与科学奥德赛 2022 一起庆祝 STEAM

作者 普加穆尔蒂, ms infinity 协调器

每年 XNUMX 月,数百名科学外展领导者为各个年龄段的加拿大人提供有趣、引人入胜和鼓舞人心的活动——包括 SCWIST 的青年参与部门!

原因是 NSERC 的 科学奥德赛,庆祝加拿大在科学、技术、工程、艺术和数学 (STEM) 方面取得的成就的全国性运动。

SCWIST 团队在两个主题下举办了多项活动: 蒸汽研讨会 充满了中学生和低年级学生的激动人心的实验和 根据雷达 讲习班强调学生可能没有考虑过(甚至没有听说过!)的 STEM 职业,适合高中和高年级学生。

从 7 月 22 日至 XNUMX 日,我们的团队为全国各地的学生领导了实验和研讨会——从 Oobleck、LED 卡和熔岩灯到探索声音工程和网络游戏开发的职业生涯。

提供各种研讨会和体验

每个研讨会都是由青年参与团队从头开始创建的,他们知道他们需要为学生提供教育和娱乐。

新的 蒸汽车间 实验将艺术与 STEM 相结合,探索许多不同的主题并创造独特的体验。

在第一周,学生们用 Oobleck、草莓 DNA 和潜望镜进行了实验。 在 Oobleck 研讨会上,学生们探索了非牛顿流体和不同的物质状态。 在草莓 DNA 工作坊中,学生们检查了 DNA 的结构及其作为生命密码的相关功能。 在潜望镜工作坊中,学生们搭建了一个潜望镜,并了解了反射定律及其应用。

在第二周,学生们研究了 LED 卡片、翻卷书和熔岩灯。 LED 卡片帮助学生理解简单的电路,同时制作出精美的卡片。 Roll and Flip Books 讲授了眼睛的解剖结构以及大脑如何处理图像,特别是动画。 最后,熔岩灯教学生液体、酸和碱的密度。

为高中生和高年级学生举办的研讨会

青年参与团队决定他们也想为高中生及以上学生建立工作坊。 特别是,他们专注于那些正在寻找超出 STEM 通常考虑范围的职业的人。 这些努力的结果导致 根据雷达 研讨会!

在第一周, 玛丽亚姆·勒克莱尔 促进了声音心理学研讨会。 Evan Burman 随后主持了免费的音响工程研讨会。 学生们学习了如何处理声音以及如何使用 DAW 软件开始他们的声音工程之旅。

第二周,学生们在 Candy Lin 主持的研讨会上学习了网页游戏开发,同时积极学习如何编写初学者网页游戏。

覆盖全国各地的学生和教师

通过现场和虚拟提供这些研讨会,SCWIST 能够接触到全国各地的学生和教师。 录音是为了适应 COVID 和可访问性而发出的。

令人兴奋的是,我们还能够在不列颠哥伦比亚省提供不少现场研讨会!

我们在研讨会之后收到了很好的反馈!

许多参与者对这些活动表示赞赏,称这些活动内容丰富、具有教育意义且引人入胜,尤其是 蒸汽研讨会。 之后 根据雷达 讲习班,一位参与者表示,他们很欣赏“每个人都可以从活动中学到一些东西,尽管他们的知识水平很高。”

如果没有我们出色的演讲者,这些研讨会是不可能的: 杰基伊皮娜、Ganna Vaschenko、Gouri Deshpande、Evan Burman 和 Candy Lin,以及我们的患者主持人: 娜塔莎·伯迪、Smilla Colombini、布列塔尼 Pequegnat 和玛丽伍德。

在这些了不起的志愿者中,SCWIST 还想强调 Alexis Kuo,我们的一位 青年领袖奖学金 获奖者,她利用她的知识和经验建造了一个令人印象深刻的 phenakistoscope,并在她的学校为 40 名 6 年级学生领导了多个 phenakistoscope 研讨会。

最后,感谢魁北克省协调员 Maryam Leclerc、青年参与总监 JeAnn Watson 和曼尼托巴省分会负责人 Anju Bhajaj,这些研讨会取得了巨大成功。

感谢所有参加今年科学奥德赛的老师和学生。

在 19 月 25 日至 XNUMX 日期间,请关注我们的青年参与团队的更多信息——他们将为 NSERC 科学素养周提供更多研讨会!

Celebrating STEAM with Science Odyssey 2022

Written by Pooja Moorti, ms infinity Coordinator

Every year in May, hundreds of science outreach leaders deliver fun, engaging and inspiring activities to Canadians of all ages — including SCWIST’s Youth Engagement department!

The cause is NSERC’s Science Odyssey, a national campaign that celebrates Canadian achievements in science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics (STEM).

The SCWIST team had multiple events running under two themes: STEAM Workshops full of exciting experiments for middle school and younger students and Under the Radar workshops that highlighted STEM careers that students may not have considered (or even heard of!) for high school and older students.

From May 7-22nd, our team led experiments and workshops for students across the country – from Oobleck, LED Cards, and Lava Lamps to exploring the careers of Sound Engineering and Web Game Development.

Offering a variety of workshops and experiences

Each of the workshops was created from scratch by the Youth Engagement team, who knew they needed to be both educational and entertaining for the students.

The STEAM Workshop experiments combined arts with STEM to explore many different topics and create unique experiences.

In the first week, the students experimented with Oobleck, Strawberry DNA and Periscopes. In the Oobleck workshop, students explored non-Newtonian fluids and the different states of matter. In the Strawberry DNA workshop, students inspected the structures of DNA and its related function as the code of life. In the Periscope workshop, the students built a periscope and learned about the law of reflection and its applications.

During week two, the students looked at LED Cards, Roll and Flip Books and Lava Lamps. The LED Cards helped students understand simple circuits while creating a beautiful card. The Roll and Flip Books taught about the anatomy of the eye and how the brain processes images and specifically animation. Finally, the Lava Lamps taught students about the densities of liquids, acids and bases.

Workshops for high school and older students

The Youth Engagement team decided that they would also like to build workshops for high school students and older. In particular, they focused on those who are looking into careers that go beyond the scope of what is usually considered in STEM. The culmination of those efforts led to the Under the Radar workshops!

In the first week, Maryam Leclerc facilitated the Psychology of Sound workshop. Evan Burman then led the complimentary Sound Engineering workshop. Students learnt how sounds are processed and how to use DAW software to start their sound engineering journey.

In the second week, students learned about Web Game Development in a workshop facilitated by Candy Lin, while actively learning how to code a beginner’s web game.

Reaching students and teachers all across the country

By offering these workshops live and virtually, SCWIST was able to reach students and teachers all across the country. Recordings were sent out after to accommodate for COVID and accessibility.

Excitingly, we also were able to offer quite a few in-person workshops in British Columbia!

We received great feedback following the workshops!

Many participants offered praise about the events, saying that they were very informative, educational, and engaging, particularly the STEAM Workshops. After the Under the Radar workshops, one participant said that they appreciated that, “everyone could learn something from the events despite their knowledge level.”

These workshops would not have been possible without our wonderful presenters: Jackie Ipina, Ganna Vaschenko, Gouri Deshpande, Evan Burman, and Candy Lin, as well as our patient moderators: Natasha Birdi, Smilla Colombini, Brittany Pequegnat, and Marie Wood.

Among these amazing volunteers, SCWIST would also like to highlight Alexis Kuo, one of our Youth Leadership Scholarship awardees, who used her knowledge and experience in building a very impressive phenakistoscope and lead multiple phenakistoscope workshops for 40 Grade 6 students at her school.

Finally, these workshops were a great success thanks to Maryam Leclerc, ms infinity Quebec Coordinator, JeAnn Watson, Director of Youth Engagement and Anju Bhajaj, Manitoba Chapter Lead.

Thank you to all of the teachers and students for attending this year’s Science Odyssey.

Look out for more from our Youth Engagement team from September 19-25 – they will be offering more workshops for NSERC Science Literacy Week!