كان SCWIST مدافعًا قويًا عن النساء والفتيات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) منذ عام 1981. وتشمل أهداف وإجراءات الدعوة الرئيسية ما يلي:

  • لخلق وعي عام بالفرص المتاحة للنساء والفتيات في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات 
  • تعزيز الرسائل الإيجابية حول إنجازات المرأة ومساهماتها في الابتكار والازدهار الاقتصادي
  • لتوفير الموارد للتأثير على السياسة العامة والدعوة لسياسات مكان العمل المرنة التي تعزز التنوع بين الجنسين

تمت دعوة SCWIST عدة مرات إلى اللجنة الدائمة لمجلس العموم الكندي المعنية بوضع المرأة (SWC) للإدلاء بشهادة الخبراء حول:

يتعاون فريق القيادة SCWIST أيضًا بشكل مباشر مع القادة الحكوميين للدفاع عن العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات والمساواة بين الجنسين:

كجزء من أعمال المناصرة ، يساهم SCWIST في موقف كندا G7 بشأن المساواة بين الجنسين العالمية وكيفية تعزيز مشاركة أكبر في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات:

كجزء من مشروع SCALEتقوم SCWIST بتطوير شراكات تعاونية مع صناعة العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات والأوساط الأكاديمية والمساواة بين الجنسين والمنظمات العالمية للدعوة بشكل جماعي لسياسة مستنيرة قائمة على البيانات لتحقيق المساواة والتنوع والشمول. إذا كنت مهتمًا بالتعاون لتعزيز المساواة بين الجنسين في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، يرجى الاتصال بمدير مشروع SCALE Cheryl Kristiansen على [البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

في عام 2019 ، تعاون SCWIST مع شركاء المجتمع المحلي لعقد المناقشات الفيدرالية "All Candidate" في فيكتوريا وفانكوفر وأوتاوا ومونتريال. ركزت أسئلة النقاش على ثلاثة موضوعات رئيسية بما في ذلك: المساواة بين الجنسين ، والسياسة المتعلقة بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، وأهمية البحث والسياسة القائمة على الأدلة.  إقرأ المزيد

SCWIST هي بطلة تنوع للنساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات من خلال مجموعة متنوعة من مبادرات المساواة بين الجنسين بما في ذلك WEBAlliance ، مؤتمر We For She السنوي ، إنشاء اتصالات ، CCWESTT (التحالف الكندي للمرأة في الهندسة والعلوم والتجارة والتكنولوجيا) ، شبكة المساواة بين الجنسين في كندا ( GENC) ومؤتمر Women Deliver 2019 وأكاديمية Women Deliver Advocacy.

SCWIST has been a strong advocate and powerful champion for women and girls in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) since 1981.  Key advocacy goals and actions include:

  • To create public awareness of opportunities for women and girls in STEM 
  • To promote positive messages about women’s achievements and contributions to innovation and economic prosperity
  • To provide resources to influence public policy and advocate for flexible workplace policies that advance gender diversity

SCWIST has been invited several times to the Canadian Government’s House of Commons Standing Committee on the Status of Women (SWC) to provide expert testimony on:

The SCWIST Leadership Team also engages directly with government leaders to advocate for STEM and gender equality:

As part of its advocacy work, SCWIST contributes to Canada’s G7 position on global gender equality and how to promote greater engagement in STEM:

As part of the SCALE project, SCWIST develops collaborative partnerships with STEM Industry, Academia, Gender Equality and Global organizations to collectively advocate for informed, data-driven policy to achieve equity, diversity and inclusion.  If you are interested in collaborating to advance gender equality in STEM, please contact SCALE project manager Cheryl Kristiansen at [email protected]

In 2019, SCWIST collaborated with local community partners to hold “All Candidate” federal debates in Victoria, Vancouver, Ottawa and Montreal.  Debate questions were focused on three main topics including: gender equity, STEM related policy, and the importance of research and evidence-based policy.  Read More

SCWIST is a diversity champion for women in STEM through a variety of gender equality initiatives including the WEBAlliance, We For She Annual Conference, Creating Connections, CCWESTT (Canadian Coalition for Women in Engineering, Science, Trades and Technology), Gender Equality Network Canada (GENC), Women Deliver 2019 Conference and Women Deliver Advocacy Academy.