认识 SCWIST 的董事会!

SCWIST 很高兴宣布其新的董事会! 他们将继续本组织的使命,创造一个环境,让加拿大的女性和女孩可以毫无障碍地在 STEM 中追求她们的兴趣、教育、热情和职业。 SCWIST 的价值观——赋权、包容、激励、联系和维持——将指导新的董事会为未来进行创新,让每个人,不分性别,共同努力建设更美好的加拿大。

“我们很高兴能作为一个高度多元化的团队共同努力,为 SCWIST 的发展期而努力,我们的志愿者、成员、合作伙伴和捐助者比以往任何时候都更加投入和参与。 我们刚刚结束了 40 年的庆祝活动,我们期待着下一个 40 年的弹性、坚韧和影响,”SCWIST 总裁 Poh Tan 博士说。

您是否知道 SCWIST 主要由志愿者经营,包括董事会? 这意味着董事会成员选择将他们的时间、专业知识和心血用于将性别平等带入 STEM,并且他们对 SCWIST 将在未来 40 年及以后产生的影响充满热情。

Lily Takeuchi、Saina Beitari、Aska Patel 和 Poh Tan 将在第二年回归。 Jasmine Parmar、Melanie Ratnam、JeAnn Watson、Gigi Lau 和 Phyllis MacIntyre 已加入团队。

Lily 是多伦多大学的一名新兴学者和博士生,她正在那里开发药物筛选平台和器官芯片设备。 在过去的三年里,她一直是 SCWIST 的志愿者,并以副总裁和业务发展总监的身份重返董事会。

Saina 是加拿大国家研究员委员会的研究员,支持 COVID-19 和其他病毒感染的研发工作。 她拥有微生物学博士学位,热衷于 HIV/AIDS 研究。 她是政策改革的倡导者,以更好地将科学纳入政策制定。 Saina 加入 SCWIST 董事会担任财务总监。

Aska 是一名药剂师、企业家、患者倡导者和医疗保健领域的变革推动者。 她拥有药学博士学位,在社区、医院、政府和家庭护理机构工作。 她热衷于倡导和打破障碍,以创造公平的医疗保健机会。 Aska 以社区建设和会员主管的身份重返董事会。

Poh 是一位企业家、干细胞科学家、教育家、两次 TEDx 演讲者和两个男孩的母亲。 Poh 拥有干细胞生物学博士学位,目前正在完成第二个博士学位,重点是科学教育。 她是 STEMedge Academy 的创始人兼首席执行官,在那里她创建了支持高中生发展 STEM 研究能力的项目。 她以 SCWIST 总裁的身份重返董事会。

SCWIST 很高兴欢迎我们最新的董事会成员:JeAnn Watson、Jasmine Parmar、Melanie Ratnam、Gigi Lau 和 Phyllis MacIntyre。

珍安·沃森

JeAnn 拥有生物化学背景,专门研究药物代谢中的天然和合成化合物。 在获得 PMP 认证后,JeAnn 选择离开替补席,现在是 Genome BC 的项目管理协调员。 她还是科学进步协会的副主席,专注于为代表性不足的人群提供 STEM 机会。 她是 SCWIST 的青年参与主任。

茉莉花帕尔玛

Jasmine Parmar 拥有生物医学生理学和运动机能学背景。 她在销售和运营方面建立了自己的职业生涯。 Jasmine 此前曾自愿加入 SCWIST 的业务发展委员会。 她热衷于提高想要从事 STEM 职业的有色人种女性的形象。 Jasmine 以营销和传播总监的身份加入董事会。

梅兰妮拉特南

Melanie Ratnam 是一名神经科学家,拥有多伦多大学的博士学位,专注于中风后调节炎症的细胞过程。 她是追求 STEM 的青年的企业家、倡导者和热情支持者。 Melanie 加入 SCWIST 董事会,担任政策和宣传总监,专注于改善 EDI 和女性在 STEM 中的代表性。

菲利斯·麦金太尔

Phyllis 是 Farleigh Dickinson 大学的助理教授和加拿大西部大学的讲师。 她在项目开发、人力资源管理、高管培训、战略规划和组织发展方面拥有丰富的知识和经验。 随着 SCWIST 在社区中的影响力不断扩大,Phyllis 的经历将有助于提升组织内的领导力。 她加入董事会,担任妇女项目的秘书和临时主任。

刘嘉琪

Gigi 是不列颠哥伦比亚大学的生物学项目经理。 她拥有线粒体生物学博士学位,并在奥斯陆大学担任博士后研究员。 Gigi 还热衷于在 STEM 中促进和改善女性和女孩的平等。 她作为捐助者关系负责人加入 SCWIST,并继续担任 SCWIST 最新的战略伙伴关系和筹款主任。

“作为新的董事会,我们对我们的新角色感到兴奋,准备作为一个团队共同努力创造影响,并致力于 SCWIST 的使命和愿景,即创造更公平的 STEM 空间。”

Meet SCWIST’s Board of Directors!

SCWIST is happy to announce its new board of directors! They will continue the organization’s mission to create an environment where women and girls in Canada can pursue their interest, education, passion and careers in STEM without barriers. SCWIST’s values – to empower, include, inspire, connect and sustain – will guide the new board of directors to innovate for a future where everyone, regardless of gender, works together to build a better Canada.

“We are excited to work together as a highly diverse team towards a period of growth for SCWIST, where our volunteers, members, partners and donors are more engaged and involved than ever. We just closed our 40-year celebration, and we look forward to the next 40 years of resiliency, tenacity and impact,” said SCWIST’s president, Dr. Poh Tan.

Did you know that SCWIST is primarily volunteer-run, including the board of directors? That means the board members choose to dedicate their time, expertise and hearts to bringing gender equity to STEM and they are passionate about the impacts that SCWIST will make in the next 40 years and beyond.

Lily Takeuchi, Saina Beitari, Aska Patel and Poh Tan are back for the second year of their terms. Jasmine Parmar, Melanie Ratnam, JeAnn Watson, Gigi Lau and Phyllis MacIntyre have joined the team.

Lily is an emerging scholar and PhD student at the University of Toronto, where she is developing drug screening platforms and organ-on-a-chip devices. She has been a SCWIST volunteer for the last three years and returns to the board in the roles of vice president and director of business development.

Saina is a researcher at the National Researcher Council of Canada and supports COVID-19 and other viral infection R&D efforts. With a PhD in microbiology, her passion lies in HIV/AIDS research. She is an advocate for policy reform for the better inclusion of science in policy-making. Saina joins the SCWIST board as the director of finance.

Aska is a pharmacist, entrepreneur, patient advocate and change agent in healthcare. With a Doctor of Pharmacy degree, she works with communities, hospitals, government and home care settings. Her passion is in advocacy and breaking barriers to create equitable access to healthcare. Aska returns to the board as the director of community building and membership.

Poh is an entrepreneur, stem cell scientist, educator, two-time TEDx speaker and mother of two boys. With a PhD in stem cell biology under her belt, Poh is currently completing a second PhD with a focus on science education. She is the founder and CEO of STEMedge Academy where she creates programs to support high school students develop research capacity in STEM. She returns to the board of directors as SCWIST’s president.

SCWIST is excited to welcome our newest board members: JeAnn Watson, Jasmine Parmar, Melanie Ratnam, Gigi Lau and Phyllis MacIntyre.

JeAnn Watson

JeAnn has a background is in biochemistry, where she specialized in natural and synthetic compounds in drug metabolism. After receiving her PMP certification, JeAnn chose to transition away from the bench and is now a project management coordinator at Genome BC. She is also the vice chair of the Society for Scientific Advancement where she is focused on providing STEM opportunities to underrepresented populations. She is SCWIST’s director of youth engagement.

Jasmine Parmar

Jasmine Parmar has a background in biomedical physiology and kinesiology. She has built a career in sales and operations. Jasmine has previously volunteered with SCWIST’s Business Development committee. She has a passion for raising the profile of women of colour who want to pursue a career in STEM. Jasmine joins the board as the director of marketing and communications.

Melanie Ratnam

Melanie Ratnam is a neuroscientist with a PhD from the University of Toronto focused on the cellular processes that regulate inflammation after strokes. She is an entrepreneur, advocate and passionate supporter of youth pursuing STEM. Melanie joins the SCWIST board as the director of policy and advocacy to focus on improving EDI and the representation of women in STEM.

Phyllis MacIntyre

Phyllis is an assistant professor at Farleigh Dickinson University and an instructor at University Canada West. She brings a depth of knowledge and experience in program development, human resources management, executive coaching, strategic planning and organizational development. As SCWIST grows its impact in the community, Phyllis’s experiences will help advance leadership within the organization. She joins the board as the secretary and interim director of women’s programs.

Gigi Lau

Gigi is a biology program manager at the University of British Columbia. She holds a PhD in mitochondrial biology and experience as a post-doctoral fellow from the University of Oslo. Gigi is also passionate about advancing and improving equity for women and girls in STEM. She joined SCWIST as donor relations lead and continues to commit her time as SCWIST’s newest director of strategic partnerships and fundraising.

“As the new Board of Directors, we are excited for our new roles, ready to work together as a team to create impact and committed to SCWIST’s mission and vision towards creating more equitable STEM spaces.”