آنا ستوكاس: قيادة التقدم مع التنوع

By اشلي اورزيل (ashleyorzel.com)
مصدر الصورة: شانون هاليداي

يلهم العمل على تقنية يمكنها عكس تغير المناخ حرفياً آنا ستوكاس للدخول إلى العمل كل يوم. بصفتها نائب رئيس تطوير الأعمال في Carbon Engineering ، لعبت دورًا رئيسيًا في التسويق التجاري لتقنية تلتقط ثاني أكسيد الكربون من الغلاف الجوي ، والتي سيتم استخدامها لإنتاج وقود منخفض الكربون للغاية. تم الاعتراف بعمل آنا من قبل مؤسسة Minerva Foundation's Women In ™ Award للعمل الخيري و 2020 Business in Vancouver's Forty Under 40 Award.

أثناء دراستها للهندسة الميكانيكية في جامعة فيكتوريا ، كانت آنا واحدة من قلة من النساء في فصلها. في البداية ، كانت مترددة في الانضمام إلى منظمات "النساء في أي شيء" والمشاركة في أي شيء من شأنه أن يجعلها مختلفة أو تفصلها عن أقرانها من الذكور. ولكن مع تقدمها في حياتها المهنية ، واجهت حواجز ، حتى تلك المرحلة من حياتها ، لم تكن لديها فكرة حتى عن وجودها.

دلو الماء البارد"

نشأت آنا في "عائلة مليئة بالمهووسين" ، وقد اعتادت أن تسأل والدتها عندما تحتاج إلى إعادة توصيل أسلاك أو مساعدتها في واجباتها المتعلقة بالديناميكا الحرارية. كانت والدة آنا أول امرأة تتخرج من برنامج الهندسة في جامعة ميموريال في نيوفاوندلاند. للتمهيد ، واصلت رفيقة والدة آنا في الكلية أن تصبح رائدة فضاء. بالنسبة لآنا ، بدت هذه الخيارات الوظيفية في عالم الاحتمالات تمامًا.

"عندما قارنت إطاري المرجعي بما مرت به [والدتي] ، كنت جالسًا هناك ،" حسنًا ، لقد وصلنا ، نرحب. ما الذي يجب فعله أيضًا؟ وبهذا المعنى ، فقد جعلني ذلك أيضًا غير مهيأ إلى حد ما للتعامل مع المحن التي جاءت مع التنقل في ثقافة لم يقابل فيها تحدي الوضع الراهن بنفس الترحيب الذي عشته في الماضي ، "كما تقول.

"باعتباري شخصًا - قيل لي - طوال حياتي وكل مسيرتي المهنية - ،" يمكنك أن تفعل أي شيء تضعه في ذهنك ، طالما أنك تعمل بجد بما فيه الكفاية "، كان الأمر مثل دلو من الماء البارد يتم إلقاؤه فوق أنا."

أدركت أنها يمكن أن تتعلم شيئًا وتستفيد من المشاركة في منظمة مع أشخاص شاركوا تجارب مماثلة.

القيادة التي شكلها العمل التطوعي

في الوقت الذي كانت فيه آنا تبحث عن إرشادات حول كيفية النمو كقائدة ، قدمت فرصة الانضمام إلى مجلس SCWIST (بصفتها VP Grants في عام 2009) ، ثم أصبحت بعد ذلك رئيسة SCWIST. أثناء رئاسته من 2010-2012 ، نظم SCWIST الإنجاز 30th أنشطة الذكرى السنوية ، بما في ذلك حفل مباع في فندق فور سيزونز في وسط مدينة فانكوفر. جلبت الأمسية ثلاثة عقود من تاريخ SCWIST إلى غرفة واحدة وتعرفت على عمل مؤسسي SCWIST - الذين تسميهم آنا "قوة لا يستهان بها".

 تقول في إشارة إلى مؤسسي SCWIST: "لا يمكنك أن تكون رائدًا في المجالات التي يسيطر عليها الذكور دون أن يكون لديك أيضًا شخصية شرسة وقناعة كبيرة".

لم تكن آنا محاطة فقط بنساء قويات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات بخلفيات وقصص مذهلة ، ولكنها كانت أيضًا تقود مجتمعًا من الأشخاص من جميع الأطياف بمنظورات مختلفة. لقد تعلمت كيف تصبح نوع القائد الذي تريد أن تكونه - قائد متعاطف وقادر على إلهام الدوافع الفردية أثناء جمع الناس معًا. كانت هذه التجارب فريدة من نوعها في وقت عملها التطوعي كرئيسة لـ SCWIST وكانت شيئًا تعتقد أنها لم تكن لتطوره فقط من الذهاب إلى العمل على أساس يومي.

"عندما تقود منظمة تطوعية ، يكون الناس هناك لأنهم يريدون ذلك. إنهم موجودون لأنهم يختارون قضاء وقتهم فيها. ويمكن أن تختلف دوافعهم على نطاق واسع ، "كما تقول.

"الطريقة التي تقود بها [الأعضاء] في منظمة تطوعية تتطلب الكثير من المرونة والدبلوماسية والنعمة ؛ هذه هي كل الأشياء التي كان علي العمل لتطويرها بمرور الوقت ".

تتطلب مبادرات الإنصاف وجهات نظر متنوعة - بما في ذلك أصوات الرجال

ليس لدى آنا مشكلة في الدخول إلى الغرفة ومشاركة رأيها ، لكنها تعرف أن ليس كل شخص على هذا النحو. كان إدراكها في إنشاء مساحة تجذب الأشخاص المختلفين عنها درسًا قيمًا حملته خلال حياتها المهنية. سواء كان ذلك في منظمة تطوعية أو في تطوير تقنية لتغيير قواعد اللعبة للعمل المناخي ، تقول آنا إن وجهات النظر المتنوعة جنبًا إلى جنب مع الإدماج ، حيث تشعر تلك الأصوات بالراحة في التحدث علانية ، ضرورية لتحقيق اختراقات كبيرة.

"لم يخترع أي شيء رائع من قبل مجموعة كاملة من الأشخاص المتشابهين في التفكير الجالسين حول طاولة يتفقون مع بعضهم البعض."

آنا ستوكاس نائب رئيس تطوير الأعمال ، هندسة الكربون

يعتبر التنوع مكونًا أساسيًا للابتكار والتقدم. ومع ذلك ، فإن التنوع لا يكون فعالاً إلا إذا كان مصحوبًا بالشمول.

بالنسبة لآنا ، يعد جلب جميع الأطراف إلى طاولة المفاوضات أمرًا بالغ الأهمية في مبادرات الإنصاف - مما يعني دعوة الرجال أيضًا إلى طاولة المفاوضات.

تقول: "إذا كان الرجال يشكلون أكثر من 80٪ من مهنة الهندسة ، فلن تقوم أبدًا بتحريك الاتصال على التنوع إذا كنت تشارك فقط أقل من 20٪ من المهنة على الطاولة".

مقال من هارفارد بيزنس ريفيو يصف قيمة إشراك الحلفاء الذكور في برامج إدراج النوع حيث يرى 96٪ من هذه المنظمات تقدمًا - مقارنة بـ 30٪ فقط من المنظمات التي لا يشارك فيها الرجال.

تشير آنا إلى أن SCWIST تتفهم هذه الحاجة ، حيث أن المنظمة تعمل على تعزيز وتشجيع وإلهام النساء ، ومع ذلك فهي ليست منظمة تهدف إلى تضم النساء فقط. وهي تعتقد أن التنوع الشامل كان ضروريًا لنجاح SCWIST وطول عمرها.

إحدى مبادرات SCWIST التي تجمع النساء والرجال معًا هي جعل ذلك ممكنا. تربط المنصة وشبكة الدعم المجانية عبر الإنترنت الموجهين والمتدربين لتطوير مجموعة من المهارات لتوسيع معرفتهم كمحترفين في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

من التكنولوجيا إلى التنوع في مكان العمل ، يتطور المجتمع. بينما قطعنا شوطا طويلا ، هناك المزيد من التحديات والاختراقات في الأفق. تقول آنا: "لا أحد لديه كرة بلورية ، ولكن من المهم أن تقول نعم للفرص ، والمشاركة ودعوة عدد لا يحصى من الأصوات المختلفة إلى الطاولة."

اشلي اورزيل متخصص محتوى مستقل مع التركيز على الكتابة والتحرير واستراتيجية مواقع الويب وإنتاج الوسائط المتعددة. هل لديك أسئلة لاشلي؟ زرها موقع الكتروني أو تواصل معها عبر تويتر تضمين التغريدة.

Anna Stukas: Driving Progress with Diversity

By Ashley Orzel (ashleyorzel.com)
Photo Credit: Shannon Halliday

Working on a technology that could literally reverse climate change inspires Anna Stukas to come into work every single day. As Vice President of Business Development at Carbon Engineering, she played a key role in the commercialization of a technology that captures carbon dioxide from the atmosphere, which will be used to produce ultra-low carbon fuels. Anna’s work has been recognized by the Minerva Foundation’s Women In™ Energy Award for Philanthropy and 2020 Business in Vancouver’s Forty Under 40 Award.

While studying Mechanical Engineering at the University of Victoria, Anna was one of a handful of women in her class. Initially, she was hesitant to join ‘women in anything’ organizations and to get involved in anything that would make her different or separate her from male peers. But as she progressed in her career, she ran into barriers that, up to that point in her life, she had no idea even existed.

The “bucket of cold water

Growing up in a “family full of nerds,” Anna was used to asking her mother when she needed something re-wired or for help with her thermodynamics homework. Anna’s mother was the first woman to graduate from the engineering program at Memorial University in Newfoundland. To boot, Anna’s mother’s college roommate went on to become a female astronaut. To Anna, these career options seemed completely in the realm of possibility.

“When I compared my frame of reference to what [my mother] had gone through, I was sitting there going, ‘Well, we’ve arrived, we’re welcome. What else needs to be done?’ In that sense, it also made me somewhat ill-equipped to deal with the adversity that came with navigating a culture where challenging the status quo wasn’t met with the same welcome I had experienced in the past,” she says.

“As someone who – my entire life and my entire career – had been told, ‘You can do anything you put your mind to, as long as you work hard enough,’ it was like this bucket of cold water being thrown over top of me.”

She realized that she could learn something and benefit from being involved in an organization with people who had shared similar experiences.

Leadership shaped by volunteerism

At a time when Anna was looking for guidance on how to grow as a leader, the opportunity to join the SCWIST Board (as VP Grants in 2009), and subsequently become SCWIST President presented itself. While President from 2010-2012, SCWIST organized the milestone 30th anniversary activities, including a sold-out gala at the Four Seasons in downtown Vancouver. The evening brought three decades of SCWIST history into one room and recognized the work of SCWIST’s founders – who Anna calls “a force to be reckoned with.”

 “You don’t get to be a trailblazer in male-dominated fields without also having a fierce personality and a whole lot of conviction,” she says in reference to SCWIST’s founders.

Anna was not only surrounded by strong women in STEM with amazing backgrounds and stories, but she was also leading a community of people all across the spectrum with different perspectives. She learned how to become the type of leader she wanted to be – one that was empathic and able to inspire individual motivations while bringing people together. These experiences were unique to her time volunteering as SCWIST President and were something that she believes she wouldn’t have developed just from going to work on a day-to-day basis.

“When you’re leading a volunteer organization, people are there because they want to be. They’re there because they’re choosing to put their time in. Their motivations can vary widely,” she says.

“The way that you lead [members] for a volunteer organization requires a lot of flexibility and diplomacy and grace; those are all things that I’ve had to work to develop over time.”

Equity initiatives require diverse perspectives – including men’s voices

Anna has no problem walking into a room and sharing her opinion, but she knows not everyone is like that. Being cognizant in creating a space that draws people out who are different than her was a valuable lesson she has carried through her career. Whether it’s in a volunteer organization or developing a game-changing technology for climate action, Anna says diverse perspectives combined with inclusion, where those voices feel comfortable speaking out, are imperative for big breakthroughs.

“Nothing great was invented by a whole bunch of like-minded people sitting around a table agreeing with each other.”

Anna Stukas, VP of Business Development, Carbon Engineering

A fundamental component of innovation and progress, according to Anna, is diversity. However, diversity is only effective and can only lead to equity if it comes with inclusion.

For Anna, bringing all parties to the table is crucial in equity initiatives – which means inviting men to the table as well.

“If men make up over 80% of the engineering profession, you’re never going to move the dial on diversity if you’re only involving less than 20% of the profession the table,” she says.

An article from Harvard Business Review describes the value of engaging male allies in gender inclusion programs where 96% of these organizations see progress — compared to only 30% of organizations where men are not engaged.

Anna points out that SCWIST understands this need, as the organization stands for promoting, encouraging and inspiring women, yet it isn’t an organization that is meant to solely comprise women. She believes that inclusive diversity has been imperative to SCWIST’s success and longevity.

One SCWIST initiative that brings women and men together is Make Possible. The free online platform and support network connects mentors and mentees to develop a range of skills to broaden their knowledge as a STEM professional.

From technology to diversity in the workplace, society is evolving. While we’ve come a long way, there are further challenges and breakthroughs on the horizon. “Nobody has a crystal ball,” says Anna, “but it’s important to say yes to opportunities, get involved and invite a myriad of different voices to the table.”

Ashley Orzel is a freelance content specialist with a focus on writing, editing, website strategy and multimedia production. Have questions for Ashley? Visit her website or contact her via Twitter @ashleyjaye.