在野牛区域科学博览会上指导崭露头角的年轻科学家!

作者 珍安·沃森, 青年参与总监和 Anju Bajaj博士 天主教学校委员会副校长、细胞病理生理学研究科学家和 PM 国家教学奖获得者。

每年,Anju Bajaj Manitoba 分会负责人博士都会独自承担组织 Bison 地区科学博览会 (BRSF) 的艰巨任务。 Bajaj 博士说,BRSF 是一个“激发年轻人发现他们在这些 STEM 领域的潜力,吸引聪明勤奋的学生将他们的伟大想法转化为他们可以带到更大世界的倡议的活动”。

它通常会吸引曼尼托巴省的 400 多名学生来计划、设计和执行他们的科学项目,以便在加拿大科学博览会上占有一席之地。 除此之外,Anju 还指导学生完成他们的科学项目,尽管他不是这些项目所涉及的广泛领域的专家。 SCWIST 钦佩并支持她的努力。 所以今年,我们更进一步。

SCWIST 现在是 Bison Science Fair 的创新冠军赞助商,我们的青年参与团队与 BRSF 联手设计了一个特殊的电子指导计划,以满足科学博览会学生参与者的需求。

7 名 9 至 21 年级的学生与 STEM 导师配对,以指导他们开发项目。 我们尽最大努力将学员与 STEM 女性专业人士配对,她们是项目相关领域的专家,或者可以将他们的项目提升到一个新的水平。 该计划从 4 月 XNUMX 日到 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日进行。在此期间,导师可以指导学生完成项目构想、开展研究、完成项目并展示他们的发现。

这轮辅导有望成为一次充实的体验,因为导师会指导一位年轻的女科学家完成他们的科学博览会之旅。

学生受训者给他们的导师写信说:“谢谢你这样做。 我很高兴我有这个选择,因为我觉得我真的可以使用帮助。”

另一位学生写道:“我很感激你考虑成为我的导师。 有人能够教我一些我感兴趣的东西,这让我很放心。我希望我们合作的结果是成功的。”

Mentoring Budding Young Scientists in the Bison Regional Science Fair!

Written by JeAnn Watson, Youth Engagement Director and Dr. Anju Bajaj Associate Principal Catholic School Commission, Research Scientist in Cell Pathophysiology and PM National Teaching Award Recipient.

Each year, Dr. Anju Bajaj Manitoba Chapter Lead, single handedly takes on the monumental task of organizing the Bison Regional Science Fair (BRSF). The BRSF is an event that “inspires youth to discover their potential in these STEM fields, attracting bright hardworking students to grow their great ideas into initiatives they can take into the larger world,” said Dr. Bajaj.

It typically attracts over 400 students across the Manitoba province to plan, design and execute their science projects for a spot at the Canada Wide Science Fair. To add to this, Anju also mentors students on their science projects, despite not being an expert in the broad range of fields that these projects touch. SCWIST has admired and supported her efforts. So this year, we take it one step further.

SCWIST is now an Innovation Champion sponsor of the Bison Science Fair, and our Youth Engagement team has joined forces with BRSF to design a special e-mentoring program that will meet the needs of the science fair student participants.

Eleven grade 7 to 9 students have been paired with STEM mentors to guide them as they develop their projects. We did our best to pair mentees with STEM female professionals who are experts in fields related to their projects or that can take their projects to the next level. The program is running from Feb 21 to Apr 4. During this time mentors can guide students as they finalize their project ideas, carry out their research, complete their projects, and present their findings.

This mentoring round promises to be a fulfilling experience as mentors guide a young female budding scientist through their science fair journey.

Student mentees have sent letters to their mentor saying, “thank you for doing this. I am glad I have had this option because I feel like I could really use the help.”

Another student wrote, “I appreciate that you have considered being my mentor. It’s reassuring that someone is able to teach me something I’m interested in. I hope that the result of our collaboration is successful.”