总裁寄语

总裁帕洛玛·科瓦兰(Paloma Corvalan)

祝大家新年快乐,SCWIST成立40周年!

我对全球合作产生的敬畏之情使我们在不到一年的时间内研发出了COVID-19疫苗! 这给了我未来的希望,因为它表明我们可以团结起来,在危机时期迅速采取行动。 大流行病也突出了STEM领域的重要性,因此,我希望这将导致增加不同的STEM职业机会。 调查发现,现在青年对在STEM中寻求职业更感兴趣,我期待看到更多年轻女孩在所有科学领域寻求职业,包括医学,工程,研究,科学传播,环境科学,流行病学和生物技术。 STEM中的下一代女性对于帮助我们预防并迅速解决未来的流行病至关重要!

今年是SCWIST成立40周年。 这是妇女在STEM中开拓创新的悠久历史! 为了庆祝这个令人难以置信的里程碑,我们正在制定一系列令人兴奋的计划,因此请继续阅读以了解即将发生的事情,并密切注意参与其中的更多机会!

SCWIST今年将加大工作力度,以建设我们的能力并提高我们的影响力和影响力。 我们制定了雄心勃勃的2021年战略计划,其优先事项包括:

  1. 扩大和扩大SCWIST会员基础的多样性;
  2. 通过SCWIST志愿者的成长和保留来提高我们的能力;
  3. 制定和实施市场营销和传播战略,其中包括聘请传播协调员和市场营销专家;
  4. 制定和实施倡导计划,使SCWIST在整个加拿大被称为性别平等和STEM倡导的代言人;
  5. 优先考虑可持续和不受限制的收入来源,以增加SCWIST资金以满足我们的核心需求。

感谢我的CEO的Glorie Averback和Betty Hasker的朋友为我们的战略规划提供了便利,Capital W的出色团队为我们制定了筹款战略,所有研讨会的推动者为我们的董事会和成员,承包商和志愿者提供了宝贵的培训正以热情和奉献精神推动组织向前发展,加拿大妇女与性别平等基金会也支持我们的发展。 SCWIST的实力来自于它的员工和支持我们的社区。 我谨代表董事会表示我们的深切谢意和赞赏。 感谢我们所有的成员和支持者!

President’s Message

From Paloma Corvalan, President

Happy new year to you all and happy 40th anniversary to SCWIST!

I am in awe of the global collaboration that has resulted in us creating a COVID-19 vaccine in less than a year! This gives me hope for the future, as it shows we can come together and act fast in times of crisis. The pandemic has also highlighted the importance of STEM fields, and as a result, I hope this will lead to an increase in different and diverse STEM career opportunities. Surveys have found that youth are now more interested in pursuing careers in STEM, and I am looking forward to seeing more young girls seeking careers in all the sciences – medicine, engineering, research, science communication, environmental science, epidemiology, and biotechnology. The next generation of women in STEM will be vital to helping us prevent and quickly address future pandemics!

This year marks SCWIST’s 40th anniversary. That’s a long history of women trailblazing in STEM! We have a range of very exciting programs in the works to celebrate this incredible milestone, so please read on to see what’s coming up, and keep an eye out for further opportunities to be involved!

SCWIST is ramping up this year to build our capacity and to increase our impact and reach. We have an ambitious 2021 strategic plan, with priorities that include:

  1. Growing and increasing the diversity of SCWIST’s membership base;
  2. Increasing our capacity through growth and retention of SCWIST volunteers;
  3. Developing and implementing a marketing and communications strategy, which includes hiring a communications coordinator and marketing specialist;
  4. Developing and implementing an advocacy plan, so that SCWIST is known as the voice of gender equality and STEM advocacy across Canada;
  5. Prioritizing sustainable and unrestricted revenue sources to increase SCWIST funds for our core needs.

Thank you to our friends, Glorie Averback and Betty Hasker, from myCEO for facilitating our strategic planning, the wonderful team at Capital W for creating our fundraising strategy, all the workshop facilitators providing valuable training to our board and members, our contractors and volunteers who are driving the organization forward with passion and dedication, and Women and Gender Equality Canada for supporting our growth. SCWIST’s strength comes from its people and the supportive community that makes us who we are. On behalf of the board, I would like to express our deep gratitude and appreciation. Thank you to all our members and supporters!