يدعم SCWIST طالب الصف السادس للتنافس في النهائيات العالمية

أبيجيل كريزويكأبيجيل كريزويك، طالبة شابة في الصف السادس من جزيرة بوين ، كولومبيا البريطانية ، سعيدة باختيارها من قبل SCWIST للحصول على منحة دراسية لدعم نفقات سفرها إلى نهائيات الوجهة الخيال العالمية في نوكسفيل تينيسي.

الخيال الوجهة هو برنامج تعليمي حيث تنغمس فرق الطلاب في العملية الإبداعية اللازمة لحل التحديات المفتوحة ، ثم يقدمون حلولهم في البطولات الإقليمية والمحلية التي تقام في أكثر من 40 دولة. إذا فازوا على تلك المستويات ، فقد يتلقون دعوة إلى النهائيات العالمية.

فريق أبيجيل ، السرطانات الناسك، على تحدٍ في الهندسة الإنشائية ، وهو أحد الخيارات السبعة الممكنة. لكل تحدي توازن مختلف بين العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة الميكانيكية والهندسة الإنشائية وفنون المسرح والفنون التطبيقية والكتابة والرياضيات. من أجل تحقيق النجاح ، يتعين على الأطفال تطوير مهاراتهم في إدارة المشاريع والتواصل والابتكار والعمل الجماعي وخدمة المجتمع.

السرطانات الناسك

يتطلب تحدي Hermit Crabs منهم بناء أخف هيكل ممكن بحجم محدد قادر على حمل وزن 10 كجم. اضطر الفريق إلى بناء جهاز لإزالة أجزاء من الهيكل بأمان ، بينما يستمر في حمل الوزن. تُمنح العلامات لخفة الهيكل ونسبة الوزن المُزال وابتكار التصميم. بالإضافة إلى الهيكل ، يتعين على أعضاء الفريق الآخرين كتابة وتنفيذ مسرحية قصيرة بسرد ودعائم تعكس تحول الهيكل. يجب أن يتم إجراء جميع الأبحاث والأفكار وتنفيذ الحل من قبل الأطفال أنفسهم ، دون أي مدخلات من الكبار.

داخل الفريق ، قامت أبيجيل بطبيعة الحال بدور المهندس الأساسي والباني. لديها اهتمام كبير بالعلوم ، ولديها إصرار على فهم المفاهيم الصعبة. في جولات التصفيات ، تغلبت حلولها باستمرار على جميع فرق المستوى الأعلى. كان هيكلها المؤهل قادرًا على تحقيق نسبة التخلص من الوزن بنسبة 73٪ وكانت تعمل بجد على هيكل جديد للمنافسة العالمية لن يؤدي فقط إلى زيادة نسبة الإزالة إلى 80٪ ، بل سيؤدي إلى نصف الوزن الأولي.

وقد خرج الفريق يوم 16 مايو للمنافسة.

حظا سعيدا ، السرطانات الناسك! نتطلع إلى سماع أخبار النهائيات العالمية!

SCWIST Supports Grade 6 Student to Compete in Global Finals

Abigail creswickAbigail Creswick, a young grade 6 student from Bowen Island BC, is  thrilled to have been chosen  by SCWIST for a scholarship to support her travel expenses to The Destination Imagination Global Finals in Knoxville Tennessee.

Destination Imagination is an educational program where student teams are immersed in the creative process needed to solve open-ended Challenges, and then present their solutions at regional and provincial tournaments held in over 40 countries. If they win at those levels, they may receive an invitation to Global Finals.

Abigail’s team, The Hermit Crabs, has taken on a structural engineering challenge, one of seven possible choices. Each challenge has a different balance of science, technology, mechanical engineering, structural engineering, theater arts, applied arts, writing, and math. In order to be successful, kids have to develop skills in project management, communication, innovation, teamwork and community service.

The Hermit Crabs

The Hermit Crabs’ challenge requires them to build the lightest possible structure of a specified size that is able to hold a 10kg weight. The team had to build a device to safely remove parts of the structure, while it continues to hold the weight. Marks are awarded for the lightness of the structure, the ratio of weight removed, and the innovation of the design. In addition to the structure, other members of the team have to write and perform a short play with a narrative and props that mirror the transformation of the structure. All of the research, ideas, and execution of the solution must be done by the children themselves, with zero adult input.

Within the team, Abigail has naturally filled the role of primary engineer and builder. She has a strong interest in science, and is tenacious in her determination to understand difficult concepts. In qualifying rounds, her solutions have consistently beaten all senior level teams. Her qualifying structure was able to achieve a weight removal ratio of 73% and she has been diligently working on a new structure for the global competition that will not only increase the removal ratio to 80%, but will half the starting weight.

The team has headed out May 16 to compete.

Good luck, Hermit Crabs!  We look forward to hearing about the Global Finals!