الفتيات يفعلن العلوم أيضًا! الاحتفال باليوم الدولي للمرأة والفتاة في مجال العلوم

كتب بواسطة: د. أنجو باجاج مدرس العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، ومساعد رئيس لجنة المدرسة الكاثوليكية ، وعالم أبحاث في الفيزيولوجيا المرضية للخلايا ، وحاصل على جائزة التدريس الوطنية PM و كاميلا كاستانيدا SCWIST منسق الاتصالات والفعاليات.

 

اليوم ، يجب على العلماء والباحثين من خلفيات متنوعة أن يتحدوا في مكافحة COVID-19. خلال هذه الأوقات الحيوية ، يدفع العلم والتكنولوجيا الحدود ويتطوران بسرعة. نرى أن عددًا متساويًا من الرجال والنساء هم في طليعة هذه الحركة. على الرغم من حدوث تحسن فيما يتعلق بالمساواة بين الجنسين في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات على مدى السنوات الماضية ، لا يزال الواقع محبطًا مقارنة بالأرقام المتوقعة. 

في 11 فبراير ، ستحتفل الأمم المتحدة وشركاؤها في جميع أنحاء العالم بذكرى اليوم الدولي للمرأة والفتاة في العلوم. يركز اليوم على حقيقة أن العلم والمساواة بين الجنسين أمران حيويان لتحقيق أهداف التنمية الدولية. يركز هذا الاحتفال بشكل كبير على النساء والفتيات الناجحات في مجال العلوم.

 

تشكل النساء أقل من 30٪ من مجموع الباحثين في جميع أنحاء العالم.

هذه الإحصائية مذهلة بالنظر إلى أن النساء يشكلن نصف سكان العالم. علاوة على ذلك ، تشكل النساء 35٪ فقط من أولئك الذين يدرسون برامج العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

يمكن أن تكون بعض التفسيرات لهذا الأمر بمثابة توقعات بأن المرأة لن تحقق أداءً جيدًا في العلوم. انخفاض عدد المرشدين ونماذج يحتذى بها في هذا المجال. في بعض الأحيان ، قد تواجه المرأة التي تختار مهنة "غير طبيعية" العداء. حتى الأكاديميات قد يجدن مكان عملهن ليس لطيفًا دائمًا. كل هذا بالإضافة إلى الحواجز التي تكاد تكون حصرية للنساء. على سبيل المثال ، الأجر غير المتكافئ ، وفرص الترقيات غير العادلة والافتقار إلى السياسات التي تؤمن الوظيفة من خلال الحمل أو لأسباب شخصية أخرى.

طلاب العلوم يقومون بإجراء تشريح للعين.

ماذا يمكن ان يفعل؟

من غير المعقول توقع وجود المساواة بين الجنسين دون اتخاذ إجراء. خطوة إلى الأمام هي بناء الوعي والاحتفاء بالمرأة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. قدمت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة اليوم العالمي للمرأة والفتاة في مجال العلوم لأول مرة في عام 2015. وكان الهدف هو إنشاء مشاركة وفرص متساوية للمرأة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات وتمكين المرأة من متابعة طموحها في العلوم.

الاحتفال يحتضن موضوعا سنويا. العام الماضي كان "الاستثمار في النساء والفتيات في العلوم من أجل نمو أخضر شامل". لفت هذا الموضوع الانتباه إلى ضرورة مشاركة المرأة في العلوم والمساواة بين الجنسين لتحقيق خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030. موضوع عام 2022 هو "المساواة والتنوع والشمول: الماء يوحدنا".

 

اكسر الحواجز باستخدام SCWIST

في SCWIST ، ندير العديد من المبادرات على مدار العام للنهوض بالمرأة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. يرجى استكشاف MSinfinty لدينا برامج مشاركة الشباب التي تقدم التوجيه الإلكتروني ، والمؤتمرات وورش العمل Quantum Leaps. وكذلك إلقاء نظرة على موقعنا مجموعة أدوات أبطال تنوع العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات للدعوة للتغيير. إذا لم تكن قد قمت بذلك بالفعل ، يمكنك ذلك أصبح عضوا أو تطوع للمشاركة في برامجنا. دعنا نجتمع لإنجاز العمل!

الدكتورة باجاج في حصة العلوم مع طلابها.

علمي طفلك كل شيء عن العالمات ودعم ابنتك المحبة للعلم في سعيها للحصول على مهنة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات!

هناك العديد من الطرق التي يمكنك من خلالها الاحتفال باليوم الدولي للمرأة والفتاة في العلوم بأمان هذا العام. تتمثل إحدى الطرق في البحث عن الإنجازات العلمية للمرأة من خلال Google وتقدير مشاركة المرأة في العلوم. يمكن القيام بذلك مع النساء في حياتك الخاصة مثل البنات لمناقشة طموحاتهن في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات وطمأنتهن بأنهن سيحصلن على فرصة للنجاح. يمكنك أيضا زيارة WISEatlantic.ca للمشاركة في أنشطة STEM المختلفة في المنزل. بغض النظر عن اختيارك للاحتفال ، تأكد من الاستمتاع بنفسك والشعور بالفخر بأنك تدعم النساء من خلال تشجيع التغيير نحو عالم المساواة بين الجنسين.

Girls do Science Too! Celebrating International Day of Women and Girls in Science

Written by: Dr. Anju Bajaj STEM Educator, Associate Principal Catholic School Commission, Research Scientist in Cell Pathophysiology and PM National Teaching Award Recipient and Camila Castaneda SCWIST Communications and Events Coordinator.

 

Today, scientists and researchers from diverse backgrounds must unite in the fight against COVID-19. During these vital times science and technology are pushing boundaries and evolving rapidly. We figure an equal number of men and women are at the forefront of this movement. Although there has been an improvement with respect to gender equality in STEM over the past years, reality is still underwhelming compared to expected numbers. 

On Feb 11th, the United Nations and partners worldwide will mark the International Day of Women and Girls in Science. The day focuses on the reality that science and gender equality are both vital for the achievement of international development goals. This celebration puts a great focus on successful women and girls in science.

 

Women make up less than 30% of all researchers worldwide.

This statistic is staggering considering women make up half the world’s population. Moreover, women make up only 35% of those studying STEM programs.

Some explanations for this can be expectations that women will not do well in science. The reduced number of mentors and role models in the field. Sometimes women who choose an ‘unnatural’ career can face hostility. Even women academics may find their workplace is not always kind. All this in addition to the barriers that exist almost exclusively for women. For example, unequal pay, unfair chances at promotions and the lack of policies securing a job through pregnancy or other personal reasons.

Science students performing an eye dissection.

What can be done?

It is unreasonable to expect that gender equality will exist without action. A step forward is building awareness and celebrating women in STEM. The United Nations General Assembly first introduced the International Day of Women and Girls in Science back in 2015. The aim was to establish an equal participation and opportunity for women in STEM fields and empower women to pursue their ambition in science.

The celebration embraces an annual theme. Last year’s it was ‘Investment in Women and Girls in Science for Inclusive Green Growth’. This topic brought attention to the necessity of women in science and gender equality to meet the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. The theme of 2022 is “Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion: Water Unites Us”.

 

Break barriers with SCWIST

At SCWIST we run various initiatives year round to advance women in STEM. Please explore our msinfinty youth engagement programs which offer e-mentoring, Quantum Leaps conferences and workshops. As well as take a look at our STEM Diversity Champions toolkit to advocate for change. If you haven’t already you can become a member or volunteer to participate in our programs. Let’s come together to get the work done!

Dr. Bajaj in science class with her students.

Teach your child all about female scientists and support your science-loving daughter in her pursuit of a STEM career!

There are many ways you can celebrate International Day of Women and Girls in Science safely this year. One way is to research women’s scientific achievements through google and appreciate the involvement of women in science. This can be done with women in your own life such as daughters to discuss their ambitions in STEM and reassure them that they will have a chance at success. You can also visit WISEatlantic.ca to engage with various at-home STEM activities. However you choose to celebrate, make sure to enjoy yourself and feel proud that you are supporting women by encouraging change towards a gender equal world.