活动回顾:Quantum Leaps 会议系列——环境与技术职业相遇的地方

由 Akanksha Chudgar 撰写,和 卡米拉·卡斯塔内达, SCWIST 通讯和活动协调员。 编辑 阿什莉·范德普·克兰(Ashley van der Pouw Kraan), SCWIST 通讯和活动协调员。

10 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日,SCWIST 的 青年参与 系举办了一次量子飞跃会议,旨在激发学生考虑 STEM 职业的活动——包括他们以前可能没有听说过的令人兴奋的、不常见的职业。

在 COVID 之前,Quantum Leaps 会议将亲自举行,但随着学校的虚拟化,青年参与部门与他们一起适应了在线形式。 这种调整使团队能够在全球大流行期间继续引入高中女生来探索 STEM 的职业生涯。

这是他们今年的第一场活动 以技术为中心的会议系列.

女性在不同 STEM 领域的职业介绍

Quantum Leaps 会议首先由活动的导师介绍了不同 STEM 领域的职业 - 女性自愿谈论她们的职业,以及她们如何选择自己的职业。 许多优秀的女性报名成为导师,分享她们的工作经验和专业知识。

“我想从所有演讲者的经验中学习,”活动结束后的高中生夏洛特说。

寻找适合职业的过程

与会者了解了导师是如何找到自己的职业的,而找到正确的职业并不总是一条直路。 许多导师谈到他们并不总是确切地知道自己想为自己的职业做什么,但是通过探索他们的选择并消除那些不合适的选择,他们找到了自己最喜欢的工作。 这让高中女生们放心了。

“我喜欢学习不同的职业道路,”活动结束后一位学生参加者说。

技术和环境领域有时如何融合

本次量子飞跃会议的重点是技术和环境领域,以及这两者的融合。 其中一位导师在视频游戏行业拥有多年​​经验。 另一位导师从事水资源管理工作。 其他导师的职业是建造绿色建筑和数据分析。

参加此次活动的女高中生很高兴演讲者来自不同的职业背景,并有不同的观点可以分享。

每位导师还能够与女孩们互动并回答她们的问题,从而创造出更加个性化和相关的体验。

“我喜欢环境和技术之间的联系,并认为它是独一无二的,”另一位学生 Priesha 说。

SCWIST 提供的指导和青年参与

在他们的 Quantum Leaps 活动中,青年参与团队努力引进来自不同职业背景的导师,让女孩们了解她们以前从未听说过并且可能感兴趣的职业。

本次量子飞跃系列即将举行的活动重点关注工程和科学的多样性。 立即注册.

Event Recap: Quantum Leaps Conference Series – Where Environment Meets Tech Careers

Written by Akanksha Chudgar, and Camila Castaneda, SCWIST Communications and Events Coordinator. Edited by Ashley van der Pouw Kraan, SCWIST Communications and Events Coordinator.

On Mar 10, 2022, SCWIST’s Youth Engagement department hosted a Quantum Leaps Conference, an event designed to inspire students to consider STEM careers – including the exciting, uncommon ones that they may not have heard of before.

Pre-COVID, Quantum Leaps conferences would take place in person, but as schools went virtual, the Youth Engagement department adapted to an online format along with them. This adjustment has allowed the team to continue to introduce high school girls to explore careers in STEM during the global pandemic.

This was the first event of the year for their technology-focused conference series.

An introduction to women’s careers in diverse STEM fields

The Quantum Leaps Conference began with an introduction to careers in diverse STEM fields by the event’s mentors — women who volunteered to speak about their professions, and how they chose their careers. Many wonderful women sign up as mentors to share their work experience and expertise.

“I wanted to learn from the experiences of all speakers,” said Charlotte, a high school student after the event.

The process of finding a good fit for a career

The attendees learned how mentors found their careers, and that finding the right career isn’t always a straight path. Many of the mentors spoke about how they didn’t always know exactly what they wanted to do for their careers, but by exploring their options and eliminating those that weren’t the right fit, they found what work they enjoyed the most. This was reassuring for the high school girls.

“I enjoyed learning about different career paths,” said a student attendee after the event.

How tech and environment fields sometimes blend

The focus of this Quantum Leaps Conference was on technology and environment fields, as well as where these two merge. One of the mentors had many years of experience in the video games industry. Another mentor worked with water resource management. The other mentors had careers in constructing green buildings and in data analysis.

The high school girls that attended the event enjoyed the fact that the speakers were from different career backgrounds and had various perspectives to share.

Each of the mentors were also able to interact with the girls and answer their questions, creating a more personal and relatable experience.

“I liked the connection between environment and tech and thought it was unique,” said Priesha, another one of the students.

Mentoring and youth engagement offered by SCWIST

During their Quantum Leaps events, the Youth Engagement team strives to bring in mentors from various career backgrounds so that girls learn about careers that they had never heard of before and might be interested in.

The upcoming event in this Quantum Leaps Series is focused on Diversity in Engineering and Science. Register for it today.