帮助青年实现科学素养

By 曼迪·麦克杜格尔(Mandy McDougall) (SCWIST数字内容创建者和青年参与委员会成员)

您是否曾经听过科学声明或阅读过标题对科学的主张并自言自语:“这是真的吗?”

输入科学素养的概念。 

什么是 究竟 是科学素养吗? 科学素养,也称为科学素养,描述了对科学信息进行批判性思考的能力。 一个人不需要成为科学家就能拥有很高的科学素养。 相反,科学素养对于任何通过阅读,观看或聆听来访问信息的人来说都是一项重要技能,换句话说,这对我们所有人来说都是一项重要技能。

科学素养对于区分事实与虚构,区分真相与错误信息以及质疑上述陈述非常重要。 

鉴于我们当前的全球形势(您知道整个大流行病),科学素养的重要性变得更加明显。 错误信息的传播非常普遍,并且 加拿大科学家正在努力 提醒公众科学素养的重要性,因为我们对COVID-19的了解和理解几乎每天都在不断发展。 在这种情况下,科学素养对于成年人很重要,但也必须将这一概念引入青年,以形成其批判性思维技能的基础。

SCWIST最近在加拿大期间与我们的青年社区探讨了科学素养的概念 科学素养周 (@scilitweek),于21月27日至XNUMX日举行。 主题 在为期一周的科学素养推广中,生物多样性是其中之一。 加拿大是一个广阔的国家,在许多气候,生态系统和物种中都有大量生物多样性。 

在加拿大科学扫盲周期间,SCWIST实际上加入了整个卑诗省的教室,以揭穿生物多样性方面的科普神话。 与会者被问到:您是否听说过斑马条纹仅用于伪装? 能够在海螺壳中听到海洋怎么样? 您是否曾经想过,公牛实际上是否会因红色而加剧?

据透露,所有这些陈述实际上都是生物多样性中的流行神话。 这些问题和其他问题(北极熊的皮毛实际上是白色的吗?猫头鹰能否一路回头吗?)已被探索,并最终通过运用科学素养得到了回答。 

SCWIST的青年参与项目协调员Vaishnavi Sridhar组织了研讨会。 她在接受采访时说:“我们都记得我们成长时听到的事情,假设它们是真的。” CBC电台采访。 “我们认为很多事情实际上是误解”。

这些讲习班旨在通过在家进行实验,让8-15岁(也包括成人!)的参与者每天通过一个家庭实验,向他们讲解一个生物多样性神话。

这是一个被评估的神话的另一个例子:公牛讨厌红色吗? 好吧,公牛实际上是色盲的。 他们实际上看不到红色。 对于公牛来说,斗篷呈黄灰色。 那么,神话背后的原因是什么?

在本研讨会中,参与者使用视觉模拟器应用程序了解了视力和色盲。 

彩色视觉模拟器用于模拟移动的布料和其他常见物体(例如苹果和橘子)向红绿盲的人的运动。 课程? 无论您在公牛面前挥舞哪种颜色的布,充电的可能性都一样。 是布的不断挥舞加剧了公牛。 (您可以使用色盲模拟器(例如 科布利斯 or 色彩视觉模拟器). 

通过动手活动,参与者成为科学家,了解我们周围自然现象的解释。 他们了解到,有可能在学校或家里进行简单的实验,以更好地了解我们周围的世界。

尽管这些活动既有趣又引人入胜,但您可能想知道揭穿神话和挑战共同观点的价值是什么。 这些活动使我们能够“了解周围世界如何运转,并知道进行观察并做详细记录,” Vaishnavi说。 

学会了Vaishnavi描述的技能的人可以评估科学信息的质量,并确定由于具有科学素养而导致的来源,陈述和影响是否基于“好的”科学。

请务必查看CBC电台采访“斑马为什么有条纹?:科学扫盲周活动旨在揭穿神话”以Vaishnavi Sridhar为特色。

NSEC的2020年科学素养周PromoScience补充补助金使SCWIST的科学素养周活动成为可能。特别感谢Vaishnavi Sridhar为组织为期一周的信息交流会和实验而进行的一系列努力,以提高加拿大青年的科学素养。 了解更多 关于SCWIST的ms无限青年编程。

曼迪·麦克杜格尔(Mandy McDougall) 是SCWIST的数字内容创建者和青年参与委员会成员。 在SCWIST之外,她是加拿大温哥华的一名环境科学家。 对曼迪有疑问吗? 请发送电子邮件至director-communications [at] scwist.ca与我们联系。

Helping Youth Attain Science Literacy

By Mandy McDougall (SCWIST Digital Content Creator and Youth Engagement Committee Member)

Have you ever heard a scientific statement or read a headline making a claim about science and thought to yourself, “Is that really true?”

Enter the concept of science literacy. 

What exactly is science literacy? Science literacy, also referred to as scientific literacy, describes the ability to think critically about scientific information. A person does not need to be a scientist to have a high level of science literacy. Rather, science literacy is an important skill for anyone who accesses information through reading, watching, or listening — in other words, it’s an important skill for us all.

Science literacy is important for separating fact from fiction, differentiating truth from misinformation, and for questioning statements like the ones above. 

The importance of science literacy has become even more apparent given our current global situation (you know, the whole pandemic thing). The spread of misinformation has been rampant, and Canadian scientists are working hard to remind the public of the importance of science literacy as our knowledge and understanding of COVID-19 continues to evolve on an almost daily basis. While in this context, science literacy is important for adults, it is also imperative to introduce the concept to youth to form the foundation of their critical thinking skills.

SCWIST recently explored the concept of science literacy with our youth community during Canadian Science Literacy Week (@scilitweek), held from September 21st to 27th. The theme of this year’s week-long promotion of science literacy was biodiversity. Canada is a vast country with a generous amount of biodiversity in its many climates, ecosystems, and species. 

During Canadian Science Literacy Week, SCWIST virtually joined classrooms across BC to debunk popular science myths in biodiversity. Participants were asked: Have you ever heard that zebra stripes exist only for camouflage? How about being able to hear the ocean in a conch shell? Have you ever wondered whether bulls are actually aggravated by the colour red?

It was revealed that all of those statements are actually popular myths in biodiversity. These and other questions (Is polar bear fur actually white? Can owls turn their heads all the way around?) were explored and ultimately answered through the application of science literacy. 

Vaishnavi Sridhar, Youth Engagement Project Coordinator with SCWIST, organized the workshops. “We all remember things we heard as we were growing up, assuming they were true,” she said in an interview with CBC Radio. “Many things we think are actually misconceptions”.

The workshops were designed to teach participants, aged 8-15 (plus adults, too!) about one biodiversity myth each day, using at-home experiments that participants could easily put together themselves.

Here is another example of a myth that was evaluated: Do bulls hate the colour red? Well, bulls are in fact colour blind; they cannot actually see red. To bulls, the cape appears a yellow-grey colour. So what is the reason behind the myth?

In this workshop, participants learned about eyesight and colour blindness using vision simulator apps. 

A chromatic vision simulator was used to simulate the movement of a moving cloth and other common objects, such as apples and oranges to someone with red-green colour blindness. The lesson? No matter what colour cloth you wave in front of a bull, it is just as likely to charge. It is the continuous waving of the cloth that aggravates bulls. (You can try this yourself using colour-blindness simulators such as Coblis or Chromatic Vision Simulator). 

Through hands-on activities, participants became scientists, learning about the explanations for natural phenomena around us. They learned that it is possible to conduct simple experiments at school or at home to better understand the world around us.

While these activities were fun and engaging, you may be wondering what the value is in debunking myths and challenging common perspectives. These activities enable us to “understand how the world works around us and to know to take observations and make detailed notes,” says Vaishnavi. 

A person who has learned the skills described by Vaishnavi can assess the quality of scientific information and determine whether the source, statements, and implications are based in ‘good’ science, as a result of becoming scientifically literate.

Be sure to check out the CBC Radio interview  “Why do zebras have stripes?: Science Literacy Week events aim to debunk myths” featuring Vaishnavi Sridhar.

SCWIST’s Science Literacy Week activities were made possible by NSERC’s PromoScience Supplemental Grant for Science Literacy Week 2020. Special thanks to Vaishnavi Sridhar for her efforts in organizing a week-long series of informative talks and experiments to promote science literacy among Canadian youth. Learn more about SCWIST’s ms infinity programming for youth.

Mandy McDougall is a Digital Content Creator and Youth Engagement Committee Member for SCWIST. Outside of SCWIST, she is an Environmental Scientist in Vancouver, Canada. Have questions for Mandy? Email director-communications[at]scwist.ca to get in touch.