与 Allen Eaves 博士就女性、STEMCELL 和 SCWIST 进行的访谈

作者:詹尼·玛丽·彼得斯隆德

SCWIST 采访了 STEMCELL Group of Companies 首席执行官兼创始人 Allen Eaves 博士,其中包括 STEMCELL 技术公司、Malachite Management Inc.、STEMSOFT Software Inc. 和 Connexon Creative 介绍女性如何融入 BC 最大的生物技术公司以及 STEMCELL 赞助 SCWIST 的原因。

祝贺您最近被 BC Life Sciences 授予 2015 年度生命科学公司。 这是非常令人印象深刻的。 STEMCELL 的口号是“科学家帮助科学家”,您似乎非常相信这一点。 你有多少“科学家帮助科学家”,你有多少生意?

我们都是为了帮助研究人员,为了真理和诚实。 我们努力了解客户的需求,如果我们做得对,我们也会赚到很多钱。 重要的是我们产品的质量和新颖性。

我将所有收入重新投入公司,以使其成为一家大公司。 我们只能靠我们的收入增长,这是一个很好的纪律。 因为我们每年以15-18%的速度增长,所以我们必须预料未来员工的需求,因为培训他们需要3-6个月。

STEMCELL 为您私人所有。 你没有投资者,因为你有一个产品,MethoCult,你可以从一开始就卖掉。 这是生物技术行业中一种相当独特的商业模式,我们经常看到公司在产品上架之前需要多年的资金支持。 这是您有意识的商业模式,还是“刚刚发生”的方式?

两者都有,真的。 当您进行研究时,您永远没有足够的资金,因此我们开始为造血实验室销售这种制作精良的组织培养基。 我们拥有所有最好的东西,BC 癌症基金会希望我们开办自己的公司。 我并没有真正考虑那个,但是我抵押了我的房子并贷款了,我们开始做生意了。 我不知道会发生什么,但它刚刚开始增长。

我见过很多同事都是从投资者创办公司的,而投资者通常会在三年内制定退出策略,想卖掉公司。 这对任何企业都是不利的。 确实,每个科学家都是企业家。 您经营着一家名为实验室的小公司,试图发布并发布消息,与管理员合作以获取付款,因此您已经是一名企业家。

你们(STEMCELL)最近与SCWIST签订了5年的赞助协议,为什么选择赞助SCWIST?

我们这里有很多女性,我认为女性在科学界,尤其是在学术界的日子不好过,因为生孩子会让你暂时脱离“循环”。 与许多男性相比,你必须非常有动力,他们更容易一些,而我完全是关于平等的。

我们需要更多从事科学工作的女性,加拿大没有应有的工作。 我们想要一种基于知识的经济,而不是一种基于资源的经济。 妇女善于科学。 他们更加谨慎,更加分析。 他们常常更好。 当您混合使用男性和女性时,事情肯定会更好。

有多少女性在 STEMCELL 工作?

女性多于男性。 我们给每个人都一样吗? 是的。 男女之间的薪水没有差异,只是基于资格。

与其他生物技术公司相比,STEMCELL 在组织中担任较高职位的女性比例高于平均水平。 为什么会这样?你们有什么吸引女性的具体政策吗?

在典型的生物技术中,存在很多风险,我认为男性准备承担更多风险,尤其是在他们年轻的时候。 我认为,当一家公司成熟时,它会变得更加稳定,并吸引更多女性。 当你年轻的时候,女性可能比男性更保守,但随着年龄的增长,这也一样。

我们没有具体政策; 我们只追求最优秀的人才。 那里有很多聪明的女人,我们都想要!

在解释经理和行政职位缺乏女性时,女性通常会提到两件事:1) 普遍的“女性缺乏自信”,以及 2) 缺乏廉价的儿童保育。 你觉得解释是什么?

毫无疑问,有了孩子会让你重新参加工作竞争,因为这会让你暂时离开劳动力市场。 无论出于何种原因,可能是文化原因,女性倾向于更多地照顾孩子。 我对这一切都没有答案,现在有很多男人呆在家里,这似乎也很有效。

政治家应该走出去制定具体的政策吗?

给女性额外的津贴会很好,因为女性可以更早回来。 我们在这里这样做,人们可以兼职回来,这对许多工作都很有效。 女性在工作和家庭中都非常擅长组织。 许多女性非常热衷于管理自己的事业和家庭,她们是优秀的管理者。

你会选择女性担任某些职位而男性担任其他职位吗?

不,我们想要最好的人。 理想情况下,混合是你想要争取的。 您希望实现性别平衡,因为工作环境更好。

SCWIST 欢迎男性以及任何在科学领域支持女性的人。 在这样的组织中,女性似乎更善于组织自己。 你认为男人最终会失败而女人会接管吗?

潜在的价值是真正的生活质量和教育机会,与该领域保持同步。 包括男性在内的大多数科学组织只关注科学,而不是工作与生活的平衡以及为家庭繁荣创造机会。 我认为一个专注于科学的组织 生活质量将非常成功。

您是不列颠哥伦比亚省最大的生物技术公司,在全球拥有超过 650 名员工,其中大部分在加拿大。 从长远来看,STEMCELL 将走向何方? 你会留在BC吗?

首先,您希望研究非常接近制造以高效工作,而我们这里有高技能的劳动力。 北美是最大的市场,我们希望接近该市场,同时使其具有成本效益。

我想将温哥华变成科学城。 雇用所有在UBC和SFU训练的聪明孩子,给他们机会。

事实上,我有一个问题要问你。 SCWIST 和外面的其他妇女组织有什么区别?

在 SCWIST,我们的重点是几个层面,因为我们有外展和指导计划 毫秒无穷大促使女孩和年轻妇女学习科学; 的确为帮助受过国际培训的专业人士在加拿大开始职业生涯,我们为职业生涯中期的女性组织了各种活动,研讨会和建立联系的机会; 我们有一个在线指导数据库, 成为可能,适用于希望通过寻找导师或成为一名导师来促进职业发展的女性。 我们的成员可以通过志愿者机会与科学界互动并回馈社会。 本质上,我们将其带了整整一圈。

非常感谢 Eaves 博士在 SCWIST 与我们交谈。 我们期待我们未来的合作!

Interview with Dr. Allen Eaves

By Janny Marie Peterslund

Dr. Allen Eaves on Women, STEMCELL and SCWIST

How women fit into BC’s largest biotech company and why STEMCELL sponsors SCWIST

237932_AllenEaves0006I am interviewing Dr. Allen Eaves, who is the CEO and Founder of the STEMCELL Group of Companies, including STEMCELL Technologies Inc., Malachite Management Inc., STEMSOFT Software Inc., and Connexon Creative.

 

 

 

 

Janny Marie: Congratulations on recently being awarded the Life Sciences Company of the Year 2015 by BC Life Sciences. That is very impressive. STEMCELL’s slogan is ‘Scientists Helping Scientists’, and it seems that you believe in that very much. How much are you ‘Scientists Helping Scientists’, and how much are you a business?

Dr. Eaves: We are all about helping researchers, and about truth and honesty. We try to understand the needs of our customers, and if we do that right, we’ll also earn lots of money. It’s the quality and novelty of our products that counts.

I put all our revenue back into the company to make it a big company. The fact that we can only grow with our revenue is a very good discipline. Because we grow 15-18% a year we have to anticipate the need for future staff well, as it takes 3-6 months to train them.

 

Janny Marie: STEMCELL is privately owned by yourself. You don’t have investors, because you had a product, MethoCult, that you could sell right from the start. This is a rather unique business model in the biotech industry where we often see companies in need of funding for many years before they have a product on the shelve. Was this a conscious business model on your part or did it ‘just happen’ that way?

Dr. Eaves: A bit of both, really. You never have enough money when you’re doing research, so we started selling this well-made tissue culture medium for hematopoietic labs. We had all the best things and the BC Cancer Foundation wanted us to start our own company. I wasn’t really thinking about that, but I mortgaged my house and took a loan and we were in business. I didn’t know what would happen, but it just started to grow.

I had seen a number of my colleagues starting companies with investors, and investors usually have an exit strategy within three years, wanting to sell off the company. That’s not good for any business. Every scientist is an entrepreneur, really. You run that little business called your lab, trying to publish and get out there, working with administrators to get payments, so you’re an entrepreneur already.

 

Janny Marie: You (STEMCELL) recently signed a 5-year sponsorship agreement with SCWIST, why did you choose to sponsor SCWIST?

Dr. Eaves: We have a lot of women here, and I think women have a rough time in science, certainly in academia, because having children takes you out of ‘circulation’ for a little while. You have to be very driven, compared to a lot of males who have it a little easier, and I’m all about equality.

We need more women in science with jobs, and there are not the jobs in Canada that there should be. We want a knowledge-based economy, not a resource-based one. Women are very good at science; they are more careful, more analytical. They’re better, often. Things definitely work better when you have a mix of males and females.

 

Janny Marie: How many women are working at STEMCELL?

Dr. Eaves: More women than men. Do we pay everybody the same? Yes. There’s no discrepancy between men or women in salaries, it’s only based on qualifications.

STEMCELL_Donut chart_crop

 

Janny Marie: STEMCELL has an above average rate of women higher up in the organization compared to other biotech companies. Why is that and do you have any specific policies to attract women?

Dr. Eaves: In the typical biotech, there’s a lot of risk, and I think men are prepared to take more risks, especially when you’re younger. When a company matures, it becomes more stable, and attracts more women, I think. Women are probably more conservative than males, when you are young, but that equals as you get older.

We don’t have specific policies; we just go for the best people. There are a lot of smart women out there and we want them all!

 

Janny Marie: Women often mention two things when explaining the lack of women in manager and executive positions: 1) the general ‘female lack of self-confidence’, and 2) the lack of cheap childcare. What do you think is the explanation?

Dr. Eaves: There is no question that having children puts you back in the competition for jobs, as it takes you out of the workforce for a while. For whatever reason, probably cultural, women tend to look after the kids more. I don’t have the answer to all this, there are a lot of men who stay at home now, and that seems to work really well too.

 

Janny Marie: Should politicians go out and make specific policies?

Dr. Eaves: Giving women extra perks would be good, as women could come back earlier. We do that here, people can come back part-time, and that works well for many jobs. Women are excellent at organizing, both at work and at home. Many women are very keen on managing both their careers as well as their family, and they make good managers.

 

Janny Marie: Would you go for women in certain positions and men in other?

Dr. Eaves: No, we want the best people. Ideally, having the mix is what you want to strive for. You want to have a gender balance because the work environment is better.

 

Janny Marie: SCWIST welcomes men, and anyone supporting women in science. Women seem better at organizing themselves in such organizations. Will men eventually loose out and women take over, do you think?

Dr. Eaves: The underlying value is really quality of life and educational opportunities, keeping up with the field. Most scientific organizations including men are focused on the science only, not on the work-life balance and building opportunities for the family to thrive. I think an organization focusing on science and the quality of life would be very successful.

 

Janny Marie: You are BC’s largest biotech company, with just over 650 employees worldwide, most of them in Canada. Where is STEMCELL going, long-term? Will you stay in BC?

Dr. Eaves: First of all, you want the research to be very close to the manufacturing to work efficiently, and we have highly skilled labour here. North America is the largest market and we want to be close to that, also to make it cost effective.

I want to turn Vancouver into Science City. Hire all these smart kids that are training at UBC and SFU and give them opportunities.

 

Dr. Eaves: I have a question for you, actually. What is the difference between SCWIST and the other women’s organizations that are out there?

Janny Marie: At SCWIST, our focus is on several levels, in that we have outreach and mentorship programs under ms infinity, engaging girls and young women in learning about science; IWIS, helping internationally trained professionals to start a career in Canada, we organize events, workshops and networking opportunities for women in early-mid career; and we have an online mentorship database, MakePossible, for women looking to advance their career by finding a mentor or becoming one. And our members can engage with and give back to the scientific community through volunteer opportunities. We bring it full circle, essentially.

 

Thank you so much, Dr. Eaves, for talking to us at SCWIST! We look forward to our future collaboration!

Stemcell Technologies