مساعدة الشباب على اكتساب المعرفة العلمية

By ماندي ماكدوغال (منشئ المحتوى الرقمي SCWIST وعضو لجنة مشاركة الشباب)

هل سبق لك أن سمعت بيانًا علميًا أو قرأت عنوانًا يطرح ادعاءً بشأن العلم وفكرت في نفسك ، "هل هذا صحيح حقًا؟"

أدخل مفهوم محو الأمية العلمية. 

من بالضبط هل محو الأمية العلمية؟ يصف محو الأمية العلمية ، الذي يشار إليه أيضًا باسم محو الأمية العلمية ، القدرة على التفكير النقدي حول المعلومات العلمية. لا يحتاج الشخص إلى أن يكون عالِمًا حتى يتمتع بمستوى عالٍ من المعرفة العلمية. بدلاً من ذلك ، يعد محو الأمية العلمية مهارة مهمة لأي شخص يصل إلى المعلومات من خلال القراءة أو المشاهدة أو الاستماع - وبعبارة أخرى ، إنها مهارة مهمة بالنسبة لنا جميعًا.

المعرفة العلمية مهمة لفصل الحقيقة عن الخيال ، وتمييز الحقيقة عن المعلومات المضللة ، وللتشكيك في عبارات مثل تلك المذكورة أعلاه. 

أصبحت أهمية محو الأمية العلمية أكثر وضوحًا في ضوء وضعنا العالمي الحالي (كما تعلمون ، الأمر الوبائي برمته). كان انتشار المعلومات المضللة على نطاق واسع ، و العلماء الكنديون يعملون بجد لتذكير الجمهور بأهمية محو الأمية العلمية حيث تستمر معرفتنا وفهمنا لـ COVID-19 في التطور على أساس يومي تقريبًا. بينما في هذا السياق ، يعتبر محو الأمية العلمية مهمًا للبالغين ، فمن الضروري أيضًا تقديم المفهوم للشباب لتشكيل الأساس لمهارات التفكير النقدي لديهم.

استكشف SCWIST مؤخرًا مفهوم محو الأمية العلمية مع مجتمع شبابنا خلال الكندية أسبوع محو الأمية العلمية (scilitweek) ، المنعقد في الفترة من 21 إلى 27 سبتمبر. الموضوع من الترويج لهذا العام لمحو الأمية العلمية لمدة أسبوع كان التنوع البيولوجي. كندا بلد شاسع يحتوي على قدر كبير من التنوع البيولوجي في العديد من المناخات والأنظمة البيئية والأنواع. 

خلال الأسبوع الكندي لمحو الأمية العلمية ، انضم SCWIST تقريبًا إلى الفصول الدراسية في جميع أنحاء كولومبيا البريطانية لفضح أساطير العلوم الشائعة في التنوع البيولوجي. سُئل المشاركون: هل سمعت يومًا أن خطوط الحمار الوحشي موجودة فقط للتمويه؟ ماذا عن القدرة على سماع صوت المحيط في صدفة محارة؟ هل تساءلت يومًا ما إذا كانت الثيران تتفاقم بالفعل بسبب اللون الأحمر؟

تم الكشف عن أن كل هذه العبارات هي في الواقع أساطير شائعة في التنوع البيولوجي. تم استكشاف هذه الأسئلة وغيرها (هل فرو الدب القطبي أبيض في الواقع؟ هل يمكن للبوم أن يدير رؤوسهم على طول الطريق؟) وتم الإجابة عليها في النهاية من خلال تطبيق محو الأمية العلمية. 

نظمت ورش العمل فايشنافي سريدهار ، منسقة مشروع إشراك الشباب مع SCWIST. وقالت في كتاب: "نتذكر جميعًا الأشياء التي سمعناها عندما كنا نكبر ، على افتراض أنها صحيحة" مقابلة مع راديو سي بي سي. "العديد من الأشياء التي نعتقد أنها في الواقع مفاهيم خاطئة".

تم تصميم ورش العمل لتعليم المشاركين ، الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 8 و 15 عامًا (بالإضافة إلى البالغين أيضًا!) حول أسطورة واحدة عن التنوع البيولوجي كل يوم ، باستخدام تجارب في المنزل يمكن للمشاركين تجميعها بسهولة.

إليك مثال آخر على أسطورة تم تقييمها: هل يكره الثيران اللون الأحمر؟ حسنًا ، الثيران في الواقع مصابة بعمى الألوان ؛ لا يمكنهم في الواقع رؤية اللون الأحمر. بالنسبة للثيران ، يظهر الرأس بلون أصفر رمادي. إذن ما هو السبب وراء الأسطورة؟

في ورشة العمل هذه ، تعرف المشاركون على البصر وعمى الألوان باستخدام تطبيقات محاكاة الرؤية. 

تم استخدام محاكي رؤية لوني لمحاكاة حركة قطعة قماش متحركة وأشياء شائعة أخرى ، مثل التفاح والبرتقال لشخص مصاب بعمى الألوان الأحمر والأخضر. الدرس؟ بغض النظر عن لون القماش الذي تلوح به أمام ثور ، فمن المرجح أن يتم شحنه بنفس القدر. إن التلويح المستمر للقماش هو الذي يفاقم الثيران. (يمكنك تجربة ذلك بنفسك باستخدام محاكيات عمى الألوان مثل كوبليس or محاكي رؤية لوني). 

من خلال الأنشطة العملية ، أصبح المشاركون علماء يتعلمون عن تفسيرات الظواهر الطبيعية من حولنا. لقد تعلموا أنه من الممكن إجراء تجارب بسيطة في المدرسة أو في المنزل لفهم العالم من حولنا بشكل أفضل.

بينما كانت هذه الأنشطة ممتعة وجذابة ، قد تتساءل عن القيمة في فضح الأساطير وتحدي وجهات النظر المشتركة. يقول فايشنافي إن هذه الأنشطة تمكننا من "فهم كيفية عمل العالم من حولنا ومعرفة كيفية تدوين الملاحظات وتقديم ملاحظات مفصلة". 

يمكن للشخص الذي تعلم المهارات التي وصفها Vaishnavi تقييم جودة المعلومات العلمية وتحديد ما إذا كان المصدر والبيانات والآثار تستند إلى العلم "الجيد" ، كنتيجة ليصبح متعلمًا علميًا.

تأكد من إطلاعك على مقابلة راديو CBC "لماذا الحمر الوحشية لها خطوط ؟: تهدف أحداث أسبوع المعرفة العلمية إلى فضح الخرافات"يضم فايشنافي سريدهار.

أصبحت أنشطة أسبوع محو الأمية العلمية في SCWIST ممكنة بفضل المنحة التكميلية لـ NSERC لأسبوع محو الأمية العلمية لعام 2020. شكر خاص لفايشنافي سريدهار لجهودها في تنظيم سلسلة من المحادثات التثقيفية والتجارب لمدة أسبوع لتعزيز محو الأمية العلمية بين الشباب الكندي. أعرف المزيد حول البرمجة اللانهائية لـ SCWIST للشباب.

ماندي ماكدوغال هو منشئ المحتوى الرقمي وعضو لجنة مشاركة الشباب في SCWIST. خارج SCWIST ، هي عالمة بيئية في فانكوفر ، كندا. هل لديك أسئلة لماندي؟ مدير الاتصالات عبر البريد الإلكتروني [في] scwist.ca للتواصل.

Helping Youth Attain Science Literacy

By Mandy McDougall (SCWIST Digital Content Creator and Youth Engagement Committee Member)

Have you ever heard a scientific statement or read a headline making a claim about science and thought to yourself, “Is that really true?”

Enter the concept of science literacy. 

What exactly is science literacy? Science literacy, also referred to as scientific literacy, describes the ability to think critically about scientific information. A person does not need to be a scientist to have a high level of science literacy. Rather, science literacy is an important skill for anyone who accesses information through reading, watching, or listening — in other words, it’s an important skill for us all.

Science literacy is important for separating fact from fiction, differentiating truth from misinformation, and for questioning statements like the ones above. 

The importance of science literacy has become even more apparent given our current global situation (you know, the whole pandemic thing). The spread of misinformation has been rampant, and Canadian scientists are working hard to remind the public of the importance of science literacy as our knowledge and understanding of COVID-19 continues to evolve on an almost daily basis. While in this context, science literacy is important for adults, it is also imperative to introduce the concept to youth to form the foundation of their critical thinking skills.

SCWIST recently explored the concept of science literacy with our youth community during Canadian Science Literacy Week (@scilitweek), held from September 21st to 27th. The theme of this year’s week-long promotion of science literacy was biodiversity. Canada is a vast country with a generous amount of biodiversity in its many climates, ecosystems, and species. 

During Canadian Science Literacy Week, SCWIST virtually joined classrooms across BC to debunk popular science myths in biodiversity. Participants were asked: Have you ever heard that zebra stripes exist only for camouflage? How about being able to hear the ocean in a conch shell? Have you ever wondered whether bulls are actually aggravated by the colour red?

It was revealed that all of those statements are actually popular myths in biodiversity. These and other questions (Is polar bear fur actually white? Can owls turn their heads all the way around?) were explored and ultimately answered through the application of science literacy. 

Vaishnavi Sridhar, Youth Engagement Project Coordinator with SCWIST, organized the workshops. “We all remember things we heard as we were growing up, assuming they were true,” she said in an interview with CBC Radio. “Many things we think are actually misconceptions”.

The workshops were designed to teach participants, aged 8-15 (plus adults, too!) about one biodiversity myth each day, using at-home experiments that participants could easily put together themselves.

Here is another example of a myth that was evaluated: Do bulls hate the colour red? Well, bulls are in fact colour blind; they cannot actually see red. To bulls, the cape appears a yellow-grey colour. So what is the reason behind the myth?

In this workshop, participants learned about eyesight and colour blindness using vision simulator apps. 

A chromatic vision simulator was used to simulate the movement of a moving cloth and other common objects, such as apples and oranges to someone with red-green colour blindness. The lesson? No matter what colour cloth you wave in front of a bull, it is just as likely to charge. It is the continuous waving of the cloth that aggravates bulls. (You can try this yourself using colour-blindness simulators such as Coblis or Chromatic Vision Simulator). 

Through hands-on activities, participants became scientists, learning about the explanations for natural phenomena around us. They learned that it is possible to conduct simple experiments at school or at home to better understand the world around us.

While these activities were fun and engaging, you may be wondering what the value is in debunking myths and challenging common perspectives. These activities enable us to “understand how the world works around us and to know to take observations and make detailed notes,” says Vaishnavi. 

A person who has learned the skills described by Vaishnavi can assess the quality of scientific information and determine whether the source, statements, and implications are based in ‘good’ science, as a result of becoming scientifically literate.

Be sure to check out the CBC Radio interview  “Why do zebras have stripes?: Science Literacy Week events aim to debunk myths” featuring Vaishnavi Sridhar.

SCWIST’s Science Literacy Week activities were made possible by NSERC’s PromoScience Supplemental Grant for Science Literacy Week 2020. Special thanks to Vaishnavi Sridhar for her efforts in organizing a week-long series of informative talks and experiments to promote science literacy among Canadian youth. Learn more about SCWIST’s ms infinity programming for youth.

Mandy McDougall is a Digital Content Creator and Youth Engagement Committee Member for SCWIST. Outside of SCWIST, she is an Environmental Scientist in Vancouver, Canada. Have questions for Mandy? Email director-communications[at]scwist.ca to get in touch.