诺贝尔奖的所有女性获奖者都在哪里?

by 卡珊德拉·伯德(Kassandra Burd) 理学硕士 肯特大学认知神经心理学

卡桑德拉·伯德(Kassandra Burd)

2018年,唐娜·斯特里克兰(Donna Strickland)因其在物理学领域的杰出贡献(包括发现“光学镊子”)而获得了诺贝尔奖。 这些光镊被认为是高强度超短光束脉冲,可对激光微加工和激光手术进行精确切割,以及其他实现方式 (账单,2018)。

去年读到这个令人印象深刻的新闻时,我记得当时STEM中的一位女士终于获得了这样一个著名奖项的事实让我感到很高兴,同时我一开始就对我的惊讶感到沮丧。

为什么目睹一位获得诺贝尔奖的妇女如此罕见? 为什么她的性别对我比对科学的实际贡献更突出?

截至去年,只有51位女性曾获得诺贝尔奖,而853位男性 (Elmehed,2019)。 诺贝尔委员会对这一令人沮丧的统计数字并不一无所知。 诺贝尔基金会董事会副主席葛兰·汉森(GöranHansson)承认,她们对缺乏获得尊贵奖的女性感到失望,他怀疑还有更多的女性应受此殊荣。考虑 (Cecco,2018年).

与男子的成就相比,多年来妇女取得的成就得到认可的速度较慢,而她们的发现被发现后几乎立即获得认可。 然而,这些发现中有许多是有争议的 (Hedin,2014年)。 例如,斯坦利·普鲁西纳(Stanley Prusiner)因其解释疯牛病的原因而获奖,而安东尼奥·埃加斯·莫尼兹(AntónioEgas Moniz)因其在心理外科中进行肺叶切开术的研究而获奖,这两项都是令人信服的壮举,受到了怀疑。 (Hedin,2014年).

许多人可能会争辩说,诺贝尔奖得主的女性之所以缺乏,是由于在STEM领域中男性占多数,但这只是部分解释,不应再被视为合理的辩护。 例如,瑞典从事医学研究的女性比例接近50% (Hedin,2014年)。 此外,如今欧洲联盟拥有大学学位的女性人数多于男性,在1990年代,许多多个发展中国家也是如此。 (Hedin,2014年)。 尽管存在这种现实,但男性仍然占据着更多的权力位置,这有助于在STEM行业工作的女性缺乏职业发展。

另一种解释与在STEM领域进行研究的女性的财务和机会限制有关。 要获得诺贝尔奖,必须将成就视为“重要”和“开创性”,这首先需要资金和机会; 不幸的是,在这些机会上,妇女经常被忽视 (Hedin,2014年).

为研究提供资金是一项非常有竞争性的努力,其中妇女经常处于不利地位。 由于男性通常会更经常地获得常规研究领域的资助,因此许多女性选择专门研究自己学科的特定领域,而这些领域竞争较弱,希望获得研究经费,并继续在所选领域工作 (Hedin,2014年)。 在这些地区取得非凡突破的女性经常会以冷漠的态度相遇,因为她们的发现并不被视为“主流”。 结果,由女性在高度专业化的STEM领域进行的研究被认为不足以值得尊敬。

提名诺贝尔奖的人通常由委员会和大学机构提名,但是,科学研究院也有权每年提交提名 (Hedin,2014年)。 担任这些领导职务的大多数人都是男性,因此,由于他们的相似性和相对性,他们通常倾向于提名其他男性。 此外,诺贝尔奖提名的提交通常是通过个人关系进行的,这维持了现状并保持了扭曲的社会结构,从而剥夺了妇女在公众视野中应有的地位 (Hedin,2014年).

在男女共同参与某个项目的情况下,通常会因工作而奖励男性,而忽略和忽略女性的贡献。 例如,里斯·迈特纳(Lise Meitner)发表了一篇有关核裂变的文章,但是当她的男主管后来自己获得该奖项时,她的工作就受到赞誉。 此外,发现射电脉冲星的乔斯林·贝尔(Jocelyn Bell)的教授因她的突破而获得诺贝尔物理学奖时被完全忽略了 (保罗,2018)。 吴建雄(Chien-Shiung Wu)是另一位科学家,她在揭穿物理学中的“均等守恒定律”方面发挥了重要作用,但她的工作从未受到赞誉。 或者,她的男性合作者因自己的发现而获得了诺贝尔奖 (保罗,2018)。 不幸的是,这些只是几个例子,因为还有更多的妇女因其努力而被并且继续被忽视。

不可否认的是,诺贝尔奖委员会及其附属机构的构建方式旨在促进妇女在STEM领域的贡献时促进不公平和不公正的做法。 我们必须努力建立一个承认和认可妇女成就的社会。 这种可耻的妇女代表人数不足没有任何借口,在现场前后进行不知疲倦的工作时,她们很少或几乎没有受到关注。 我衷心希望,将来我们可以生活在一个社会,一个女人的成功和成就不被认为是稀有和意外的社会。

此外,我希望,当更多的女性因其成就而受到认可时,我们将能够更多地关注与她非凡的发现有关的信息,而不仅仅是她的性别。 随着人们对妇女成就的日益认可,进步缓慢总比没有进步好。 但是,如果我们想加快科学,数学等领域的进步,就该开始加快步伐,并采取必要的行动以突出女性的成就了。

参考书目

比林斯(2018年02月XNUMX日)。 “光学镊子”和用于激光眼科手术的工具
诺贝尔物理学奖。 从...获得
https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/optical-
镊子和工具用于激光眼科手术snag-physics-nobel1 /

Cecco,L.(2018年03月XNUMX日)。 女性诺贝尔奖获得者被认为不够重要
维基百科条目。 从...获得
https://www.theguardian.com/science/2018/oct/03/
唐娜·斯特里克兰·诺贝尔物理学奖获得者-维基百科被拒绝

Hedin,M.(2014年)。 为脾气暴躁的老人颁奖? 关于女性诺贝尔奖缺失的思考
获奖者。 性别与历史,26(1),52–63。 doi:10.1111 / 1468–0424.12051

诺贝尔奖授予女性。 (nd)。 从...获得 https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/lists/
诺贝尔奖获得者/

保罗·A(2018年07月XNUMX日)。 五位错过诺贝尔奖的女性。 从...获得
https://www.theguardian.com/science/2018/oct/07/five-women-the-nobel-prize-missed

Where are all of the female winners of Nobel prizes?

by Kassandra Burd, M.Sc. Cognitive Neuropsychology, University of Kent

Kassandra Burd

In 2018, Donna Strickland was awarded the Nobel Prize for her outstanding contribution to the field of physics involving the discovery of “optical tweezers.” These optical tweezers are otherwise considered to be high intensity ultrashort light beam pulses that make precise cuts applied to laser micromachining and laser surgery, among other implementations (Billings, 2018).

Reading this impressive news last year, I remember feeling elated by the fact that a woman in STEM has finally attained such a renowned prize, while simultaneously feeling dismayed by my surprise in the first place.

Why was witnessing a woman winning the Nobel Prize such a rarity? Why did her gender stand out more to me than her actual contribution to science?

As of last year, only 51 women have ever won the Nobel Prize compared to 853 men (Elmehed, 2019). The Nobel committee is not ignorant to this discouraging statistic; Göran Hansson, who is the Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors of the Nobel Foundation, admitted that they were disappointed by the lack of women who have been awarded the prestigious prize, and that he suspects there are more women who deserve to be under consideration (Cecco, 2018).

Women’s achievements over the years have gained slow recognition compared to men’s achievements, which have gained almost immediate recognition after their discoveries have been founded; yet, many of these findings have been controversial (Hedin, 2014). For instance, Stanley Prusiner won the prize for his explanation of the cause of mad cow disease, while António Egas Moniz won for his development of the lobotomy method in psychosurgery, both of which were disputable feats that were met with skepticism (Hedin, 2014).

Many might argue that the lack of female Nobel Prize winners are due to a vast male majority in STEM fields, however, this is only a partial explanation, and should no longer be considered a justifiable defense. The proportion of women in medicine research in Sweden, for example, is almost 50% (Hedin, 2014). Furthermore, the European Union today holds more women with university degrees than men, and this was also the case for numerous multiple developing countries in the 1990s (Hedin, 2014). Despite this reality, men still occupy more positions of power, which is instrumental in the lack of career advancement for women working in STEM professions.

Another explanation has to do with financial and opportunistic limitations for women who conduct research in STEM fields. To be considered for the Nobel Prize, achievements must be deemed “important” and “groundbreaking,” which initially requires funding and opportunity; unfortunately, women are often overlooked when it comes to these opportunities (Hedin, 2014).

Funding for research is a very competitive endeavor, in which women are recurrently at a disadvantage. Because men are often awarded funding in conventional areas of research more often, many women choose to specialize in specific areas of their discipline that are less competitive in the hopes of receiving funding for their research, as well as continue working in their chosen field (Hedin, 2014). Women in these areas who reach extraordinary breakthroughs are frequently met with indifferent attitudes because their findings aren’t viewed as “mainstream.” As a result, research conducted by women in highly specialized STEM fields are not regarded as sufficiently worthy for distinguished recognition.

Nominations for Nobel Prize contenders are often made by the committee as well as university-based institutions, however, scientific academies are also authorized to submit their nominations every year (Hedin, 2014). The majority of individuals in these leadership positions are male, and so they are usually inclined to nominate other males due to their similitude and relatability. Moreover, submission of Nobel Prize nominations are often times through personal connections, which maintains the status quo and preserves a distorted social structure that denies women their rightful place in the public eye (Hedin, 2014).

In circumstances where men and women work together on a project, men are typically rewarded for their work, while women’s contributions are neglected and ignored. For example, Lise Meitner published an article on nuclear fission, but credit was given to her male supervisor when he later won the prize himself. Furthermore, Jocelyn Bell, who discovered radio pulsars, was completely overlooked when her professor won the Nobel Prize in physics for her breakthrough (Paul, 2018). Chien-Shiung Wu is another scientist who played a major role in debunking the “law of conservation of parity” in physics, but was never acclaimed for her work; alternatively, her male collaborators won the Nobel Prize for their own involvement in the discovery of this finding (Paul, 2018). Unfortunately, these are just a few examples, as there are many more women who were, and continue to be, disregarded for their efforts.

Undeniably, the Nobel Prize committee and its affiliated institutions are constructed in a way that promotes inequitable and unjust practices when it comes to contributions made by women in STEM fields. It is imperative that we strive for a society in which women’s achievements are recognized and acknowledged. There is no excuse for this shameful underrepresentation of women, who obtain little to no access to the spotlight when it comes to their tireless work in front of or behind the scenes. I sincerely hope that in the future we can live in a society where a woman’s successes and accomplishments aren’t considered rare and unexpected.

Moreover, I hope that when there are more women being recognized for their triumphs, we will be able to focus more on the information relevant to her extraordinary discoveries instead of merely her gender. With increased recognition for women’s achievements, slow progress is better than no progress; however, if we want to hasten advancement in the sciences, maths, and beyond, it is time to start speeding things up and implementing the actions required to highlight women’s achievements.

Bibliography

Billings, L. (2018, October 02). “Optical Tweezers” and Tools Used for Laser Eye Surgery Snag
Physics Nobel. Retrieved from
https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/optical-
tweezers-and-tools-used-for-laser-eye-surgery-snag-physics-nobel1/

Cecco, L. (2018, October 03). Female Nobel prize winner deemed not important enough for
Wikipedia entry. Retrieved from
https://www.theguardian.com/science/2018/oct/03/
donna-strickland-nobel-physics-prize-wikipedia-denied

Hedin, M. (2014). A Prize for Grumpy Old Men? Reflections on the Lack of Female Nobel
Laureates. Gender & History, 26(1), 52–63. doi:10.1111/1468–0424.12051

Nobel Prize awarded women. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/lists/
nobel-prize-awarded-women/

Paul, A. (2018, October 07). Five women who missed out on the Nobel prize. Retrieved from
https://www.theguardian.com/science/2018/oct/07/five-women-the-nobel-prize-missed