CCWESTT 2022 - إجراءات جريئة لتسريع التغيير المنهجي

انضم أعضاء فريق SCWIST مؤخرًا إلى أكثر من 300 من قادة ومؤسسة العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات من جميع أنحاء كندا للمشاركة في المؤتمر نصف السنوي CCWESTT 2022 الذي يعقد في هاليفاكس. SCWIST هي عضو نشط في CCWESTT (التحالف الكندي للمرأة في الهندسة والعلوم والتجارة والتكنولوجيا) وكان موضوع مؤتمر هذا العام "الوصول إلى النجوم: إحداث التأثير معًا" بشعارها الذي يمثل بيلاتريكس - المحاربة. وركز المؤتمر على مشاركة الأبحاث وأفضل الممارسات والموارد لتسريع التغيير المنهجي للنهوض بمزيد من النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات والحرف.

عدة المتحدثين الرئيسيين شاركوا تجاربهم الحية ورؤاهم لتحفيز طرق جديدة للتفكير والتصرف - بما في ذلك كسر الحواجز أمام النساء في المهن ، والإدماج عبر تقاطعات العرق والجنس ، وفكرة تعليم الأفراد المعاقين الصحيحة: القيام بالشمول والتنوع والإنصاف وإمكانية الوصول بشكل صحيح. مؤتمر العروض تركز على موضوعات التقاطع ، وبناء حلفاء أفضل ، والقيادة الشاملة ، والتوعية ، والتوظيف ، والاحتفاظ ، والتحول الثقافي. مؤتمر المقدمين جاءوا من خلفيات متنوعة تمثل منظمات عبر كندا تعمل على تسريع التغيير.

شاركت رونيل ألبرتس ، مديرة برامج المرأة في SCWIST ، أفكارها: "بالنسبة لمحفظة SCWIST الجديدة التي تركز على برامج المرأة ، كانت هذه فرصة مثالية للقاء قادة ومتعاونين من المجموعات غير الممثلة في جميع أنحاء كندا. يمكنني إجراء اتصالات حقيقية مع المنظمات الرئيسية التي ستدعم رؤيتنا ورسالتنا في المستقبل. " 

أصبحت مشاركة أعضاء فريق SCWIST في CCWESTT 2022 ممكنة من خلال مشاريع SCALE و STEM Forward التي تدعمها منظمة المرأة والمساواة بين الجنسين في كندا (WAGE).   

قدمت الوزيرة المحترمة مارسي آين من WAGE ملاحظات افتتاحية للمؤتمر الكندي من مكتبها في أوتاوا ، وشاركت مجموعة متنوعة من المسؤولين الحكوميين المحليين والإقليميين والوطنيين بنشاط في جميع أنشطة المؤتمر. 

بدأ CCWESTT 2022 بنشاط منتدى السياسات لتوليد إجراءات جريئة لتسريع التغيير. شجع ميسرو منتدى السياسات أكثر من 100 مشارك على تجديد تفكيرهم بشأن الحلول التي من شأنها تسريع التغيير - وأن الأمر "يتطلب تغيير نظام ما!". كانت شيريل كريستيانسن منسقة طاولة خلال المنتدى وانتشر فريق SCWIST عبر مجموعات المناقشة المختلفة لإنشاء المزيد من الاتصالات وإشراك المنظمات الجديدة في مناقشات السياسة. انضمت عضوة SCWIST راجني راتي من هاليفاكس إلى الفريق لتقديم وجهات نظرها وإجراءاتها من أجل التغيير. كانت الرسالة المهيمنة من منتدى السياسات هي أننا بحاجة إلى ضمان سماع جميع الأصوات وأننا بحاجة إلى اختيار إجراءات جريئة لإحداث التغيير المطلوب.

قدمت مديرة السياسة والتأثير في SCWIST ، ميلاني راتنام ، سياق العملية التعاونية لمنتدى السياسات لمدة 4 ساعات: "لقد عملنا معًا في مجموعات للتعبير عن نوع إصلاح السياسة الذي سيكون ضروريًا لتغيير الأنظمة في كندا للنساء في SETT (العلوم والهندسة والحرف والتكنولوجيا). ما تجلى هو صورة لا تصدق للسياسات الإصلاحية التي استحوذت على احتياجات النساء في SETT و STEM من الساحل إلى الساحل. وبينما مررنا بجولات التفكير والمناقشة ، توج المنتدى بتصويت المشاركين على مجالات السياسة الثلاثة الأولى التي ستركز عليها CCWESTT لتسريع التغيير. "

شارك راجني راتي ، متطوع SCWIST ، تأثيرات تجربة التعلم في المؤتمر: "كان حضور CCWESTT 2022 تجربة ثرية للغاية لأنه وسّع نطاق تفكيري وأتاح لي الفرصة لفهم وجهات النظر المتنوعة للمرأة وحلفائها في SETT. لقد كانت تجربة ذات أهمية لا توصف حيث تمكنت من مقابلة زملائي من SCWIST ، شخصيًا ، لأول مرة من خلال هذه المنصة. أنا ممتن لـ SCWIST لإتاحة هذه الفرصة لي. شعرت بالحماس للقاء نساء متمكنات من خلفيات مختلفة. كانت الطاقة الإجمالية للحدث معدية وملهمة. الدرس الأكثر أهمية الذي تعلمته هو أن التحديات المختلفة التي تواجهها النساء وحلفائهن في SETT لا يمكن حلها في صوامع. على العكس من ذلك ، فإن نهج التفكير المنظومي هو حاجة الساعة لمعالجة هذه القضايا بطريقة مستدامة ".

تضمن مؤتمر CCWESTT 2022 عرضًا تقديميًا من قبل مديرة مشروع SCWIST شيريل كريستيانسن على موقعنا اجعل برنامج التنوع ممكنًا التي تساعد مؤسسات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات على جذب المواهب المتنوعة وخلق ثقافات مكان عمل شاملة حيث يمكن للجميع الازدهار. قدمت متطوعة SCWIST ، Anja Lanz ، أبرز شراكات SCWIST التعاونية والعمل الجماعي.

شاركت متطوعة SCWIST Anja Lanz أفكارها: يجمع مؤتمر CCWESTT بين متعاونين رائعين ومؤسسات مؤثرة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) و SETT. من الواضح تمامًا بالنسبة لي أن الكثير من العمل من أجل المساواة بين الجنسين لا يزال يتعين إنجازه في كندا ، كما أن عقد مؤتمر CCWESTT لجلب الأفكار والبحث في مكان واحد أمر مهم وضروري بنفس القدر. إنني أتطلع إلى استمرار التأثير الذي نصنعه جميعًا للجيل القادم من محترفي العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) و (SETT) ".  

كما تم تقديم ورش عمل التطوير المهني كجزء من CCWEST2022 ، بما في ذلك التركيز على أماكن العمل المحترمة والشاملة ، والانتقال من المحادثات الصعبة إلى الفعالة ، وأنت كعلامة تجارية ، وكتابة تعليق مقنع.

أكدت ياسمين بارمار ، مديرة التسويق في SCWIST: "لقد وفر المؤتمر الكثير من الفرص لنا للتواصل مع الأفراد المتشابهين في التفكير والذين يتسمون بالحرص والعاطفة لتحديد حلول للاحتفاظ بالنساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. كانت ورشة العمل Informed Opinions مساحة جذابة وحميمة حيث علمت شاري طرقًا عملية يمكنني من خلالها المساعدة في تضخيم صوت منظمة SCWIST الخاصة بنا ".

شاركت ياسمين وشيريل وأنجا أيضًا في CCWESTT AGM التي عقدت خلال المؤتمر وساعدت في الاحتفال بالذكرى الثلاثين لتأسيس منظمة CCWESTT ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع أعضاء آخرين من الساحل إلى الساحل. تتمثل الخطوات التالية لفريق SCWIST في مشاركة الدروس المستفادة من جميع العروض التقديمية المتزامنة التي تم عقدها خلال المؤتمر ، ومتابعة الاتصالات الوطنية العديدة التي تم إجراؤها والمشاركة في مجموعة عمل التغيير المنهجي التي يقودها CCWESTT لتحليل نتائج منتدى السياسات وتحديد أولوياتها. الخطوات التالية. ترقبوا التحديثات المستقبلية!

CCWESTT 2022 – Bold Actions to Accelerate Systemic Change

Members of the SCWIST team recently joined over 300 STEM leaders and organizations from across Canada to participate in the CCWESTT 2022 bi-annual conference held in Halifax. SCWIST is an active member of CCWESTT (Canadian Coalition of Women in Engineering, Science, Trades and Technology) and this year’s conference theme was “Reach for the Stars: Creating Impact Together” with its logo representing Bellatrix – the female warrior. The conference focused on sharing research, best practices and resources to accelerate systemic change to advance more women in STEM and trades.

Several keynote speakers shared their lived experiences and insights to stimulate new ways of thinking and acting – including breaking down barriers for women in trades, inclusion across intersections of race and gender, and the right IDEA: doing inclusion, diversity, equity and accessibility right. Conference presentations centred on themes of intersectionality, building better allies, inclusive leadership, outreach, recruitment, retention, and culture transformation. Conference presenters came from diverse backgrounds representing organizations across Canada working to accelerate change.

Ronel Alberts, Director of Women’s Programs at SCWIST, shared her insights: “For our new SCWIST portfolio focusing on Women’s Programs, this was an ideal opportunity to meet with leaders and collaborators of underrepresented groups across Canada. I could make real connections with key organizations that will support our vision and mission going forward.” 

The participation of SCWIST team members at CCWESTT 2022 was made possible through our SCALE and STEM Forward projects supported by Women and Gender Equality Canada (WAGE).   

The Honourable Minister Marci Ien from WAGE provided opening remarks for the pan-Canadian conference from her office in Ottawa, and a variety of local, regional and national government officials actively engaged in all the conference activities. 

CCWESTT 2022 was kick-started with an invigorating Policy Forum to generate bold actions to accelerate change. The Policy Forum facilitators encouraged over 100 participants to freshen their thinking on solutions that will accelerate change – and that it “takes a system to change a system!”. Cheryl Kristiansen was a table facilitator during the forum and the SCWIST team spread out across the various discussion groups to create more connections and engage new organizations in policy discussions. Our SCWIST member Rajni Ratti from Halifax joined the team to provide her perspectives and actions for change. The overriding message from the Policy Forum was that we need to ensure ALL voices are heard and that we need to choose bold actions to create the change that is needed.

SCWIST Director of Policy and Impact Melanie Ratnam provided context to the 4-hour Policy Forum collaborative process: “We worked together in groups to voice the type of policy reform that would be needed to shift systems in Canada for women in SETT (science, engineering, trades and technology). What manifested was an incredible picture of reformative policies that captured the needs of women in SETT and STEM from coast to coast. As we went through rounds of ideation and discussion, the forum culminated in participants voting on the top three policy areas that CCWESTT will focus on to accelerate change.”

SCWIST volunteer Rajni Ratti shared the impacts of the conference learning experience: “Attending CCWESTT 2022 was a very enriching experience as it broadened my thought spectrum and provided me with the opportunity to understand the diverse perspectives of women and their allies in SETT. It was an experience of ineffable significance as I could meet my fellow colleagues from SCWIST, in person, for the first time through this platform. I am grateful to SCWIST for providing me with this opportunity. I felt motivated meeting empowered women from different backgrounds. The overall energy of the event was contagious and inspiring. The most important lesson I learned is that the various challenges faced by women and their allies in SETT cannot be solved in silos. On the contrary, a systems thinking approach is the need of the hour to address these issues in a sustainable manner.”

The CCWESTT 2022 conference included a presentation by SCWIST Project Manager Cheryl Kristiansen on our Make DIVERSITY Possible Program that helps STEM organizations attract diverse talent and create inclusive workplace cultures where everyone can thrive. SCWIST volunteer Anja Lanz provided highlights of SCWIST collaborative partnerships and collective action.

SCWIST volunteer Anja Lanz shared her reflections: “CCWESTT conference brings together amazing collaborators and impactful organizations in STEM and SETT. It is quite apparent to me that much work for gender equality still needs to be accomplished in Canada, and having the CCWESTT conference to bring ideas and research into one space is equally important and necessary. I look forward to continuing the impact we are all making for the next generation of STEM and SETT professionals.”  

Professional development workshops were also offered as part of CCWEST2022, including a focus on respectful and inclusive workplaces, moving from difficult to effective conversations, you as a brand, and writing compelling commentary.

Jasmine Parmar, SCWIST Director of Marketing emphasized: “The conference provided plenty of opportunities for us to connect with like-minded individuals that are keen and passionate to identify solutions to retain women in STEM. The Informed Opinions workshop was an engaging and intimate space where Shari taught practical ways that I can help amplify the voice of our SCWIST organization.”

Jasmine, Cheryl and Anja also participated in the CCWESTT AGM held during the conference and helped celebrate the 30-year anniversary of the CCWESTT organization, along with other members from coast to coast. The next steps for the SCWIST team are to share key learnings from all the concurrent presentations held during the conference, follow up on the numerous national connections made and participate in the CCWESTT-led systemic change working group to analyze the policy forum outcomes and prioritize the next steps. Stay tuned for future updates!