一个值得期待的人:凯瑟琳·伯恩斯(Catherine Burns)对系统设计工程进步的创新贡献

卡桑德拉·伯德(Kassandra Burd) 理学硕士 肯特大学认知神经心理学

Catherine Burns博士是滑铁卢大学系统设计工程教授兼生物工程与生物技术中心执行主任。

作为首席研究员,她进行了出色的研究,在医疗保健,军事,电厂管理以及石油和天然气精炼等许多不同领域都有应用。

凯瑟琳·伯恩斯(Catherine Burns)博士显然在工程学领域举足轻重,因此正为社会做出杰出贡献。 毫无疑问,她的著作将以前所未有的方式推动系统设计工程的发展,并拥有100多个研究出版物并合着了《生态界面设计》一书。

在这里,我采访了凯瑟琳·伯恩斯(Catherine Burns)博士,探讨了导致她进入这个有趣领域的原因,她在STEM工作时遇到的挑战以及她的未来野心。 希望许多对进入STEM各个领域感兴趣的女孩和妇女将意识到自己的梦想是可能的,并且毫无疑问可以克服她们在前进过程中面临的障碍。

您在滑铁卢大学攻读本科时就学习了系统设计/工业工程。 您最初是如何对系统设计/工业工程感兴趣的?

我对高中的系统设计工程感兴趣。 我知道我想要工程学教育的挑战和严谨性,但是我发现传统工程学学科太局限了。 我还有很多其他兴趣,例如心理学和健康。 系统设计工程学院为我提供了进行跨学科教育的机会,该学科教给我一种解决工程问题的方法,但让我可以自由地将其应用于要解决的问题。

作为生物工程与生物技术中心的教授和主任,您平均每天的工作情况如何?

没有平均一天! 每天对我来说都不一样。 有时,我会通过教学课程(我教第一年的生物医学工程)或与我的研究生一起研究他们的研究来专注于学生。 有时候,我接待的公司希望与教职工见面并了解他们的研究计划,或者如何为研究项目建立业务案例。 有时我在医院里,与那里的人们谈论他们的需求以及我们的研究人员和学生可以做什么。

您在STEM领域追求职业时会面临哪些挑战?

STEM的范围比人们想象的要广,并且确实可以包含许多不同的方法。 我认为有时候人们对STEM的看法非常狭窄,却没有意识到它的跨学科性。 在STEM中当一名女性也面临着挑战—高层领导层的榜样很少,这会影响人们对领导者的期望以及您的职业道路。 这种情况正在改变,但进展缓慢。 在STEM的背景下,女性仍然脱颖而出,这既是挑战,也是机遇。 期望您将担任领导或指导角色。

您目前正在从事哪些项目?

在该中心,我们正在努力彻底改变生物医学工程专业的研究生教育,以专注于与临床医生和用户紧密合作。 我们认为,工程解决方案应从这些用户的需求中发展而来,而不应从寻找解决方案的技术中发展。

在我的研究中,我们正在研究人们将如何与人工智能,机器人技术和自动驾驶汽车等新技术进行交互。 我们如何设计这些技术,使它们成为人们的合作伙伴? 我们希望这些技术能增加人们的工作能力,而不是代替人们。 其中一部分工作涉及开发与人们交流其意图并诚实和道德地披露其能力的技术。

接下来要做什么? 您还想追求其他目标吗?

技术对医疗保健的潜在影响是我的一大兴趣。 随着社会的老龄化和政府预算的缩减,医疗保健需要更加负担得起,而且仍然有效。 来自家庭监控设备,更便携式的诊断方法或数据驱动的方法来进行药物发现或个性化治疗的技术具有巨大的潜力。 这些都是改变医疗保健的游戏规则。

对于在工程学或一般STEM领域追求梦想的职业的女孩和妇女,您有什么建议吗?

STEM职业可能很有趣,也很有收获。 STEM事业真的可以让您改变人们的生活和经历,这是STEM工作中最好的部分。

One To Look Out For: Catherine Burns’ Innovative Contributions to the Advancement of Systems Design Engineering

by Kassandra Burd, M.Sc. Cognitive Neuropsychology, University of Kent

Dr. Catherine Burns is a professor of Systems Design Engineering and Executive Director of the Centre for Bioengineering and Biotechnology at the University of Waterloo.

She does remarkable research as a principal investigator, which has applications in many diverse sectors, including healthcare, the military, power plant management, and oil and gas refining.

Dr. Catherine Burns has evidently made her mark in the field of Engineering and is currently making exceptional contributions to society as a result. With over 100 research publications and co-authorship on a book regarding Ecological Interface Design, it is no doubt that her contributions will help advance Systems Design Engineering in ways that have never been done before.

Here, I interview Dr. Catherine Burns about what has led her to this intriguing field, challenges she’s encountered as a woman working in STEM, and her future ambitions. It is in the hopes that many girls and women who are interested in entering various STEM fields will realize that their dreams are possible and that the obstacles they face along the way can undoubtedly be overcome.

You studied Systems Design/Industrial Engineering in your undergraduate years at the University of Waterloo. How did you first become interested in Systems Design/Industrial Engineering?

I became interested in Systems Design Engineering in high school. I knew I wanted the challenge and rigor of an engineering education, but I found the traditional engineering disciplines too limiting. I had a broad range of other interests like psychology and health. Systems Design Engineering presented that opportunity to have an interdisciplinary education that taught me an engineering problem-solving approach but left it open for me to apply to the problems I wanted to solve.

What does your average day look like as a professor and as a director of the Centre for Bioengineering and Biotechnology?

There is no average day! Every day is different for me. Sometimes I am focused on students, through teaching classes (I teach first-year Biomedical Engineering) or working with my graduate students as they explore their research. Some days I am hosting companies who want to meet with faculty and learn about their research programs, or how to build a business case for a research project. Sometimes I am at the hospitals, talking to people there about their needs, and what our researchers and students can do.

What are some of the challenges you’ve faced in pursuit of a career in your STEM field?

STEM is broader than people think and can really include a lot of different approaches. I think sometimes people have a very narrow view of STEM and don’t realize how interdisciplinary it really is. There are also challenges being a woman in STEM — there are very few role models at higher leadership levels and this influences what people expect of their leaders and your career path. This situation is changing, but slowly. In the context of STEM, women still stand out, which is both a challenge and an opportunity. There is an expectation that you will take a leadership or mentorship role.

What are some of the projects you’re currently working on?

At the Centre, we are working on really revolutionizing graduate education in biomedical engineering to focus on working very closely with clinicians and users. We believe that engineering solutions should develop from the needs of these users, and not develop from technology in search of a solution.

In my research we are working on people will interact with new technologies like artificial intelligence, robotics, and autonomous vehicles. How do we design these technologies so they are partners for people? We want these technologies to augment what people do, not replace people. Part of doing that involves developing technologies that communicate their intent to people and disclose their capabilities honestly and ethically.

What’s next for you? Any further goals you’d like to pursue?

The potential impact of technology in healthcare is a big interest for me. With societies getting older and government budgets shrinking, healthcare needs to be more affordable but also still effective. Technologies from home monitoring devices, more portable diagnostics, or data-driven approaches to drug discovery or therapeutic treatment personalization have tremendous potential. These are all game changers for healthcare.

Do you have any advice for girls and women who are working towards pursuing their dream careers in engineering, or STEM fields in general?

STEM careers can be fun and rewarding. STEM careers can really put you in a position to make differences in people’s lives and experiences and this is the best part about working in STEM.