رسالة الرئيس

من بالوما كورفالان ، الرئيس

عام جديد سعيد لكم جميعًا و الذكرى الأربعين السعيدة لـ SCWIST!

إنني مندهش من التعاون العالمي الذي نتج عنه صنع لقاح COVID-19 في أقل من عام! هذا يمنحني الأمل في المستقبل ، لأنه يظهر أنه يمكننا أن نجتمع معًا ونتصرف بسرعة في أوقات الأزمات. لقد سلط الوباء الضوء أيضًا على أهمية مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، ونتيجة لذلك ، آمل أن يؤدي هذا إلى زيادة الفرص الوظيفية المختلفة والمتنوعة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. لقد وجدت الدراسات الاستقصائية أن الشباب يهتمون الآن بممارسة وظائف في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، وأنا أتطلع إلى رؤية المزيد من الفتيات الصغيرات اللائي يبحثن عن وظائف في جميع العلوم - الطب والهندسة والبحث والتواصل العلمي والعلوم البيئية وعلم الأوبئة والتكنولوجيا الحيوية. سيكون الجيل القادم من النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات أمرًا حيويًا لمساعدتنا على منع الأوبئة في المستقبل والتصدي لها بسرعة!

يصادف هذا العام الذكرى الأربعين لـ SCWIST. هذا تاريخ طويل من ريادة النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات! لدينا مجموعة من البرامج المثيرة للغاية في إطار العمل للاحتفال بهذا الإنجاز المذهل ، لذا يرجى متابعة القراءة لمعرفة ما هو قادم وترقب المزيد من الفرص للمشاركة!

تعمل SCWIST على تكثيف الجهود هذا العام لبناء قدراتنا وزيادة تأثيرنا ونطاق وصولنا. لدينا خطة إستراتيجية طموحة لعام 2021 ، مع أولويات تشمل:

  1. تنمية وزيادة تنوع قاعدة عضوية SCWIST ؛
  2. زيادة قدرتنا من خلال النمو والاحتفاظ بمتطوعي SCWIST ؛
  3. تطوير وتنفيذ إستراتيجية تسويق واتصالات ، والتي تتضمن تعيين منسق اتصالات وأخصائي تسويق ؛
  4. تطوير وتنفيذ خطة مناصرة ، بحيث يُعرف SCWIST باسم صوت المساواة بين الجنسين والدعوة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات عبر كندا ؛
  5. إعطاء الأولوية لمصادر الإيرادات المستدامة وغير المقيدة لزيادة أموال SCWIST لتلبية احتياجاتنا الأساسية.

شكرًا لأصدقائنا ، Glorie Averback و Betty Hasker ، من myCEO لتسهيل التخطيط الاستراتيجي لدينا ، والفريق الرائع في Capital W لوضع إستراتيجيتنا لجمع التبرعات ، وجميع ميسري ورشة العمل يقدمون تدريبًا قيمًا لمجلس الإدارة والأعضاء ، والمقاولين والمتطوعين الذين تقود المنظمة إلى الأمام بشغف وتفاني ، والمرأة والمساواة بين الجنسين في كندا لدعم نمونا. تأتي قوة SCWIST من موظفيها والمجتمع الداعم الذي يجعلنا ما نحن عليه. بالنيابة عن مجلس الإدارة ، أود أن أعرب عن عميق امتناننا وتقديرنا. شكرا لجميع أعضائنا وداعمينا!

President’s Message

From Paloma Corvalan, President

Happy new year to you all and happy 40th anniversary to SCWIST!

I am in awe of the global collaboration that has resulted in us creating a COVID-19 vaccine in less than a year! This gives me hope for the future, as it shows we can come together and act fast in times of crisis. The pandemic has also highlighted the importance of STEM fields, and as a result, I hope this will lead to an increase in different and diverse STEM career opportunities. Surveys have found that youth are now more interested in pursuing careers in STEM, and I am looking forward to seeing more young girls seeking careers in all the sciences – medicine, engineering, research, science communication, environmental science, epidemiology, and biotechnology. The next generation of women in STEM will be vital to helping us prevent and quickly address future pandemics!

This year marks SCWIST’s 40th anniversary. That’s a long history of women trailblazing in STEM! We have a range of very exciting programs in the works to celebrate this incredible milestone, so please read on to see what’s coming up, and keep an eye out for further opportunities to be involved!

SCWIST is ramping up this year to build our capacity and to increase our impact and reach. We have an ambitious 2021 strategic plan, with priorities that include:

  1. Growing and increasing the diversity of SCWIST’s membership base;
  2. Increasing our capacity through growth and retention of SCWIST volunteers;
  3. Developing and implementing a marketing and communications strategy, which includes hiring a communications coordinator and marketing specialist;
  4. Developing and implementing an advocacy plan, so that SCWIST is known as the voice of gender equality and STEM advocacy across Canada;
  5. Prioritizing sustainable and unrestricted revenue sources to increase SCWIST funds for our core needs.

Thank you to our friends, Glorie Averback and Betty Hasker, from myCEO for facilitating our strategic planning, the wonderful team at Capital W for creating our fundraising strategy, all the workshop facilitators providing valuable training to our board and members, our contractors and volunteers who are driving the organization forward with passion and dedication, and Women and Gender Equality Canada for supporting our growth. SCWIST’s strength comes from its people and the supportive community that makes us who we are. On behalf of the board, I would like to express our deep gratitude and appreciation. Thank you to all our members and supporters!