专注于技术的 Quantum Leaps 会议系列

作者 珍安·沃森, 青年参与总监和 卡米拉·卡斯塔内达, SCWIST 通讯和活动协调员。

当 50% 的劳动力是女性,但在世界上发展最快和最具创新性的行业之一中,她们只占员工总数的四分之一时,必须采取一些措施。 为了提高对这个问题的认识和兴趣,SCWIST 最近推出了一个以技术为中心的 Quantum Leaps Conference 系列。

女孩和妇女正在失去参与技术突破和为改变生活的应用做出贡献的机会,只有技术才能带来。 最重要的是,当他们真的进入这个领域时,他们的男同事往往不会平等对待他们。

新会议系列

青年参与团队敏锐地意识到缺乏多样性及其对工作场所文化的影响,这一事实通过 SCWISTie 同事最近的经历得到了例证。

受她故事的启发,该团队决定举办他们有史以来第一次以技术为重点的 Quantum Leaps 会议,目的是提高高中女生对技术的认识和兴趣。

我们在 29 月 1 日至 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日期间通过 Zoom 举办了首届活动。 重点是三个主要技术领域:数据科学、软件工程和用户界面/用户体验 (UI/UX) 设计。

29 月 1 日至 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日举行的 Quantum Leaps Tech 会议横幅。

提供多元化的演讲者群体

“[最令人愉快的部分是]欢迎的气氛和随时向鼓舞人心的女性提出任何问题的自由,尤其是具有不同经历和背景的女性,”一位学生与会者说。

此次会议的举办得益于来自各行各业的 14 位技术专业人士的参与。 他们自愿抽出时间分享他们的旅程、知识和指导。 这为我们的 XNUMX 名学生与会者提供了一个安全的空间来提出他们的问题。

学生享受参与

据接受调查的 75% 的参与者称,该活动教授了一些新的东西,并增加了对 STEM 的兴趣。 更重要的是,他们强调参与是最令人愉快的部分也就不足为奇了。

另一位与会者说:“我最喜欢问答环节,因为它提供了演讲者和与会者之间互动的来源。 能够与演讲者交流让我感觉更舒服,也更受欢迎。”

我们的 next 技术量子飞跃大会 是在 10 月 10 日。一个令人惊叹的演讲者小组将谈论“技术与环境职业相遇的地方”。 请分享并保存 12-XNUMX 年级女儿的日期。 特别是对于那些对 STEM 职业感兴趣或好奇探索的人。 当您在这里时,请访问我们的 活动页面 检查即将发生的事情。 

Youth Engagement 继续致力于为女孩提供探索不同 STEM 职业的机会。 我们期待在 2022 年举办下一次科技活动。

在社交媒体上宣传我们的下一次技术量子飞跃会议! 让我们在 STEM 中提高对女孩的认识和倡导。 在 - 找到我们 Facebook, LinkedIn, TwitterInstagram.

Technology focused Quantum Leaps Conference Series

Written by JeAnn Watson, Youth Engagement Director and Camila Castaneda, SCWIST Communications and Events Coordinator.

When 50 percent of the workforce is female, but they only account for a quarter of employees in one of the fastest-growing and most innovative industry in the world, something has to be done. In order to increase awareness and interest in this problem, SCWIST recently launched a technology-focused Quantum Leaps Conference series.

Girls and women are losing opportunities to be a part of technological breakthroughs and contribute to life-altering applications only technology can bring forth. Most importantly, when they do enter the field, their male colleagues often do not treat them equally.

The new conference series

The Youth Engagement team is acutely aware of the lack of diversity and its impact on workplace culture, a fact exemplified through the recent experience of a fellow SCWISTie.

Inspired by her story, the team decided to host their first ever technology focused Quantum Leaps conference, with the aim of increasing awareness and interest for tech in high school girls.

We hosted our inaugural event from Nov 29th to Dec 1st via Zoom. The focus were three major technology domains: data science, software engineering and User Interface / User Experience (UI/UX) design.

Banner for Quantum Leaps Tech conference that took place in Nov 29 - Dec 1.

Offering a diverse group of speakers

“[The most enjoyable part was] the welcoming atmosphere and freedom to ask any questions anytime to the inspiring women, especially of diverse experiences and backgrounds,” said a student attendee.

The conference was possible thanks to the eleven tech professionals from all walks of life that participated. They volunteered their time to share their journey, knowledge and guidance. This created a safe space for our 14 student attendees to come with their questions.

Students enjoy the engagement

The event taught something new and increased interest in STEM, according to 75 per cent of participants surveyed. What’s more, it was no surprise that they highlighted the engagement as the most enjoyable part.

Another attendee said, “I enjoyed the Q&A’s the most because it provided a source of interaction between the speakers and attendees. Being able to communicate with the speakers made me feel more comfortable and welcomed as well.”

Our next Technology Quantum Leaps Conference is on Mar 10. An amazing panel of speakers will be talking about ‘Where Tech Meets Environment Careers’. Please share and save the date for daughters in grade 10-12. Especially for those who are interested in or curious to explore careers in STEM. While you’re here, visit our events page to check what is coming up soon. 

Youth Engagement continues to be committed to providing these opportunities for girls to explore different STEM careers. We look forward to hosting our next tech event in 2022.

Promote our next Technology Quantum Leaps conference on social media! Let’s raise awareness and advocate for girls in STEM. Find us on Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and Instagram.