自1981年以来,SCWIST一直是STEM(科学,技术,工程和数学)女性和女孩的坚决拥护者和有力拥护者。主要的倡导目标和行动包括:

  • 提高公众对STEM中妇女和女孩机会的认识
  • 宣传关于妇女成就以及对创新和经济繁荣的贡献的积极信息
  • 提供影响公共政策的资源,倡导灵活的工作场所政策以促进性别多元化

SCWIST已多次受邀参加加拿大政府下议院妇女地位常务委员会(SWC),以就以下方面提供专家证词:

SCWIST领导团队还直接与政府领导人接触,倡导STEM和性别平等:

作为其倡导工作的一部分,SCWIST为加拿大七国集团在全球性别平等以及如何促进更大程度地参与STEM中的立场做出了贡献:

作为一部分 规模项目,SCWIST与STEM工业,学术界,性别平等和全球组织建立了合作伙伴关系,共同倡导以信息为依据的数据驱动型政策,以实现公平,多样性和包容性。 如果您有兴趣合作促进STEM中的性别平等,请通过以下方式与SCALE项目经理Cheryl Kristiansen联系: [EMAIL PROTECTED]

2019年,SCWIST与当地社区合作伙伴合作,在维多利亚,温哥华,渥太华和蒙特利尔举行了“所有候选人”联邦辩论。 辩论问题集中在三个主要主题上,包括:性别平等,STEM相关政策以及研究和循证政策的重要性。 更多

SCWIST通过各种性别平等计划(包括WEB联盟,We For She年度会议,创建联系,CCWESTT(加拿大工程,科学,贸易和技术领域的加拿大女性联盟),加拿大性别平等网络),赢得了STEM中女性多样性的冠军。 GENC),2019年女性贡献者大会和女性贡献倡导学院。

SCWIST has been a strong advocate and powerful champion for women and girls in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) since 1981.  Key advocacy goals and actions include:

  • To create public awareness of opportunities for women and girls in STEM 
  • To promote positive messages about women’s achievements and contributions to innovation and economic prosperity
  • To provide resources to influence public policy and advocate for flexible workplace policies that advance gender diversity

SCWIST has been invited several times to the Canadian Government’s House of Commons Standing Committee on the Status of Women (SWC) to provide expert testimony on:

The SCWIST Leadership Team also engages directly with government leaders to advocate for STEM and gender equality:

As part of its advocacy work, SCWIST contributes to Canada’s G7 position on global gender equality and how to promote greater engagement in STEM:

As part of the SCALE project, SCWIST develops collaborative partnerships with STEM Industry, Academia, Gender Equality and Global organizations to collectively advocate for informed, data-driven policy to achieve equity, diversity and inclusion.  If you are interested in collaborating to advance gender equality in STEM, please contact SCALE project manager Cheryl Kristiansen at [email protected]

In 2019, SCWIST collaborated with local community partners to hold “All Candidate” federal debates in Victoria, Vancouver, Ottawa and Montreal.  Debate questions were focused on three main topics including: gender equity, STEM related policy, and the importance of research and evidence-based policy.  Read More

SCWIST is a diversity champion for women in STEM through a variety of gender equality initiatives including the WEBAlliance, We For She Annual Conference, Creating Connections, CCWESTT (Canadian Coalition for Women in Engineering, Science, Trades and Technology), Gender Equality Network Canada (GENC), Women Deliver 2019 Conference and Women Deliver Advocacy Academy.