女孩也做科学! 庆祝国际科学界妇女和女孩日

撰文: Anju Bajaj博士 STEM 教育家、天主教学校委员会副校长、细胞病理生理学研究科学家和 PM 国家教学奖获得者和 卡米拉·卡斯塔内达 SCWIST 通讯和活动协调员。

 

今天,来自不同背景的科学家和研究人员必须团结起来对抗 COVID-19。 在这些关键时期,科学和技术正在突破界限并迅速发展。 我们认为同样数量的男性和女性处于这场运动的最前沿。 尽管过去几年 STEM 在性别平等方面有所改善,但与预期数字相比,现实仍然令人失望。 

11 月 XNUMX 日,联合国和全球合作伙伴将在 国际科学中的妇女和女孩日. 这一天的重点是科学和性别平等对于实现国际发展目标都至关重要的现实。 这个庆祝活动非常关注科学领域的成功女性和女孩。

 

女性占全球所有研究人员的不到 30%。

考虑到女性占世界人口的一半,这一统计数据令人震惊。 此外,女性仅占 STEM 课程学习者的 35%。

对此的一些解释可能是期望女性在科学方面做得不好。 该领域的导师和榜样人数减少。 有时,选择“不自然”职业的女性可能会面临敌意。 即使是女性学者也可能会发现她们的工作场所并不总是友善的。 除了几乎完全为女性存在的障碍之外,所有这一切。 例如,不平等的薪酬、不公平的晋升机会以及缺乏通过怀孕或其他个人原因确保工作的政策。

理科学生进行眼部解剖。

可以做什么

期望不采取行动就实现性别平等是不合理的。 向前迈出的一步是在 STEM 中建立意识和庆祝女性。 早在 2015 年,联合国大会就首次推出了国际妇女和女童科学日。其目的是为女性在 STEM 领域建立平等的参与和机会,并赋予女性追求科学抱负的权力。

庆祝活动包含一个年度主题。 去年的主题是“投资于科学领域的女性和女孩,促进包容性绿色增长”。 该主题引起了人们对女性参与科学和性别平等以实现 2030 年可持续发展议程的必要性的关注。 2022 年的主题是“公平、多样性和包容性:水将我们团结在一起”。

 

用 SCWIST 打破障碍

在 SCWIST,我们全年开展各种举措,以促进 STEM 领域的女性发展。 请探索我们的 msinfinty 青年参与计划 提供电子指导、Quantum Leaps 会议和研讨会。 以及看看我们的 STEM 多样性冠军工具包 倡导变革。 如果你还没有,你可以 成为会员 或自愿参加我们的计划。 让我们一起完成工作!

Bajaj 博士和她的学生在科学课上。

教您的孩子所有关于女科学家的知识,并支持您热爱科学的女儿追求 STEM 事业!

今年,您可以通过多种方式安全地庆祝国际妇女和女童科学日。 一种方法是通过 google 研究女性的科学成就,并欣赏女性对科学的参与。 这可以与您自己生活中的女性(例如女儿)一起讨论她们在 STEM 中的抱负,并向她们保证她们将有成功的机会。 您还可以访问 WISEAtlantic.ca网站 参与各种家庭 STEM 活动。 无论您选择庆祝什么,请确保享受自己,并为您通过鼓励向性别平等世界做出改变来支持女性而感到自豪。

Girls do Science Too! Celebrating International Day of Women and Girls in Science

Written by: Dr. Anju Bajaj STEM Educator, Associate Principal Catholic School Commission, Research Scientist in Cell Pathophysiology and PM National Teaching Award Recipient and Camila Castaneda SCWIST Communications and Events Coordinator.

 

Today, scientists and researchers from diverse backgrounds must unite in the fight against COVID-19. During these vital times science and technology are pushing boundaries and evolving rapidly. We figure an equal number of men and women are at the forefront of this movement. Although there has been an improvement with respect to gender equality in STEM over the past years, reality is still underwhelming compared to expected numbers. 

On Feb 11th, the United Nations and partners worldwide will mark the International Day of Women and Girls in Science. The day focuses on the reality that science and gender equality are both vital for the achievement of international development goals. This celebration puts a great focus on successful women and girls in science.

 

Women make up less than 30% of all researchers worldwide.

This statistic is staggering considering women make up half the world’s population. Moreover, women make up only 35% of those studying STEM programs.

Some explanations for this can be expectations that women will not do well in science. The reduced number of mentors and role models in the field. Sometimes women who choose an ‘unnatural’ career can face hostility. Even women academics may find their workplace is not always kind. All this in addition to the barriers that exist almost exclusively for women. For example, unequal pay, unfair chances at promotions and the lack of policies securing a job through pregnancy or other personal reasons.

Science students performing an eye dissection.

What can be done?

It is unreasonable to expect that gender equality will exist without action. A step forward is building awareness and celebrating women in STEM. The United Nations General Assembly first introduced the International Day of Women and Girls in Science back in 2015. The aim was to establish an equal participation and opportunity for women in STEM fields and empower women to pursue their ambition in science.

The celebration embraces an annual theme. Last year’s it was ‘Investment in Women and Girls in Science for Inclusive Green Growth’. This topic brought attention to the necessity of women in science and gender equality to meet the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. The theme of 2022 is “Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion: Water Unites Us”.

 

Break barriers with SCWIST

At SCWIST we run various initiatives year round to advance women in STEM. Please explore our msinfinty youth engagement programs which offer e-mentoring, Quantum Leaps conferences and workshops. As well as take a look at our STEM Diversity Champions toolkit to advocate for change. If you haven’t already you can become a member or volunteer to participate in our programs. Let’s come together to get the work done!

Dr. Bajaj in science class with her students.

Teach your child all about female scientists and support your science-loving daughter in her pursuit of a STEM career!

There are many ways you can celebrate International Day of Women and Girls in Science safely this year. One way is to research women’s scientific achievements through google and appreciate the involvement of women in science. This can be done with women in your own life such as daughters to discuss their ambitions in STEM and reassure them that they will have a chance at success. You can also visit WISEatlantic.ca to engage with various at-home STEM activities. However you choose to celebrate, make sure to enjoy yourself and feel proud that you are supporting women by encouraging change towards a gender equal world.