واحد للبحث عن: مساهمات كاثرين بيرنز المبتكرة في النهوض بهندسة تصميم النظم

بقلم كاساندرا بورد ، ماجستير علم النفس العصبي المعرفي ، جامعة كنت

الدكتورة كاثرين بيرنز هي أستاذة هندسة تصميم النظم والمديرة التنفيذية لمركز الهندسة الحيوية والتكنولوجيا الحيوية في جامعة واترلو.

تقوم بأبحاث رائعة كمحقق رئيسي ، والتي لها تطبيقات في العديد من القطاعات المتنوعة ، بما في ذلك الرعاية الصحية ، والجيش ، وإدارة محطات الطاقة ، وتكرير النفط والغاز.

من الواضح أن الدكتورة كاثرين بيرنز تركت بصمتها في مجال الهندسة وتقدم حاليًا مساهمات استثنائية للمجتمع نتيجة لذلك. مع أكثر من 100 منشور بحثي وتأليف مشترك لكتاب يتعلق بتصميم الواجهة البيئية ، فلا شك أن مساهماتها ستساعد في تطوير هندسة تصميم الأنظمة بطرق لم يسبق لها مثيل من قبل.

هنا ، أجريت مقابلة مع الدكتورة كاثرين بيرنز حول ما قادها إلى هذا المجال المثير للاهتمام ، والتحديات التي واجهتها كامرأة تعمل في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، وطموحاتها المستقبلية. على أمل أن تدرك العديد من الفتيات والنساء المهتمات بدخول مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات المختلفة أن أحلامهن ممكنة وأن العقبات التي يواجهنها على طول الطريق يمكن التغلب عليها بلا شك.

لقد درست تصميم النظم / الهندسة الصناعية في سنوات دراستك الجامعية في جامعة واترلو. كيف أصبحت مهتمًا بتصميم الأنظمة / الهندسة الصناعية لأول مرة؟

أصبحت مهتمًا بهندسة تصميم النظم في المدرسة الثانوية. كنت أعلم أنني أردت التحدي والصرامة في تعليم الهندسة ، لكنني وجدت أن تخصصات الهندسة التقليدية محدودة للغاية. كان لدي مجموعة واسعة من الاهتمامات الأخرى مثل علم النفس والصحة. قدمت هندسة تصميم النظم تلك الفرصة للحصول على تعليم متعدد التخصصات علمني منهجًا لحل المشكلات الهندسية ، لكنه ترك المجال مفتوحًا لي للتقدم إلى المشكلات التي أردت حلها.

كيف يبدو يومك العادي كأستاذ وكمدير لمركز الهندسة الحيوية والتكنولوجيا الحيوية؟

لا يوجد يوم عادي! كل يوم مختلف بالنسبة لي. أحيانًا أركز على الطلاب ، من خلال الفصول الدراسية (أقوم بتدريس الهندسة الطبية الحيوية في السنة الأولى) أو العمل مع طلاب الدراسات العليا أثناء استكشافهم لأبحاثهم. في بعض الأيام أقوم باستضافة الشركات التي ترغب في مقابلة أعضاء هيئة التدريس والتعرف على برامجهم البحثية ، أو كيفية بناء حالة عمل لمشروع بحثي. أحيانًا أكون في المستشفيات ، وأتحدث إلى الناس هناك حول احتياجاتهم وما يمكن أن يفعله باحثونا وطلابنا.

ما هي بعض التحديات التي واجهتها في السعي وراء وظيفة في مجال العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM)؟

العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) أوسع مما يعتقده الناس ويمكن أن تتضمن بالفعل الكثير من الأساليب المختلفة. أعتقد أنه في بعض الأحيان يكون لدى الناس نظرة ضيقة جدًا عن العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ولا يدركون مدى تعدد التخصصات. هناك أيضًا تحديات لكونك امرأة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات - هناك عدد قليل جدًا من النماذج التي يحتذى بها في مستويات القيادة العليا وهذا يؤثر على ما يتوقعه الناس من قادتهم ومسار حياتك المهنية. هذا الوضع يتغير ، ولكن ببطء. في سياق العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) ، لا تزال المرأة بارزة ، وهذا يمثل تحديًا وفرصة في نفس الوقت. هناك توقع بأن تقوم بدور قيادي أو إرشادي.

ما هي بعض المشاريع التي تعمل عليها حاليا؟

في المركز ، نعمل على إحداث ثورة حقيقية في تعليم الخريجين في الهندسة الطبية الحيوية للتركيز على العمل عن كثب مع الأطباء والمستخدمين. نعتقد أن الحلول الهندسية يجب أن تتطور من احتياجات هؤلاء المستخدمين ، وليس التطوير من التكنولوجيا في البحث عن حل.

في بحثي ، نعمل على أن يتفاعل الأشخاص مع التقنيات الجديدة مثل الذكاء الاصطناعي والروبوتات والمركبات ذاتية القيادة. كيف نصمم هذه التقنيات بحيث تكون شركاء للناس؟ نريد أن تزيد هذه التقنيات ما يفعله الناس ، لا أن تحل محلهم. جزء من القيام بذلك ينطوي على تطوير تقنيات تنقل نواياها إلى الناس وتكشف عن قدراتهم بأمانة وأخلاقية.

ماذا بعد؟ أي أهداف أخرى ترغب في متابعتها؟

إن التأثير المحتمل للتكنولوجيا في الرعاية الصحية هو اهتمام كبير بالنسبة لي. مع تقدم المجتمعات في السن وتقلص الميزانيات الحكومية ، يجب أن تكون الرعاية الصحية ميسورة التكلفة ولكن لا تزال فعالة أيضًا. التقنيات من أجهزة المراقبة المنزلية ، أو التشخيصات المحمولة ، أو الأساليب القائمة على البيانات لاكتشاف الأدوية أو تخصيص العلاج العلاجي لها إمكانات هائلة. هذه كلها عوامل تغير قواعد اللعبة للرعاية الصحية.

هل لديك أي نصيحة للفتيات والنساء اللواتي يعملن من أجل متابعة وظائف أحلامهن في الهندسة ، أو مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات بشكل عام؟

يمكن أن تكون وظائف العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ممتعة ومجزية. يمكن أن تضعك وظائف STEM حقًا في وضع يسمح لك بإحداث اختلافات في حياة الناس وتجاربهم وهذا هو أفضل جزء في العمل في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

One To Look Out For: Catherine Burns’ Innovative Contributions to the Advancement of Systems Design Engineering

by Kassandra Burd, M.Sc. Cognitive Neuropsychology, University of Kent

Dr. Catherine Burns is a professor of Systems Design Engineering and Executive Director of the Centre for Bioengineering and Biotechnology at the University of Waterloo.

She does remarkable research as a principal investigator, which has applications in many diverse sectors, including healthcare, the military, power plant management, and oil and gas refining.

Dr. Catherine Burns has evidently made her mark in the field of Engineering and is currently making exceptional contributions to society as a result. With over 100 research publications and co-authorship on a book regarding Ecological Interface Design, it is no doubt that her contributions will help advance Systems Design Engineering in ways that have never been done before.

Here, I interview Dr. Catherine Burns about what has led her to this intriguing field, challenges she’s encountered as a woman working in STEM, and her future ambitions. It is in the hopes that many girls and women who are interested in entering various STEM fields will realize that their dreams are possible and that the obstacles they face along the way can undoubtedly be overcome.

You studied Systems Design/Industrial Engineering in your undergraduate years at the University of Waterloo. How did you first become interested in Systems Design/Industrial Engineering?

I became interested in Systems Design Engineering in high school. I knew I wanted the challenge and rigor of an engineering education, but I found the traditional engineering disciplines too limiting. I had a broad range of other interests like psychology and health. Systems Design Engineering presented that opportunity to have an interdisciplinary education that taught me an engineering problem-solving approach but left it open for me to apply to the problems I wanted to solve.

What does your average day look like as a professor and as a director of the Centre for Bioengineering and Biotechnology?

There is no average day! Every day is different for me. Sometimes I am focused on students, through teaching classes (I teach first-year Biomedical Engineering) or working with my graduate students as they explore their research. Some days I am hosting companies who want to meet with faculty and learn about their research programs, or how to build a business case for a research project. Sometimes I am at the hospitals, talking to people there about their needs, and what our researchers and students can do.

What are some of the challenges you’ve faced in pursuit of a career in your STEM field?

STEM is broader than people think and can really include a lot of different approaches. I think sometimes people have a very narrow view of STEM and don’t realize how interdisciplinary it really is. There are also challenges being a woman in STEM — there are very few role models at higher leadership levels and this influences what people expect of their leaders and your career path. This situation is changing, but slowly. In the context of STEM, women still stand out, which is both a challenge and an opportunity. There is an expectation that you will take a leadership or mentorship role.

What are some of the projects you’re currently working on?

At the Centre, we are working on really revolutionizing graduate education in biomedical engineering to focus on working very closely with clinicians and users. We believe that engineering solutions should develop from the needs of these users, and not develop from technology in search of a solution.

In my research we are working on people will interact with new technologies like artificial intelligence, robotics, and autonomous vehicles. How do we design these technologies so they are partners for people? We want these technologies to augment what people do, not replace people. Part of doing that involves developing technologies that communicate their intent to people and disclose their capabilities honestly and ethically.

What’s next for you? Any further goals you’d like to pursue?

The potential impact of technology in healthcare is a big interest for me. With societies getting older and government budgets shrinking, healthcare needs to be more affordable but also still effective. Technologies from home monitoring devices, more portable diagnostics, or data-driven approaches to drug discovery or therapeutic treatment personalization have tremendous potential. These are all game changers for healthcare.

Do you have any advice for girls and women who are working towards pursuing their dream careers in engineering, or STEM fields in general?

STEM careers can be fun and rewarding. STEM careers can really put you in a position to make differences in people’s lives and experiences and this is the best part about working in STEM.