布朗袋:气候变化如何影响我们的健康?

Cecilia Sierra-Heredia的演讲
Nusayba Sultana的回顾

SCWIST的Brown Bag活动为与来自STEM各个领域的职业女性提供了“午餐和学习”的机会。 访问我们的 活动日历 注册我们即将推出的棕色手袋。

气候变化

有无可否认的证据表明,人类是造成气候变化的原因,该证据已被世界各地的科学家收集并按照严格的科学方法进行了分析。

联合国 政府间气候变化专门委员会 (IPCC)传播与气候变化有关的科学,并为决策者提供有关全球气候及其风险的科学信息。 2007年,他们的工作因“创造了关于人类活动与全球变暖之间联系的更加广泛的共识而获得了诺贝尔和平奖”。1 

像这样的全球努力必须继续赢得与气候变化的斗争。

在空中

今天,我们能够监测气候变化的明显症状。 有关二氧化碳水平升高,空气污染,全球温度升高和更频繁的极端天气事件的数据都证实,人类活动正在引起温室气体,地面臭氧浓度和空气中颗粒物浓度的增加。

温室气体的增加导致空气污染和过敏原的增加; 环境变化对呼吸健康构成重大风险。

由于气候变化,极端天气事件的发生频率更高。 随着气候继续变暖,飓风和野火预计在未来几年会增加。 这些事件不仅对身体有影响,而且对精神也有影响。 艾伯塔省麦克默里堡(Fort McMurray)野火发生后,受害人中普遍有PTSD病例, 受影响的7至12年级学生的心理健康状况有所改善.

这些野火反过来又加剧了空气污染。 实际上,近年来有关野火和空气污染的统计数据令人大开眼界。 印度和中国的空气污染增幅最大,并感受到了这种影响-2015年,中国,印度和印度尼西亚的空气污染造成1.6万人死亡。 不幸的是,我们在加拿大各地都看到了类似的环境影响,以及艾伯塔省和卑诗省前所未有的野火程度。 

气候变化还导致媒介传播疾病(由活生物体或吸血昆虫传播的感染)的增加。 在过去的60年中,全球仅11只蚊子传播登革热的媒介能力增加了1%,导致 拉丁美洲登革热病例上升。 即使在COVID-19大流行期间,也必须为这些患者提供专门的卫生资源。 媒介传播疾病的增加可直接与气候变化有关,因为变暖的温度已使这些昆虫扩大了其地理区域。 如今,全球一半以上的人口处于危险之中。

美好的未来

尽管气候变化显然对我们的星球产生了重大影响,但仍有许多方法可以减轻这些影响。 首先,重要的是要继续了解气候变化。 通过与其他人谈论气候问题来提高认识也非常重要。 此外,日常的微小变化可以轻松实施以帮助保护环境,例如使用可重复使用的产品和回收利用。

气候变化与对公众的各种身体和健康影响的增加之间的联系是显而易见的。 如果我们继续无视气候危机,将对整个人口产生广泛而持久的影响。 但是,有希望。 我们有能力通过以选民,雇主和顾客的身份做出可持续的选择来改变世界的状况。

不要错过– 查看我们的活动日历,以查看我们所有即将举行的社交活动,研讨会和演讲者系列 or 查看我们的另一本Brown Bag回顾,了解压力和自我保健的重要性.

参考文献:

1 https://www.un.org/en/sections/nobel-peace-prize/intergovernmental-panel-climate-change-ipcc-and-albert-arnold-al-gore-jr/index.html 

塞西莉亚·塞拉·埃雷迪亚 是西蒙弗雷泽大学(SFU)卫生科学学院的讲师,她在那里研究呼吸系统健康,重点研究了面对气候变化而面临的公共卫生挑战。 

张柏芝拥有英属哥伦比亚大学(UBC)的测量,评估和研究方法学硕士学位,SFU的健康科学硕士学位以及墨西哥国立大学(UNAM)的心理学学士学位。 她还参与了多个科学推广组织,例如温哥华STEMinist Book Club,加拿大品脱科学馆和加拿大科学大满贯。

努赛巴·苏丹娜(Nusayba Sultana) 是SCWIST的活动博客作家。 在SCWIST之外,她是安大略省的一名化学工程系学生。 对Nusayba有疑问? 在scwist.ca上联系Director-communications [at]以取得联系。

照片由 帕迪·奥沙利文 on Unsplash

Brown Bag: How is Climate Change Affecting our Health?

Presentation by Cecilia Sierra-Heredia
Recap by Nusayba Sultana

SCWIST’s Brown Bag events are an opportunity to ‘lunch and learn’ with professional women from a variety of STEM fields. Visit our events calendar to register for our upcoming Brown Bags.

The Changing Climate

There is undeniable evidence that humans are the cause of climate change, collected by scientists around the world and analyzed following strict scientific methods.

The United Nations Intergovernmental Panel for Climate Change (IPCC) disseminates the science related to climate change, and provides policymakers with scientific information regarding the global climate and its risks. In 2007, their work won the Nobel Peace Prize for ‘creat[ing] an ever-broader informed consensus about the connection between human activities and global warming.’1 

It is global efforts like this one that must continue to win the fight against climate change.

In The Air

Today, we are able to monitor tangible symptoms of climate change. Data on increased CO2 levels, air pollution, global temperatures, and more frequent extreme weather events all confirm that human activities are causing an increase in greenhouse gases, ground-level ozone concentrations, and particulate matter concentrations in the air.

And this increase in greenhouse gases is causing an increase in air pollution and allergens; environmental changes that pose significant risks to respiratory health.

Extreme weather events have been happening more frequently due to climate change. Hurricanes and wildfires are projected to increase in the coming years as the climate continues to warm. These events have not only physical impacts, but mental as well. In the aftermath of the Fort McMurray wildfires in Alberta, there were widespread PTSD cases among the victims, and students from grades 7 to 12 who were affected saw a decrease in mental health in the aftermath.

These wildfires in turn contribute to higher levels of air pollution. Indeed, the statistics around wildfires and air pollution in recent years are eye-opening. India and China have experienced the largest increase in air pollution, and felt the effects — in 2015, there were 1.6 million deaths due to air pollution in China, India, and Indonesia. Unfortunately, we are seeing similar environmental effects throughout Canada, as well as the unprecedented wildfire levels in Alberta and BC. 

Climate change is also leading to an increase in vector-borne diseases — infection transmitted by living organisms or blood-sucking insects. In the past 60 years, there was an 11 per cent global increase in vectoral capacity for transmission of Dengue fever in just 1 mosquito, leading to a rise in cases of Dengue fever in Latin America. Specific health resources had to be dedicated to these patients even amidst the COVID-19 pandemic. This increase in vector-borne diseases can be linked directly to climate change, as the warming temperatures have allowed these insects to expand their geographic regions. Today, more than half of the world’s population at risk.

A Brighter Future

While climate change has clearly had a significant impact on our planet, there are ways to mitigate these effects. For one, it is important to keep learning more about climate change. Raising awareness by talking to others about climate issues is also incredibly important. There are also small everyday changes that can be easily implemented to help protect the environment, such as using reusable products and recycling.

The connection between climate change and the rise in various physical and health impacts on the public is clear. If we continue to ignore the climate crisis, there will be widespread and long lasting effects on the entire human population. However, there is hope. We have the power to change the state of the world by making sustainable choices as voters, employers, and customers.

Don’t miss out – check out our events calendar to see all our upcoming networking events, workshops and speaker series or check out one of our other Brown Bag recaps on stress and the importance of self-care.

References:

1 https://www.un.org/en/sections/nobel-peace-prize/intergovernmental-panel-climate-change-ipcc-and-albert-arnold-al-gore-jr/index.html 

Cecilia Sierra-Heredia is a lecturer at Simon Fraser University (SFU) in the Faculty of Health Sciences, where she researches respiratory health, with a focus on investigating the public health challenges that rise in the face of climate change. 

Cecilia holds a master’s degree in Measurement, Evaluation, and Research Methodology from the University of British Columbia (UBC), a master’s degree in health sciences from SFU and a bachelor’s degree in psychology from the National University of Mexico (UNAM). She is also involved in several science outreach organizations such as Vancouver STEMinist Book Club, Pint of Science Canada, and Science Slam Canada.

Nusayba Sultana is an Events Blog Writer for SCWIST. Outside of SCWIST, she is a chemical engineering student in Ontario. Have questions for Nusayba? Contact director-communications[at]scwist.ca to get in touch.

Photo by Paddy O Sullivan on Unsplash