SCWIST 数字素养奖学金在 TECH 中建立信心、技能和职业机会

作为 SCALE 能力建设项目的一部分,SCWIST 与 灯塔实验室 提供一系列数字素养奖学金,用于 Web 开发、数据分析和 Javascript 前端开发方面的培训。 这些奖学金的重点是为加拿大的新移民和其他代表性不足的群体创造机会,探索科技领域的职业,同时培养他们的数字技能和信心! 以下是受益于这些奖学金的 20 名不同女性群体分享的一些见解。

SCWIST 数字素养奖学金获得者

码头: “在 2021 年夏季,我有幸获得了 SCWIST 数字素养奖学金来学习 Web 开发入门。 Lighthouse Labs 编码学校的培训计划让我从头到尾了解了构建可运行的 Web 应用程序的过程,并让我相信我可以自己构建这样的应用程序。 我们学到的技术包括前端的 HTML 和 CSS,后端的 Ruby 和 Sinatra,管理我们代码的 Git 和 Github,以及创建数据库的 ActiveRecord。 这门课程同时向我展示了开发人员需要知道多少,也让我相信我有能力学习这些技能。 我们的讲师和助教非常鼓舞人心,并确保我们永远不会对材料感到不知所措。”

“我们的班级非常多样化,我觉得作为一名女性和一名新人,我很适合目前进入科技行业的多元化人群。 此外,我对科技行业变化的快节奏有了认识。 作为一名技术新手,变化的步伐让我放心,因为这意味着该领域的其他人也在不断学习! 现在该计划已经结束,我学习 Web 开发技能以转换职业的动力比以往任何时候都强烈,我的方法也更加明智。 感谢 SCWIST 数字素养奖学金和灯塔实验室,我现在对技术作为我可以做出贡献并取得成功的地方有了完全转变的理解! “

金刚砂: “这个项目对我目前的角色有很大帮助。 我能够理解开发人员在谈论什么,并且作为与开发人员一起工作的设计师,这非常有帮助。 在参加这门课程之前,我实际上不知道开发人员对代码做了什么,所以这让我看到了开发人员的一天可能是什么样子,以及如果我决定在技术领域开展业务,我需要了解什么。”

弗拉基米尔卡: “参加数据分析课程后,我的工作前景肯定会增加。 我现在找工作的主要重点是数据分析和商业分析,这个项目帮助我补充以前的数据分析教育和经验。 再次,我要感谢 SCWIST 提供了这个宝贵的机会,它帮助我增加了知识并使我在数据分析领域的技能得到了更新和适销对路。”

查曼: “我在 Lighthouse Labs 的培训经历富有洞察力、引人入胜,让我走出了自己的舒适区,去学习 Web 开发中的工具。 虽然这是一门入门课程,但我从培训中的支持讲师和同组成员的知识和专业知识中汲取了教训。 我绝对觉得有能力进一步独立学习,并且已经了解 Lighthouse Labs 提供的全日制课程选项! 感谢通过 SCWIST 提供的奖学金获得培训体验的机会。”

诺玛: “我非常感谢 SCWIST 奖学金参加 Lighthouse Labs 课程。 这项奖学金使我能够探索科技世界的其他领域,否则我将无法探索。 该奖学金为女性和其他下层代表群体提供了一个学习新领域并推进其技术职业的绝佳机会。 像这样的机会对于帮助继续使这些技术领域多样化非常重要,我很高兴成为如此强大计划的一部分。 感谢 SCWIST 和 Lighthouse Labs! “

詹妮弗: “这种多方面的方法是课程材料的优势之一,因为它支持各种学习风格。 我个人为自己设定的学习这门课程的目标是更深入地了解编码最佳实践并加强我自学的进步。 我不仅实现了这些目标,还获得了更多资源来促进我的持续增长,这门课程确实证明了我走在正确的道路上。”

古拉特: “这是添加到我简历中的一个全新维度,我相信将未来计划的各个点联系起来会很有帮助。 我正计划开始自己的创业公司,我相信这会有所帮助。”

赛马: “我的技能范围扩大了,我学会了一个新软件 Tableau 来处理数据分析。 凭借强大的数据可视化和仪表板,演示文稿更相关,更容易提供给业务人员做出重要的业务决策。 它无疑拓宽了我的前景和技能。 学习经历很棒,我感谢 SCWIST 给我这个机会。”

南希: “我非常感谢这个机会,因为它让我探索了一条不同的职业道路,如果没有这个项目的财政支持,我是不可能做到这一点的。 参加这门课程给我带来了许多挑战,但幸运的是我能够克服所有挑战。 一开始,这似乎是一次令人生畏的经历,因为我认识到自己在编程方面的基本知识和过时知识。 这是一个非常陡峭的学习曲线,我在如此短的时间内接触到了如此多的新概念,以至于我感到不知所措。 . . 但通过耐心和决心,我证明自己仍然可以学习并取得很多成就。”

“现在我知道还有很多东西需要探索,我不仅指的是 Web 开发,还指的是我自己。 这是我继续寻找适合我的工作所需的自尊助推器。 我希望更多的女性有机会获得如此积极和赋权的体验,同时通过职业发展提升技能并改善她们的工作前景。 感谢 SCWIST 和 Lighthouse Labs! “

SCALE 项目经理 Cheryl Kristiansen 的最新消息:非常感谢 SCWIST 前任领导总监 Nasira Aziz 与 Lighthouse Labs 协调该奖学金计划并收集参与者的反馈。 请继续关注未来获得奖学金、职业支持和其他专业发展机会的更多机会。 请务必报名参加我们的 SCWIST 通讯 并在社交媒体渠道上关注@SCWIST。

SCWIST Digital Literacy Scholarships Build Confidence, Skills & Career Opportunities in TECH

As part of the SCALE project to build capacity, SCWIST partnered with Lighthouse Labs to offer a series of digital literacy scholarships for training in web development, data analytics and front-end development with Javascript. These scholarships focused on creating opportunities for newcomers to Canada and other underrepresented groups to explore careers in TECH, while building their digital skills and confidence! Here are just a few insights shared by the diverse group of 20 women that benefited from these scholarships.

SCWIST Digital Literacy Scholarship Recipients

Marina: “In the Summer 2021, I was lucky enough to receive a SCWIST Digital Literacy Scholarship to study Intro to Web Development. The training program at the Lighthouse Labs coding school gave me a start-to-finish look at what goes into building a working web application, and the confidence that I can build such an app myself. The technologies we learned included HTML and CSS for the front-end, Ruby with Sinatra on the back-end, Git and Github to manage our code, and ActiveRecord to create a database. This course simultaneously showed me how much a developer needs to know, and also gave me confidence that I am capable of learning those skills. Our instructors and teaching assistant were incredibly encouraging and made sure we never felt overwhelmed by the material.”

“Our class was very diverse, and I felt that as a woman and a newcomer I would fit right in with the diverse pool of people currently entering into tech. In addition, I gained an appreciation of the fast pace at which the tech industry is changing. The pace of change is reassuring to me as a new techie, because it means everyone else in the field is also constantly learning! Now that the program is over, my motivation to learn web development skills to switch career is stronger than ever, and my approach is more informed. Thanks to the SCWIST Digital Literacy Scholarship and Lighthouse Labs, I now have a completely transformed understanding of tech as a place where I can contribute and succeed! “

Emery: “This program has greatly helped me in my current role. I am able to understand what developers are talking about and as a designer working alongside developers this is extremely helpful. Prior to taking this course, I actually had no idea what a developer did with code and so this opened my eyes to what a developer’s day may look like and what I would need to understand if I decided to start a business in tech.”

Vladimirka: “My job prospects definitely increased after taking the program about Data Analytics. My main focus in looking for work now are Data Analytics and Business Analysis and this program helped me in complementing previous education and experience with data analytics. Again, I want to thank SCWIST for this valuable opportunity that helped me increase my knowledge and make my skills in the area of data analysis updated and marketable.“

Charmaine: “My training experience at Lighthouse Labs was insightful, engaging, and pushed me outside my comfort zone to learn tools in web development. Although it was an introductory class, I gleaned from the knowledge and expertise of the supportive instructors and fellow cohort members in the training. I definitely feel equipped to further pursue learning independently, and have been made aware of the Full-Time program options offered at Lighthouse Labs! Thankful for the opportunity of the training experience through the scholarship offered by SCWIST.”

Norma: “I am very grateful for the SCWIST scholarship to take a Lighthouse Labs course. This scholarship allowed me to explore other areas of the tech world that I wouldn’t have been able to otherwise. This scholarship provided a great opportunity for women and other under representative groups to learn a new field and advance in their tech careers. Opportunities like this are extremely important to help continue to diversify these tech fields and I am grateful to have been a part of such a powerful initiative. Thank you SCWIST and Lighthouse Labs! “

Jennifer: “This multi-faceted approach was one of the strengths of the course material as it supports a variety of learning styles. The goal I personally set for myself in taking this course was to get more insight into coding best practices and to reinforce my self-learned progress. Not only did I achieve these goals, I also gained more resources to enhance my continued growth and this course really validated that I’m on the right path.”

Qurrat: “This was an absolutely new dimension to add to my resume and I am sure it would be helpful to connect the dots of future plans. I am planning to start my own startup and I am sure this would be helpful in that.”

Saima: “My skillset has broadened and I learned a new software, Tableau to tackle data analysis. With powerful data visualization and dashboards, presentations are more relevant and easy to give to the business people to make important business decisions. It definitely broadened my prospects and skillset. The learning experience was great and I am thankful to SCWIST for this opportunity.”

Nancy: “I am very grateful for this opportunity as it allowed me to explore a different career pathway, which I would not have done without the financial support from this program. Taking this course presented many challenges for me, but fortunately I was able to overcome them all. In the beginning this seemed like a daunting experience as I recognized my basic and outdated knowledge in programming. It was a very steep learning curve, and I was exposed to so many new concepts in such a short time, that I felt overwhelmed . . . but through patience and determination I prove myself I can still learn and achieve many things.”

“Now I know that there is so much more to explore, and I am not only referring to Web Development, but also about myself. This was the self-esteem booster I needed to continue looking for the right job for me. I hope many more women get the opportunity to go through such a positive and empowering experience while upskilling and improving their job prospects through professional development. Thank you SCWIST and Lighthouse Labs! “

Update from SCALE Project Manager Cheryl Kristiansen: A big thanks to Nasira Aziz, previous Director of Leadership at SCWIST, for coordinating this scholarship program with Lighthouse Labs and collecting feedback from participants. Stay tuned for more opportunities in the future to access scholarships, career supports and other professional development opportunities. Please be sure to sign up for our SCWIST newsletter and follow @SCWIST on social media channels.