أين كل الفائزات بجوائز نوبل؟

by كاساندرا بورد ، ماجستير علم النفس العصبي المعرفي ، جامعة كنت

كاساندرا بورد

في عام 2018 ، حصلت دونا ستريكلاند على جائزة نوبل لمساهمتها البارزة في مجال الفيزياء بما في ذلك اكتشاف "ملاقط بصرية". تعتبر هذه الملاقط الضوئية عبارة عن نبضات شعاع ضوئي عالية الكثافة شديدة القصر والتي تقوم بإجراء تخفيضات دقيقة يتم تطبيقها على الآلات الدقيقة بالليزر والجراحة بالليزر ، من بين تطبيقات أخرى (بيلينجز ، 2018).

عند قراءة هذه الأخبار المثيرة للإعجاب العام الماضي ، أتذكر الشعور بالبهجة من حقيقة أن امرأة في STEM قد حصلت أخيرًا على هذه الجائزة الشهيرة ، بينما شعرت في نفس الوقت بالفزع من دهشتي في المقام الأول.

لماذا كانت مشاهدة امرأة تفوز بجائزة نوبل بهذه الندرة؟ لماذا تميز جنسها بالنسبة لي أكثر من مساهمتها الفعلية في العلم؟

اعتبارًا من العام الماضي ، فازت 51 امرأة فقط بجائزة نوبل مقابل 853 رجلاً (المحيد، 2019). لجنة نوبل ليست جاهلة بهذه الإحصائية المحبطة. اعترف غوران هانسون ، نائب رئيس مجلس إدارة مؤسسة نوبل ، بأنهم أصيبوا بخيبة أمل بسبب قلة عدد النساء اللواتي حصلن على الجائزة المرموقة ، وأنه يشك في أن هناك المزيد من النساء اللواتي يستحقن أن يكونن تحت الاعتبار (سيكو ، 2018).

اكتسبت إنجازات النساء على مر السنين اعترافًا بطيئًا مقارنة بإنجازات الرجال ، والتي اكتسبت اعترافًا فوريًا تقريبًا بعد تأسيس اكتشافاتهم ؛ ومع ذلك ، فإن العديد من هذه النتائج كانت مثيرة للجدل (هيدين ، 2014). على سبيل المثال ، فاز ستانلي بروزنر بالجائزة لتفسيره سبب مرض جنون البقر ، بينما فاز أنطونيو إيغاس مونيز بتطويره لطريقة استئصال الفص في الجراحة النفسية ، وكلاهما كان مآثر مثيرة للجدل قوبلت بالتشكيك. (هيدين ، 2014).

قد يجادل الكثيرون بأن عدم وجود فائزين بجائزة نوبل يرجع إلى الغالبية العظمى من الذكور في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، ومع ذلك ، هذا مجرد تفسير جزئي ، ولا ينبغي اعتباره دفاعًا مبررًا. نسبة النساء في أبحاث الطب في السويد على سبيل المثال تقارب 50٪ (هيدين ، 2014). علاوة على ذلك ، يحمل الاتحاد الأوروبي اليوم عددًا أكبر من النساء الحاصلات على شهادات جامعية أكثر من الرجال ، وكان هذا هو الحال أيضًا في العديد من البلدان النامية في التسعينيات. (هيدين ، 2014). على الرغم من هذا الواقع ، لا يزال الرجال يشغلون مناصب أكثر في السلطة ، وهو أمر أساسي في عدم التقدم الوظيفي للنساء العاملات في مهن العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

هناك تفسير آخر يتعلق بالقيود المالية والانتهازية للنساء اللائي يقمن بإجراء أبحاث في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. للحصول على جائزة نوبل ، يجب اعتبار الإنجازات "مهمة" و "رائدة" ، والتي تتطلب في البداية التمويل والفرصة ؛ لسوء الحظ ، غالبًا ما يتم تجاهل النساء عندما يتعلق الأمر بهذه الفرص (هيدين ، 2014).

يعتبر تمويل البحث مسعى تنافسي للغاية ، حيث تتعرض المرأة بشكل متكرر للحرمان. نظرًا لأن الرجال غالبًا ما يتم منحهم تمويلًا في مجالات البحث التقليدية في كثير من الأحيان ، فإن العديد من النساء يختارن التخصص في مجالات محددة من تخصصهن تكون أقل قدرة على المنافسة على أمل الحصول على تمويل لأبحاثهن ، وكذلك مواصلة العمل في المجال الذي اخترتهن. (هيدين ، 2014). غالبًا ما تُقابل النساء في هذه المجالات اللواتي يصلن إلى اختراقات غير عادية بمواقف غير مبالية لأن نتائجهن لا يُنظر إليها على أنها "سائدة". ونتيجة لذلك ، فإن الأبحاث التي أجرتها النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات عالية التخصص لا تعتبر جديرة بما يكفي للاعتراف المتميز.

غالبًا ما يتم تقديم الترشيحات لمرشحي جائزة نوبل من قبل اللجنة وكذلك المؤسسات الجامعية ، ومع ذلك ، يُسمح للأكاديميات العلمية أيضًا بتقديم ترشيحاتها كل عام (هيدين ، 2014). غالبية الأفراد في هذه المناصب القيادية هم من الذكور ، ولذا فهم يميلون عادةً إلى ترشيح ذكور آخرين بسبب تشابههم وقابليتهم للتوافق. علاوة على ذلك ، غالبًا ما يتم تقديم ترشيحات جائزة نوبل من خلال العلاقات الشخصية ، مما يحافظ على الوضع الراهن ويحافظ على البنية الاجتماعية المشوهة التي تحرم المرأة من مكانها الصحيح في نظر الجمهور. (هيدين ، 2014).

في الظروف التي يعمل فيها الرجال والنساء معًا في مشروع ما ، يكافأ الرجال عادةً على عملهم ، بينما يتم تجاهل مساهمات النساء وتجاهلها. على سبيل المثال ، نشرت ليز مايتنر مقالًا عن الانشطار النووي ، ولكن تم منح الفضل لمشرفها الذكر عندما فاز لاحقًا بالجائزة بنفسه. علاوة على ذلك ، تم تجاهل جوسلين بيل ، التي اكتشفت النجوم النابضة الراديوية ، تمامًا عندما فاز أستاذها بجائزة نوبل في الفيزياء عن إنجازها الرائع. (بول ، 2018). شين شيونغ وو عالمة أخرى لعبت دورًا رئيسيًا في فضح "قانون الحفاظ على التكافؤ" في الفيزياء ، لكنها لم تتم الإشادة بعملها ؛ بدلاً من ذلك ، فاز المتعاونون معها بجائزة نوبل لمشاركتهم في اكتشاف هذا الاكتشاف (بول ، 2018). لسوء الحظ ، هذه مجرد أمثلة قليلة ، حيث يوجد العديد من النساء اللائي تعرضن وما زلن يتم تجاهل جهودهن.

لا يمكن إنكار أن لجنة جائزة نوبل والمؤسسات التابعة لها مبنية بطريقة تعزز الممارسات غير العادلة وغير العادلة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالمساهمات التي تقدمها النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. من الضروري أن نسعى جاهدين من أجل مجتمع يتم فيه الاعتراف بإنجازات المرأة والاعتراف بها. لا يوجد أي عذر لهذا التقصير المخزي في تمثيل النساء ، اللائي يحصلن على القليل من الأضواء أو منعدما عندما يتعلق الأمر بعملهن الدؤوب أمام أو خلف الكواليس. آمل بصدق أن نتمكن في المستقبل من العيش في مجتمع لا تعتبر فيه نجاحات المرأة وإنجازاتها نادرة وغير متوقعة.

علاوة على ذلك ، آمل أنه عندما يتم تكريم المزيد من النساء لانتصاراتهن ، سنتمكن من التركيز أكثر على المعلومات ذات الصلة باكتشافاتها غير العادية بدلاً من مجرد جنسها. مع زيادة الاعتراف بإنجازات المرأة ، فإن التقدم البطيء أفضل من عدم التقدم ؛ ومع ذلك ، إذا أردنا تسريع التقدم في العلوم والرياضيات وغيرهما ، فقد حان الوقت للبدء في تسريع الأمور وتنفيذ الإجراءات المطلوبة لتسليط الضوء على إنجازات المرأة.

قائمة المراجع

بيلينجز ، إل (2018 ، 02 أكتوبر). "الملاقط البصرية" والأدوات المستخدمة في جراحة العيون بالليزر
نوبل في الفيزياء. استردادها من
https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/optical-
ملاقط-أدوات-تستخدم-ليزر-جراحة-عين-عقبة-فيزياء-نوبل 1 /

Cecco ، L. (2018 ، 03 أكتوبر). تعتبر الفائزة بجائزة نوبل غير مهمة بما فيه الكفاية
دخول ويكيبيديا. استردادها من
https://www.theguardian.com/science/2018/oct/03/
نفت دونا-ستريكلاند-نوبل-فيزياء-جائزة-ويكيبيديا

هيدين ، م. (2014). جائزة لكبار السن غاضبين؟ تأملات في عدم وجود أنثى نوبل
الفائزون. الجنس والتاريخ ، 26 (1) ، 52-63. دوى: 10.1111 / 1468–0424.12051

جائزة نوبل للنساء. (و). استردادها من https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/lists/
المرأة الحائزة على جائزة نوبل /

بول ، أ. (2018 ، 07 أكتوبر). خمس نساء فاتتهن جائزة نوبل. استردادها من
https://www.theguardian.com/science/2018/oct/07/five-women-the-nobel-prize-missed

Where are all of the female winners of Nobel prizes?

by Kassandra Burd, M.Sc. Cognitive Neuropsychology, University of Kent

Kassandra Burd

In 2018, Donna Strickland was awarded the Nobel Prize for her outstanding contribution to the field of physics involving the discovery of “optical tweezers.” These optical tweezers are otherwise considered to be high intensity ultrashort light beam pulses that make precise cuts applied to laser micromachining and laser surgery, among other implementations (Billings, 2018).

Reading this impressive news last year, I remember feeling elated by the fact that a woman in STEM has finally attained such a renowned prize, while simultaneously feeling dismayed by my surprise in the first place.

Why was witnessing a woman winning the Nobel Prize such a rarity? Why did her gender stand out more to me than her actual contribution to science?

As of last year, only 51 women have ever won the Nobel Prize compared to 853 men (Elmehed, 2019). The Nobel committee is not ignorant to this discouraging statistic; Göran Hansson, who is the Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors of the Nobel Foundation, admitted that they were disappointed by the lack of women who have been awarded the prestigious prize, and that he suspects there are more women who deserve to be under consideration (Cecco, 2018).

Women’s achievements over the years have gained slow recognition compared to men’s achievements, which have gained almost immediate recognition after their discoveries have been founded; yet, many of these findings have been controversial (Hedin, 2014). For instance, Stanley Prusiner won the prize for his explanation of the cause of mad cow disease, while António Egas Moniz won for his development of the lobotomy method in psychosurgery, both of which were disputable feats that were met with skepticism (Hedin, 2014).

Many might argue that the lack of female Nobel Prize winners are due to a vast male majority in STEM fields, however, this is only a partial explanation, and should no longer be considered a justifiable defense. The proportion of women in medicine research in Sweden, for example, is almost 50% (Hedin, 2014). Furthermore, the European Union today holds more women with university degrees than men, and this was also the case for numerous multiple developing countries in the 1990s (Hedin, 2014). Despite this reality, men still occupy more positions of power, which is instrumental in the lack of career advancement for women working in STEM professions.

Another explanation has to do with financial and opportunistic limitations for women who conduct research in STEM fields. To be considered for the Nobel Prize, achievements must be deemed “important” and “groundbreaking,” which initially requires funding and opportunity; unfortunately, women are often overlooked when it comes to these opportunities (Hedin, 2014).

Funding for research is a very competitive endeavor, in which women are recurrently at a disadvantage. Because men are often awarded funding in conventional areas of research more often, many women choose to specialize in specific areas of their discipline that are less competitive in the hopes of receiving funding for their research, as well as continue working in their chosen field (Hedin, 2014). Women in these areas who reach extraordinary breakthroughs are frequently met with indifferent attitudes because their findings aren’t viewed as “mainstream.” As a result, research conducted by women in highly specialized STEM fields are not regarded as sufficiently worthy for distinguished recognition.

Nominations for Nobel Prize contenders are often made by the committee as well as university-based institutions, however, scientific academies are also authorized to submit their nominations every year (Hedin, 2014). The majority of individuals in these leadership positions are male, and so they are usually inclined to nominate other males due to their similitude and relatability. Moreover, submission of Nobel Prize nominations are often times through personal connections, which maintains the status quo and preserves a distorted social structure that denies women their rightful place in the public eye (Hedin, 2014).

In circumstances where men and women work together on a project, men are typically rewarded for their work, while women’s contributions are neglected and ignored. For example, Lise Meitner published an article on nuclear fission, but credit was given to her male supervisor when he later won the prize himself. Furthermore, Jocelyn Bell, who discovered radio pulsars, was completely overlooked when her professor won the Nobel Prize in physics for her breakthrough (Paul, 2018). Chien-Shiung Wu is another scientist who played a major role in debunking the “law of conservation of parity” in physics, but was never acclaimed for her work; alternatively, her male collaborators won the Nobel Prize for their own involvement in the discovery of this finding (Paul, 2018). Unfortunately, these are just a few examples, as there are many more women who were, and continue to be, disregarded for their efforts.

Undeniably, the Nobel Prize committee and its affiliated institutions are constructed in a way that promotes inequitable and unjust practices when it comes to contributions made by women in STEM fields. It is imperative that we strive for a society in which women’s achievements are recognized and acknowledged. There is no excuse for this shameful underrepresentation of women, who obtain little to no access to the spotlight when it comes to their tireless work in front of or behind the scenes. I sincerely hope that in the future we can live in a society where a woman’s successes and accomplishments aren’t considered rare and unexpected.

Moreover, I hope that when there are more women being recognized for their triumphs, we will be able to focus more on the information relevant to her extraordinary discoveries instead of merely her gender. With increased recognition for women’s achievements, slow progress is better than no progress; however, if we want to hasten advancement in the sciences, maths, and beyond, it is time to start speeding things up and implementing the actions required to highlight women’s achievements.

Bibliography

Billings, L. (2018, October 02). “Optical Tweezers” and Tools Used for Laser Eye Surgery Snag
Physics Nobel. Retrieved from
https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/optical-
tweezers-and-tools-used-for-laser-eye-surgery-snag-physics-nobel1/

Cecco, L. (2018, October 03). Female Nobel prize winner deemed not important enough for
Wikipedia entry. Retrieved from
https://www.theguardian.com/science/2018/oct/03/
donna-strickland-nobel-physics-prize-wikipedia-denied

Hedin, M. (2014). A Prize for Grumpy Old Men? Reflections on the Lack of Female Nobel
Laureates. Gender & History, 26(1), 52–63. doi:10.1111/1468–0424.12051

Nobel Prize awarded women. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/lists/
nobel-prize-awarded-women/

Paul, A. (2018, October 07). Five women who missed out on the Nobel prize. Retrieved from
https://www.theguardian.com/science/2018/oct/07/five-women-the-nobel-prize-missed