安娜·斯托卡斯(Anna Stukas):推动多元化发展

By 阿什莉·奥泽尔(Ashley Orzel) (ashleyorzel.com)
图片来源:Shannon Halliday

研究可以从字面上逆转气候变化的技术可以激发灵感 安娜·斯托卡斯(Anna Stukas) 每天上班。 作为碳工程公司业务发展副总裁,她在一项技术的商业化中发挥了关键作用,该技术从大气中捕获二氧化碳,该技术将用于生产超低碳燃料。 安娜的工作获得了密涅瓦基金会(Minerva Foundation)的“女性慈善奖”(Fomen In™Energy)慈善奖和 2020年温哥华40位XNUMX岁以下杰出企业奖.

在维多利亚大学学习机械工程时,安娜是班上少数几个女性之一。 最初,她不愿加入“妇女参与任何组织”组织,并参与使她与众不同或与男性同龄人分离的任何事情。 但是随着她事业的发展,她遇到了人生的障碍,直到现在,她甚至都不知道。

“一桶冷水

安娜在一个“书呆子家庭”中长大,习惯于问妈妈何时需要重新接线或为她的热力学功课提供帮助。 安娜的母亲是纽芬兰纪念大学工程专业毕业的第一位女性。 首先,安娜的母亲的大学室友继续成为一名女宇航员。 在安娜看来,这些职业选择似乎完全是在可能性范围内。

“当我将参考框架与[母亲]经历的事情进行比较时,我正坐在那里说,'好吧,我们已经到了,我们受到欢迎。 还有什么需要做的? 从这个意义上说,这也使我在应对一种文化的逆境中没有足够的能力,因为在这种文化中,挑战现状并没有像过去一样受到欢迎。”她说。

“有人告诉我-一生和整个职业-'只要努力工作,您就可以做任何想做的事,'就像是把一桶冷水泼在水面之上。我。”

她意识到自己可以从与具有类似经验的人一起参与组织工作中学到一些东西,并从中受益。

志愿服务塑造的领导力

在安娜寻求领导者成长的指导之际,有机会加入SCWIST董事会(2009年为Grants副总裁),随后成为SCWIST总裁。 在2010年至2012年担任总统期间,SCWIST组织了里程碑30th 周年纪念活动,包括在温哥华市中心的四个季节的盛大晚宴。 当晚将SCWIST三十年的历史带入了一个房间,并认可了SCWIST创始人的工作-安娜称其为“不容忽视的力量”。

 她在提及SCWIST的创始人时说:“在拥有男性主导的领域的同时,也要拥有坚强的个性和坚定的信念,就无法成为开拓者。”

安娜不仅被STEM中坚强的女性所包围,具有令人惊叹的背景和故事,而且她还领导着一个由不同观点的各个领域的人组成的社区。 她学会了如何成为自己想成为的领导者的类型–一种善解人意并能够激发个人动机同时将人们团结在一起的领导者。 这些经历是她自愿担任SCWIST主席的时间所独有的,她认为,从每天上班的经历中,她并不会得到发展。

“当您领导一个志愿者组织时,人们会在那里,因为他们想成为。 他们之所以在这里,是因为他们选择投入时间。他们的动机可能千差万别。”她说。

“您领导志愿组织的[成员]的方式需要很大的灵活性,外交和风度; 这些都是我必须努力发展的所有东西。”

公平倡议需要不同的观点,包括男人的声音

安娜走进房间毫无疑问并分享自己的意见,但她知道并不是每个人都那样。 在创造一个可以吸引与她不同的人的空间方面,他很自觉,这是她在职业生涯中获得的宝贵经验。 安娜说,无论是在志愿者组织中还是为气候行动开发改变游戏规则的技术,Anna都说,要想取得重大突破,就必须将多元化的观点与包容性结合起来,让这些声音让人感到舒服地说出来。

“一大堆志同道合的人围坐在一张彼此同意的桌子旁,并没有发明什么伟大的东西。”

安娜·斯托卡斯(Anna Stukas) 碳工程业务发展副总裁

安娜说,创新和进步的基本要素是多样性。 但是,多样性只是有效的,只有包容才能带来公平。

对于安娜来说,在平等倡议中让各方参加会议至关重要–这意味着也邀请男人参加会议。

她说:“如果男性占工程行业的80%以上,那么如果您只涉及不到表行业的20%,就永远不会动用多样性。”

来自的文章 “哈佛商业评论” 描述了让男性盟友参与性别融入计划的价值,这些组织中有96%的组织看到了进步-而只有30%的男性没有参与的组织。

Anna指出,SCWIST理解这一需求,因为该组织代表着促进,鼓励和鼓舞女性的意愿,但它并不是一个仅由女性组成的组织。 她认为,包容性多样性对于SCWIST的成功和长寿至关重要。

SCWIST一项将男女团结起来的倡议是 成为可能。 免费的在线平台和支持网络将导师和受训者连接起来,以发展一系列技能,以扩大他们作为STEM专业人士的知识。

从技术到工作场所的多样性,社会正在发展。 尽管我们已经走了很长一段路,但即将出现更多挑战和突破。 安娜说:“没有人会碰上水晶球,但重要的是要对机会说“是”,参与进来,并邀请无数不同的声音出现在桌子上。”

阿什莉·奥泽尔(Ashley Orzel) 是一位自由内容专家,专注于写作,编辑,网站策略和多媒体制作。 对阿什利有疑问吗? 拜访她 官网 或通过Twitter与她联系 @ashleyjaye.

Anna Stukas: Driving Progress with Diversity

By Ashley Orzel (ashleyorzel.com)
Photo Credit: Shannon Halliday

Working on a technology that could literally reverse climate change inspires Anna Stukas to come into work every single day. As Vice President of Business Development at Carbon Engineering, she played a key role in the commercialization of a technology that captures carbon dioxide from the atmosphere, which will be used to produce ultra-low carbon fuels. Anna’s work has been recognized by the Minerva Foundation’s Women In™ Energy Award for Philanthropy and 2020 Business in Vancouver’s Forty Under 40 Award.

While studying Mechanical Engineering at the University of Victoria, Anna was one of a handful of women in her class. Initially, she was hesitant to join ‘women in anything’ organizations and to get involved in anything that would make her different or separate her from male peers. But as she progressed in her career, she ran into barriers that, up to that point in her life, she had no idea even existed.

The “bucket of cold water

Growing up in a “family full of nerds,” Anna was used to asking her mother when she needed something re-wired or for help with her thermodynamics homework. Anna’s mother was the first woman to graduate from the engineering program at Memorial University in Newfoundland. To boot, Anna’s mother’s college roommate went on to become a female astronaut. To Anna, these career options seemed completely in the realm of possibility.

“When I compared my frame of reference to what [my mother] had gone through, I was sitting there going, ‘Well, we’ve arrived, we’re welcome. What else needs to be done?’ In that sense, it also made me somewhat ill-equipped to deal with the adversity that came with navigating a culture where challenging the status quo wasn’t met with the same welcome I had experienced in the past,” she says.

“As someone who – my entire life and my entire career – had been told, ‘You can do anything you put your mind to, as long as you work hard enough,’ it was like this bucket of cold water being thrown over top of me.”

She realized that she could learn something and benefit from being involved in an organization with people who had shared similar experiences.

Leadership shaped by volunteerism

At a time when Anna was looking for guidance on how to grow as a leader, the opportunity to join the SCWIST Board (as VP Grants in 2009), and subsequently become SCWIST President presented itself. While President from 2010-2012, SCWIST organized the milestone 30th anniversary activities, including a sold-out gala at the Four Seasons in downtown Vancouver. The evening brought three decades of SCWIST history into one room and recognized the work of SCWIST’s founders – who Anna calls “a force to be reckoned with.”

 “You don’t get to be a trailblazer in male-dominated fields without also having a fierce personality and a whole lot of conviction,” she says in reference to SCWIST’s founders.

Anna was not only surrounded by strong women in STEM with amazing backgrounds and stories, but she was also leading a community of people all across the spectrum with different perspectives. She learned how to become the type of leader she wanted to be – one that was empathic and able to inspire individual motivations while bringing people together. These experiences were unique to her time volunteering as SCWIST President and were something that she believes she wouldn’t have developed just from going to work on a day-to-day basis.

“When you’re leading a volunteer organization, people are there because they want to be. They’re there because they’re choosing to put their time in. Their motivations can vary widely,” she says.

“The way that you lead [members] for a volunteer organization requires a lot of flexibility and diplomacy and grace; those are all things that I’ve had to work to develop over time.”

Equity initiatives require diverse perspectives – including men’s voices

Anna has no problem walking into a room and sharing her opinion, but she knows not everyone is like that. Being cognizant in creating a space that draws people out who are different than her was a valuable lesson she has carried through her career. Whether it’s in a volunteer organization or developing a game-changing technology for climate action, Anna says diverse perspectives combined with inclusion, where those voices feel comfortable speaking out, are imperative for big breakthroughs.

“Nothing great was invented by a whole bunch of like-minded people sitting around a table agreeing with each other.”

Anna Stukas, VP of Business Development, Carbon Engineering

A fundamental component of innovation and progress, according to Anna, is diversity. However, diversity is only effective and can only lead to equity if it comes with inclusion.

For Anna, bringing all parties to the table is crucial in equity initiatives – which means inviting men to the table as well.

“If men make up over 80% of the engineering profession, you’re never going to move the dial on diversity if you’re only involving less than 20% of the profession the table,” she says.

An article from Harvard Business Review describes the value of engaging male allies in gender inclusion programs where 96% of these organizations see progress — compared to only 30% of organizations where men are not engaged.

Anna points out that SCWIST understands this need, as the organization stands for promoting, encouraging and inspiring women, yet it isn’t an organization that is meant to solely comprise women. She believes that inclusive diversity has been imperative to SCWIST’s success and longevity.

One SCWIST initiative that brings women and men together is Make Possible. The free online platform and support network connects mentors and mentees to develop a range of skills to broaden their knowledge as a STEM professional.

From technology to diversity in the workplace, society is evolving. While we’ve come a long way, there are further challenges and breakthroughs on the horizon. “Nobody has a crystal ball,” says Anna, “but it’s important to say yes to opportunities, get involved and invite a myriad of different voices to the table.”

Ashley Orzel is a freelance content specialist with a focus on writing, editing, website strategy and multimedia production. Have questions for Ashley? Visit her website or contact her via Twitter @ashleyjaye.