公众参与和倡导的历史

SCWIST成员曾在多个委员会或发表过论文,包括加拿大妇女地位顾问委员会,卑诗省科学意识合作伙伴委员会,总理科学顾问委员会,卑诗省科学理事会(现为Innovate BC),科学,技术,贸易和工程指导委员会,以及加拿大工程,科学,贸易和技术妇女联盟(CCWESTT)。 早期的组织合作包括CAWIS,加拿大科学女童协会(CAGIS),从事贸易和技术的妇女(WITT),性别与科学技术(GASAT)的BC科学教师协会(BCSTA)。 对于当前的倡导工作, 请在这里阅读更多.

第一季度

1981年春季,六名女科学家聚集在温哥华一家房屋的铁线莲覆盖的门廊上,计划召开一次科学界妇女会议。 就是在这里,在玛姬·本斯顿(Maggie Benston)的前门廊上, “无懈可击的六个人”-玛丽·维克斯,希尔达·青,艾比·施瓦茨,玛丽·乔·邓肯,戴安娜·赫伯斯特和玛姬·本斯顿制定了计划,计划将科学界的妇女召集在一起。 “当我们坐在前门廊上制定计划时,大片白色铁线莲的气味弥漫在空气中。” 希尔达·青

SCWIST于30年1981月XNUMX日成立为社团。 玛丽·维克斯创始总裁,她记得该组织在成立的第一年是如何“蓬勃发展”的。 我们的计划收到了积极的回应,使我们确信需要像SCWIST这样的组织。 例如,当我们就以下问题进行小组讨论时,我们有一间拥挤的房间:``来自西部小镇的有才华的女科学家能在科学机构中找到幸福并找到一份长期工作吗?''

“让妇女平等地从事科学和技术职业是适当和适当的。”

玛丽·维克斯

玛丽·维克斯(Mary Vickers)当时是新威斯敏斯特大学道格拉斯学院的生物学讲师,他将1983年全国科学女性会议的成功归功于麦琪·本斯顿。

“ SCWIST成员组织了有史以来在加拿大举行的第一次科学女性会议,但玛姬激励了我们。 她是背后的“大脑”。” 由于玛姬的声誉,包括她的双胞胎姐姐在内的女权主义科学家来自美国和欧洲,作为嘉宾演讲,有300多人参加。

在成功举办SCWIST会议之后,以及对20年22月1983日至1984日在不列颠哥伦比亚省温哥华举行的首届全国科学,工程和技术领域女性会议论文集的广泛响应之后,该协会比以往任何时候都更加确信它可以帮助年轻人女孩和妇女通过数学和科学增加了职业选择。 这种信念得到了XNUMX年开始的“科学女孩”暑期讲习班的确认,女孩,父母和卑诗省的小学教师热情地接受了这些讲习班。 同时,SCWIST成员应邀在联邦政府的加拿大妇女地位咨询委员会任职。 显然,SCWIST的努力得到了认可。

SCWIST授予女性的历史

SCWIST成员赢得了:

  • 总理科学技术与数学教学奖
  • PLOYSAR教学卓越奖
  • 夏娃科学传播杰出奖
  • 迈克尔·史密斯科学传播奖
  • 卑诗省科学理事会年度志愿者奖
  • 温哥华年度最佳志愿者奖
  • 几个基督教女青年会杰出奖

SCWIST计划的历史

自1981年成立以来,在最初的XNUMX年中,SCWIST建立了有效的支持网络,以帮助女孩和妇女从事STEM的职业。 通过各种计划,项目和会议,SCWIST的任务是通过广泛的社区外展计划来关注女性的职业机会和就业平等。 以下是与许多团体和妇女组织早期合作的快照,包括计划概述。


SCWIST总裁

STEM中卓越,启发,领导和启发的历史

玛丽·维克斯(Mary Vickers)* 1981-1983
贝蒂·德威尔(Betty Dwyer)* 1983-1984
希尔达·青* 1984-1986
玛丽安·阿黛尔* 1986-1987
戴安娜·赫斯特(Diana Herbst)* 1987-1988
约瑟芬娜·冈萨雷斯(1988-1989)
Tasoula Berggren 1989-1990
竹enny LeCouteur * 1990-1992
杰基·吉尔(1992-1994)
希尔达·青* 1994-1995
罗莎琳德·凯莱特1996-1997
松井宏美* 1997-1998
萨拉·斯文森(Sara Swenson)1998-2000
朱迪·迈尔斯(Judy Myers)2000-2002
黎明麦克阿瑟2002-2003
斯蒂芬妮·史密斯2003-2005
阿曼达·史密斯2005-2007
苏珊(Suzanne Ferenczi)2007-2008
Elana简介2008-2010
安娜·斯图卡斯(Anna Stukas)2010-2012
玛丽亚·伊萨(Maria Issa)* 2012-2013
Rosine Hage-Moussa 2013-2014
法里巴·帕切列(Fariba Pacheleh)2014-2015
克里斯汀·维德曼(Christin Wiedemann)2015-2017
凯利·马尔西尼(Kelly Marciniw)2017-2019

*表示荣誉会员

A History of Public Involvement and Advocacy

SCWIST members have served on a variety of committees or presented papers, including the Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women, the BC Partners in Science Awareness Committee, the Premier’s Science Advisory Committee, BC Science Council (now Innovate BC), the Women in Science, Technology, Trades and Engineering Steering Committee, and the Canadian Coalition for Women in Engineering, Science, Trades and Technology (CCWESTT). Early organizational collaborations included CAWIS, Canadian Association of Girls in Science (CAGIS), Women in Trades and Technology (WITT), Gender and Science and Technology (GASAT) BC Science Teachers Association (BCSTA).  For current involvement in advocacy, please read more here.

The First Quarter Century

In the spring of 1981, six women scientists gathered on a clematis-covered porch of a Vancouver house to plan a conference for women in science. It was here, on Maggie Benston’s front porch, where the “undaunted six”-  Mary Vickers, Hilda Ching, Abby Schwarz, Mary Jo Duncan, Diana Herbst and Maggie Benston mapped out plans to bring together women in science. “The scent of large white clematis filled the air as we sat and made our plans on the front porch.” Hilda Ching 

SCWIST was incorporated as a society on July 30, 1981. Mary Vickers, the founding president, remembers how the group “increased mightily” in its first year: “We presented eight public programs and started the first Registry of Women in Science in BC and Yukon. Our programs received positive responses that convinced us of the need for an organization like SCWIST. For example, we had a packed room when we held a panel discussion on the question, ‘Can a talented female scientist from a small town in the West find happiness and a permanent job in a scientific establishment?’’’ 

“It is appropriate and proper for women to have equal access to careers in science and technology.”

Mary Vickers

Mary Vickers, a biology instructor at Douglas College in New Westminster at the time, credits Maggie Benston with the success of the 1983 National Conference on Women in Science. 

“SCWIST members organized the first conference ever held in Canada for women in science, but it was Maggie who stimulated us. She was the ‘brains’ behind it.” Due to Maggie’s reputation, feminist scientists, including her twin sister, came as guest speakers from the United States and Europe, with over 300 participants attending. 

Following the successful SCWIST conference, and the wide response to the Proceedings of the first National Conference for Women in Science, Engineering and Technology, May 20-22, 1983, Vancouver, B.C., the Society was more certain than ever that it could help young girls and women increase their career choices through math and sciences. The belief was confirmed by the Girls in Science summer workshops, begun in 1984, which were enthusiastically received by the girls, parents, and B.C. elementary school teachers. At the same time, SCWIST members were being invited to serve on the federal government’s Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women. Clearly, SCWIST’s efforts were being recognized. 

A History of Awards to Women of SCWIST

SCWIST members have won:

  • Prime Minister’s Award for Teaching Excellence in Science, Technology and Math 
  • PLOYSAR Award for Excellence in Teaching 
  • Eve Savory Award for Science Communication
  • Michael Smith Award for Science Communication
  • BC Science Council Volunteer of the Year Award
  • Vancouver Volunteer of the Year Award
  • Several YWCA Women of Distinction Awards

A History of SCWIST Programs

Over the first twenty-five years since its establishment in 1981, SCWIST developed an effective and supportive network to help girls and women in their pursuit of careers in STEM. Through a variety of programs, projects, and conferences, SCWIST’s mandate has been to focus on career opportunities and employment equity for women through a widespread community outreach program. Below is a snapshot of the early collaborative efforts with many groups and women’s organizations, including an overview of programs.


SCWIST Presidents

A History of Excellence, Inspiration, Leadership and Inspiration in STEM

Mary Vickers* 1981-1983 
Betty Dwyer* 1983-1984
Hilda Ching* 1984-1986 
Marian Adair* 1986-1987 
Diana Herbst* 1987-1988
Josefina Gonzales 1988-1989 
Tasoula Berggren 1989-1990 
Penny LeCouteur* 1990-1992
Jackie Gill, 1992-1994
Hilda Ching* 1994-1995
Rosalind Kellet 1996-1997
Hiromi Matsui* 1997-1998 
Sara Swenson 1998-2000
Judy Myers 2000-2002 
Dawn McArthur 2002-2003
Stephanie Smith 2003-2005 
Amanda Smith 2005-2007  
Suzanne Ferenczi 2007-2008 
Elana Brief 2008-2010
Anna Stukas 2010-2012 
Maria Issa* 2012-2013
Rosine Hage-Moussa 2013-2014
Fariba Pacheleh 2014-2015
Christin Wiedemann 2015-2017 
Kelly Marciniw 2017-2019

*Indicates honourary member