مقابلة مع الدكتور ألين إيفز حول النساء و STEMCELL و SCWIST

بقلم: جاني ماري بيترسلوند

SCWIST أجرى مقابلة مع الدكتور ألين إيفز ، الرئيس التنفيذي ومؤسس مجموعة شركات STEMCELL ، بما في ذلك شركة STEMCELL Technologies Inc.و Malachite Management Inc. و STEMSOFT Software Inc. و Connexon Creative حول كيفية تناسب النساء مع أكبر شركة للتكنولوجيا الحيوية في كولومبيا البريطانية ولماذا ترعى STEMCELL SCWIST.

تهانينا على حصولك مؤخرًا على جائزة Life Sciences Company لعام 2015 من BC Life Sciences. هذا مثير للإعجاب. شعار شركة STEMCELL هو "العلماء يساعدون العلماء" ، ويبدو أنك تؤمن بهذا كثيرًا. ما مقدار "العلماء الذين يساعدون العلماء" ، وكم أنت شركة؟

نحن جميعًا نهدف إلى مساعدة الباحثين ، وحول الحقيقة والصدق. نحاول فهم احتياجات عملائنا ، وإذا فعلنا ذلك بالشكل الصحيح ، فسنربح أيضًا الكثير من المال. ما يهم هو جودة منتجاتنا وحداثتها.

أعيد كل إيراداتنا إلى الشركة لجعلها شركة كبيرة. حقيقة أننا لا نستطيع أن ننمو إلا من خلال عائداتنا هي نظام جيد للغاية. نظرًا لأننا ننمو بنسبة 15-18٪ سنويًا ، يجب أن نتوقع جيدًا الحاجة إلى موظفين في المستقبل ، حيث يستغرق تدريبهم 3-6 أشهر.

STEMCELL مملوك للقطاع الخاص بنفسك. ليس لديك مستثمرون ، لأنه كان لديك منتج ، MethoCult ، يمكنك بيعه منذ البداية. يعد هذا نموذجًا تجاريًا فريدًا إلى حد ما في صناعة التكنولوجيا الحيوية حيث غالبًا ما نرى الشركات في حاجة إلى التمويل لسنوات عديدة قبل أن يكون لديهم منتج على الرف. هل كان هذا نموذج عمل واعًا من جانبك أم أنه "حدث للتو" بهذه الطريقة؟

قليلا من الاثنين ، حقا. لن يكون لديك ما يكفي من المال أبدًا عند إجراء الأبحاث ، لذلك بدأنا في بيع وسيلة زراعة الأنسجة جيدة الصنع لمختبرات المكونة للدم. كان لدينا أفضل الأشياء وأرادتنا مؤسسة BC Cancer أن نبدأ شركتنا الخاصة. لم أكن أفكر في ذلك حقًا ، لكنني رهن منزلي وأخذت قرضًا وكنا في العمل. لم أكن أعرف ما الذي سيحدث ، لكنه بدأ في النمو.

لقد رأيت عددًا من زملائي يؤسسون شركات مع مستثمرين ، وعادة ما يكون لدى المستثمرين استراتيجية خروج في غضون ثلاث سنوات ، يرغبون في بيع الشركة. هذا ليس جيدًا لأي عمل. كل عالم رائد أعمال ، حقًا. أنت تدير هذا النشاط التجاري الصغير الذي يسمى مختبرك ، وتحاول النشر والخروج إلى هناك ، والعمل مع المسؤولين للحصول على مدفوعات ، لذلك فأنت رائد أعمال بالفعل.

لقد وقعت (STEMCELL) مؤخرًا اتفاقية رعاية لمدة 5 سنوات مع SCWIST ، فلماذا اخترت رعاية SCWIST؟

لدينا الكثير من النساء هنا ، وأعتقد أن النساء يمضين وقتًا عصيبًا في العلوم ، وبالتأكيد في الأوساط الأكاديمية ، لأن إنجاب الأطفال يخرجك من "التداول" لبعض الوقت. يجب أن تكون مدفوعًا للغاية ، مقارنة بالعديد من الذكور الذين لديهم الأمر بشكل أسهل قليلاً ، وأنا أعني جميعًا بالمساواة.

نحن بحاجة إلى المزيد من النساء في مجال العلوم مع الوظائف ، وليس هناك وظائف في كندا يجب أن تكون موجودة. نريد اقتصادًا قائمًا على المعرفة ، وليس اقتصادًا قائمًا على الموارد. المرأة بارعة في العلوم. فهم أكثر حرصًا وتحليليًا. هم أفضل في كثير من الأحيان. تعمل الأشياء بشكل أفضل بالتأكيد عندما يكون لديك مزيج من الذكور والإناث.

كم عدد النساء العاملات في STEMCELL؟

النساء أكثر من الرجال. هل ندفع للجميع نفس الشيء؟ نعم. لا يوجد تفاوت بين رواتب الرجال والنساء ، فالأجور تعتمد فقط على المؤهلات.

STEMCELL لديها معدل أعلى من المتوسط ​​من النساء في أعلى المنظمة مقارنة بشركات التكنولوجيا الحيوية الأخرى. لماذا هذا وهل لديكم سياسات محددة لجذب النساء؟

في التكنولوجيا الحيوية النموذجية ، هناك الكثير من المخاطر ، وأعتقد أن الرجال مستعدون لتحمل المزيد من المخاطر ، خاصة عندما يكونون أصغر سناً. عندما تنضج الشركة ، تصبح أكثر استقرارًا وتجذب المزيد من النساء ، على ما أعتقد. ربما تكون النساء أكثر تحفظًا من الذكور ، عندما تكون صغيرًا ، لكن هذا يساوي مع تقدمك في السن.

ليس لدينا سياسات محددة. نحن فقط نختار أفضل الأشخاص. هناك الكثير من النساء الأذكياء ونريدهن جميعًا!

غالبًا ما تذكر النساء شيئين عند شرح نقص النساء في المناصب الإدارية والتنفيذية: 1) الافتقار العام للثقة بالنفس لدى الإناث ، و 2) الافتقار إلى رعاية الأطفال الرخيصة. ما رأيك هو التفسير؟

ليس هناك شك في أن إنجاب الأطفال يعيدك إلى المنافسة على الوظائف ، لأنه يخرجك من القوى العاملة لفترة من الوقت. لأي سبب من الأسباب ، ربما لأسباب ثقافية ، تميل النساء إلى رعاية الأطفال أكثر. ليس لدي إجابة لكل هذا ، فهناك الكثير من الرجال الذين يبقون في المنزل الآن ، ويبدو أن هذا يعمل بشكل جيد أيضًا.

هل يجب على السياسيين الخروج ووضع سياسات محددة؟

سيكون إعطاء المرأة مزايا إضافية أمرًا جيدًا ، حيث يمكن للمرأة أن تعود مبكرًا. نقوم بذلك هنا ، يمكن للناس العودة بدوام جزئي ، وهذا يعمل جيدًا للعديد من الوظائف. المرأة ممتازة في التنظيم ، سواء في العمل أو في المنزل. تحرص الكثير من النساء على إدارة حياتهن المهنية وعائلاتهن على حدٍ سواء ، ويصبحن مديرات جيدات.

هل ستختار النساء في مواقع معينة والرجال في مواقع أخرى؟

لا ، نريد أفضل الناس. من الناحية المثالية ، فإن الحصول على هذا المزيج هو ما تريد السعي لتحقيقه. تريد أن يكون لديك توازن بين الجنسين لأن بيئة العمل أفضل.

يرحب SCWIST بالرجال وأي شخص يدعم النساء في مجال العلوم. تبدو النساء أفضل في تنظيم أنفسهن في مثل هذه المنظمات. هل تعتقد أن الرجال سيخسرون في النهاية وستتولى النساء زمام الأمور؟

القيمة الأساسية هي حقًا جودة الحياة والفرص التعليمية ، ومواكبة المجال. تركز معظم المنظمات العلمية ، بما في ذلك الرجال ، على العلم فقط ، وليس على التوازن بين العمل والحياة وبناء الفرص لتزدهر الأسرة. أعتقد أن منظمة تركز على العلوم و جودة الحياة ستكون ناجحة للغاية.

أنت أكبر شركة للتكنولوجيا الحيوية في كولومبيا البريطانية ، ويعمل بها ما يزيد قليلاً عن 650 موظفًا في جميع أنحاء العالم ، معظمهم في كندا. إلى أين تتجه STEMCELL على المدى الطويل؟ هل ستبقى في كولومبيا البريطانية؟

بادئ ذي بدء ، تريد أن يكون البحث قريبًا جدًا من التصنيع ليعمل بكفاءة ، ولدينا هنا عمالة عالية المهارة. أمريكا الشمالية هي أكبر سوق ونريد أن نكون قريبين من ذلك ، حتى نجعله فعالاً من حيث التكلفة.

أريد تحويل فانكوفر إلى مدينة علوم. وظف كل هؤلاء الأطفال الأذكياء الذين يتدربون في UBC و SFU ومنحهم الفرص.

لدي سؤال لك ، في الواقع. ما هو الفرق بين SCWIST والمنظمات النسائية الأخرى الموجودة هناك؟

في SCWIST ، ينصب تركيزنا على عدة مستويات ، حيث لدينا برامج توعية وتوجيه تحت السيدة اللانهاية، وإشراك الفتيات والشابات في تعلم العلوم ؛ ط نظام معلومات المنظمة، لمساعدة المهنيين المدربين دوليًا على بدء حياتهم المهنية في كندا ، ننظم الأحداث وورش العمل وفرص التواصل للنساء في بداية منتصف الحياة المهنية ؛ ولدينا قاعدة بيانات إرشادية عبر الإنترنت ، جعل ذلك ممكنا، للنساء اللواتي يتطلعن إلى التقدم في حياتهن المهنية من خلال العثور على مرشد أو أن تصبح واحدة ويمكن لأعضائنا الانخراط مع المجتمع العلمي ورد الجميل له من خلال فرص التطوع. نعيدها إلى دائرة كاملة ، بشكل أساسي.

شكراً جزيلاً لك دكتور إيفز على التحدث إلينا في SCWIST. نحن نتطلع إلى تعاوننا المستقبلي!

Interview with Dr. Allen Eaves

By Janny Marie Peterslund

Dr. Allen Eaves on Women, STEMCELL and SCWIST

How women fit into BC’s largest biotech company and why STEMCELL sponsors SCWIST

237932_AllenEaves0006I am interviewing Dr. Allen Eaves, who is the CEO and Founder of the STEMCELL Group of Companies, including STEMCELL Technologies Inc., Malachite Management Inc., STEMSOFT Software Inc., and Connexon Creative.

 

 

 

 

Janny Marie: Congratulations on recently being awarded the Life Sciences Company of the Year 2015 by BC Life Sciences. That is very impressive. STEMCELL’s slogan is ‘Scientists Helping Scientists’, and it seems that you believe in that very much. How much are you ‘Scientists Helping Scientists’, and how much are you a business?

Dr. Eaves: We are all about helping researchers, and about truth and honesty. We try to understand the needs of our customers, and if we do that right, we’ll also earn lots of money. It’s the quality and novelty of our products that counts.

I put all our revenue back into the company to make it a big company. The fact that we can only grow with our revenue is a very good discipline. Because we grow 15-18% a year we have to anticipate the need for future staff well, as it takes 3-6 months to train them.

 

Janny Marie: STEMCELL is privately owned by yourself. You don’t have investors, because you had a product, MethoCult, that you could sell right from the start. This is a rather unique business model in the biotech industry where we often see companies in need of funding for many years before they have a product on the shelve. Was this a conscious business model on your part or did it ‘just happen’ that way?

Dr. Eaves: A bit of both, really. You never have enough money when you’re doing research, so we started selling this well-made tissue culture medium for hematopoietic labs. We had all the best things and the BC Cancer Foundation wanted us to start our own company. I wasn’t really thinking about that, but I mortgaged my house and took a loan and we were in business. I didn’t know what would happen, but it just started to grow.

I had seen a number of my colleagues starting companies with investors, and investors usually have an exit strategy within three years, wanting to sell off the company. That’s not good for any business. Every scientist is an entrepreneur, really. You run that little business called your lab, trying to publish and get out there, working with administrators to get payments, so you’re an entrepreneur already.

 

Janny Marie: You (STEMCELL) recently signed a 5-year sponsorship agreement with SCWIST, why did you choose to sponsor SCWIST?

Dr. Eaves: We have a lot of women here, and I think women have a rough time in science, certainly in academia, because having children takes you out of ‘circulation’ for a little while. You have to be very driven, compared to a lot of males who have it a little easier, and I’m all about equality.

We need more women in science with jobs, and there are not the jobs in Canada that there should be. We want a knowledge-based economy, not a resource-based one. Women are very good at science; they are more careful, more analytical. They’re better, often. Things definitely work better when you have a mix of males and females.

 

Janny Marie: How many women are working at STEMCELL?

Dr. Eaves: More women than men. Do we pay everybody the same? Yes. There’s no discrepancy between men or women in salaries, it’s only based on qualifications.

STEMCELL_Donut chart_crop

 

Janny Marie: STEMCELL has an above average rate of women higher up in the organization compared to other biotech companies. Why is that and do you have any specific policies to attract women?

Dr. Eaves: In the typical biotech, there’s a lot of risk, and I think men are prepared to take more risks, especially when you’re younger. When a company matures, it becomes more stable, and attracts more women, I think. Women are probably more conservative than males, when you are young, but that equals as you get older.

We don’t have specific policies; we just go for the best people. There are a lot of smart women out there and we want them all!

 

Janny Marie: Women often mention two things when explaining the lack of women in manager and executive positions: 1) the general ‘female lack of self-confidence’, and 2) the lack of cheap childcare. What do you think is the explanation?

Dr. Eaves: There is no question that having children puts you back in the competition for jobs, as it takes you out of the workforce for a while. For whatever reason, probably cultural, women tend to look after the kids more. I don’t have the answer to all this, there are a lot of men who stay at home now, and that seems to work really well too.

 

Janny Marie: Should politicians go out and make specific policies?

Dr. Eaves: Giving women extra perks would be good, as women could come back earlier. We do that here, people can come back part-time, and that works well for many jobs. Women are excellent at organizing, both at work and at home. Many women are very keen on managing both their careers as well as their family, and they make good managers.

 

Janny Marie: Would you go for women in certain positions and men in other?

Dr. Eaves: No, we want the best people. Ideally, having the mix is what you want to strive for. You want to have a gender balance because the work environment is better.

 

Janny Marie: SCWIST welcomes men, and anyone supporting women in science. Women seem better at organizing themselves in such organizations. Will men eventually loose out and women take over, do you think?

Dr. Eaves: The underlying value is really quality of life and educational opportunities, keeping up with the field. Most scientific organizations including men are focused on the science only, not on the work-life balance and building opportunities for the family to thrive. I think an organization focusing on science and the quality of life would be very successful.

 

Janny Marie: You are BC’s largest biotech company, with just over 650 employees worldwide, most of them in Canada. Where is STEMCELL going, long-term? Will you stay in BC?

Dr. Eaves: First of all, you want the research to be very close to the manufacturing to work efficiently, and we have highly skilled labour here. North America is the largest market and we want to be close to that, also to make it cost effective.

I want to turn Vancouver into Science City. Hire all these smart kids that are training at UBC and SFU and give them opportunities.

 

Dr. Eaves: I have a question for you, actually. What is the difference between SCWIST and the other women’s organizations that are out there?

Janny Marie: At SCWIST, our focus is on several levels, in that we have outreach and mentorship programs under ms infinity, engaging girls and young women in learning about science; IWIS, helping internationally trained professionals to start a career in Canada, we organize events, workshops and networking opportunities for women in early-mid career; and we have an online mentorship database, MakePossible, for women looking to advance their career by finding a mentor or becoming one. And our members can engage with and give back to the scientific community through volunteer opportunities. We bring it full circle, essentially.

 

Thank you so much, Dr. Eaves, for talking to us at SCWIST! We look forward to our future collaboration!

Stemcell Technologies