员工资源组 (ERG) 实施研讨会

在25月XNUMX日, 吉利安·克里米苏菲沃里克, The Thoughtful Co. 的联合创始人向我们介绍了如何实施员工资源小组 (ERG),提供易于遵循的行动计划,让女性能够建立成功和支持性的 ERG。

ERG 提供了一种社区感和归属感。 “如果你不觉得被周围的人包容,如果你不觉得正在努力纠正这一点,那么你就不会成为最好的自己,或者提供尽可能多的意见,甚至可能避免处于那种环境中。 ERG 必须提供一种安全的空间感,这样人们才能以自己的身份出现,”Sophie 解释道。

什么是 ERG?

ERG 是在工作场所实现性别平等的前线。 他们通常由组织中寻求公平的个人组成,旨在分享经验并提供相互支持。 他们是具有生活经验的人,组织应该向他们学习和学习。

ERG 允许他们的组织者创造机会来改善他们的员工体验。 他们可以识别未被满足且未被多数群体认可的独特需求。 ERG 可以优先考虑关键目标,并选择一些关键目标每年关注。

大约 90% 的财富 500 强公司拥有 ERG,85% 的女性表示参与 ERG 对她们和她们的职业生涯都有好处。 (黄 G. 2017 年,福布斯)

为什么 ERG 如此重要?

基本上,他们有能力创造真正的改变。 参与 ERG 的女性中有 50% 报告说政策有所改善,包括育儿假、指导、灵活性和假期。 (黄 G. 2017 年,福布斯)

更重要的是,这是一种让少数群体参与的方式,让他们感到被支持和被包容。 这可以带来更好的长期保留和更多样化的员工队伍。 

Sophie 和 Jillian 还指出,当女性在高层任职时,公司利润和股价表现可能会高出近 80%。

如何实施 ERG?

您首先创建一个仪表板。 查看您组织的性别平等分布,并观察初级和高级级别的比率差异。 然后调查来自不同领域的团队之间的差异。 拥有这种不公平的视觉效果对于查看下降发生的位置很有用。

现在是时候设定您想要实现的具体目标了。 确定关键指标以使您保持正轨很重要。 例如,您可以设定到 5 年将女性在董事会中的比例从 50% 提高到 2030% 的目标。通过分析和衡量当前的性别平等状况,您可以衡量未来的进步。

不要害怕以您希望实现这些目标的方式发挥创意,同时关注两个方面:以招聘为主导(初级)和以保留为主导的计划(更高级别)。 

下一步可以列出您认为有助于改善这些不同领域的政策和事件。 一个重要的建议是反映组织的业务战略,因为您希望将 ERG 与公司的其他部分集成。 

你应该选择两到三个对你的努力产生最大影响的关键目标。 始终保留最初和不断发展的想法的清单,以研究它们的功效和未来的实施。

获得顾问

Jillian 还建议找一位顾问。 “我们确实已经看到,每个公司、地区、文化和行业都面临着独特的挑战和问题,因此利用顾问会有所帮助。 他们可以帮助开发一个框架,使您能够在资源限制的情况下实现目标。 以及实施和长期管理。”

关于 The Thoughtful Co 的创始人.

Jillian's 和 Sophie 的使命是通过个人和雇主指导为职场女性提供认可、机会和影响力。 他们通过帮助女性协商薪酬来实现这一目标,他们还建议雇主在工作场所为女性制定更公平的政策,例如实施 ERG、客观的招聘实践和育儿假等等。

您可以通过他们的网站联系 Jillian 和 Sophie www.thethoughtfulco.net. 您还将找到他们撰写的文章和专门针对开发 ERG 的资源。

请关注我们 FacebookTwitterInstagram 和 LinkedIn 并查看我们的 官网 更多活动和研讨会!

延伸阅读

黄国,2017, 90% 的财富 500 强公司已经拥有性别平等解决方案,但并未使用. 福布斯

Employee Resource Group (ERG) Implementation Workshop

On July 25th, Jillian Climie and Sophie Warwick, co-founders of The Thoughtful Co., walked us through how to implement an Employee Resource Group (ERG), delivering an easy-to-follow action plan to equip women to build successful and supportive ERGs.

ERGs offer a sense of community and belonging. “If you don’t feel included by the people around you, if you don’t feel that an effort is being made to correct that, you’re not going to be your best self, or offer as many opinions, and maybe even avoid being in that environment. An ERG has to offer a sense of safe space so that people can show up as themselves,” Sophie explained.

What are ERGs?

ERGs are the frontline to achieving gender equity in the workplace. They are usually formed by equity-seeking individuals in the organization with the intention of sharing experiences and providing mutual support. They are the people with lived experiences whom the organization should turn to and learn from.

ERGs allow their organizers to create opportunities to improve their employee experience. They can identify unique needs that are not met and aren’t recognized by the majority group. An ERG can prioritize key goals and select a few critical targets to focus on each year.

Roughly 90 per cent of Fortune 500 companies have ERGs, and 85 per cent of women said that participating in their ERG benefited them and their careers. (Huang, G. 2017, Forbes)

Why are ERGs so important?

Basically, they have the ability to create real change. 50 per cent of women that participated in an ERG reported improvement in policies, including parental leave, mentorship, flexibility, and vacation. (Huang, G. 2017, Forbes)

What’s more, it is a way to engage minority groups, making them feel supported and included. This can lead to better long-term retention and a more diverse workforce. 

Sophie and Jillian also noted that company profits and share price performance can be almost 80 per cent higher when women are well represented at the top.

How to implement an ERG?

You start by creating a dashboard. Look at your organization’s gender equity spread and observe differences in ratios at junior and high-ranking levels. Then look into the disparity between teams from different areas. Having that visual of the inequity is useful to see where the drop-off takes place.

Now it’s time to set specific targets that you want to achieve. It is important to identify key metrics to keep you on track. For instance, you might set a goal of increasing the presence of women on the board of directors from 5 per cent to 50 per cent by 2030. By analyzing and benchmarking the current gender equity situation you can measure your progress in the future.

Don’t be afraid to get creative in the ways you want to achieve these goals while focusing on the two fronts: recruitment-led (junior level) and retention-led initiatives (more senior level). 

The next step can be making a list of policies and events that you think would help improve those different areas. An important recommendation is to mirror the organization’s business strategy as you want to integrate ERGs with the rest of the company. 

You should pick two to three key goals that will make the most difference with your effort. Always keep the list of initial and growing ideas to study their efficacy and future implementation.

Get an advisor

Jillian also recommended getting an advisor. “We really have seen that every company, region, culture and industry has unique challenges and issues, so it can be helpful to leverage advisors. They can help develop a framework that will empower you to reach your goals with your resource constraints. As well as implementation and long-term management.”

About the founders of The Thoughtful Co.

Jillian’s and Sophie’s mission is to enable recognition, opportunity and influence for women in the workplace through individual and employer coaching. They achieve this by helping women negotiate their compensation, and they also advise employers to include more equitable policies in the workplace for women, such as implementing ERGs, objective hiring practices, and parental leave to mention a few.

You can contact Jillian and Sophie via their website at www.thethoughtfulco.net. You’ll also find articles written by them and resources specifically focused on developing ERGs.

Follow us on FacebookTwitterInstagram and LinkedIn and check out our website for more events and workshops!

Further Reading

Huang, G. 2017, 90% Of Fortune 500 Companies Already Have A Solution To Gender Equality But Aren’t Utilizing It. Forbes