在 2022 SCWIST 年度招聘会上学习和联系

3 年 2022 月 400 日,SCWIST 欢迎来自加拿大各地的 18 多名与会者和 XNUMX 个组织参加我们的虚拟年度招聘会!

我们为期一天的活动,由以下机构慷慨赞助 STEMCELL Technologies,挤满了引人入胜的演讲嘉宾、优秀的参展商小组成员和内容丰富的研讨会,为与会者提供了就业和职业发展机会。 来自 STEM 多个不同领域的几家模范公司发布了 70 多个工作机会,与会者可以在加拿大和国际范围内申请。 还有几个交流的机会,包括虚拟破冰船问题、社区主题和活动后的聚会机会。

与 STEM 领域的领导者进行小组讨论

开始新的一天,Christy Thomson 博士(安进首席科学家)在活动的主题演讲中分享了她的职业历程: 万事通,无专家. 她谈到了她职业生涯中的步骤和挑战,这些步骤和挑战使她获得了制造用于医学的化学品的职位。 随后与观众进行了热烈的问答环节。

开幕式结束后,与会者可以参加 行业领先战略 与 Nasim Boustani 博士(META 运营总监)、Alexendra Merkx-Jacques 博士(NSERC 研究合作经理)和 Leann Sweeny(安进业务部总监)进行小组讨论,或 拥有您的价值:识别可转移技能并利用您的独特潜力 Jasmine Shaw(工程师和企业家)的研讨会。

预定网络会议之前的最后一项活动是职业聚焦,来自 STEMCELL Technologies、D-Wave Systems、Acuitas Therapeutics 和 adMare Bioinnovations 的代表。 经过几次内容丰富​​的会谈后,我们的与会者有一个快速的午休时间并返回网络!

Whova 提供了我们与会者互动的快照。

建立有价值的联系

尽管在一天的中途留出了时间进行交流,但我们的与会者从招聘会开始就开始了对话和聊天。 Whova 是用于举办招聘会的虚拟平台,它为与会者提供了几个机会,可以根据他们添加到个人资料中的信息进行联系。

还有一个破冰区,与会者可以在这里发布他们对有趣问题的答案 以及一个社区选项卡,任何与会者都可以在其中组织面对面或虚拟聚会,分享即将举行的会议并创建讨论主题。 活动期间,社区板上发布了 30 多个不同的讨论主题和 400 条消息。 最吸引人的话题之一 专注于科学传播,与会者讨论了知识转化、与错误信息作斗争、STEM 教育和就业机会。 

在一天结束时,我们对活动的结果感到非常兴奋,并希望能够建立一些长期的联系。

感觉自己错过了? 在社交媒体上关注 SCWIST,了解 STEM 领域女性的激动人心的活动,包括我们的 2023 年招聘会! 你可以找到我们 Facebook, Twitter, Instagram 和 LinkedIn. 如需更多社交活动和研讨会,请访问我们的 官网.

Learning and Connecting at the 2022 SCWIST Annual Career Fair

On June 3, 2022, SCWIST welcomed more than 400 attendees and 18 organizations from across Canada to our virtual Annual Career Fair!

Our day-long event, generously sponsored by STEMCELL Technologies, was jam-packed with engaging guest speakers, excellent exhibitor panellists and informative workshops that provided attendees with employment and career growth opportunities. Several exemplary companies from many different areas within STEM posted more than 70 job opportunities that attendees could apply to, both within Canada and internationally. There were also several opportunities to network, including virtual icebreaker questions, community topics and post-event meet-up opportunities.

Panel discussions with leaders in STEM

To start the day, Dr. Christy Thomson (Principal Scientist, Amgen) shared her career journey in the event’s keynote: Master of All, Expert of None. She spoke about the steps and challenges in her career that led her to a position making the chemicals used in medicine. An enthusiastic Q&A session with the audience followed.

After the opening event, attendees could either attend the Strategies on Industry Leadership panel discussion with Dr. Nasim Boustani (Director of Operations, META), Dr. Alexendra Merkx-Jacques (Manager – Research Partnerships, NSERC) and Leann Sweeny (Business Unit Director, Amgen), or the Owning Your Value: Identifying Transferable Skills and Leveraging Your Unique Potential workshop with Jasmine Shaw (Engineer & Entrepreneur).

The final activity before the scheduled networking session was a Career Spotlight with representatives from STEMCELL Technologies, D-Wave Systems, Acuitas Therapeutics and adMare Bioinnovations. After several informative talks, our attendees had a quick lunch break and returned to network!

A snapshot of our attendee’s interactions was provided by Whova.

Making valuable connections

Although time was set aside for networking halfway through the day, our attendees started conversations and chatting with each other from the start of the career fair. Whova, the virtual platform used to host the career fair, provided several opportunities for attendees to connect based on the information they added to their profiles.

There was also an icebreaker area where attendees could post their answers to fun questions and a community tab where any attendee was able to organize both in-person or virtual meetups, share upcoming conferences and create discussion topics. During the event, over 30 different discussion topics and 400 messages were posted on the Community Board. One of the most engaging topics was focused on science communication, where attendees discussed knowledge translation, battling misinformation, STEM education and employment opportunities. 

At the end of the day, we were thrilled with how the event turned out and hope several long-lasting connections were made.

Feel like you missed out? Follow SCWIST on social to stay on top of exciting events for women in STEM including our 2023 Career Fair! You can find us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and LinkedIn. For more networking events and workshops, please visit our website.