CCWESTT 2022 – 加速系统性变革的大胆行动

SCWIST 团队的成员最近与来自加拿大各地的 300 多名 STEM 领导人和组织一起参加了在哈利法克斯举行的 CCWESTT 2022 半年度会议。 SCWIST 是 CCWESTT(加拿大工程、科学、贸易和技术领域的女性联盟)的积极成员,今年的会议主题是 “摘星:共同创造影响” 其标志代表贝拉特里克斯 - 女战士。 会议的重点是分享研究、最佳实践和资源,以加速系统性变革,以推动更多女性参与 STEM 和行业。

几个 主讲嘉宾 分享他们的生活经验和见解,以激发新的思维和行为方式——包括打破女性在行业中的障碍、跨种族和性别交叉的包容性,以及正确的理念:做包容、多样性、公平和可及性的权利。 会议 简报 围绕交叉性、建立更好的盟友、包容性领导、外展、招聘、保留和文化转型等主题。 会议 主持人 来自不同背景,代表加拿大各地致力于加速变革的组织。

SCWIST 女性项目主任 Ronel Alberts 分享了她的见解: “对于我们专注于女性计划的新 SCWIST 投资组合而言,这是与加拿大代表性不足群体的领导人和合作者会面的理想机会。 我可以与支持我们未来愿景和使命的关键组织建立真正的联系。” 

SCWIST 团队成员参与 CCWESTT 2022 是通过我们由加拿大妇女和性别平等 (WAGE) 支持的 SCALE 和 STEM Forward 项目实现的。   

来自 WAGE 的尊敬的 Marci Ien 部长在渥太华的办公室为泛加拿大会议致开幕词,各种地方、地区和国家政府官员积极参与了所有会议活动。 

CCWESTT 2022 以令人振奋的精神拉开帷幕 政策论坛 采取大胆行动加速变革。 政策论坛的主持人鼓励 100 多名参与者更新他们对加速变革的解决方案的思考——“需要一个系统来改变一个系统!”。 Cheryl Kristiansen 在论坛期间担任了会议主持人,SCWIST 团队分布在各个讨论组中,以建立更多联系并让新组织参与政策讨论。 我们来自哈利法克斯的 SCWIST 成员 Rajni Ratti 加入了团队,为变革提供了她的观点和行动。 政策论坛最重要的信息是,我们需要确保听到所有的声音,并且我们需要选择大胆的行动来创造所需的改变。

SCWIST 政策和影响总监 Melanie Ratnam 为 4 小时的政策论坛协作过程提供了背景信息: “我们以小组的形式合作,提出了改变加拿大SETT(科学、工程、贸易和技术)女性系统所需的政策改革类型。 所表现出来的是一幅令人难以置信的改革政策图景,这些政策抓住了从东海岸到西海岸的 SETT 和 STEM 女性的需求。 在我们进行多轮构思和讨论的过程中,论坛最终让参与者对 CCWESTT 将重点关注的三大政策领域进行投票,以加速变革。”

SCWIST 志愿者 Rajni Ratti 分享了会议学习体验的影响: “参加 CCWESTT 2022 是一次非常丰富的经历,因为它拓宽了我的思维范围,让我有机会了解女性及其盟友在 SETT 的不同观点。 这是一次意义不可言喻的经历,因为我第一次通过这个平台亲自见到了来自 SCWIST 的同事。 我很感谢 SCWIST 给我这个机会。 我觉得积极的会议赋予了来自不同背景的女性权力。 活动的整体能量是具有感染力和鼓舞人心的。 我学到的最重要的一课是,女性及其盟友在 SETT 面临的各种挑战无法单独解决。 相反,系统思维方法是需要时间以可持续的方式解决这些问题。”

CCWESTT 2022 会议包括 SCWIST 项目经理 Cheryl Kristiansen 就我们的 使多样性成为可能的计划 这有助于 STEM 组织吸引多元化人才,并创造包容性的工作场所文化,让每个人都能茁壮成长。 SCWIST 志愿者 Anja Lanz 提供了 SCWIST 合作伙伴关系和集体行动的亮点。

SCWIST 志愿者 Anja Lanz 分享了她的感想: “CCWESTT 会议汇集了 STEM 和 SETT 领域令人惊叹的合作者和有影响力的组织。 对我来说很明显,在加拿大仍然需要完成大量的性别平等工作,​​而举办 CCWESTT 会议将思想和研究汇集到一个空间同样重要和必要。 我期待继续为下一代 STEM 和 SETT 专业人士带来影响。”  

作为 CCWEST2022 的一部分,还提供了专业发展研讨会,包括关注尊重和包容的工作场所、从困难的对话转变为有效的对话、你作为一个品牌,以及撰写引人注目的评论。

SCWIST 营销总监 Jasmine Parmar 强调: “会议为我们提供了很多机会,让我们与志同道合的人建立联系,他们热衷于寻找解决方案以留住 STEM 中的女性。 Informed Opinions 研讨会是一个引人入胜且私密的空间,Shari 教授实用的方法,我可以帮助扩大我们 SCWIST 组织的声音。”

Jasmine、Cheryl 和 Anja 还参加了会议期间举行的 CCWESTT 年度股东大会,并与来自东海岸到西海岸的其他成员一起帮助庆祝了 CCWESTT 组织成立 30 周年。 SCWIST 团队接下来的步骤是分享会议期间所有同时举行的演讲的重要经验,跟进建立的众多国家联系,并参与由 CCWESTT 领导的系统性变革工作组,以分析政策论坛的成果并优先考虑下一步。 请继续关注未来的更新!

CCWESTT 2022 – Bold Actions to Accelerate Systemic Change

Members of the SCWIST team recently joined over 300 STEM leaders and organizations from across Canada to participate in the CCWESTT 2022 bi-annual conference held in Halifax. SCWIST is an active member of CCWESTT (Canadian Coalition of Women in Engineering, Science, Trades and Technology) and this year’s conference theme was “Reach for the Stars: Creating Impact Together” with its logo representing Bellatrix – the female warrior. The conference focused on sharing research, best practices and resources to accelerate systemic change to advance more women in STEM and trades.

Several keynote speakers shared their lived experiences and insights to stimulate new ways of thinking and acting – including breaking down barriers for women in trades, inclusion across intersections of race and gender, and the right IDEA: doing inclusion, diversity, equity and accessibility right. Conference presentations centred on themes of intersectionality, building better allies, inclusive leadership, outreach, recruitment, retention, and culture transformation. Conference presenters came from diverse backgrounds representing organizations across Canada working to accelerate change.

Ronel Alberts, Director of Women’s Programs at SCWIST, shared her insights: “For our new SCWIST portfolio focusing on Women’s Programs, this was an ideal opportunity to meet with leaders and collaborators of underrepresented groups across Canada. I could make real connections with key organizations that will support our vision and mission going forward.” 

The participation of SCWIST team members at CCWESTT 2022 was made possible through our SCALE and STEM Forward projects supported by Women and Gender Equality Canada (WAGE).   

The Honourable Minister Marci Ien from WAGE provided opening remarks for the pan-Canadian conference from her office in Ottawa, and a variety of local, regional and national government officials actively engaged in all the conference activities. 

CCWESTT 2022 was kick-started with an invigorating Policy Forum to generate bold actions to accelerate change. The Policy Forum facilitators encouraged over 100 participants to freshen their thinking on solutions that will accelerate change – and that it “takes a system to change a system!”. Cheryl Kristiansen was a table facilitator during the forum and the SCWIST team spread out across the various discussion groups to create more connections and engage new organizations in policy discussions. Our SCWIST member Rajni Ratti from Halifax joined the team to provide her perspectives and actions for change. The overriding message from the Policy Forum was that we need to ensure ALL voices are heard and that we need to choose bold actions to create the change that is needed.

SCWIST Director of Policy and Impact Melanie Ratnam provided context to the 4-hour Policy Forum collaborative process: “We worked together in groups to voice the type of policy reform that would be needed to shift systems in Canada for women in SETT (science, engineering, trades and technology). What manifested was an incredible picture of reformative policies that captured the needs of women in SETT and STEM from coast to coast. As we went through rounds of ideation and discussion, the forum culminated in participants voting on the top three policy areas that CCWESTT will focus on to accelerate change.”

SCWIST volunteer Rajni Ratti shared the impacts of the conference learning experience: “Attending CCWESTT 2022 was a very enriching experience as it broadened my thought spectrum and provided me with the opportunity to understand the diverse perspectives of women and their allies in SETT. It was an experience of ineffable significance as I could meet my fellow colleagues from SCWIST, in person, for the first time through this platform. I am grateful to SCWIST for providing me with this opportunity. I felt motivated meeting empowered women from different backgrounds. The overall energy of the event was contagious and inspiring. The most important lesson I learned is that the various challenges faced by women and their allies in SETT cannot be solved in silos. On the contrary, a systems thinking approach is the need of the hour to address these issues in a sustainable manner.”

The CCWESTT 2022 conference included a presentation by SCWIST Project Manager Cheryl Kristiansen on our Make DIVERSITY Possible Program that helps STEM organizations attract diverse talent and create inclusive workplace cultures where everyone can thrive. SCWIST volunteer Anja Lanz provided highlights of SCWIST collaborative partnerships and collective action.

SCWIST volunteer Anja Lanz shared her reflections: “CCWESTT conference brings together amazing collaborators and impactful organizations in STEM and SETT. It is quite apparent to me that much work for gender equality still needs to be accomplished in Canada, and having the CCWESTT conference to bring ideas and research into one space is equally important and necessary. I look forward to continuing the impact we are all making for the next generation of STEM and SETT professionals.”  

Professional development workshops were also offered as part of CCWEST2022, including a focus on respectful and inclusive workplaces, moving from difficult to effective conversations, you as a brand, and writing compelling commentary.

Jasmine Parmar, SCWIST Director of Marketing emphasized: “The conference provided plenty of opportunities for us to connect with like-minded individuals that are keen and passionate to identify solutions to retain women in STEM. The Informed Opinions workshop was an engaging and intimate space where Shari taught practical ways that I can help amplify the voice of our SCWIST organization.”

Jasmine, Cheryl and Anja also participated in the CCWESTT AGM held during the conference and helped celebrate the 30-year anniversary of the CCWESTT organization, along with other members from coast to coast. The next steps for the SCWIST team are to share key learnings from all the concurrent presentations held during the conference, follow up on the numerous national connections made and participate in the CCWESTT-led systemic change working group to analyze the policy forum outcomes and prioritize the next steps. Stay tuned for future updates!