اجعل التنوع ممكنًا هو مشروع SCWIST ممول من قبل وزارة المرأة والمساواة بين الجنسين (WAGE) في كندا لتعزيز التنوع بين الجنسين في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

تُبنى مبادرة "اجعل التنوع ممكنًا" على مشروع "المرأة في التكنولوجيا" الناجح ، الذي تم تمويله أيضًا من قبل WAGE ، والذي تم إنشاؤه جعل ذلك ممكنا، منصة SCWIST عبر الإنترنت تركز على التوجيه بزاوية 360 درجة وتبادل المهارات والتعلم مدى الحياة. جعل ذلك ممكنا (www.makepossible.ca) يُمكِّن النساء والرجال من مختلف قطاعات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات من التواصل والعثور على مرشدين وتبادل المهارات وتبادل الخبرات. في مشروع اجعل التنوع ممكنًا ، يعمل فريق SCWIST مع شركات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات لإنشاء أدوات التنوع وبناء ثقافات مكان العمل الشاملة - التي تحتضن وتطور قوة عاملة متنوعة.

اقرأ البيان الصحفي

"التحيز الضمني هو بالتأكيد مشكلة نحتاج إلى معالجتها لتعزيز المساواة بين الجنسين. تحتاج الشركات إلى إيجاد طرق للقضاء على التحيز الضمني من عمليات التوظيف والتعيين والترقية - حتى تتمكن من جذب المواهب المتنوعة والاحتفاظ بها وتطويرها لدعم أداء اقتصادي أقوى ".

رئيسة المشروع ماريا عيسى

وأضافت كريستين ويدمان ، رئيسة SCWIST ، "إن توظيف قوة عاملة متنوعة هو مجرد خطوة أولى. نحن بحاجة إلى خلق بيئات عمل شاملة تشجع التنوع وتدعمه ؛ البيئات حيث يمكن للجميع الازدهار والسعادة ".

سلطت مديرة المشروع ، شيريل كريستيانسن ، الضوء على أهمية التنوع الذي يقود الابتكار: "نحن نعلم أن التنوع في مكان العمل في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) يدفع الابتكار والتعاون والحلول الإبداعية وتحسين الأداء. ثم يصبح التنوع ميزة تنافسية لكل من أصحاب العمل والموظفين في كولومبيا البريطانية وعبر كندا. هدفنا من هذا المشروع هو جعل التنوع ممكنًا ".

يشتمل جزء مهم من المشروع على العمل مع شبكة كندية تضم 150 امرأة قيادية لتبادل الخبرات المحلية في المشروع والتعاون والاستفادة من الموارد لإنشاء خطة وطنية موجهة نحو العمل لتعزيز المساواة للمرأة.

عين SCWIST ثلاث قائدات للمشاركة في شبكة المساواة بين الجنسين في كندا:

  • كريستين ويدمان - فيزيائي ، الرئيس التنفيذي المشارك وكبير العلماء في اختبار PQA ، والرئيس الحالي لـ SCWIST
  • فاريبا باشيله - عالمة كمبيوتر ، ومدير مشروع أول في BCLDB ، ونائب رئيس WebAlliance ومعلم BCIT PTS
  • أنجا لانز - مهندسة تصميم في Haakon Industries ، رئيسة المرأة في الهندسة (منطقة فانكوفر) والرئيسة السابقة لـ DAWEG / EGBC

لمزيد من المعلومات ، يرجى الاتصال بمدير مشروع SCWIST ، Cheryl Kristiansen: [البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

تحديث أغسطس 2019 تحديث نوفمبر 2019

Make DIVERSITY Possible is a SCWIST project funded by the Department of Women and Gender Equality (WAGE) Canada to advance gender diversity in STEM (science, technology, engineering and math).

Make DIVERSITY Possible builds on the successful Women in Technology Project, also funded by WAGE, that created MakePossible, SCWIST’s on-line platform that focuses on 360 degree mentoring, skill exchange and life-long learning. MakePossible (www.makepossible.ca) makes it possible for women and men from diverse STEM sectors to connect, find mentors, exchange skills and share expertise.  In the Make DIVERSITY Possible project, the SCWIST team works with STEM companies to create diversity tools and to build inclusive workplace cultures – that embrace and advance a diverse workforce.

Read the Press Release

“Implicit bias is definitely a problem we need to address to advance gender equality. Companies need to find ways to eliminate implicit bias from the recruitment, hiring and promotion processes – so that they can attract, retain and advance diverse talent to support stronger economic performance.”

Project Chair, Maria Issa

SCWIST President, Christin Wiedemann, added, “Recruiting a diverse workforce is just the first step. We need to create inclusive workplace environments that encourage and support diversity; environments where everyone can thrive and be happy.”

Project Manager, Cheryl Kristiansen, highlighted the importance of diversity driving innovation:  “We know that diversity in a STEM workplace drives innovation, collaboration, creative solutions and improved performance.  Diversity then becomes a competitive advantage for both employers and employees in BC and across Canada.   Our goal with this project is to Make DIVERSITY Possible.”

A critical part of the project involves working with a pan-Canadian network of 150 Women Leaders to share local project expertise, collaborate and leverage resources to create a national action-oriented plan to advance equality for women.

SCWIST appointed  three Women Leaders to participate in the Gender Equality Network Canada:

  • Christin Wiedemann – a Physicist, Co-CEO and Chief Scientist at PQA Testing, and current President of SCWIST
  • Fariba Pacheleh – a Computer Scientist, Senior Project Manager at BCLDB, WebAlliance Vice-Chair and BCIT PTS Instructor
  • Anja Lanz – a Design Engineer at Haakon Industries, President of Women in Engineering (Vancouver Region) and Past Chair of DAWEG/EGBC

For more information, please contact SCWIST Project Manager, Cheryl Kristiansen: [email protected]

August 2019 Update November 2019 Update