为在STEM领域工作的母亲制定灵活的时间表—是朋友还是敌人?

by MITACS业务发展助理Marine Da Silva

马林·达席尔瓦(Marine Da Silva)

对于女性来说,在STEM领域工作是一个很大的挑战。

有充分的资料表明,在STEM领域中,女性任职人数不足。 来自的数据 加拿大统计局(2016)研究表明,从事科学职业的28至25岁的工人中只有64%是女性,而女性仅占大学研究职位的30%。

而且,一个 最近的一项研究 研究表明,如果奖励赠款的人知道谁是首席科学家,则不太可能将资金授予女性卫生科学家。 妇女也更有可能离开STEM领域,因为她们可能不像男人那样受重视。 最后,根据 全国家庭调查(NHS),毕业于STEM的女性比男性拥有更高的失业率和更低的工资。 但是,导致妇女在STEM工作中任职人数偏低的另一个未被充分研究但却很重要的机制可能是父母身份。

生儿育女通常会改变女人的生活。 由于要平衡父母身份和成功的职业生涯可能会充满挑战,因此许多母亲选择辞职并回家。 在STEM领域工作的女性尤其如此。 统计数据令人不安:根据 美国的研究 今年早些时候在 美国国家科学院院刊, 43%的新妈妈在生完孩子后离开了全职的STEM工作。 为人父母不仅仅是一个“母亲的问题”; 因为23%的新父亲在他们的第一个孩子之后也离开了STEM。 经常将将STEM工作与照顾责任相结合的困难作为离开的原因。 此外,由于工作场所缺乏灵活性以及同事和老板的假设,即母亲在生完孩子后对工作的投入较少,许多母亲感到自己被赶出了职业生涯。

解决方案可以帮助母亲至少在理论上保持良好的工作与生活平衡,可以在家中部分工作并提供灵活的时间表。 在实践中,许多母亲在晚上和周末工作,因为他们对自己在一周内没有足够的努力感到内gui。 哪个提出了这个问题:灵活的时间表和远程办公真的与成功的STEM职业妈咪职业兼容吗?

A 根据一项研究, 肯特大学(University of Kent)的研究发现,灵活的时间表会导致兼职工作的母亲无薪工作时间更长。 在另一个 根据一项研究,,同一位作者报告说,半数以上从事兼职工作的母亲认为,这对他们的职业发展有负面影响。 此外,要求工作灵活性可能与否定关联,因为人们认为工作灵活性不强,特别是对于STEM领域的女性而言。 此外,在要求工作灵活性方面可能存在性别偏见。 Furman大学的社会学教授Christin Munsch, 进行了将近700人的调查 有关工作灵活性和附带的潜在污名的信息。 芒什发现,与要求工作灵活性的女同事相比,每周两次要求屈曲的男人被认为对工作更投入,更能促进工作,更讨人喜欢。

在STEM领域,人们对密集工作时间仍然抱有强烈的期望,科学实验比其他任何事情(包括家庭)都重要。 尽管有一种方法来促使更多的年轻女孩和妇女对STEM事业感兴趣,但我们还必须摆脱对STEM领域工作灵活性和文化信仰的污名,使妇女能够选择STEM事业。 确实,21世纪的工作场所已经了解了这一点。 现在,越来越多的新创业公司提供诸如工作灵活性,无限假期和现场日托等福利,特别是在数学,计算机科学和物理科学领域。

Flexible schedule for mothers working in STEM fields — Friend or Foe?

by Marine Da Silva, Business Development Associate, MITACS

Marine Da Silva

Working in the STEM field is quite a challenge for women.

It is well documented that women are underrepresented in the STEM field. Data from Statistics Canada (2016)showed that only 28 percent of workers aged 25 to 64 in scientific occupations are women and that women accounted for just 30 percent of research chairs at universities.

Moreover, a recent study revealed that funding is less likely to be awarded to female health scientists if those rewarding the grants know who is the lead scientist. Women are also more likely to leave their roles in the STEM field, as they may not feel as valued as men. Finally, according to the National Household Survey(NHS), women that graduated in STEM have a higher unemployment rate and a lower wage compared to men. However, another understudied but central mechanism contributing to the underrepresentation of women in STEM employment may be parenthood.

Having children often represents a big change in a woman’s life. As it can be challenging to balance parenthood with a successful professional career, many mothers choose to quit their career and head home. This is particularly the case for women working in STEM fields. The statistics are troubling: According to a US study published earlier this year in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 43 percent of new mothers leave full-time STEM employment after having children. Parenthood is not just a “mother’s problem”; as 23 percent of new fathers also leave STEM after their first child. The difficulty of combining STEM work with caregiving responsibilities is often cited as a reason for leaving. In addition, many mothers feel pushed out of professional careers by the lack of flexibility in workplaces and by colleagues’ and bosses’ presumptions that mothers are less committed to their work after having children.

Being allowed to partially work from home and offering a flexible schedule are solutions that help mothers maintain a good work-life balance, at least in theory. In practice, many mothers are working in the evenings and during the weekend, because they feel guilty about not having worked hard enough during the week. Which begs the question: are flexible schedule and telecommuting really compatible with a successful STEM career for working mums?

A study from the University of Kent has found that flexible schedules cause part-time working mothers to work longer without pay. In another study, the same authors reported that more than half of mothers who have worked part-time believe that it has had a negative impact on their career progression. Moreover, there can be a negative association with asking for work flexibility since it is seen as someone not wanting to work as hard, especially for women in STEM field. Furthermore, there may be a gender bias when it comes to asking for work flexibility. Christin Munsch, a sociology professor at Furman University, did a survey of almost 700 people regarding work flexibility and the underlying stigmas attached to it. Munsch found that men who requested flex twice a week were deemed to be more committed to their work, more promotable, and more likeable than their female colleagues who also asked for work flexibility.

In the STEM field, there are still strong cultural expectations of intensive hours and that the scientific experiment matters more than anything else, including family. Although there is a drive to get more young girls and women interested in STEM careers, we also must get rid of stigmas around work flexibility and cultural beliefs in the STEM fields, to allow women to choose a STEM career. Indeed, 21st-century workplaces already understood that; as more and more new start-ups now offer perks such as work flexibility, unlimited vacation, and on-site daycare, especially in the Mathematics, Computer Science and Physical Sciences fields.