يجمع معرض بيسون الإقليمي للعلوم الطلاب لعرض مشاريعهم

كتب بواسطة د. أنجو باجاج، مساعد رئيس لجنة المدرسة الكاثوليكية ، عالم أبحاث في فسيولوجيا الخلايا المرضية وحائز على جائزة رئيس الوزراء الوطنية للتدريس و كاميلا كاستانيدا، منسق الاتصالات والفعاليات SCWIST. حرره أشلي فان دير بو كران، منسق الاتصالات والفعاليات SCWIST.

لقد أدى الوباء إلى توقف العالم ولكن عرض العلم يجب الاستمرار! على مدى السنوات الخمس الماضية ، تم تشجيع الطلاب على استكشاف الفكر العلمي في معرض بيسون الإقليمي للعلوم (BRSF).

تجمع BRSF الطلاب لعرض مشاريعهم

تُعقد مسابقة BRSF سنويًا في مدرسة Holy Cross ، وهي مسابقة علمية وتكنولوجية ودية حيث يمكن لمئات الطلاب عرض مشاريعهم العلمية أثناء تنافسهم للحصول على جوائز بقيمة 15,000 دولار أمريكي وفرصة للمنافسة في معرض العلوم على مستوى كندا الذي يعقده شباب العلوم كندا.

تتطلب مشاريعهم في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) جميع جوانب التعلم: الاستفسار والتصميم ومحو الأمية والرياضيات والتعليم الفني. وتكون كل هذه المهارات مفيدة عندما يقوم الطلاب بعمل لوحات ملصقات ديناميكية!

التغلب على جائحة عالمي

نظرًا لوباء COVID-19 ، لم تعد المدرسة كما كانت في السابق. جعل العديد من الطلاب فصولهم تنتقل عبر الإنترنت بينما يقضي الآخرون وقتًا في الفصل في فقاعات متباعدة اجتماعيًا. أدى الانتقال عبر الإنترنت إلى جعل مواضيع التعلم مثل الرياضيات أكثر صعوبة من المعتاد ، والفرقة والرياضة أكثر من ذلك.

وأين ترك الوباء مشروعات science fair؟ حظرت القيود المستمرة معظم معارض العلوم التقليدية. جعل هذا منظمي BRSF يشعرون أنه من المهم أكثر من أي وقت مضى ضمان أن تتاح الفرصة للعلماء الشباب لعرض مشاريعهم والاستفادة من الفرص الفريدة مثل رعاية بطل الابتكار SCWIST، والذي يوفر فرصًا للإرشاد جنبًا إلى جنب مع برنامج BRSF.

المرشحون النهائيون لمعارض بيسون العلمية الإقليمية السابقة.

واجه المتأهلون للتصفيات النهائية لـ BRSF هذا العام إغلاق المختبرات ، ونضوب الوظائف وتوقف البحث. ومع ذلك ، لم يتركوا وباءً يوقفهم. أخذ بعض الطلاب عملهم في اتجاهات جديدة بينما حول آخرون تركيز مشاريعهم. بدأ آخرون في التركيز على COVID-19 نفسه. حتى أن قلة منهم قاموا ببناء مختبراتهم الخاصة ، مستفيدين من المساحة الموجودة في المرائب وغرف النوم الاحتياطية الخاصة بهم.

دعم مشاركة الشباب في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات

يتم تشغيل BRSF من قبل مجموعة صغيرة جدًا من المتطوعين المتفانين ويتم تمويله من خلال مجموعة من التبرعات والرعاية من الشركات والمنظمات المحلية.

إذا كنت مقيمًا في مانيتوبا ، فالرجاء الحضور ودعم معرض Bison Regional Science Fair في الفترة من 13 إلى 14 أبريل 2022. هناك طلاب موهوبون يتنقلون في BRSF! ألف مبروك للعلماء الناشئين في الصفوف 4-12 الذين شاركوا في المعرض. إنه لأمر مدهش أن نرى أنه على الرغم من الصعوبات طوال العام الماضي ، يستمر الطلاب في الإلهام والابتكار.

تعرف على المزيد حول كيفية المساهمة في المبادرات التي تعزز مشاركة الشباب في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

لا تنس متابعة SCWIST على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، فيس بوك, تويتر, انستقرام و لينكدين:.

Bison Regional Science Fair brings together students to showcase their projects

Written by Dr. Anju Bajaj, Associate Principal Catholic School Commission, Research Scientist in Cell Pathophysiology and Prime Minister National Teaching Award Recipient and Camila Castaneda, SCWIST Communications and Events Coordinator. Edited by Ashley van der Pouw Kraan, SCWIST Communications and Events Coordinator.

The pandemic brought the world to a halt but the science show must go on! For the past five years, students have been encouraged to explore scientific thought at the Bison Regional Science Fair (BRSF).

BRSF brings together students to showcase their projects

Held annually at Holy Cross School, the BRSF is a friendly science and technology competition where hundreds of students can showcase their science projects as they compete for $15,000 in awards and the opportunity to compete at the Canada-Wide Science Fair held by Youth Science Canada.

Their science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) projects require all aspects of learning: inquiry, design, literacy, math, and art education. And all these skills come in handy when the students are making their dynamic poster boards!

Overcoming a global pandemic

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, school is not like it used to be. Many students had their classes move online while others spent class time in socially distanced bubbles. Moving online made learning subjects like math more difficult than usual, band and sports even more so.

And where did the pandemic leave science fair projects? The ongoing restrictions prohibited most traditional science fairs. This left the BRSF organizers feeling that it was more important than ever to ensure that young scientists had the opportunity to present their projects and benefit from unique opportunities like SCWIST’s Innovation Champion Sponsorship, which provides mentorship opportunities alongside the BRSF program.

Past Bison Regional Science Fairs finalists.

This year’s BRSF finalists faced labs shutting down, jobs drying up and research grinding to a halt. Still, they did not let a pandemic stop them. Some students took their work in new directions while others switched the focus of their projects. Others began focusing on COVID-19 itself. A few even built their own labs, taking advantage of space in their garages and spare bedrooms.

Supporting youth engagement in STEM

The BRSF is run by a very small group of dedicated volunteers and funded by a combination of donations and sponsorships from local businesses and organizations.

If you’re based in Manitoba, please come and support the Bison Regional Science Fair on April 13-14th, 2022. There are talented students on the move at BRSF! Congratulations to the budding scientists in grades 4-12 who placed in the fair. It is amazing to see that, despite the struggles throughout the past year, students continue to inspire and innovate.

Learn more about how you can contribute to initiatives that promote youth engagement in STEM.

Don’t forget to follow SCWIST on social media, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and LinkedIn.