STEM中的Matilda效应和职业

By 索尼娅·朗曼 (@Sonyalangman | SCWIST数字内容创建者)

在STEM中成为女权主义者意味着什么? 起初,女权主义者主张妇女的投票权。 

在加拿大,这场斗争始于玛丽·安·沙德·卡里(Mary Ann Shadd Cary),他于1853年以第一位女性出版商的身份反对种族和性别不平等。 妇女在100年后的1960年获得了充分的投票权。然后,女权主义者为争取法律独立,平等的就业机会和生殖权利而斗争。 这场斗争仍在进行中。 

在STEM中,女权主义者一直倡导承认妇女对科学的贡献,并试图增加加入STEM领域的妇女人数。 前者取得了一些成功。 我们现在认识到Jocelyn Bell Burnell,Rosalind Franklin,Lise Meitner以及其他许多人的贡献。 凭借CRISPR基因编辑技术的发现,Emmanuelle Charpentier和Jennifer Doudna获得了2020年诺贝尔化学奖,这是该奖项第一次被授予两名女性。 这使诺贝尔奖获得者中的女性人数达到了8人(迄今为止,男性已获得185个奖项)。 

尽管男人和女人都在不懈地努力以促进科学的进步,但在男性获得认可的同时,人们常常忘记了女性的贡献。 这种现象有一个名字:明德效应。 

明德效应

这个术语是由历史学家玛格丽特·罗斯特(Margaret Rositter)博士创造的,他遇到了Matilda Gage写的一本书,其中记载了这种确切的现象可以追溯到1800年代。 Rositter博士接着写了一本书,记录了美国女性科学家的工作,并将其置于历史背景下。 

许多人听说过“出版或灭亡”,但妇女即使在出版后仍面临进一步的挑战。 研究表明,男性作者撰写的摘要要比女性撰写的摘要质量更高 1。 有趣的是,在大学教室里,男性也往往低估了女同学的学习成绩。 2.

平等参与运动需要改进

尽管最近要求平等代表,但女性仍不占STEM劳动力的50%。 尽管人们不再相信女孩只是没有科学的“天赋”,但是拥有STEM学位的加拿大女性从事STEM工作的可能性比男性低 3。 女性退出STEM职业的可能性也增加30% 4尤其是生完孩子后 5。 问题当然是为什么呢? 

即使在发起了许多旨在鼓励女孩加入STEM领域的运动之后,管道仍然漏水。 并不是说女性不追求STEM学位:在加拿大,40年约有2017%的STEM学士学位授予了女性(值得注意的是,女性占理科毕业生的大多数,但仅占工程学毕业生的20%)6。 但是,即使获得了STEM学位,女性也不太可能继续在该领域工作。 造成这种情况的原因可能很多:缺乏女性榜样,薪资差距永远存在,工作场所的歧视和缺乏认同感只是女性所面临的挑战中的少数。 

重新定义进度

密苏里大学的一项研究发现了一个有趣的悖论:在性别差距较大(即性别不平等)的国家中,从事STEM工作的女性比例要高得多 7。 在这些国家/地区,从事STEM工作可被视为稳定收入的来源。 另一方面,以前的统计数据表明,在福利结构较好且性别差距较小的国家中,STEM领域中妇女的就业比例更高。 这种看似矛盾的现象可能意味着,在有失业保障的情况下,一些妇女可能会离开她们的STEM工作,去从事财务不稳定,但更符合其个人利益的职业。 

有人会问:如果妇女仍然选择在为支持两性平等而做出了巨大努力的国家中离开STEM工作,那么促成因素是什么? 留在STEM中的女性人数可能不是取得进步的唯一指标,并且需要对当前的STEM环境进行定性评估。 也许 影响 成就 留在STEM工作的女性比例应该更高一些,而不是仅仅专注于保留。 尽管女性离开STEM的人数可能会比男性多,但承认已经取得的进展并确定通往更美好未来的道路仍然很重要。  

Sonya Langman是SCWIST的数字内容创建者。 在SCWIST之外,她是UBC跨学科肿瘤学系的博士学位候选人。 对Sonya有疑问吗? 通过推特联系 @sonyalangman 取得联系。

1. Knobloch-Westerwick,S.,Glynn,CJ&Huge,M.科学传播中的Matilda效应:出版物质量感知和合作兴趣方面的性别偏见实验。 科学社区 35,603-625(2013)。

2. DZ格伦斯潘 等。 在本科生物学教室中,男性低估了其女性同龄人的学习成绩。 公共科学图书馆之一 11,1-16(2016)。

3.加拿大统计局。 表14-10-0335-02从事职业的男女比例,每年。 https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/t1/tbl1/zh-CN/tv.action?pid=1410033502 doi:https://doi.org/10.25318/1410033501-eng。

4. Kristyn,F. 分析研究科研究论文系列A加拿大STEM毕业生的职业途径的性别分析. 加拿大统计局 卷 1(2019)。

5. EA的Cech和M. Blair-Loy的STEM中新父母的职业轨迹不断变化。 PROC。 国家科。 科学院。 科学。 美国 116,4182-4187(2019)。

6.加拿大统计局。 大专毕业生,按国际教育标准分类,机构类型,教学计划分类,STEM和BHASE分组,加拿大学生的身份,年龄段和性别。 网址:https://doi.org/10.25318/3710016401-eng。

7. Stoet G.和Geary DC DC科学,技术,工程和数学教育中的性别平等悖论。 心理学。 科学。 29,581-593(2018)。

The Matilda Effect and Careers in STEM

By Sonya Langman (@sonyalangman | SCWIST Digital Content Creator)

What does it mean to be a feminist in STEM? At first, feminists stood for women’s right to vote. 

In Canada, the fight began with Mary Ann Shadd Cary who spoke against racial and gender inequality in 1853 as a first female publisher. Women got full voting rights 100 years later in 1960. Then feminists fought for legal independence, equal opportunities in employment, and reproductive rights; this fight is still ongoing. 

In STEM, feminists have been advocating for recognition of women’s contributions to science and trying to boost the number of women joining STEM fields. The former has been somewhat more successful. We now recognize contributions of Jocelyn Bell Burnell, Rosalind Franklin, Lise Meitner, and numerous others. The 2020 Nobel prize in Chemistry was awarded to Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer Doudna for discovery of CRISPR gene editing technology, the first time the prize has been awarded to two women. This brings the count of female Nobel prizes laureates up to 8 (men have been awarded 185 prizes to date). 

While both men and women are working tirelessly to make advances in science, women’s contributions are often forgotten while men receive recognition. There is a name for this phenomenon: the Matilda Effect. 

The Matilda Effect

This term was coined by Dr. Margaret Rositter, a historian who came across a book written by Matilda Gage that documented this exact phenomenon back in the 1800s. Dr. Rositter went on to write a book documenting the work of female scientists in America, and putting it in the historical context. 

Many have heard of “publish or perish”, but women face further challenges even after they publish. Research has shown that abstracts written by male authors are seen to be of greater quality than abstracts written by women 1. Interestingly, males also tend to under-estimate academic performance of their female classmates in undergraduate classroom setting 2.

Campaigns for equal representation need improvement

Despite the recent push for equal representation, women do not comprise 50% of the STEM workforce. While it is no longer believed that girls just don’t have the “aptitude” for sciences, Canadian women with STEM degrees are less likely to work in a STEM job than men 3. Women are also 30% more likely to exit STEM careers 4, especially after having a child 5. The question, of course, is why is that? 

Even after launching numerous campaigns to encourage girls to join STEM fields, the pipeline remains leaky. It is not that women do not pursue STEM degrees: in Canada, about 40% of STEM Bachelor’s degrees were awarded to women in 2017 (notably, women comprise the majority of science graduates, but only 20% of engineering graduates)6. However, even after being awarded a STEM degree, women are less likely to persist in the field. There could be numerous reasons for this: lack of female role models, the ever-present pay gap, workplace discrimination and a lack of recognition are just few of the challenges that women face. 

Redefining progress

A study from the University of Missouri found an interesting paradox: in countries with a larger gender gap (i.e. gender inequality), the proportion of women in STEM jobs was considerably higher 7. In these countries, having a STEM job could be seen as a source of more stable income. On the flip side, statistics have previously shown that in countries with a better welfare structure and smaller gender gap, the employment of women in STEM fields is more disproportionate. This seeming contradiction could mean that, in scenarios where there are safeguards for job loss, some women may be leaving their STEM jobs to pursue careers that are less financially stable but more aligned with their individual interests. 

One could ask: If women still choose to leave STEM jobs in countries where strong efforts are made to support gender equality, what are the contributing factors? Perhaps how many women stay in STEM is not the only metric for the progress made, and there needs to be a qualitative assessment of the current STEM environment. Perhaps the impacts and achievements of women who have stayed in STEM jobs should be a stronger metric, rather than solely focusing on retention. While women may be leaving STEM in greater numbers than men, it is still important to acknowledge the progress that has been made and to identify the path to a better future.  

Sonya Langman is a Digital Content Creator for SCWIST. Outside of SCWIST, she is a PhD Candidate in the Interdisciplinary Oncology department at UBC. Have questions for Sonya? Contact via Twitter @sonyalangman to get in touch.

1. Knobloch-Westerwick, S., Glynn, C. J. & Huge, M. The Matilda Effect in Science Communication: An Experiment on Gender Bias in Publication Quality Perceptions and Collaboration Interest. Sci. Commun. 35, 603–625 (2013).

2. Grunspan, D. Z. et al. Males under-estimate academic performance of their female peers in undergraduate biology classrooms. PLoS One 11, 1–16 (2016).

3. Statistics Canada. Table 14-10-0335-02 Proportion of women and men employed in occupations, annual. https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/t1/tbl1/en/tv.action?pid=1410033502 doi:https://doi.org/10.25318/1410033501-eng.

4. Kristyn, F. Analytical Studies Branch Research Paper Series A Gender Analysis of the Occupational Pathways of STEM Graduates in Canada. Statistics Canada vol. 1 (2019).

5. Cech, E. A. & Blair-Loy, M. The changing career trajectories of new parents in STEM. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U. S. A. 116, 4182–4187 (2019).

6. Statistics Canada. Postsecondary graduates, by International Standard Classification of Education, institution type, Classification of Instructional Programs, STEM and BHASE groupings, status of student in Canada, age group and gender. doi:https://doi.org/10.25318/3710016401-eng.

7. Stoet, G. & Geary, D. C. The Gender-Equality Paradox in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Education. Psychol. Sci. 29, 581–593 (2018).