نجاح تعاون Bison Science Fair!

لا يمكنك أن تطلب نتيجة أفضل. 

عندما اتصلت لجنة مشاركة الشباب SCWISTie ، والدكتور أنجو باجاج ، نائب المدير المساعد في مدرسة هولي كروس ، وعالم أبحاث وحائز على جائزة رئيس الوزراء للتميز في التدريس ، ببرنامج SCWIST لدعم معرض بيسون الإقليمي للعلوم والتعاون معه ، والذي يجذب عادةً مئات الطلاب في جميع أنحاء مانيتوبا ، لا يمكننا أن نقول لا. القفز على فرصة استخدام برامجنا الحالية لدعم العلماء الناشئين من خلفيات مختلفة - الفتيات والفتيان وغير الثنائيين والسكان الأصليين والأقليات المرئية 2SLGBTQIA وذوي الإعاقة - قمنا بتخصيص الرائد لدينا التوجيه الإلكتروني برنامج لخدمة احتياجات الطلاب المشاركين بشكل أفضل.

كانت هذه الجولة من eMentoring مختلفة عن جولاتنا المعتادة: كان لدينا مجموعة أصغر من الطلاب ، من الصفوف 7 إلى 9 ، والذين كانوا يشاركون أيضًا في معرض العلوم بمدرستهم المحلية ، على أمل الحصول على مكان في معرض العلوم على مستوى كندا. نظرًا للمناقشات بين الطلاب والموجهين التي كان من المتوقع إجراؤها ، والتي ستكون خاصة بفكرة المشروع العلمي للطالب ، قررنا استخدام وسيط مختلف تم استخدامه لإشراك الموجه والمتدرب - اجتمعت الفرق على Zoom بدلاً من وضع البريد الإلكتروني المعتاد لدينا الاتصالات. في كل أسبوع ، التقى الطلاب بالموجهين لمدة 30 دقيقة لمناقشة الجدوى والتقدم والعرض التقديمي لمشاريعهم. النتائج؟

  • تقدمت متدربة واحدة لكسب مكان في معرض العلوم على مستوى كندا حيث فازت مؤخرًا بجائزة المؤسسة الاكتوارية الكندية للناشئين ، وتلقت دعوة من مجلة CSF Journal لنشر عملها ، وشهرة من وكالة الفضاء الكندية
  • فاز متدرب واحد بميدالية ذهبية في معرض بيسون الإقليمي للعلوم ولاحظت سانوفي بيوجينيوس كندا عمله.
  • حصلت متدربة واحدة على جائزتها البرونزية في معرض بيسون الإقليمي للعلوم 

بشكل عام ، اعتقد 75 في المائة من الطلاب أن المحادثات الأسبوعية كانت مفيدة في تحسين المشروع ، وشعر 83 في المائة بأنهم على استعداد أفضل لتطوير مشروعهم بسبب التوجيه الذي قدمه معلمهم ، وقال 91 في المائة إنهم من المرجح أن يتابعوا مهنة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات أكثر من كانوا قبل المشاركة في برنامج eMentoring معرض بيسون للعلوم.

فاز متدربو eMentoring بجوائز في معرض Bison Regional Science Fair
متدربة SCWIST eMentoring ، ستيفاني كريستي وزميلتنا SCWISTie ، الدكتورة أنجو باجاج ، تمثل!
ستيفاني ، متدربة SCWIST eMentoring ، تفوز بجائزة في معرض كندا للعلوم على نطاق واسع!

نحن ممتنون جدًا للوقت والجهود التي بذلها المرشدون المتطوعون لجعل هذا الأمر ممكنًا. كما نود أن نتقدم بشكر خاص للدكتور أنجو باجاج. لقد كانت دعمًا كبيرًا للطلاب طوال جولة eMentoring. عندما انتهت الجولة ، واصلت بمفردها رعاية العلاقة بين ستيفاني ومعلمها بينما تقدمت ستيفاني إلى المستوى الوطني. لم يكن النجاح الهائل لهذه الجولة ممكناً لولا أنجو وحافزها المذهل لدعم الطلاب لتحقيق أقصى إمكاناتهم.

هل تريد المساعدة في تمكين الجيل القادم من قادة العلوم؟ سجل لتكون مرشدا اليوم!

The Bison Science Fair Collaboration Success!

You could not have asked for a better outcome. 

When Youth Engagement committee SCWISTie, Dr. Anju Bajaj, Associate Vice-Principal at Holy Cross School, Research Scientist and Prime Minister Teaching Excellence Awardee, approached SCWIST to support and collaborate with the Bison Regional Science Fair, which typically draws hundreds of students across Manitoba, we couldn’t say no. Jumping at the opportunity to use our current programs to support budding scientists of various backgrounds – girls, boys, non-binary, Indigenous, visible minorities, 2SLGBTQIA, those with disabilities – we customized our flagship eMentoring program to better serve the needs of the student participants.

This round of eMentoring was unlike our usual rounds: we had a younger batch of students, grades 7-9, who were also participating in their local school science fair, hoping to earn a spot at the Canada-Wide Science Fair. Given the discussions between students and mentors were expected to have, which would be specific to the student’s science project idea, we decided to use a different medium was used for mentor-mentee engagement – the teams met on Zoom instead of our usual mode of email communication. Each week, students met with mentors for 30 minutes to discuss the feasibility, progress, and presentation of their projects. The result?

  • 1 mentee advanced to earn a spot at the Canada-Wide Science Fair where she recently won the Actuarial Foundation of Canada Junior Award, received an invitation from CSF Journal to publish her work, and kudos from the Canadian Space Agency
  • 1 mentee won a gold medal at the Bison Regional Science Fair and had his work noticed by Sanofi Biogenius Canada
  • 1 mentee won her bronze award at the Bison Regional Science Fair 

Overall, 75 percent of students thought the weekly conversations were helpful in making the project better, 83 percent felt better prepared to develop their project because of the guidance provided by their mentor and 91 percent said they are more likely to pursue a career in STEM than they were before participating in the Bison Science Fair eMentoring program.

Our eMentoring mentees won awards at the Bison Regional Science Fair
SCWIST eMentoring mentee, Stephanie Christie and our fellow SCWISTie, Dr. Anju Bajaj, representing!
Stephanie, SCWIST eMentoring mentee, wins an award at the Canada Wide Science Fair!

We are so grateful for the time and efforts put in by our volunteer mentors to make this a possibility. We would also like to extend a special thank you to Dr. Anju Bajaj. She was a huge support to the students throughout the eMentoring round. When the round ended, she single-handedly continued to nurture the relationship between Stephanie and her mentor as Stephanie advanced to the national level. The tremendous success of this round would not have been possible without Anju and her awe-inspiring drive to support students achieve their maximum potential.

Want to help empower the next generation of science leaders? Sign up to be a mentor today!