野牛区域科学博览会将学生聚集在一起展示他们的项目

作者 Anju Bajaj博士,天主教学校委员会副校长,细胞病理生理学研究科学家和总理国家教学奖获得者和 卡米拉·卡斯塔内达, SCWIST 通讯和活动协调员。 编辑 阿什莉·范德普·克兰(Ashley van der Pouw Kraan), SCWIST 通讯和活动协调员。

大流行使世界陷入停顿,但 科学秀 必须继续下去! 在过去的五年里,我们鼓励学生在大学里探索科学思想 野牛区域科学博览会 (BRSF).

BRSF 将学生聚集在一起展示他们的项目

BRSF 每年在圣十字学校举行,是一项友好的科学和技术竞赛,数百名学生可以在这里展示他们的科学项目,争夺 15,000 美元的奖金,并有机会参加由 加拿大青年科学.

他们的科学、技术、工程和数学 (STEM) 项目需要学习的各个方面:探究、设计、读写能力、数学和艺术教育。 当学生制作动态海报板时,所有这些技能都会派上用场!

克服全球流行病

由于 COVID-19 大流行,学校不像以前那样了。 许多学生将他们的课程转移到网上,而其他学生则将上课时间花在与社会保持距离的泡泡中。 上网使学习数学等科目比平时更难,乐队和体育更是如此。

大流行将科学博览会项目留在哪里? 持续的限制禁止大多数传统的科学展览。 这让 BRSF 组织者感到,确保年轻科学家有机会展示他们的项目并从独特的机会中受益比以往任何时候都更加重要,例如 SCWIST 的创新冠军赞助,它与 BRSF 计划一起提供指导机会。

过去的野牛区域科学博览会决赛选手。

今年的 BRSF 决赛入围者面临实验室关闭、工作枯竭和研究停滞不前。 尽管如此,他们并没有让大流行阻止他们。 一些学生将他们的工作转向新的方向,而另一些学生则改变了他们的项目重点。 其他人开始关注 COVID-19 本身。 一些人甚至利用车库和备用卧室的空间建造了自己的实验室。

支持青年参与 STEM

BRSF 由一小群敬业的志愿者管理,资金来自当地企业和组织的捐赠和赞助。

如果您居住在曼尼托巴省,请前来支持 13 年 14 月 2022 日至 4 日举行的 Bison 地区科学博览会。BRSF 有才华横溢的学生! 恭喜 12-XNUMX 年级的新晋科学家参加了展会。 令人惊讶的是,尽管在过去一年中遇到了困难,但学生们仍在继续激发和创新。

详细了解如何为促进青年参与 STEM 的举措做出贡献。

不要忘记在社交媒体上关注 SCWIST, Facebook, Twitter, InstagramLinkedIn.

Bison Regional Science Fair brings together students to showcase their projects

Written by Dr. Anju Bajaj, Associate Principal Catholic School Commission, Research Scientist in Cell Pathophysiology and Prime Minister National Teaching Award Recipient and Camila Castaneda, SCWIST Communications and Events Coordinator. Edited by Ashley van der Pouw Kraan, SCWIST Communications and Events Coordinator.

The pandemic brought the world to a halt but the science show must go on! For the past five years, students have been encouraged to explore scientific thought at the Bison Regional Science Fair (BRSF).

BRSF brings together students to showcase their projects

Held annually at Holy Cross School, the BRSF is a friendly science and technology competition where hundreds of students can showcase their science projects as they compete for $15,000 in awards and the opportunity to compete at the Canada-Wide Science Fair held by Youth Science Canada.

Their science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) projects require all aspects of learning: inquiry, design, literacy, math, and art education. And all these skills come in handy when the students are making their dynamic poster boards!

Overcoming a global pandemic

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, school is not like it used to be. Many students had their classes move online while others spent class time in socially distanced bubbles. Moving online made learning subjects like math more difficult than usual, band and sports even more so.

And where did the pandemic leave science fair projects? The ongoing restrictions prohibited most traditional science fairs. This left the BRSF organizers feeling that it was more important than ever to ensure that young scientists had the opportunity to present their projects and benefit from unique opportunities like SCWIST’s Innovation Champion Sponsorship, which provides mentorship opportunities alongside the BRSF program.

Past Bison Regional Science Fairs finalists.

This year’s BRSF finalists faced labs shutting down, jobs drying up and research grinding to a halt. Still, they did not let a pandemic stop them. Some students took their work in new directions while others switched the focus of their projects. Others began focusing on COVID-19 itself. A few even built their own labs, taking advantage of space in their garages and spare bedrooms.

Supporting youth engagement in STEM

The BRSF is run by a very small group of dedicated volunteers and funded by a combination of donations and sponsorships from local businesses and organizations.

If you’re based in Manitoba, please come and support the Bison Regional Science Fair on April 13-14th, 2022. There are talented students on the move at BRSF! Congratulations to the budding scientists in grades 4-12 who placed in the fair. It is amazing to see that, despite the struggles throughout the past year, students continue to inspire and innovate.

Learn more about how you can contribute to initiatives that promote youth engagement in STEM.

Don’t forget to follow SCWIST on social media, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and LinkedIn.