من الحلم إلى الواقع: إنشاء ندوة SCWIST للعلوم

كتب بواسطة: أشلي فان دير بو كران

كانت الدكتورة نوين مالك لا تزال تكمل دراستها الجامعية عندما خطرت لأول مرة فكرة برنامج ندوة العلوم للطلاب الأصغر سنًا.

"عندما كنت في المختبر ، ورأيت هذه المؤتمرات والفرص تحدث ، كان دائمًا باحثو ما بعد الدكتوراة أو كبار العلماء هم الذين حصلوا على امتياز الحضور وتقديم أعمالهم. هناك فرص أقل بكثير لطلاب البكالوريوس والدراسات العليا ، خاصة لأولئك الذين يعملون في المختبرات بتمويل أقل ".

بقيت الفكرة في ذهنها ، وأحيانًا تطفو على السطح لتفكر أكثر قليلاً عندما أكملت تعليمها ، وبلغت ذروتها في الحصول على درجة الدكتوراه في الكيمياء الإشعاعية من ألمانيا.

قررت أخيرًا في SCWIST أن تجعل فكرتها حقيقة واقعة.

بعد انضمامها في البداية إلى SCWIST كمتطوعة ، وجدت نوين بسرعة مساحة لنفسها في لجنة الأحداث ، تحت إشراف الدكتورة كريستين كارينو ، مديرة الأحداث. خلال الأشهر القليلة التالية ، انتقلت من متطوعة إلى Events Lead إلى القائم بأعمال مدير الأحداث.

عندما شرحت نوين لكريستين فكرتها عن حدث علمي للطلاب الجامعيين والخريجين ، كانت تؤيد ذلك تمامًا.

قالت كريستين: "اعتقدت أنها فكرة ممتازة". "لقد كنت متحمسًا لرؤية ما ستخلقه نوين."

مشروعها مضاء باللون الأخضر ، بدأت نوين بالتخطيط. كانت تعرف بالضبط ما الذي تريد حله أولاً.

قالت "كنت أرغب في منح جوائز نقدية للطلاب". لكن التمويل كان محدودًا. لذلك ، قررت أن أجد البعض ".

بدأ نوين في التواصل مع الجامعات والمنظمات العلمية المحلية. لم يستغرق الأمر وقتًا طويلاً حتى قام الراعي الأول بتسجيل الدخول. ثم آخر. وآخر.

قال أناث رافي ، الشريك المؤسس وكبير العلماء والمسؤول الإكلينيكي في مولي سورجيكال: "[نحن] متحمسون لكوننا أحد رعاة ندوة SCWIST للعلوم. مثل هذه الندوات ذات أهمية حيوية في كندا. إنها توفر منصة للطلاب الجامعيين اللامعين والمبتكرين ، الذين قد لا تُسمع أصواتهم بخلاف ذلك ".

أضاف شين سينغ من Sophos: "كنا سعداء بالشراكة مع SCWIST". "لدينا هدف مشترك لإطلاق العنان لإمكانات النساء والفتيات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، وإيمانًا بأن التنوع في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات هو ميزة تنافسية."

الرعاة على متن السفينة ، يمكن أن تبدأ المرحلة التالية من التخطيط.

خلق الفرص للعلماء الشباب

سرعان ما ظهرت الندوة في الحياة تحت قيادة نوين. سيكون هناك خمس فئات: علم الأورام وعلم الأعصاب ، فيزياء الجسيمات ، الذكاء الاصطناعي ، علوم الأرض والبيئة والاستشعار البيولوجي. سيقوم الطلاب بإرسال ملخص قصير يحدد عملهم. سيتم اختيار خمسة عشر فائزًا لتقديمهم إلى لجنة التحكيم ، وسيتم اختيار ثلاثة فائزين من تلك المجموعة. سيحصل الفائز بالمركز الأول على 1500 دولار ، والثاني 1000 دولار والثالث 750 دولارًا. سيحصل كل من المرشحين النهائيين الـ 12 المتبقين على 150 دولارًا ، وفي النهاية ، سيحصل جميع الطلاب الذين قدموا ملخصًا على إشارة فخرية في كتيب الندوة.

قالت نوين: "العلماء الشباب - وخاصة العالمات الشابات - هم الشخصيات الرئيسية في استكمال المشاريع البحثية ، لكنك غالبًا لا ترى أسماءهم تتصدر أعلى الأوراق البحثية أو حتى تحصل على أي ائتمان على الإطلاق". أردت أن أخلق فرصة لهؤلاء العلماء الشباب لتقديم وتلقي التقدير لعملهم.

لنشر الخبر ، تواصلت نوين مع 91 جامعة في جميع أنحاء كندا بشأن حدثها الوليدة.

"لقد عثرت على 1500 عنوان بريد إلكتروني!" ضحكت نوين. لقد قمت بسحبهم من مواقع الجامعة ، أو حقًا من أي مكان أجدهم فيه. لم أرغب في أن يقول أي طالب إنه لا يستطيع المشاركة لأنهم لم يسمعوا عن ذلك. وقد قمت بإرسال رسائل بريد إلكتروني إليهم جميعًا بين منتصف الليل والرابعة صباحًا ، لذا سيكون البريد الإلكتروني في أعلى البريد الوارد للجميع عند تسجيل الدخول في الصباح ".

عملها الشاق يؤتي ثماره. خلال الأسابيع القليلة التالية ، بدأت الملخصات تتدفق إلى - 88 جامعة في المجموع ، من 38 جامعة عبر تسع مقاطعات.

"لقد كنت مسرورًا للغاية بالإقبال" ، قالت نوين. "كان هناك انتشار كبير عبر كل فئة من بعض العلماء الشباب اللامعين."

يتفق ستيف إيكلز ، عميد جامعة نورث إيسترن في فانكوفر ، "إنه لأمر رائع أن نرى الأبحاث المقدمة من العديد من الطالبات الرائعات من 38 جامعة عبر كندا".

خريطة توضح المكان الذي تم تقديم كل ملخص منه.

من 88 ل15

"سيكون تحديا."

كانت تلك كلمات الدكتور توماس جي روث ، كبير العلماء في TRIUMF ووكالة السرطان في كولومبيا البريطانية.

مع وجود 88 ملخصًا في متناول اليد و 15 موقعًا فقط متاحًا في جولة العرض التقديمي ، كان أمام حكام الفئة مهمة صعبة أمامهم. كان كل ملخص قادرًا على تسجيل نقاط لائقة بناءً على الحداثة (الفكرة والتصميم) والمنهجية (النهج والتصميم العلمي والنسبة المئوية لمدخلات الطالب) والتطبيق (التطبيقات الحالية والفائدة على المجتمع) والنطاق المستقبلي (النمو خلال المرحلة التالية خمس سنوات).

ردد الدكتور بيثاني إدموندز ، مدير علوم الكمبيوتر في جامعة نورث إيسترن ، كلمات الدكتورة روث ، "كانت المشاركات تنافسية للغاية."

في النهاية ، تم تقليص الأرقام ، وتم اختيار الملخصات الثلاثة الأولى من كل فئة من الفئات الخمس للانتقال إلى الجولة التالية: التقديم إلى كبار الباحثين.

في كل جلسة ، سيقدم عالم شاب بحثه ويتناقش مع اثنين من كبار قضاة العلوم حول عملهم ، تليها جلسة أسئلة وأجوبة بين العالم الشاب والقضاة والجمهور في نهاية الجلسة.

سيتم تمييز كل من العروض التقديمية الخمسة عشر بمقياس 30 نقطة. العرض التقديمي (مدى شمولية ودقة مادة العرض التقديمي) ، المعرفة (مدى معرفة مقدم العرض) ، التفاعل (مدى جودة تقديم مقدم العرض ، مدى سهولة / تعقيد التسليم بالنسبة للجمهور لمتابعة ومدى جودة أجاب مقدم العرض على الأسئلة) والمحتوى (النقاط المكتسبة أثناء عملية الاختيار).

تذليل العقبات وكسر الحواجز

بعد عقود من العمل الجاد لتعزيز اهتمام الشابات بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، يسعد الكثيرون الآن بسماع أن الالتحاق ببرامج العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات بالجامعة يتزايد باطراد منذ عام 2000. وتشكل النساء الآن 56٪ من طلاب المرحلة الجامعية في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

لكن القتال لم ينته بعد.

قالت آشلي فان دير بو كران ، نائبة رئيس الندوة: "غالبًا ما تفتقر النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات إلى القدوة المهنية والإرشاد في الجامعة". "وبمجرد دخولهم سوق العمل ، غالبًا ما يكافحون من أجل الحصول على اعتراف بالترقيات في المجالات التي يهيمن عليها الذكور. الندوة هي عمل واحد من بين العديد من الأعمال للمساعدة في تضخيم أصواتهم ومشاركة قصة نجاحاتهم ".

قالت مونيا قزي من AdMare: "تسلط الندوة الضوء على مدى أهمية التنوع في الابتكار". "ومدى أهمية مساهمات العالمات في كل مجال علمي وكل جانب من جوانب المجتمع."

وعلى الرغم من أن العمل المهم المتمثل في جعل تعليم العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات منصفًا للجميع لا يزال بعيد المنال ، إلا أن الندوة تقدم لمحة عن مستقبل العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات - حيث تقود النساء الطريق.

بدءًا من شهر يونيو ، خمسة عشر عرضًا تقديميًا من خمسة عشر طالبًا من جميع أنحاء البلاد على YouTube Live كل يوم أربعاء الساعة 12 ظهرًا بتوقيت المحيط الهادئ من يونيو إلى سبتمبر. تعرف على المزيد حول ندوة العلوم.

From dream to reality: creating the SCWIST Science Symposium

Written by: Ashley van der Pouw Kraan

Dr. Noeen Malik was still completing her undergrad degree when she first had the idea for a Science Symposium for younger students.

“When I was in the lab, and I saw these conferences and opportunities happen, it was always postdocs or senior scientists who got the privilege to attend and present their work. There are far fewer opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students, especially for those working in labs with less funding.”

The idea stuck with her, occasionally rising to the surface to thought out a bit more as she completed her schooling, culminating in a PhD in radiochemistry from Germany.

It was finally at SCWIST that she decided to make her idea a reality.

After initially joining SCWIST as a volunteer, Noeen had quickly found a space for herself on the events committee, under the guidance of Dr. Khristine Carino, Director for Events. Over the next few months, she moved from volunteer to Events Lead to Acting Director of Events.

When Noeen explained her idea of a science event for undergrad and grad students to Khristine, she was all for it.

“I thought it was an excellent idea,” said Khristine. “I was excited to see what Noeen would create.”

Her project green-lit, Noeen began planning. She knew exactly what she wanted to sort out first.

“I wanted to give cash prizes to the students,” she said. “But funding was limited. So, I decided to find some.”

Noeen began reaching out to local universities and science organizations. It didn’t take long for the first sponsor to sign on. Then another. And another.

“[We’re] excited to be a sponsor of the SCWIST Science Symposium,” said Anath Ravi, Co-Founder and Chief Scientist and Clinical Officer of Molli Surgical. “Symposiums such as these are vitally important in Canada. They give a platform for bright and innovative undergraduates, whose voices may otherwise may never be heard.”

“We were happy to partner with SCWIST,” added Shane Singh of Sophos. “We have a shared goal to unlock the potential of women and girls in STEM, and in the belief that diversity in STEM is a competitive advantage.”

Sponsors on board, the next stage of planning could begin.

Creating opportunities for young scientists

The Symposium quickly came to life under Noeen’s leadership. There would be five categories: Oncology & Neuroscience, Particle Physics, Artificial Intelligence, Earth & Environmental Science and Biosensing. Students would submit a short abstract outlining their work. Fifteen winners would be selected to present to the panel of judges, and of that group, three winners would be chosen. The first-place winner would receive $1500, the second $1000 and the third $750. The remaining 12 finalists would each receive a $150, and finally, all students who submitted an abstract would receive an honorary mention in the Symposium booklet.

“Young scientists—and especially young female scientists—are key figures in completing research projects, but you often don’t see their names gracing the top of research papers or even getting any credit at all,” said Noeen. “I wanted to create an opportunity for these young scientists to present and receive recognition for their work.

To get the word out, Noeen reached out to 91 universities across Canada about her fledgling event.

“I found 1500 email addresses!” Noeen laughed. “I pulled them from the university websites, or really anywhere I could find them. I didn’t want any student to be able to say that they couldn’t participate because they didn’t hear about it. And I emailed them all between midnight and 4 in the morning so the email would be in the top of everyone’s inbox when they signed on in the morning.”

Her hard work paid off. Over the next few weeks, abstracts began flooding in—88 in all, from 38 universities across nine provinces.

“I was extremely pleased with the turnout,” beamed Noeen. “There was a great spread across each category from some brilliant young scientists.”

“It is brilliant to see the research submissions from so many incredible female students from 38 universities across Canada,” agreed Steve Eccles, Dean of Northeastern University Vancouver.

A map highlighting where each abstract was submitted from.

From 88 to 15

“It’s going to be a challenge.”

Those were the words from Dr. Thomas J Ruth, Senior Scientist at TRIUMF and the BC Cancer Agency.

With 88 abstracts in hand and only 15 spots available in the presentation round, the category judges had a difficult task ahead of them. Each abstract was able to score up to decent points based on novelty (idea, design), methodology (approach, scientific design and percentage of student’s input), application (current applications and benefit to society) and future scope (the growth within the next five years).

Dr. Bethany Edmunds, Director of Computer Science at Northeastern University, echoed Dr. Ruth’s words, “The entries were highly competitive.”

Eventually, the numbers were whittled down, and the top three abstracts from each of the five categories were selected to go to the next round: presenting to the senior researchers.

In each session, one young scientist would present their research and have a discussion with two senior science judges about their work, followed by a question and answer session between the young scientist, judges and audience at the end of the session.

Each of the fifteen presentations would be marked on a 30 point scale. Presentation (how comprehensive and precise the presentation material is), knowledge (how well-informed the presenter is), interaction (how well the presenter delivers the presentation, how easy/complex the delivery was for the audience to follow along with and how well the presenter answered questions) and content (the points earned during the selection process).

Overcoming obstacles and breaking barriers

After decades of hard work to promote young women’s interest in STEM, many are now rejoicing to hear that enrollment in university STEM programs has been steadily increasing since 2000. Women now make up 56% of undergraduate students in STEM.

But the fight isn’t over yet.

“Women in STEM often lack professional role models and mentorship in university,” said Ashley van der Pouw Kraan, Symposium Vice-Chair. “And once they enter the workforce, they often struggle to gain recognition of promotions in male-dominated fields. The Symposium is one act amongst many to help amplify their voices and share the story of their successes.”

“The Symposium highlights how critical diversity is to innovation,” said Mounia Azzi of adMare. “And how important the contributions of female scientists are to every scientific field and every aspect of society.”

And while the important work of making STEM education equitable for all is a long way from being done, the Symposium offers a glimpse into the future of STEM—one in which women are leading the way.

Beginning in June, fifteen presentations from fifteen students across the country on YouTube Live every Wednesday at 12pm PT from June to September. Learn more about the Science Symposium.