作为建设者的女性:建筑界需要更多女性

卡桑德拉·伯德(Kassandra Burd)

当我们想到建筑商或建筑师时,可以肯定地说,我们中的大多数人都设想一个结实而结实的男人用屋顶上的锤子砸钉子。 也许是在他后面的桌子上,上面有一张详细的地图,当时他正在为新房子或要建造的建筑物的基础设计模型。 

我很容易承认,这是我想到涉及物理结构,固定或建筑的任何工程部门时都会想到的图像。 尽管大多数男人从事建筑工作是事实,但仍有许多妇女受雇为建筑师。 不幸的是,由于人们通常没有获得同等的地位和声望,因此常常被男人蒙上阴影。

为什么女性在建筑界的代表性不足? 尽管许多人认为原因与妇女开始家庭生活和更多地关注儿童保育有关,但事实并非如此。 接受Equity by Design调查和研究的女性受访者发现,尽管工作与生活之间的平衡是建筑行业发展的障碍之一,但大多数受访者表示她们对他人在工作中的看法不满意(Besner,2017) 。 

这些妇女反对她们的待遇,特别是薪水低,晋升,缺乏参与和高调工作,以及没有足够的指导者来指导她们的工作(Besner,2017)。 根据加拿大皇家建筑学会的一份报告,女性通常被任命从事更多的琐碎工作,并且不像男性同事那样被包括在实地考察,与客户会面或进行重要讨论中(Besner,2017)。 

通常说服刚进入该领域的女性从事涉及制图,室内装饰和景观的工作,而不是从事涉及结构设计或客户参与的更具吸引力的工作。 

不幸的是,在全球范围内,妇女在获得创意职位和晋升顶级建筑公司方面面临障碍。 与男性同龄人相比,她们的受雇频率更低,薪水也更低(Ponsford,2018)。 加拿大只有约29%的建筑师为女性,英国为26%,美国为24%(Besner,2017)。 此外,从事建筑工作的女性平均时薪比男性同事低16%(Pitcher,2020年)。 

在全球100家最大的建筑公司中,只有三家由女性经营,其中只有两家由50%以上的女性担任管理职务(Fairs,2017)。 在管理的每个上升阶段,担任这些重要角色的妇女比例一直在下降。 英国伦敦Brady Mallalieu Architects的主管评论说:“对我而言,高层女性的缺乏对公司构成了偏见……我对大型公司的建议是纠正这种平衡并为您的公司增加有才华的女性建筑师最高主管级别……如果您不这样做,您将被视为老式的,过时的,而不是与之有生意往来的好人”(Fairs,2017年)。 

dRMM公司的联合创始人萨迪·摩根(Sadie Morgan)补充说:“现在有足够可信的证据表明,一支更好,更多元化的高级团队可以使业务更成功。 对于实践而言,继续采用过时的工作模式而不是尝试解决该问题似乎是违反直觉的”(Fairs,2017年)。 

归根结底,建筑公司应该更加努力地雇用妇女,不仅要作为在现场工作的建筑师,而且要作为管理职位的工人。 为妇女提供与男子相同的机会将提供一个更加平衡的竞争环境,并以带来不同思想和观点的方式为这一领域做出贡献。 这是至关重要的,因为它将确保增加活泼性和细微差别,而这在倾向于引起人们高度重视的学科中是不会出现的。 

鉴于当前的COVID-19大流行,鉴于工作场所的移动速度较慢,任何在STEM领域改善性别平等的过程都可能会停止(Pitcher,2020年)。 根据投手,受大流行影响最大的人是那些负担得起的人,在这种情况下,这对于那些被低估且在工作中没有受到重视的妇女可能是正确的。 

显然,建筑部门以及整个工程领域都需要在雇用女性,向女性支付更多薪水以及为她们提供全面的机会方面给予更多优先考虑。 还必须对妇女给予与男性相同的尊重,并认真对待她们的工作。 让男人在STEM中工作来谈论性别平等并支持妇女在自己领域中的进步将是有帮助的。 

顺便说一下,有许多组织致力于鼓励妇女并激励她们从事工程职业。 这些组织之一是 WomEng 从学校到整个行业,他们实施了一些计划,提出了女性在工程方面要处理的某些问题(Moosajee&Vallabh,2017)。 他们的任务是游说,倡导并建立该部门的能力和参与度。 

另一个鼓励妇女发展的组织是 多伦多建筑平等 (BEAT),致力于“支持建筑中的平等和多样性”(《建筑评论》,2018年)。 他们通过组织各种活动来采取行动,以促进女性在建筑领域的进步,同时也为她们提供指导和与他人交流的机会(《建筑评论》,2018年)。 

如果我们希望看到STEM领域的持续发展,则必须加大努力为妇女让路。 我们需要女性的思想,技能和观点,才能使任何部门(尤其是工程等STEM部门)蓬勃发展和繁荣。 

参考书目 

建筑评论(2018)。 促进建筑业性别平等的倡议。 已检索 

https://www.architectural-review.com/architects/women-in-architecture/initiatives-promoting-gender-equality-in-architecture/10037345.article

Fairs,M.(2017年)。 对领先建筑公司的调查显示,性别“相当令人震惊” 

高层次的多样性。 从...获得 https://www.dezeen.com/2017/11/16/survey-leading-architecture-firms-reveals-shocking-lack-gender-diversity-senior-levels/

Moosajee,N.(2017年)。 建筑师和工程师中只有11%是女性。 让我们建立一个新的 

女性人才管道。 从...获得

https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2017/07/women-engineering-architecture-stem-womeng/

Pitcher,G.(2020年)。 2020年性别薪资差距:建筑业的缓慢变化裂痕仍然存在。 已检索 

https://www.architectsjournal.co.uk/news/gender-pay-gap-2020-architectures-slow-to-shift-rift-remains/10046924.article

Ponsford,M.(2018年)。 世界建筑界五位顶级女性:“现在是我们的时代”。 从...获得 

https://www.cnn.com/style/article/top-women-in-architecture-advice/index.html

玻璃塔:为什么我们需要更多的女建筑师。 (2019)。 从...获得

Women as Builders: The Need for More Women in Architecture

By Kassandra Burd

When we think of a builder or an architect, it’s safe to say that the vast majority of us envision a strong, rugged man pounding away at nails with a hammer on a rooftop. Or perhaps behind a desk with a detailed map as he works on devising plans for the model of a new house or the foundation of a building to be constructed. 

I will readily admit that this is the image that comes to mind when I think of any engineering sector that involves physical structures, fixing, or building. Despite the fact that mostly men pursue architecture as a career, there are many women employed as architects. Unfortunately, they are often overshadowed by men, as they are generally not given the same level of status and prestige.

Why are women underrepresented in architecture? While many believe the reason relates to women starting families and giving more attention to child care, this is predominantly not the case. Women respondents to a survey and research from Equity by Design found that even though work-life balance was one of the barriers for advancement in architectural professions, most cited that they were unsatisfied with others’ perceptions of them on the job (Besner, 2017). 

These women objected to how they were treated, specifically being underpaid, lack of promotions, scarcity of engaging and high-profile work, and not having a sufficient number of mentors to help guide them with their work (Besner, 2017). According to a report by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, women are often appointed with more menial work and not included in site visits, meetings with clients, or important discussions to the same extent as their male colleagues (Besner, 2017). 

Women starting out in the field are typically persuaded to do work involving drafting, interiors, and landscapes, as opposed to more appealing work involving structural design or client engagement. 

It is unfortunate that on a global scale women face barriers to obtaining creative positions and advancing in top architectural firms; they are hired less often and receive less pay than their male counterparts (Ponsford, 2018). Only about 29% of architects in Canada are women, with the UK declaring 26%, and 24% in the United States (Besner, 2017). Furthermore, the average woman working in architecture earns 16% less hourly than her male colleagues (Pitcher, 2020). 

Out of the world’s 100 biggest architecture firms, only three are run by women, and only two of these firms comprise of over 50% women in management positions (Fairs, 2017). At each ascending tier of management, the proportion of women occupying these prestigious roles unremittingly declines. The director of Brady Mallalieu Architects in London, UK comments that, “The lack of women at the top, to me, implies a prejudice within the firm … My advice to the larger firms is to redress the balance and add talented women architects to your top director level … If you don’t, you will be regarded as old fashioned, out of date, and not great people to do business with” (Fairs, 2017). 

Sadie Morgan, co-founder of dRMM firm, adds: “There is enough credible evidence now showing that a better and more diverse senior team makes for a more successful business. It seems counterintuitive for practices to continue with an outdated mode of working and not try to address this issue” (Fairs, 2017). 

Ultimately, architectural firms should make more of an effort to hire women, not only as architects working in the field, but as workers employed in management positions. Providing women the same opportunities as men will give a more balanced playing field and will contribute to this area in a way that brings about diverse ideas and perspectives. This is crucial because it would be sure to add vivacity and nuance that wouldn’t otherwise be present in a discipline that tends to hold men in higher regard. 

Given the current COVID-19 pandemic, any process to improve gender equality across STEM fields could be put to a halt now that workplaces are moving at a slower pace (Pitcher, 2020). According to Pitcher, people most affected by the pandemic are those who can least afford it, which in this case, may be true for women who are being undervalued and not taken as seriously in their line of work. 

It is evident that the architectural sector, as well as the engineering field as a whole, needs to place more priority on hiring women, paying them more, and giving them fair opportunities across the board. It is also necessary that women be treated with the same respect as their male counterparts, and their work taken just as seriously. It would be helpful to have men working in STEM to speak up about gender equity and support women in their efforts to advance in their field. 

Incidentally, there are many organizations that work to encourage women and motivate them to pursue careers in engineering. One of these organizations is WomEng where they have implemented programs to raise certain issues that women deal with in engineering, from school all the way through to the industry (Moosajee & Vallabh, 2017). Their mission is to lobby, advocate, and build capacity and engagement within the sector. 

Another organization making strides to encourage women is Building Equality in Architecture Toronto (BEAT), which is dedicated to “supporting equality and diversity in architecture” (Architectural Review, 2018). They take action by organizing events to further women’s advancement in architecture, while also giving them opportunities for mentorship and networking with others (Architectural Review, 2018). 

Improving efforts to make way for women is essential if we want to see continued advancement in STEM fields. We need women’s ideas, skills, and perspectives in order for any sector, especially STEM sectors like engineering, to flourish and prosper. 

Bibliography 

Architectural Review (2018). Initiatives promoting gender equality in architecture. Retrieved 

from https://www.architectural-review.com/architects/women-in-architecture/initiatives-promoting-gender-equality-in-architecture/10037345.article

Fairs, M. (2017). Survey of leading architecture firms reveals “quite shocking” lack of gender 

diversity at senior levels. Retrieved from https://www.dezeen.com/2017/11/16/survey-leading-architecture-firms-reveals-shocking-lack-gender-diversity-senior-levels/

Moosajee, N. (2017). Only 11% of architects and engineers are women. Let’s build a new 

pipeline for female talent. Retrieved from

https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2017/07/women-engineering-architecture-stem-womeng/

Pitcher, G. (2020). Gender pay gap 2020: Architecture’s slow-to-shift rift remains. Retrieved 

from https://www.architectsjournal.co.uk/news/gender-pay-gap-2020-architectures-slow-to-shift-rift-remains/10046924.article

Ponsford, M. (2018). Five top women in world architecture: ‘Now is our time’. Retrieved from 

https://www.cnn.com/style/article/top-women-in-architecture-advice/index.html

The Glass Tower: Why We Need More Women Architects. (2019). Retrieved from