棕色袋子:压力,策略和自我护理的重要性

由Ranjit Dhari提出
艾希礼·范德普·克兰的回顾
(@ashvdpk 在Twitter上)

SCWIST的Brown Bag活动为与来自STEM各个领域的职业女性提供了“午餐和学习”的机会。 访问我们的活动日历以注册我们即将推出的Brown Bags。

“不是压力杀死我们,而是我们对此的反应。” 汉斯·塞利

压力是不可避免的。 发生在我们所有人身上的原因很多,其原因有很多-可能迫在眉睫的最后期限,新学年的开始或COVID-19大流行。 这对我们的生存也至关重要。

兰吉特(Ranjit Dhari),MSN,BN是压力专家。 她在UBC护理学院教授与压力,压力源,韧性,社会支持有关的基础知识课程,以及促进身体,心理,情感和精神健康的策略,并且知道压力可以带来的所有正面和负面影响有你的身体。 

我们在最近的一个棕色手提包上与她坐下,兰吉特带我们走了过去: 

  • 压力的正面和负面影响
  • 保持精神健康
  • 如何制定自我保健计划
  • 关键保健资源 

什么是压力? 

当您想到压力这个词时,您会想到什么? 恐慌? 感到不知所措?

压力是…

  • 您遇到的任何变化
  • 身体磨损
  • 无法应付问题
  • 失去情绪控制
  • 没有内心的和平 
  • 正常生活的一部分。

压力是您的身心对所施加要求的反应。 它可能增加您的疾病抵抗力,或引起焦虑,恐惧,愤怒和沮丧,但有些压力会有所帮助,并能激发您的表现。 

一次有太多压力源出现问题,或者您无法适当地处理所承受的压力。 您将承受压力带来的所有负面影响–身体和精神健康问题–而没有任何正面影响。 

TED:压力如何影响您的身体

积极的

心理学家凯利·麦格尼加尔(Kelly McGonigal)的新研究“敦促我们将压力视为积极的压力”,并建议“只有在您认为确实如此的情况下,压力才可能对您不利。” 她的工作并不孤单。 进一步的研究表明,当您受到积极的压力时,或者知道如何主动而不是被动地应对压力时,您将进入“成就区”。 在这种最佳压力状态下,刺激可以帮助您表现,引起注意并更加努力地实现目标。 它甚至可以鼓励您移动,变得活跃和更有创造力!

负面的

当您承受负面压力时,它可能会影响您的身体,思想或行为(或这三种情况的混合)。 您可能会遇到以下一种或多种症状:

  • 集中精力,集中精力完成工作
  • 对生活,工作或人际关系的不满 
  • 负性情绪状态(抑郁,焦虑,药物滥用等)
  • 身体健康不佳(睡眠中断,慢性健康状况,经常生病等)
  • 对自己和他人的同情心减少
  • 倦怠

如何制定自我保健计划

您可以使用许多不同的策略来管理压力。 为了确定最适合您的方法,请花一些时间来思考主要压力源以及如何应对这些压力。 不要将自己局限于一种或两种解决方案–学习和练习各种不同的应对,放松和健康促进策略会很有帮助。 通过了解什么对您有用以及这些策略背后的证据,这将帮助您应对生活中的压力。 

心理健康

当您开始制定自我保健策略时,请考虑查看“ Thrive 5”以开始促进和保持良好的心理健康。 我们正处在一个空前的时代,您可能会感到压力和担忧,而进行物理疏散可能会使您感到孤立。 这五个要点可以很容易地实现,以帮助支持您的心理健康。 

  1. 多做些事:每天增加运动量可以帮助您缓解压力并改善心情。 当您在家工作或学习时可能会比较惯于久坐,这一点尤其重要
  2. 良好的睡眠:获得足够的优质睡眠可以帮助您应对工作,学习和生活中的日常挑战。 每天至少睡眠7个小时,还有助于增强免疫力并保持身体健康
  3. 饮食均衡:饮食均衡可以帮助您增加身心。 许多研究表明,健康饮食与减轻焦虑和抑郁症状之间存在联系
  4. 回馈:帮助他人可以增强您的目标感,联系感和幸福感。 尽管身体疏远意味着我们无法亲自或与他人志愿, 还有很多方法可以让人们知道您的关心并回馈
  5. 打招呼:与家人,朋友和社区共度时光可以减轻压力,并提供一种归属感。 身体上的疏离并不一定意味着社会隔离。 加入在线社区,或预定时间与亲朋好友进行视频聊天

管理策略

您可以实施许多策略(无论是现在还是长期实践)来管理压力。 查看下面的列表,看看您是否想尝试一下任何建议。 

这不是详尽无遗的清单,每个人对每种策略的实施方式都会有所不同-关键是找到自己的凹槽,并使其成为一种练习来破坏压力循环。

关键保健资源 

在线上有很多资源,可以通过电话或亲自获得。 如果您感到不知所措,不确定从哪里开始或不愿意与他人交谈,请查看以下资源。

成人焦虑/抑郁

社区资源

课程和课程

不要错过-查看我们的活动日历,以查看我们所有即将举行的社交活动,研讨会和演讲者系列。

Brown Bag: Stress, Strategies, and the Importance of Self-Care

Presented by Ranjit Dhari
Recap by Ashley van der Pouw Kraan
(@ashvdpk on Twitter)

SCWIST’s Brown Bag events are an opportunity to ‘lunch and learn’ with professional women from a variety of STEM fields. Visit our events calendar to register for our upcoming Brown Bags.

“It is not stress that kills us, it is our reaction to it.” Hans Selye

Stress is inevitable. It happens to all of us, for a myriad of different reasons – perhaps a looming deadline, the start of a new school year, or the COVID-19 pandemic. It is also essential to our survival.

Ranjit Dhari, MSN, BN, is an expert on stress. She teaches a course of foundational knowledge related to stress, stressors, resilience, social support, plus strategies to foster physical, mental, emotional and spiritual health at the UBC School of Nursing, and knows all the effects – both positive and negative – stress can have on your body. 

We sat down with her at a recent Brown Bag, where Ranjit walked us through: 

  • The positive and negative effects of stress
  • Maintaining your mental health
  • How to develop a self-care plan
  • Key wellness resources 

What is Stress? 

When you think of the word stress, what comes to your mind? Panic? Feeling overwhelmed?

Stress is…

  • Any change you encounter
  • Wear and tear on the body
  • The inability to cope with problems
  • The loss of emotional control
  • The absence of inner peace 
  • Part of a normal life.

Stress is the response of your body and mind to the demands being placed on you. It may increase your vulnerability to illness, or cause anxiety, fear, anger and depression, but some stress is helpful, and can motivate you to perform. 

Issues occur when there are too many stressors at one time, or you cannot appropriately deal with the stress you are feeling. You’ll be left with all the negative effects of stress – the physical and mental health problems – and none of the positive. 

TED Ed: How Stress affects your body

The Positive

New research from psychologist Kelly McGonigal ‘urges us to see stress as a positive’ and suggests that ‘stress may only be bad for you if you believe that to be the case.’  Her work is not alone. Further research shows when you are positively stressed, or know how to deal with your stress pro-actively rather than reactively, you enter what is known as the ‘Achievement Zone’. In this optimally stressed state, the stimulation can help you perform, take notice, and work harder to achieve your goals. It can even encourage you to move, become active, and be more creative!

The Negative

When you’re negatively stressed, it may affect your body, mind, or behaviour (or a mix of all three). You might experience one or more of the following symptoms:

  • Harder time focusing, concentrating and getting work done
  • Dissatisfaction with life, job, or relationships 
  • Negative emotional states (depression, anxiety, problematic substance use, etc)
  • Poor physical health (sleep disruption, chronic health conditions, frequent illnesses etc)
  • Decreased empathy for yourself and others
  • Burnout

How to Develop a Self-Care Plan

There are many different strategies you can use to manage your stress. To determine what might work best for you, take some time to reflect on your key stressors, and how you might want to cope with them. Don’t limit yourself to one or two solutions – it is helpful to learn and practice a variety of different coping, relaxation and health promotion strategies. This will help you take charge of the stress in your life by understanding what works for you and the evidence behind those strategies. 

Mental Health

When you begin to develop your self-care strategies, consider looking at the ‘Thrive 5’ to begin fostering and maintaining good mental health. We are in an unprecedented time, and you may be feeling stressed and worried, and practicing physical distancing may leave you feeling isolated. These five points can be easily implemented to help support your mental health. 

  1. Moving more: Adding activity to each day can help you manage stress and can boost your mood. This is especially important when working or learning from home, where you may tend to be more sedentary
  2. Sleeping Soundly: Getting enough quality sleep can help you tackle work, classes, and life’s everyday challenges. Getting at least 7 hours of sleep per day also helps boost your immunity and maintain your physical health
  3. Eating Well: Eating a balanced diet can help fuel your body and mind; many studies have shown a link between a healthy diet and reduced symptoms of anxiety and depression
  4. Giving Back: Helping others adds to your sense of purpose, connection, and wellbeing. Although physical distancing means we are not able to volunteer in person or with others, there are still many ways to let people know you care and give back
  5. Saying Hi: Spending time with family, friends, and community can reduce stress and provides a sense of belonging. Physical distancing does not need to mean social isolation. Join an online community, or book times to video chat with friends and family

Strategies for Management

There are many strategies you can implement – both in the moment and as a long-term practice – to manage your stress. Take a look at the list below and see if any of the suggestions stand out to you as something you would like to try. 

This is not an exhaustive list, and each person will implement each strategy a bit differently – the key is to find your groove and make it a practice to disrupt your cycle of stress.

Key Wellness Resources 

There are many resources available online, over the phone or in person. If you are feeling overwhelmed, aren’t sure where to start, or want a person to talk to, check out the resources below.

Anxiety/Depression in Adults

Community Resources

Courses and Programs

Don’t miss out – check out our events calendar to see all our upcoming networking events, workshops and speaker series.