تساعد منحة SCWIST للشباب طالب فانكوفر في الوصول إلى أهداف STEM

للاحتفال بالذكرى الأربعين لتأسيسنا ، نقدم المزيد من المنح الدراسية للشباب هذا العام أكثر من أي وقت مضى. حصلت Wendy مؤخرًا على جائزة جائزة تنمية مهارات الشباب، جائزة قيمتها 500 دولار أمريكي لتغطية نفقات التطوير المهني. اقرأ عن تجربتها أدناه!

مرحبا! اسمي ويندي وأنا طالب في الصف الثاني عشر من منطقة فانكوفر الكبرى في كولومبيا البريطانية. لقد عدت مؤخرًا من أسبوع رائع في معرض العلوم الافتراضي في كندا 12.

مشروعي يسمى The PollenGPS III: نظام جديد لمراقبة حبوب اللقاح المحمولة جواً. يتأثر أكثر من واحد من كل ستة كنديين بحساسية حبوب اللقاح كل عام ؛ ومع ذلك ، مع وجود تقارير عامة فقط تستهدف مناطق كبيرة مثل المدن يتم تحديثها كل 24 ساعة فقط ، فإن تحليل حبوب اللقاح غير كافٍ حاليًا ، وليس في الوقت المناسب أو دقيقًا بما يكفي للمستخدمين للتنقل في الهواء الطلق بأمان. على الرغم من التغاضي عن هذا النقص عادةً ، إلا أن تقريرًا واضحًا ومُعد جيدًا يمكن أن يصبح مساهماً أساسياً في رفاهية المصابين بالحساسية ، مما يسمح لهم باستئناف أنشطتهم خارج نطاق العام. كان الهدف من ابتكاري هو تصميم نظام قادر على توفير تقديرات تركيز حبوب اللقاح الشخصية في الوقت الفعلي في أي مكان وفي أي وقت. يعمل هذا النظام على تسجيل الإحداثيات الديناميكية في الوقت الفعلي لتركيزات حبوب اللقاح المقاسة. على غرار تنسيق تقارير المرور ، فإن الهدف هو تزويد المستخدمين بمعلومات كافية ليكونوا على دراية بالمواقع الخطرة ، والتخطيط وفقًا لذلك ، والحد من اتصالهم بحبوب اللقاح. الأجهزة ليست فقط غير مكلفة في التصنيع والتشغيل ، ولكنها توفر تقارير موثوقة ودقيقة. يعد نظام PollenGPS بمثابة نعمة لرصد تركيز حبوب اللقاح في مجتمعنا ، ومكان العمل ، وحتى كوسيلة مساعدة للبحث العلمي البيئي.

هذه هي المرة الثانية التي أحضر فيها معرض العلوم على مستوى كندا. هذا العام ، فزت بميدالية فضية في فئة كبار السن إلى جانب فرصة تصميم دبوس طية صدر السترة بمعرض العلوم الكندي الواسع لعام 2021! في المعرض ، قابلت العديد من الأشخاص الرائعين تقريبًا! بالنسبة لي ، كانت إحدى أكبر المكافآت هي فرصة التواصل مع هؤلاء المرافقين المذهلين والأقران والعلماء وعامة الناس! على الرغم من أن هذه هي السنة الأخيرة التي أشارك فيها في معارض العلوم للشباب كمشارك ، إلا أنني ما زلت آمل في الاستمرار في المشاركة ، ربما كمتطوع ، في هذه الأحداث الرائعة في السنوات القادمة!

بدخول كلية العلوم بجامعة كولومبيا البريطانية في شهر سبتمبر من هذا العام ، آمل أن أواصل مساعي البحثية. أرغب في ممارسة مهنة كطبيب وعالم في المستقبل. نصيحتي للطلاب المهتمين أيضًا بحضور معرض العلوم هي استكشاف موضوع يثير اهتمامهم حقًا ؛ ومع ذلك ، الأهم من ذلك ، أن نصيحتي للطلاب هي ألا يخافوا من مواجهة التحديات!

هل لديك فكرة رائعة عن كيفية تعزيز العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات من خلال الفن؟ أو تريد أن تأخذ دورة في العلوم خارج المدرسة؟ تقدم بطلب للحصول على إحدى منحنا الدراسية للشباب اليوم!

SCWIST Youth Scholarship helps Vancouver student reach STEM goals

To celebrate our 40th anniversary, we are giving more youth scholarships this year than we ever have previously. Wendy was recently awarded our Youth Skills Development Award, a $500 prize to cover professional development expenses. Read about her experience below!

Hello! My name is Wendy and I am a grade 12 student from the Greater Vancouver Region of British Columbia. I’ve recently come back from an amazing week at the virtual 2021 Canada-Wide Science Fair.

My project is called The PollenGPS III: A Novel Airborne Pollen Monitoring System. More than one-in-six Canadians are impacted by pollen allergies every year; however, with only general reports targeting zones as large as cities updated only every 24-hours, pollen analysis is currently inadequate, and not timely or accurate enough for users to navigate outdoors safely. Although this deficiency is usually overlooked, a clear, well-compiled report can become an essential contributor towards the well-being of allergy-sufferers, allowing them to resume their activities outside year-round. The objective of my innovation was to design a system that is able to provide real-time personal pollen concentration estimates at any location and at any time. This system works to record real-time dynamic coordinates of measured pollen concentrations. Similar to the format of traffic reports, the goal is to provide users with enough information to become aware of hazardous locations, plan accordingly, and limit their pollen contact. The devices are not only inexpensive to manufacture and operate, but provide dependable and accurate reports. The PollenGPS system is a boon for pollen concentration monitoring in our community, workplace, and even as an aid for environmental scientific research.

This is my second time attending the Canada-Wide Science Fair. This year, l won a silver medal in the senior category along with the opportunity to design the 2021 Canada-Wide Science Fair lapel pin! At the fair, I met so many awesome people virtually! To me, one of the biggest rewards was the opportunity to connect with these amazing chaperones, peers, scientists, and the general public! Although this is my last year engaging in youth science fairs as a participant, I still hope to continue to be involved, perhaps as a volunteer, in these spectacular events in the coming years!

Entering the University of British Columbia’s Faculty of Science this September, I hope to continue in my research endeavours. I wish to pursue a career as a physician-scientist in the future. My advice for students who are also interested in attending a science fair would be to explore a topic that really intrigues them; however, most importantly, my advice to students would be to not be afraid of taking up challenges!

Have an amazing idea of how you can promote STEM through art? Or want to take a science course outside of school? Apply for one of our Youth Scholarships today!