2022 年骄傲月:这是对科学的更多骄傲!

我们最近与 SCWIST 的前女性项目主任 Ronel Alberts 坐下来聊了聊酷儿代表、STEM 中的女性以及小行动如何产生大影响。 为了简洁明了,对这次采访进行了编辑。

在从南非开普敦大学获得计算机科学学士学位后,Ronel 很快发现她拥有综合技术和业务需求的诀窍。 她作为一名商业分析师工作了 XNUMX 年,在她的职业生涯中担任过许多领导职务。 在过去的十年里,她一直在经营自己的咨询公司,并有幸在世界各地从事令人兴奋和具有挑战性的项目。

Ronel 知道赋予女孩和妇女权力,特别是在 STEM 领域,将带来一个更加可行和可持续的未来。

在业余时间,罗内尔和她的妻子可以和他们可爱的狗一起享受寻宝、骑摩托车和徒步旅行。

你为什么选择加入SCWIST?

酷儿社区在 SCWIST 和 STEM 中的代表性不足,我想成为改变这一点的一部分。 加拿大国内的其他人口群体有很多关注点,但酷儿社区仍然严重缺乏服务。 但我认为 SCWIST 是帮助解决这个问题的合适组织。

我一直很感激 SCWIST 的每个人都向我和我的妻子伸出了双臂。 他们也一直接受提出来的问题,例如我指出的微攻击。 这需要很多复杂性。 它显示了很多关于一个组织能够做到这一点的信息。 我一直很欣赏 SCWIST。 但是还有很多工作要做。

酷儿女性在科学界有什么不同? 他们面临哪些其他人可能没有注意到的障碍?

可能很难说我和我妻子,或者我和我的伴侣。如果有办公室功能,带上你的女性伴侣可能会很可怕。 你不知道某人是否会恐同,也不知道你将如何被评判。

而且都是小事。 例如,如果我和妻子出去吃饭,他们总是给我们带来两张支票。 他们会自动假设我们不是情侣。 这些小时刻留下了影响。

至于在男性主导的 STEM 环境中,有一种巨大的“兄弟”文化,尤其是在 IT 领域。 作为一名同性恋女性,与我共事过的许多男人都倾向于把我当作“男人中的一员”。 当发生冲突时,他们会非常突然和含蓄地跟我说话。 他们想去喝杯啤酒,然后说出来。 但这不是什么,作为一个同性恋女性,我一定很乐意这样做。 因此,您可以看到 STEM 公司的文化本身是如何普遍排斥女性的,这使得同性恋女性更难走出自我,并愿意公开谈论它。

人们可以做些什么来成为盟友?

SCWIST 中有很多人是盟友,但他们并没有真正意识到这一点。 例如,如果他们将我介绍给某人,他们会说:“这是 Ronel 和她的妻子 Elsjé。” 通过他们接受我们的关系,这对另一个人来说是正常的。 或者当我们有功能时,人们会说,“我希望 Elsjé 会和你一起来。” 我们完全接受并意识到我们是一对。 我非常感谢 SCWIST 的自动接受。 它很微妙,但非常强大。

40 年后您对 SCWIST 的愿景是什么?

作为一个组织,我对 SCWIST 的期望与我对世界的期望几乎相同。 我希望该组织成为改变世界的一部分。 我想继续成为政府内部改变政策的力量。 我想克服障碍,让女性和女孩在 STEM 中拥有平等的机会。

想进一步聊天吗? 您可以通过以下方式与 Ronel 连接 LinkedIn.

认识我们的其他骄傲月榜样:

Pride Month 2022: Here’s to More Pride in Science!

We recently sat down with Ronel Alberts, SCWIST’s Director of Women’s Programs, for a chat about queer representation, women in STEM and how small actions can have a big impact. This interview has been edited for brevity and clarity.

After graduating from the University of Cape Town in South Africa with a BSc in Computer Science, Ronel quickly discovered she has a knack for synthesizing technology and business requirements. She spent twenty years working as a business analyst, holding numerous leadership positions throughout her career. For the past decade, she has been running her own consulting company and has had the privilege of working around the world on exciting and challenging projects.

Ronel knows that empowering girls and women, especially in STEM fields, will lead to a more viable and sustainable future.

In her spare time, Ronel and her wife can enjoy geocaching, motorcycling and hiking with their adorable dogs.

Why did you choose to join SCWIST?

The queer community is underrepresented in SCWIST and in STEM, and I’d like to be a part of changing that. There’s a lot of focus on other demographic groupings within Canada, but the queer community continues to be severely underserved. But I think SCWIST is the right organization to help deal with that.

I’ve always appreciated the open arms that everybody at SCWIST has extended to my wife and me. They have also always accepted the issues that are brought to the table, such as microaggressions that I’ve pointed out. And that takes a lot of sophistication. It shows a lot about an organization to be able to do that. I’ve always appreciated that about SCWIST. But there is still quite a bit more work to do.

How is it different for queer women to be in science? What barriers do they face that others may not notice?

It can be difficult to say my wife and me, or my partner and I. If there is an office function, it can be frightening to bring your female partner. You don’t know if someone is going to be homophobic or not, or how you’re going to be judged.

And it’s little things. For example, if my wife and I go out for dinner, they always bring us two cheques. They automatically assume that we’re not a couple. These little moments leave an impact.

As for being in STEM, which is a very male-dominated environment, there’s a huge ‘bro’ culture, especially in IT. As a gay woman, many of the men I’ve worked with tend to treat me like ‘one of the guys’. When there’s conflict, they talk to me very abruptly and unsubtly. They want to go for a beer and talk it out. But that is not something, as a gay woman, I am necessarily comfortable doing. So you can see how the very culture of STEM companies excludes women in general and makes it even more difficult for a gay woman to out herself and be comfortable talking about it openly.

What can people do to be allies?

There are a lot of people in SCWIST who are allies without even really realizing it. For example, if they introduce me to somebody, they say, “This is Ronel and her wife Elsjé.” Through their acceptance of our relationship, it’s normalizing it for the other person. Or when we have functions, people say, “I hope Elsjé is going to be coming with you.” There is a complete acceptance and realization that we’re a couple. I really appreciate the automatic acceptance that SCWIST has. It’s subtle but very powerful.

What is your vision for SCWIST in 40 years?

What I want for SCWIST as an organization and what I want for the world are pretty much the same. I want the organization to be part of changing the world. I want to continue to be a force within the government for changing policy. I want to overcome barriers and have it be a given that women and girls have equal opportunities in STEM.

Want to chat further? You can connect with Ronel via LinkedIn.

Meet our other Pride Month role models: