تأثير ماتيلدا والوظائف في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات

By سونيا لانجمان (@سونيالانجمان | منشئ المحتوى الرقمي SCWIST)

ماذا يعني أن تكون نسويًا في STEM؟ في البداية ، دافعت النسويات عن حق المرأة في التصويت. 

في كندا ، بدأ القتال مع ماري آن شاد كاري التي تحدثت ضد عدم المساواة العرقية والجنسانية في عام 1853 كأول ناشرة. حصلت النساء على حقوق التصويت الكاملة بعد 100 عام في عام 1960. ثم ناضلت النسويات من أجل الاستقلال القانوني وتكافؤ الفرص في العمل والحقوق الإنجابية. هذه المعركة لا تزال مستمرة. 

في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) ، دعت النسويات إلى الاعتراف بمساهمات المرأة في العلوم ومحاولة زيادة عدد النساء اللائي ينضمن إلى مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات كان الأول أكثر نجاحًا إلى حد ما. نحن الآن نقدر مساهمات جوسلين بيل بورنيل ، روزاليند فرانكلين ، ليز مايتنر ، والعديد من الآخرين. مُنحت جائزة نوبل في الكيمياء لعام 2020 إلى إيمانويل شاربينتير وجنيفر دودنا لاكتشاف تقنية كريسبر لتحرير الجينات ، وهي المرة الأولى التي تُمنح فيها الجائزة لامرأتين. وبذلك يصل عدد الفائزات بجوائز نوبل إلى 8 (حصل الرجال على 185 جائزة حتى الآن). 

بينما يعمل كل من الرجال والنساء بلا كلل لإحراز تقدم في العلوم ، غالبًا ما تُنسى مساهمات النساء بينما يحصل الرجال على التقدير. هناك اسم لهذه الظاهرة: تأثير ماتيلدا. 

تأثير ماتيلدا

صاغ هذا المصطلح الدكتورة مارغريت روسيتر ، وهي مؤرخة صادفت كتابًا كتبته ماتيلدا غيج وثق هذه الظاهرة بالضبط في القرن التاسع عشر. ومضت الدكتورة روزيتر في تأليف كتاب يوثق عمل العالمات في أمريكا ويضعه في سياقه التاريخي. 

لقد سمع الكثيرون عن "النشر أو الفناء" ، لكن النساء يواجهن المزيد من التحديات حتى بعد النشر. أظهرت الأبحاث أن الملخصات التي كتبها مؤلفون رجال يُنظر إليها على أنها ذات جودة أعلى من الملخصات التي كتبها النساء 1. ومن المثير للاهتمام أن الذكور يميلون أيضًا إلى التقليل من تقدير الأداء الأكاديمي لزملائهم الإناث في الفصول الدراسية الجامعية 2.

تحتاج حملات التمثيل المتساوي إلى التحسين

على الرغم من الدفعة الأخيرة من أجل التمثيل المتساوي ، لا تشكل النساء 50٪ من القوى العاملة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. على الرغم من أنه لم يعد يُعتقد أن الفتيات ليس لديهن "الكفاءة" في العلوم ، فإن النساء الكنديات الحاصلات على درجات في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) أقل احتمالًا للعمل في وظيفة STEM من الرجال 3. النساء أيضًا أكثر عرضة بنسبة 30 ٪ للخروج من وظائف STEM 4خاصة بعد إنجاب طفل 5. السؤال طبعا لماذا هذا؟ 

حتى بعد إطلاق العديد من الحملات لتشجيع الفتيات على الانضمام إلى مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، لا يزال خط الأنابيب متسربًا. لا يعني ذلك أن النساء لا يسعين للحصول على درجات في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات: في كندا ، تم منح حوالي 40٪ من درجات البكالوريوس في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات للنساء في عام 2017 (على وجه الخصوص ، تشكل النساء غالبية خريجي العلوم ، ولكن 20٪ فقط من خريجي الهندسة)6. ومع ذلك ، حتى بعد الحصول على درجة العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، تقل احتمالية استمرار النساء في هذا المجال. قد تكون هناك أسباب عديدة لذلك: عدم وجود نماذج نسائية يحتذى بها ، وفجوة الأجور المستمرة ، والتمييز في مكان العمل ، وقلة الاعتراف ليست سوى عدد قليل من التحديات التي تواجهها المرأة. 

إعادة تعريف التقدم

وجدت دراسة من جامعة ميسوري مفارقة مثيرة للاهتمام: في البلدان التي بها فجوة أكبر بين الجنسين (أي عدم المساواة بين الجنسين) ، كانت نسبة النساء في وظائف العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات أعلى بكثير 7. في هذه البلدان ، يمكن النظر إلى الحصول على وظيفة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات على أنها مصدر دخل أكثر استقرارًا. على الجانب الآخر ، أظهرت الإحصائيات سابقًا أنه في البلدان التي تتمتع بهيكل رعاية أفضل وفجوة أصغر بين الجنسين ، يكون توظيف النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات أكثر تفاوتًا. قد يعني هذا التناقض الظاهري أنه في السيناريوهات التي توجد فيها ضمانات لفقدان الوظيفة ، قد تترك بعض النساء وظائفهن في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات لمتابعة مهن أقل استقرارًا من الناحية المالية ولكنها أكثر انسجامًا مع اهتماماتهن الفردية. 

يمكن للمرء أن يتساءل: إذا كانت المرأة لا تزال تختار ترك وظائف العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات في البلدان التي تُبذل فيها جهود قوية لدعم المساواة بين الجنسين ، فما هي العوامل المساهمة؟ ربما لا يكون عدد النساء اللواتي يبقين في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات هو المقياس الوحيد للتقدم المحرز ، وهناك حاجة إلى تقييم نوعي لبيئة العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات الحالية. ربما الآثار و الإنجازات من النساء اللواتي بقين في وظائف العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات يجب أن يكون مقياسًا أقوى ، بدلاً من التركيز فقط على الاحتفاظ. في حين أن النساء قد يغادرن العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات بأعداد أكبر من الرجال ، لا يزال من المهم الاعتراف بالتقدم الذي تم إحرازه وتحديد الطريق نحو مستقبل أفضل.  

سونيا لانجمان هي منشئ محتوى رقمي لـ SCWIST. خارج SCWIST ، هي طالبة دكتوراه في قسم الأورام متعدد التخصصات في جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية. هل لديك أسئلة لسونيا؟ تواصل عبر تويتر تضمين التغريدة أن يتواصل.

1. Knobloch-Westerwick، S.، Glynn، CJ & Huge، M. The Matilda Effect in Science Communication: A Experiment on Gender Bias in Publication Quality Perceptions and Collaboration Interest. علوم. كومون. 35، 603 – 625 (2013).

2. Grunspan، DZ وآخرون. يقلل الذكور من تقدير الأداء الأكاديمي لزملائهم الإناث في فصول البيولوجيا الجامعية. بلوس واحد 11، 1 – 16 (2016).

3. هيئة الإحصاء الكندية. جدول 14-10-0335-02 نسبة النساء والرجال العاملين في المهن ، سنويا. https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/t1/tbl1/en/tv.action؟pid=1410033502 دوى: https: //doi.org/10.25318/1410033501-eng.

4. كريستين ، ف. سلسلة أوراق بحثية في فرع الدراسات التحليلية A تحليل جنساني للمسارات المهنية لخريجي STEM في كندا. إحصاءات كندا المجلد. 1 (2019).

5. Cech، EA & Blair-Loy، M. المسارات الوظيفية المتغيرة للآباء الجدد في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. بروك. NATL. أكاد. الخيال العلمي. الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية 116، 4182 – 4187 (2019).

6. هيئة الإحصاء الكندية. خريجو ما بعد المرحلة الثانوية ، حسب التصنيف الدولي المعياري للتعليم ، ونوع المؤسسة ، وتصنيف البرامج التعليمية ، ومجموعات STEM و BHASE ، وحالة الطالب في كندا ، والفئة العمرية والجنس. دوى: https: //doi.org/10.25318/3710016401-eng.

7. Stoet، G. & Geary، DC مفارقة المساواة بين الجنسين في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة وتعليم الرياضيات. Psychol. الخيال العلمي. 29، 581 – 593 (2018).

The Matilda Effect and Careers in STEM

By Sonya Langman (@sonyalangman | SCWIST Digital Content Creator)

What does it mean to be a feminist in STEM? At first, feminists stood for women’s right to vote. 

In Canada, the fight began with Mary Ann Shadd Cary who spoke against racial and gender inequality in 1853 as a first female publisher. Women got full voting rights 100 years later in 1960. Then feminists fought for legal independence, equal opportunities in employment, and reproductive rights; this fight is still ongoing. 

In STEM, feminists have been advocating for recognition of women’s contributions to science and trying to boost the number of women joining STEM fields. The former has been somewhat more successful. We now recognize contributions of Jocelyn Bell Burnell, Rosalind Franklin, Lise Meitner, and numerous others. The 2020 Nobel prize in Chemistry was awarded to Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer Doudna for discovery of CRISPR gene editing technology, the first time the prize has been awarded to two women. This brings the count of female Nobel prizes laureates up to 8 (men have been awarded 185 prizes to date). 

While both men and women are working tirelessly to make advances in science, women’s contributions are often forgotten while men receive recognition. There is a name for this phenomenon: the Matilda Effect. 

The Matilda Effect

This term was coined by Dr. Margaret Rositter, a historian who came across a book written by Matilda Gage that documented this exact phenomenon back in the 1800s. Dr. Rositter went on to write a book documenting the work of female scientists in America, and putting it in the historical context. 

Many have heard of “publish or perish”, but women face further challenges even after they publish. Research has shown that abstracts written by male authors are seen to be of greater quality than abstracts written by women 1. Interestingly, males also tend to under-estimate academic performance of their female classmates in undergraduate classroom setting 2.

Campaigns for equal representation need improvement

Despite the recent push for equal representation, women do not comprise 50% of the STEM workforce. While it is no longer believed that girls just don’t have the “aptitude” for sciences, Canadian women with STEM degrees are less likely to work in a STEM job than men 3. Women are also 30% more likely to exit STEM careers 4, especially after having a child 5. The question, of course, is why is that? 

Even after launching numerous campaigns to encourage girls to join STEM fields, the pipeline remains leaky. It is not that women do not pursue STEM degrees: in Canada, about 40% of STEM Bachelor’s degrees were awarded to women in 2017 (notably, women comprise the majority of science graduates, but only 20% of engineering graduates)6. However, even after being awarded a STEM degree, women are less likely to persist in the field. There could be numerous reasons for this: lack of female role models, the ever-present pay gap, workplace discrimination and a lack of recognition are just few of the challenges that women face. 

Redefining progress

A study from the University of Missouri found an interesting paradox: in countries with a larger gender gap (i.e. gender inequality), the proportion of women in STEM jobs was considerably higher 7. In these countries, having a STEM job could be seen as a source of more stable income. On the flip side, statistics have previously shown that in countries with a better welfare structure and smaller gender gap, the employment of women in STEM fields is more disproportionate. This seeming contradiction could mean that, in scenarios where there are safeguards for job loss, some women may be leaving their STEM jobs to pursue careers that are less financially stable but more aligned with their individual interests. 

One could ask: If women still choose to leave STEM jobs in countries where strong efforts are made to support gender equality, what are the contributing factors? Perhaps how many women stay in STEM is not the only metric for the progress made, and there needs to be a qualitative assessment of the current STEM environment. Perhaps the impacts and achievements of women who have stayed in STEM jobs should be a stronger metric, rather than solely focusing on retention. While women may be leaving STEM in greater numbers than men, it is still important to acknowledge the progress that has been made and to identify the path to a better future.  

Sonya Langman is a Digital Content Creator for SCWIST. Outside of SCWIST, she is a PhD Candidate in the Interdisciplinary Oncology department at UBC. Have questions for Sonya? Contact via Twitter @sonyalangman to get in touch.

1. Knobloch-Westerwick, S., Glynn, C. J. & Huge, M. The Matilda Effect in Science Communication: An Experiment on Gender Bias in Publication Quality Perceptions and Collaboration Interest. Sci. Commun. 35, 603–625 (2013).

2. Grunspan, D. Z. et al. Males under-estimate academic performance of their female peers in undergraduate biology classrooms. PLoS One 11, 1–16 (2016).

3. Statistics Canada. Table 14-10-0335-02 Proportion of women and men employed in occupations, annual. https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/t1/tbl1/en/tv.action?pid=1410033502 doi:https://doi.org/10.25318/1410033501-eng.

4. Kristyn, F. Analytical Studies Branch Research Paper Series A Gender Analysis of the Occupational Pathways of STEM Graduates in Canada. Statistics Canada vol. 1 (2019).

5. Cech, E. A. & Blair-Loy, M. The changing career trajectories of new parents in STEM. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U. S. A. 116, 4182–4187 (2019).

6. Statistics Canada. Postsecondary graduates, by International Standard Classification of Education, institution type, Classification of Instructional Programs, STEM and BHASE groupings, status of student in Canada, age group and gender. doi:https://doi.org/10.25318/3710016401-eng.

7. Stoet, G. & Geary, D. C. The Gender-Equality Paradox in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Education. Psychol. Sci. 29, 581–593 (2018).