世界海洋日:获取信息和可持续发展

8 月 XNUMX 日是世界海洋日,这是联合国认可的日期,旨在传播人们对海洋的认识,以及海洋为我们提供的大量资源,从氧气和水到食物和工作机会。

正如联合国秘书长安东尼奥所说,“[我]是时候认识到,为了实现可持续发展目标和《巴黎协定》关于气候变化的目标,我们迫切需要采取集体行动来振兴海洋。 这意味着在我们与海洋环境的关系中找到新的平衡。”

为了更深入地探讨这个话题,SCWIST 最近采访了一位在 STEM 工作的研究助理 海洋和渔业研究所 在英属哥伦比亚大学。 我们联系以了解更多关于她在海洋领域的工作和工作经验。

介绍我们周围海洋的高级科学家和项目经理 Deng Palomares 博士

Maria Lourdes 'Deng' Palomares 博士 是高级科学家和项目经理 我们周围的海. 她是 SeaLifeBase 的创建者之一,并且自 2005 年以来一直是 SeaLifeBase 的领导者,该系统是关于世界鱼类以外的海洋生物的生物多样性信息系统,该系统仿照世界鱼类的鱼类生物多样性信息系统 FishBase。 Deng 帮助塑造了菲律宾非政府组织的科学主旨(例如,定义项目,以及与及时生产可交付成果相关的工作流程), 定量游泳,作为其科学总监。

在我们对邓的采访中,她告诉了我们更多关于她为什么决定从事这个工作的原因。 她提到观看 Jacques Cousteau 的水下潜水视频的影响,视频展示了原始的海洋生态系统,以及阅读 Peter Benchley 的小说“科尔特斯海的女孩”如何让她梦想在鱼群中游泳。

Rachel Carson 的《我们周围的海》让她害怕失去梦中出现的科尔特斯海。 她还记得她小时候在马尼拉湾清澈的海水中游泳,以及 1960 年代与父母在海滩上周日野餐的记忆。

1970年代末,邓上大学时,她看到马尼拉湾发生了变化,变成了浑浊的污染水域。 她想知道为什么会发生这种情况,也许可以做点什么。 但正是一位老师指导了她,让她开始涉足这个领域。

“我在夏威夷大学接受培训的高中科学老师培养和培养了我的海洋科学家。 丹尼尔·保利让我相信,来自发展中国家并成为一名科学家是可能的,后来经过 30 多年的合作研究,指导我到达了现在的位置,”邓解释说。

你能分享一些关于你最近在做什么的消息吗?

“在发展中国家,科学进步过去和现在仍然很缓慢,因为知识过去并且在某些情况下仍然实际上是隐藏的(至少在万维网之前),因为对书籍和期刊等知识库的访问是订阅 -基于。 以开放获取出版物的形式发表科学成果仍然非常昂贵。

我们的全球鱼类信息系统(鱼库) 和其他海洋生物 (海洋生物基地),以及渔业产量和相关信息(我们周围的海洋),向公民社会提供可通过互联网访问的数据,并且可以免费下载信息。 这在一定程度上解决了科学结果的可及性问题。

在费尔迪南德·马科斯(Ferdinand Marcos)的戒严制度下长大,言论和思想自由被立即取消,我在那个年轻而叛逆的时代意识到知识就是自由,拥有和利用它可以培养能力。 但知识必须自由分享并易于获取。”

图片来源:Siargao Fishing, AGUSTIN MENDEZ, Tubod Founding Hero (2008)

作为 STEM 专业人士,您在海洋行业工作有何经验?

“海洋资源管理是一项多学科活动。 当得到当地社区的支持时,自上而下的监管就会成功。 管理当局必须让当地社区参与有关其所依赖资源的管理的规划和决策。 当地社区本身需要采用和发展自己的管理和保护计划。 他们需要能够为自己为拯救和保护沿海环境所做的努力而感到自豪,”邓解释说。 

您有什么想宣传的吗?

“贫穷为获取知识创造了一道不可逾越的墙,并导致了无知。 依靠海洋谋生和“廉价”食物的贫穷渔民不会理解暂停捕鱼或拖网捕鱼为何会伤害海洋。 他们需要谋生和养家糊口,否则他们就会灭亡。 不幸的是,当今世界上有太多穷人。 太多无法获得良好信息的穷人对我们的地球有害。 如果我们要成功解决与海洋有关的问题,我们基本上需要在解决过度开发等问题的同时解决贫困问题。”

图片来源:Vyacheslav Argenberg, Samar, Fishing, Twilight sky, Philippines (2009)

想了解更多关于邓的作品吗? 访问以下网站以了解更多信息:

World Oceans Day: Access to Information and Sustainable Development

June 8th marks World Oceans Day, a date recognized by the United Nations to spread awareness about our oceans, and the incredible amount of resources they provide us, from oxygen and water to food and work opportunities.

As UN Secretary-General António said, “[I]t is time to realize that, to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals and the objectives of the Paris Agreement on climate change, we urgently need collective action to revitalize the ocean. That means finding a new balance in our relationship with the marine environment.”

To go deeper into this topic, SCWIST recently interviewed a research associate in STEM working at the Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries at the University of British Columbia. We reached out to learn more about her work and experience working in the Ocean field.

Introducing Dr. Deng Palomares, Senior Scientist and Project Manager at Sea Around Us

Dr. Maria Lourdes ‘Deng’ Palomares is a Senior Scientist and Project Manager at Sea Around Us. She is one of the creators of and, since 2005, has been the leader of SeaLifeBase, a biodiversity information system on the world’s marine organisms other than fish, which is patterned after FishBase, the fish biodiversity information system on the world’s fishes. Deng helps with moulding the scientific thrusts (e.g., in defining projects, and the workflow associated with producing deliverables in a timely manner) of the Philippine NGO, Quantitative Aquatics, as its Science Director.

During our interview with Deng, she told us more about why she decided to pursue this field of work. She mentioned the impact of watching Jacques Cousteau’s underwater diving videos, which showed pristine marine ecosystems and how reading Peter Benchley’s novel “The Girl of the Sea of Cortez” made her dream of swimming among schools of fish.

Rachel Carson’s “The Sea Around Us” made her fear losing the Sea of Cortez that appeared in her dreams. Also impactful were her memories of swimming in the crystal clear waters of Manila Bay when she was a kid and going on Sunday picnics with her parents at the beach in the 1960s.

When Deng was in university in the late 1970s, she saw changes take place in Manila Bay, turning into murky polluted waters. She wanted to know why this happened and maybe do something about it. But it was a teacher that mentored her and got her started in the field.

“My high school science teacher who was trained at the University of Hawaii cultured and nurtured the marine scientist in me. Daniel Pauly convinced me that it is possible to be from a developing country and be a scientist and later on mentored me to reach the place where I am now, after more than 30 years of collaborative research,” explained Deng.

Can you share some news on what have you been working on recently?

“In developing countries, scientific advances used to be and still are slow, because knowledge was and, in some cases, still is practically hidden (at least before the World Wide Web) because access to knowledge banks such as books and journals were subscription-based. It is still very expensive to publish scientific results as open access publications.

Our global information systems on fish (FishBase), and other marine organisms (SeaLifeBase), as well as on fisheries catches and related information (Sea Around Us), provide data to Civic Society accessible via the internet and where information can be downloaded free of charge. This, in part, solves the issue of accessibility of scientific results.

Growing up under the martial law regime of Ferdinand Marcos, where freedom of expression and thought were summarily cancelled, I realized at that young and rebellious age that knowledge is freedom, and having and making use of it builds capacity. But knowledge has to be shared freely and made easily available.”

Photo credit: Siargao Fishing, AGUSTIN MENDEZ, Tubod Founding Hero (2008)

What is your experience as a professional in STEM working in an ocean-based industry?

“Management of ocean resources is a multidisciplinary exercise. Top-down regulations succeed when there is buy-in from the local community. Management authorities must include local communities in planning and decision-making that concerns the management of the resources on which they rely. Local communities themselves need to adopt and develop their own management and conservation programs. They need to be able to take pride in their own efforts to save and protect their coastal environments,” explained Deng. 

Is there something you would like to spread awareness about?

“Poverty creates an impenetrable wall to the acquisition of knowledge and begets ignorance. Poor fishers who rely on the oceans for livelihood and ‘cheap’ food will not understand fishing moratoriums or why trawl fishing hurts the oceans. They need to earn a living and feed their families or else they perish. Unfortunately, there are too many poor people in the world today. Too many poor people who do not have access to good information are harmful to our earth. We basically need to address poverty at the same time that we address issues like overexploitation if we are to succeed in solving ocean-related issues.”

Photo credit: Vyacheslav Argenberg, Samar, Fishing, Twilight sky, Philippines (2009)

Want to learn more about Deng’s work? Visit the following sites to find more information: