每天庆祝国家 STEM/STEAM 日

由营销协调员 Camila Castaneda 撰写

通过各种以青年为中心的计划,SCWIST 鼓励从幼儿园到 12 年级的女孩探索 STEM(科学、技术、工程和数学)的职业生涯。

这些计划包括研讨会、网络活动、信息会议以及奖学金和奖励。 SCWIST 还领导着一个著名的以 STEM 为重点的 eMentoring 计划,职业女性在该计划中向女孩传授她们在 STEM 中的职业。

为纪念国家 STEM/STEAM 日,以下是我们青年参与团队在过去一年中的影响的一些亮点。

计划和研讨会

通过他们的“STEM 探索研讨会”,青年参与团队覆盖了加拿大各地的 2000 多名青年。 学生们在活动中探索了由 STEM 榜样提供的动手 STEM 活动,例如 科学素养周,由自然科学和工程研究委员会支持。 青年参与团队还接受了来自 STEMedge学院 让未来的 STEM 探索研讨会变得更好。

青年参与团队还制定了各种加拿大范围内的指导计划,增加了对 STEM 职业道路感兴趣的女孩人数。 eMentoring 是一个为期 6 周的计划,将 10-12 年级的学生与 STEM 专业的女性联系起来。 他们每周都会收到一封电子邮件,指导他们的互动并关注各种主题,包括高中毕业后的生活、财务和工作与生活的平衡。 今年,65 名学生参与了这些鼓舞人心的榜样,并探索了许多不同的职业道路! 对该计划的反馈一直在发光。

SCWIST Quantum Leaps 会议

该团队还赞助并举办了以 STEM 为重点的 Quantum Leaps 会议。 他们的 科技系列 为加拿大各地 450 多名高中生带来了对基于技术的职业的认识和兴趣。

奖学金与奖励

青年参与团队有 提供各种奖学金 今年迄今已颁发三项技能发展奖、两项土著青年技能奖和六项青年领导奖。 这些奖项往往是学生需要获得的催化剂 他们的创新项目和想法 or 帮助他们发现他们真正的 STEM 热情所在.

在最需要的时候随时可用

在过去几年中,青年参与计划必须灵活,尤其是在大流行期间在线过渡时。 即使是全球健康危机也无法阻止 SCWIST 青年参与团队向需要指导和支持的学生提供可访问的 STEM 信息。 他们的模式可以很容易地被其他愿意参与教育倡导和公平的非营利组织复制。

在参加了他们的项目后,90% 的学生受访者认为他们对 STEM 中可用的职业机会有了更多的了解,80% 的学生认为他们为做出关于大专院校的决定做好了更好的准备,70% 的学生表示他们现在更有可能追求 STEM 的职业生涯。

SCWIST 的青年参与团队在学校的不同阶段为女孩提供支持,创造机会结识榜样并发现她们以前可能没有考虑过的途径,并让她们探索 STEM 领域所提供的无限可能性。

了解更多详情, www.scwist.ca/programs/ms-infinity/ 或通过以下方式为我们的编程做出贡献 今天捐赠!

Celebrating National STEM/STEAM Day every day

Written by Camila Castaneda, Marketing Coordinator

Through a variety of youth-focused programs, SCWIST encourages girls from kindergarten to grade 12 to explore careers in STEM (science, technology, engineering and math).

The programs include workshops, networking events, informative conferences, as well as scholarships and awards. SCWIST also leads a renowned STEM-focused eMentoring program, where professional women teach girls about their careers in STEM.

In honour of National STEM/STEAM Day, here are some highlights of our Youth Engagement team’s impact over the last year.

Program and Workshops

With their ‘STEM Explore workshops’, the Youth Engagement team reached more than 2000 youth throughout Canada. Students explored hands-on STEM activities delivered by STEM role models during events such as Science Literacy Week, which is supported by Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council. The Youth Engagement team also received free workshop design training from STEMedge Academy to make future STEM Explore workshops even better.

The Youth Engagement team has also developed a variety of Canada-wide mentoring programs which have increased the number of girls interested in journeying down a STEM career path. eMentoring is a 6-week program that connects students in grades 10-12 with professional women in STEM. They are sent weekly emails that guide their interactions and focus on a variety of topics, including life after high school, finances and work-life balance. This year, 65 students engaged with these inspiring role models and explored as many different career pathways! Feedback on the program has been glowing.

SCWIST Quantum Leaps Conferences

The team also sponsors and delivers STEM-focused Quantum Leaps Conferences. Their Technology Series brought awareness and interest in technology-based careers to over 450 high school students across Canada.

Scholarships and Awards

The Youth Engagement team has a variety of scholarships available and has handed out three Skills Development Awards, two Indigenous Youth Skills Awards and six Youth Leadership Awards so far this year. These awards have often been the catalyst students need to get their innovative projects and ideas off the ground or helped them discover where their true STEM passion lies.

Being Available When They Are Needed Most

Over the past few years, Youth Engagement programs have had to be flexible, especially when it came to transitioning online during the pandemic. Not even a global health crisis could stop the SCWIST Youth Engagement team from delivering accessible STEM information to students in need of guidance and support. Their model can be easily replicated by other non-for-profit who would like to engage in advocacy and equity in education.

After participating in their programs, 90 per cent of student respondents felt they knew more about the career opportunities available in STEM, 80 per cent felt better prepared to make decisions about post-secondary school and and 70 per cent said they were now more likely to pursue a career in STEM.

SCWIST’s Youth Engagement team supports girls through different stages in school, creating opportunities to meet role models and discover pathways they may not have considered previously and allowing them to explore the endless possibilities that STEM fields have to offer.

Find out more at www.scwist.ca/programs/ms-infinity/ or contribute to our programming by donating today!