数学界的女性:菲尔兹奖获得者 Maryam Mirzakhani

科学素养周 快到了,我们对今年的主题是数学感到非常兴奋! 为了庆祝,我们为加拿大各地的学生提供免费的基于数学的研讨会(更多内容见下文!),并将焦点放在一些了不起的数学家身上。 我们从 Maryam Mirzakhani 开始,她是仅有的两位赢得冠军的女性之一 菲尔兹奖章.

米尔扎哈尼的数学之旅

Maryam 1977 年出生于伊朗德黑兰,并没有梦想成为一名数学家。 事实上,她梦想成为一名作家,然而,她最终发现了对数学及其挑战的热爱。

1994 年,17 岁的她成为第一位在国际数学奥林匹克竞赛中获得金牌的伊朗女性。 次年,她再次参加比赛并获得了另一枚金牌,这一次以完美的成绩。

Maryam Mirzakhani 在白板前解释数学问题
Maryam Mirzakhani 教授获得了 2014 年菲尔兹奖,这是数学界的最高荣誉。

从德黑兰谢里夫科技大学毕业并获得数学学士学位后,她在美国哈佛大学攻读博士学位。 后来她成为普林斯顿大学的教授,最后,她在斯坦福大学任教。 

在哈佛攻读博士学位期间,Mirzakhani 的博士论文不仅解决了 3 个单独的问题,而且将它们联系起来。 她的论文专注于双曲表面,这些形状看起来 像上面那个.

双曲曲面只存在于由一组特定方程支配的抽象空间中。 这些形状是几何学、数学甚至物理学的其他部分的核心对象之一。 关于双曲表面的未回答问题是关于测地线,双曲表面上的直线显示两点之间的最短路径。

要了解双曲曲面,您必须研究其上的曲线。 Mirzakhani 发现了双曲表面可以有多少给定长度的闭合测地线。 她后来将其与她已经解决的另外两个主要研究问题联系起来。

缓慢的数学家

米尔扎哈尼的作品经常超越现实世界的限制,但她对生活和数学都有一种务实的态度。 自称是“慢”数学家,她愿意与困难的问题及其障碍作斗争,以便真正理解它们。

这种品质使她能够以无所畏惧的野心来研究新的数学,因为她多年来一直在思考一些事情,但不确定自己是否能弄清楚。

她的工作在她的领域产生了巨大的影响,而且随着其他研究人员的探索,它只会继续增长。

诺贝尔数学奖

2014 年,米尔扎哈尼获得菲尔兹奖,有时也被称为数学界的诺贝尔奖,因为它是数学家所能获得的最负盛名的奖项,每 4 年颁发一次。 自 1936 年菲尔兹奖诞生以来,米尔扎哈尼是第一位获得菲尔兹奖的女性。

2013 年,Mirzakhani 被诊断出患有乳腺癌,最终导致她在 2017 年去世。Mirzakhani 留下的遗产无法量化。 她不仅传授了天才的数学知识,而且在工作中表现出坚韧和温柔。 作为我们这一代最伟大的数学思想家之一,我们希望米尔扎哈尼的遗产能够继续激励我们。 

了解更多关于迷人的数学世界

我们将为今年的科学素养周主持研讨会。 我们很乐意在贵校举办研讨会,因此请务必参加 19 月 23 日至 XNUMX 日的科学素养周。

如果您是一名教师并想与 SCWIST 预订一个研讨会, 发送电子邮件到 [电子邮件保护] 带有以下信息:

  • 你的学校名称和地址
  • 您班级的学生人数和他们的成绩
  • 您喜欢的研讨会日期和时间(必须在 19 月 23 日至 XNUMX 日之间)

我们还在寻找志愿者来帮助我们推动研讨会并激励下一代 STEM 领导者。 了解更多信息并注册 点击此处详细了解。.

另外,请务必关注我们 FacebookTwitterInstagram 和 LinkedIn 并查看我们的 官网 更多活动和研讨会!

Women In Math: Maryam Mirzakhani, Winner of the Fields Medal

Science Literacy Week is almost upon us, and we are beyond excited that the theme this year is mathematics! To celebrate, we are offering FREE math-based workshops for students throughout Canada (more on that below!) and putting the spotlight on some amazing mathematicians. We are starting with Maryam Mirzakhani, one of the only two women to have won the Fields Medal.

Mirzakhani’s math journey

Born in Tehran, Iran in 1977, Maryam didn’t dream of being a mathematician. In fact, she dreamt of being a writer, however, she eventually found a love for maths and its challenges.

In 1994, at the age 17, she became the first Iranian woman to win a gold medal at the International Mathematical Olympiad. She came back to compete again the following year and achieved another gold medal, this time with a perfect score.

Maryam Mirzakhani explaining math problem in front of a white board
Professor Maryam Mirzakhani received the 2014 Fields Medal, the top honour in mathematics.

After graduating from Sharif University of Technology in Tehran with a BSc in Mathematics, she pursued her PhD in the United States at Harvard University. Later she became a professor at Princeton, and finally, she taught at Stanford. 

During her PhD at Harvard, Mirzakhani’s doctoral thesis not only solved 3 individual problems but connected them. Her thesis focused on hyperbolic surfaces, which are shapes that look like the one above.

Hyperbolic surfaces only exist in abstract spaces where a particular set of equations govern them. These shapes are one of the central objects in geometry, in other parts of math and even physics. The unanswered question about hyperbolic surfaces was about geodesics, the straight lines on a hyperbolic surface that show the shortest path between two points.

To understand hyperbolic surfaces, you have to study the curves that sit on them. Mirzakhani found how many closed geodesics of a given length can a hyperbolic surface have. She later connected it to two other major research questions that she had solved.

The slow mathematician

Mirzakhani’s work often went beyond the constraints of the real world, but she had a pragmatic approach to both life and mathematics. A self-professed “slow” mathematician, she was willing to struggle through difficult problems and their obstacles so that she could truly understand them.

This quality allowed her to approach new mathematics with fearless ambition, as she was content with thinking about something for years without any certainty that she could figure it out.

Her work made a huge impact in her field, and it will only continue to grow as other researchers explore it.

The Nobel Prize of mathematics

In 2014, Mirzakhani won the Fields Medal, which is sometimes called the Nobel Prize of mathematics, as it is the most prestigious award a mathematician can win, and is awarded every 4 years. Mirzakhani was the first woman to win the Fields Medal since its conception in 1936.

In 2013, Mirzakhani was diagnosed with breast cancer, which ultimately led to her death in 2017. Mirzakhani’s legacy is not quantifiable; she not only imparted genius mathematical knowledge but showed a tenacity and gentleness in her work. We hope that Mirzakhani’s legacy will continue to inspire, us as one of the greatest mathematical minds of our generation. 

Learn more about the fascinating world of mathematics

We will be leading workshops for this year’s Science Literacy Week. We would love to facilitate a workshop at your school so make sure to join us for Science Literacy Week from September 19-23rd.

If you’re a teacher and want to book a workshop with SCWIST, send an email to [email protected] with the following information:

  • Name of your school and its address
  • Number of students in your class and their grade
  • Your preferred dates and times for the workshop (must be between September 19-23)

We are also looking for volunteers to help us facilitate the workshops and inspire the next generation of STEM leaders. To learn more and register click here.

Also, make sure to follow us on FacebookTwitterInstagram and LinkedIn and check out our website for more events and workshops!