我们继续支持Bonnie Henry博士

温哥华,不列颠哥伦比亚省。 (27年2020月XNUMX日)– XNUMX月,加拿大科学技术妇女协会(SCWIST)提出了 支持信 向邦妮·亨利(B​​onnie Henry)博士致谢,她认识到她在整个COVID-19大流行中为确保加拿大人安全所做的努力。 

当不列颠哥伦比亚人继续与COVID斗争时,大多数人通常会与他们的家人在一起,亨利博士处于具有挑战性的位置,他们制定了指导方针以阻止许多人这样做以遏制病毒的传播。 尽管这些准则得到了公众的广泛接受和理解,但其他准则却表达了自己的挫败感,并积极忽略了全省范围的限制。

最近宣布推出疫苗,导致接下来的几个月成为对抗大流行的高潮。 SCWIST认为,这一关键时刻对于表达我们对亨利博士的支持至关重要。

通过担任不列颠哥伦比亚省卫生官员一职,亨利博士在采用基于科学和数据驱动的决策流程应对这些新挑战的方法中,赢得了当地,国家和全球的关注。 她还成为了全国年轻女孩和妇女在STEM领导中的杰出公众人物。

SCWIST总裁Paloma Corvalan写道:“在这些动荡时期,您一直是一个稳定的人物。” “通过强有力的领导,您已经成为加拿大年轻人和老年人的榜样。”

“我们很荣幸能成为SCWIST的荣誉生活会员。”

SCWIST的愿景是创造一个环境,使加拿大的妇女和女孩可以在STEM(科学,技术,工程和数学)中追求自己的兴趣,教育和职业; 亨利博士是STEM强有力的领导者的明显例子。

Corvalan写道:“由于您的工作和能见度,加拿大各地的女孩和年轻妇女可以将自己视为领导者,并受到鼓舞,以追求对STEM的兴趣。”

在信中,SCWIST向亨利博士表示鼓励:“我们很荣幸您是我们中的一员,我们希望您知道我们与您在一起!”

“作为一个为STEM中的女孩和妇女赋权的专业组织,我们很荣幸能够为您和您的其他卫生官员以及您所采用的科学方法提供支持。”

作者 曼迪·麦克杜格尔(Mandy McDougall), SCWIST的数字内容创建者和青年参与委员会成员。 在SCWIST之外,她是加拿大温哥华的一名环境科学家。 

关于SCWIST

SCWIST是一个非营利性协会,致力于改善加拿大STEM(科学,技术,工程和数学)中女性和女孩的存在和影响。 SCWIST通过教育,网络,指导,合作伙伴关系和倡导来促进参与和进步。 要了解更多信息,请访问 https://scwist.ca/.

We maintain support for Dr. Bonnie Henry

Vancouver, BC. (December 27, 2020) – In October, the Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology (SCWIST) presented a Letter of Support to Dr. Bonnie Henry, recognizing her efforts to keep Canadians safe throughout the COVID-19 pandemic. 

As British Columbians continue to struggle with COVID when most would normally be spending time with their families, Dr. Henry is in the challenging position of establishing guidelines that prevent many from doing so in order to curb spreading of the virus. While these guidelines have been widely met with acceptance and understanding from the public, others have been vocal about their frustrations and have actively ignored province-wide restrictions.

A vaccine roll-out was recently announced, resulting in these upcoming months being climactic in the fight against the pandemic. SCWIST believes that this crucial time makes it particularly important to voice our support for Dr. Henry.

Through her role as British Columbia’s Provincial Health Officer, Dr. Henry has captured local, national and global attention in her approach to navigating these new challenges using science-based and data-driven decision-making processes. She has also become a prominent public figure in STEM leadership for young girls and women across the country.

“During these turbulent times, you have been a steadying figure,” writes SCWIST President, Paloma Corvalan. “Through your strong leadership, you have been a role model to Canadians young and old.”

“We are proud to have you as an Honourary Life Member of SCWIST.”

SCWIST’s vision is to create an environment where Canadian women and girls can pursue their interests, education and careers in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math); Dr. Henry is a clear example of a strong leader within STEM.

Corvalan writes, “Thanks to your work and visibility, girls and young women across Canada can see themselves as leaders and be encouraged to pursue their interest in STEM.”

In the letter, SCWIST provides words of encouragement to Dr. Henry: “We are honoured that you are one of us and we want you to know that we are with you!”

“As a professional organization that empowers girls and women in STEM, we are proud to support you and your fellow Health Officers, and the scientific approach that you take.”

Written by Mandy McDougall, a Digital Content Creator and Youth Engagement Committee Member for SCWIST. Outside of SCWIST, she is an Environmental Scientist in Vancouver, Canada. 

About SCWIST

SCWIST is a not-for-profit society that specializes in improving the presence and influence of women and girls in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) in Canada. SCWIST promotes participation and advancement through education, networking, mentorship, collaborative partnerships, and advocacy. To learn more, visit https://scwist.ca/.