCA للمرأة المتميزة

تاريخ من برامج SCWIST

على مدار الخمسة وعشرين عامًا الأولى منذ إنشائها في عام 1981 ، طورت SCWIST شبكة فعالة وداعمة لمساعدة الفتيات والنساء في سعيهن للحصول على وظائف في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. من خلال مجموعة متنوعة من البرامج والمشاريع والمؤتمرات ، كان تفويض SCWIST هو التركيز على فرص العمل والمساواة في التوظيف للنساء من خلال برنامج توعية مجتمعي واسع النطاق. فيما يلي لمحة سريعة عن الجهود التعاونية المبكرة مع العديد من المجموعات والمنظمات النسائية ، بما في ذلك لمحة عامة عن البرامج.


رؤساء SCWIST

تاريخ من التميز والإلهام والقيادة والإلهام في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات

ماري فيكرز * 1981-1983
بيتي دواير مواليد 1983-1984
هيلدا تشينج * 1984-1986
ماريان أدير * 1986-1987
ديانا هيربست مواليد 1987-1988
جوزيفينا غونزاليس 1988-1989
تسولا برجرين 1989-1990
بيني لوكوتور * 1990-1992
جاكي جيل ، 1992-1994
هيلدا تشينج * 1994-1995
روزاليند كيليت 1996-1997
هيرومي ماتسوي * 1997-1998
سارة سوينسون 1998-2000
جودي مايرز 2000-2002
داون ماك آرثر 2002-2003
ستيفاني سميث 2003-2005
أماندا سميث 2005-2007
سوزان فيرينزي 2007-2008
موجز إيلانا 2008-2010
آنا ستوكاس 2010-2012
ماريا عيسى * 2012-2013
روزين الحاج موسى 2013-2014
فريبا باشيله 2014-2015
كريستين فيدمان 2015-2017
كيلي مارسينيو 2017-2019

* تشير إلى عضو الشرف

A History of Public Involvement and Advocacy

SCWIST members have served on a variety of committees or presented papers, including the Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women, the BC Partners in Science Awareness Committee, the Premier’s Science Advisory Committee, BC Science Council (now Innovate BC), the Women in Science, Technology, Trades and Engineering Steering Committee, and the Canadian Coalition for Women in Engineering, Science, Trades and Technology (CCWESTT). Early organizational collaborations included CAWIS, Canadian Association of Girls in Science (CAGIS), Women in Trades and Technology (WITT), Gender and Science and Technology (GASAT) BC Science Teachers Association (BCSTA).  For current involvement in advocacy, please read more here.

The First Quarter Century

In the spring of 1981, six women scientists gathered on a clematis-covered porch of a Vancouver house to plan a conference for women in science. It was here, on Maggie Benston’s front porch, where the “undaunted six”-  Mary Vickers, Hilda Ching, Abby Schwarz, Mary Jo Duncan, Diana Herbst and Maggie Benston mapped out plans to bring together women in science. “The scent of large white clematis filled the air as we sat and made our plans on the front porch.” Hilda Ching 

SCWIST was incorporated as a society on July 30, 1981. Mary Vickers, the founding president, remembers how the group “increased mightily” in its first year: “We presented eight public programs and started the first Registry of Women in Science in BC and Yukon. Our programs received positive responses that convinced us of the need for an organization like SCWIST. For example, we had a packed room when we held a panel discussion on the question, ‘Can a talented female scientist from a small town in the West find happiness and a permanent job in a scientific establishment?’’’ 

“It is appropriate and proper for women to have equal access to careers in science and technology.”

Mary Vickers

Mary Vickers, a biology instructor at Douglas College in New Westminster at the time, credits Maggie Benston with the success of the 1983 National Conference on Women in Science. 

“SCWIST members organized the first conference ever held in Canada for women in science, but it was Maggie who stimulated us. She was the ‘brains’ behind it.” Due to Maggie’s reputation, feminist scientists, including her twin sister, came as guest speakers from the United States and Europe, with over 300 participants attending. 

Following the successful SCWIST conference, and the wide response to the Proceedings of the first National Conference for Women in Science, Engineering and Technology, May 20-22, 1983, Vancouver, B.C., the Society was more certain than ever that it could help young girls and women increase their career choices through math and sciences. The belief was confirmed by the Girls in Science summer workshops, begun in 1984, which were enthusiastically received by the girls, parents, and B.C. elementary school teachers. At the same time, SCWIST members were being invited to serve on the federal government’s Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women. Clearly, SCWIST’s efforts were being recognized. 

A History of Awards to Women of SCWIST

SCWIST members have won:

  • Prime Minister’s Award for Teaching Excellence in Science, Technology and Math 
  • PLOYSAR Award for Excellence in Teaching 
  • Eve Savory Award for Science Communication
  • Michael Smith Award for Science Communication
  • BC Science Council Volunteer of the Year Award
  • Vancouver Volunteer of the Year Award
  • Several YWCA Women of Distinction Awards

A History of SCWIST Programs

Over the first twenty-five years since its establishment in 1981, SCWIST developed an effective and supportive network to help girls and women in their pursuit of careers in STEM. Through a variety of programs, projects, and conferences, SCWIST’s mandate has been to focus on career opportunities and employment equity for women through a widespread community outreach program. Below is a snapshot of the early collaborative efforts with many groups and women’s organizations, including an overview of programs.


SCWIST Presidents

A History of Excellence, Inspiration, Leadership and Inspiration in STEM

Mary Vickers* 1981-1983 
Betty Dwyer* 1983-1984
Hilda Ching* 1984-1986 
Marian Adair* 1986-1987 
Diana Herbst* 1987-1988
Josefina Gonzales 1988-1989 
Tasoula Berggren 1989-1990 
Penny LeCouteur* 1990-1992
Jackie Gill, 1992-1994
Hilda Ching* 1994-1995
Rosalind Kellet 1996-1997
Hiromi Matsui* 1997-1998 
Sara Swenson 1998-2000
Judy Myers 2000-2002 
Dawn McArthur 2002-2003
Stephanie Smith 2003-2005 
Amanda Smith 2005-2007  
Suzanne Ferenczi 2007-2008 
Elana Brief 2008-2010
Anna Stukas 2010-2012 
Maria Issa* 2012-2013
Rosine Hage-Moussa 2013-2014
Fariba Pacheleh 2014-2015
Christin Wiedemann 2015-2017 
Kelly Marciniw 2017-2019

*Indicates honourary member