量子飞跃职业会议 - 细胞生物学和光化学

加载事件

«所有活动

  • 此活动已经结束。

量子飞跃职业会议 - 细胞生物学和光化学

八月24,2023 @ 5:00 pm - 6:00

自由的
这是一个职业会议活动,旨在让高中女生与 STEM 领域的女性专业人士互动并了解科学职业。

自 1981 年以来,SCWIST 在促进和赋予 STEM 女性权力方面取得了长足进步。 当您注册时,请考虑增加一笔小额捐款来支持我们的项目,这样所有感兴趣的女性和女孩都能看到她们在 STEM 领域的未来可以走向何方。

SCWIST Quantum Leaps 是一个虚拟职业会议,专为对科学、技术、工程和数学 (STEM) 领域的职业感兴趣或好奇的 8-12 年级女孩设计。 这次会议让女孩们得以一窥 STEM 领域的女性在她们的职业生涯中所做的事情。

在这些活动中,女孩们可以结识在各自 STEM 领域取得成功的专业人士,并结识志趣相投、兴趣相投的其他女孩。 本次活动将帮助他们更多地了解自己感兴趣的STEM领域,发现新的STEM领域。 Quantum Leaps 还旨在帮助学生完成高中和高等教育之间的过渡。

这一特殊的量子飞跃活动将重点关注从事细胞生物学和光化学相关职业的女性专业人士。 他们还拥有科学传播和促进学习方面的专业知识。 他们对高中毕业后五年想做的事情有固定的计划吗? 他们如何轻松改变职业重点? 他们在大学时知道自己想从事这些职业吗? 女孩们将有机会与这些女性互动,在活动中获得她们所需的答案。

议程

  • 5:00-5:25:演讲者 1 和问答环节
  • 5:25-5:55:演讲者 2 和问答环节
  • 5 :55-6:00 结论

音箱

瓦什纳维·斯里达尔

Vaishnavi Sridhar 在加拿大不列颠哥伦比亚大学获得了细胞和发育生物学博士学位。 她在攻读博士学位时研究了细胞各部分相互接触所需的蛋白质,以及这些接触与细胞功能和疾病的相关性。 在获得博士学位之前,她在莫哈里印度科学教育与研究学院完成了综合学士-硕士学位,主修生物学。

作为一名科学家,她认为科学应该向所有人开放,并且以吸引人的方式向不同的受众传播科学非常重要。 在这方面,她通过演讲、诗歌、文章、视频和实践科学活动来交流她的研究和科学。 她喜欢写作,并为不同的受众改编生命科学研究文章。 她指导过高中生、本科生和研究生,讨论科学职业、如何申请研究生院、如何定制目标陈述以及工作与生活的平衡。

斯里·加亚特里·塔鲁里

Sree Gayathri Talluri 博士(她/她)是一名光化学家,接受过自组装系统方面的专业培训。 她目前是一名科学家,致力于在 Cytiva 开发先进的核酸疗法。 Sree 获得博士学位。 2022 年获得维多利亚大学化学博士学位。她的研究重点是开发荧光方法来研究药物输送系统中小分子的迁移率。

Sree 热衷于科学传播和推广。 她担任 ComSciCon CAN 的国家和地区组织者,该研讨会旨在为加拿大各地的研究生提供科学传播培训。 在担任维多利亚大学科学界女性采访协调员期间,Sree 致力于扩大温哥华岛科学界女性的声音并突出她们的经历。 她曾担任 BC 女孩指南的 STEM 专家,负责为女孩设计和开发 STEM 实验。 她是加拿大学生生物技术网络的代理指导主任。

更多信息

日期:
2023 年 8 月 24 日
时间:
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
费用:
自由的
网站:
https://www.eventbrite.ca/e/quantum-leaps-career-conference-cell-biology-and-photochemistry-tickets-686747910487
页首

Quantum Leaps Career Conference – Cell Biology and Photochemistry

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Quantum Leaps Career Conference – Cell Biology and Photochemistry

August 24 @ 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Free
This is a career conference event for high school girls to interact with women professionals in STEM and learn about science careers.

Since 1981, SCWIST has made great strides in promoting and empowering women in STEM. When you register, please consider adding a small donation to support our programs so all interested women and girls can see where a future in STEM can take them.

SCWIST Quantum Leaps is a virtual career conference uniquely designed for girls from grade 8-12 interested in or curious to explore careers in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM). This conference gives girls a glimpse into what women in STEM fields do in their careers.

During these events, girls can meet professionals who have been successful in their STEM fields and meet other like-minded girls who have similar aspirations and interests. This event will help them know more about the STEM fields they are interested in and discover new STEM fields. Quantum Leaps also aims to aid students in the transition between high school and higher education.

This particular Quantum Leaps event will focus on women professionals working in careers related to cell biology and photochemistry. They also have expertise in science communication and facilitating learning. Did they have a fixed plan for what they would like to do five years after high school? How do they ease into changing their career focus? Did they know that they wanted to pursue these careers when they were in university? Girls will get the opportunity to interact with these women to get the answers they need at the event.

AGENDA

  • 5:00-5:25: Speaker 1 and Q&A session
  • 5:25-5:55: Speaker 2 and Q&A session
  • 5:55-6:00 Conclusion

SPEAKERS

Vaishnavi Sridhar

Vaishnavi Sridhar completed a PhD in Cell and Developmental Biology from the University of British Columbia, Canada. She studied proteins required for parts of a cell to contact each other and the relevance of these contacts for cellular function and disease for her PhD. She completed an Integrated BS-MS, majoring in Biology from the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Mohali prior to her PhD.

As a scientist, she believes that science should be accessible to all and that it is important to communicate science to diverse audiences in engaging ways. In this regard, she has communicated her research and science in general via presentations, poems, articles, videos, and hands-on science activities. She enjoys writing and has adapted life science research articles for diverse audiences. She has mentored high school, undergraduate and graduate students, discussing careers in science, how to apply to graduate school, how to tailor statements of purpose and work-life balance.

Sree Gayathri Talluri

Dr. Sree Gayathri Talluri (she/her) is a photo-chemist by training with expertise in self-assembled systems. She is currently a Scientist working towards developing advanced nucleic acid therapeutics at Cytiva. Sree graduated with a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Victoria in 2022. Her research focused on developing fluorescence methods to study the mobility of small molecules in drug delivery systems.

Sree is passionate about science communication and outreach. She served as the national and regional organizer of ComSciCon CAN, a workshop designed to provide science communication training to graduate students across Canada. In her previous role as the interview coordinator for UVic Women in Science, Sree worked towards amplifying the voices and highlighting the experiences of women in the scientific community across Vancouver Island. She served as a STEM specialist at BC girl guides, where she worked on designing and developing STEM experiments for girls. She is the acting director of mentorship at the Student Biotechnology Network in Canada.

To top