النهوض بالمرأة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات: لجنة الأمم المتحدة للمنظمات غير الحكومية المعنية بوضع المرأة

بقلم أنجا لانز وشيريل كريستيانسن

عضوة SCWIST الفخرية ، Anja Lanz ، مهندسة تصميم حاصلة على شهادة في الفيزياء الهندسية من UBC ، شاركت بنشاط في النهوض بالمرأة في STEM من خلال العديد من المبادرات في حياتها المهنية. تجسد Anja الروح التطوعية وكانت واحدة من ثلاثة قادة GENC المعينين من SCWIST في اجعل مشروع التنوع ممكنًا التي طورت توصيات سياسية رئيسية للنهوض بالمساواة بين الجنسين في جميع أنحاء كندا. 

قائدة SCWIST ، آنيا لانز ، تقدم توصيات بشأن السياسات في اجتماع GENC.

بصفتها عضوًا في اللجنة التوجيهية لمشروع SCWIST الجديد SCALE ، تشارك Anja خبرتها في بناء القدرات التنظيمية من أجل الاستدامة والشراكات التعاونية والوصول إلى الدعوة ، وهي أيضًا عضو رئيسي في لجنة السياسات والتأثير الجديدة التابعة لـ SCWIST. في الآونة الأخيرة ، كان من المقرر أن تمثل أنجا SCWIST في اجتماع الأمم المتحدة في بكين +25 للجنة وضع المرأة (CSW64) في مارس 2020 ؛ وتم إلغاء هذا الحدث العالمي بسبب COVID-19. دائمًا ما تكون ذات حيلة ومصممة للغاية ، استفادت Anja من اتصالاتها الشبكية للمشاركة في مشروع الأمم المتحدة هذا الذي تطور من حركة بكين +25.

فيما يلي تحديث Anja للأنشطة الأخيرة التي تنطوي على عملها التعاوني مع لجنة الأمم المتحدة للمنظمات غير الحكومية المعنية بوضع المرأة:

أشعر بأنني محظوظة للغاية لأنني تمكنت من المشاركة حقًا أثناء منع انتشار الوباء من خلال مشروع جديد ومثير للجنة الأمم المتحدة غير الحكومية المعنية بوضع المرأة / خطة عمل الحركة النسائية في نيويورك (FWMAP) ، وهي نتيجة مباشرة لحركة بكين +25. الهدف هو إنشاء العديد من وحدات التدريس العالمية لطلاب الجامعات في جميع أنحاء العالم بناءً على موضوعات قضايا المرأة التي حددتها الأمم المتحدة. ستكون هذه الوحدات متاحة للجمهور ، وسيتمكن الجميع من الوصول إليها بحرية بمجرد اكتمالها بحلول الموعد النهائي المؤقت لخريف 2020 / شتاء 2021.

المواضيع التي حددتها الأمم المتحدة تشمل:

  1. التنمية الشاملة وتقاسم الرخاء والعمل اللائق
  2. القضاء على الفقر والحماية الاجتماعية والخدمات الاجتماعية
  3. التحرر من العنف والوصم والقوالب النمطية
  4. مؤسسات المشاركة والمساءلة والمستجيبة للنوع الاجتماعي
  5. مجتمعات سلمية وشاملة
  6. الحفاظ على البيئة وحمايتها وإعادة تأهيلها

شعرت أن أهداف SCWIST تتماشى بشكل أفضل مع الموضوعين رقم 1 ورقم 4 ، وانضممت إلى مجموعتي العمل هاتين ، والتي تضم نساء من أمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا وأستراليا ونيجيريا وقيرغيزستان. لدينا اجتماعات منتظمة لمناقشة ما يمكن أن يقدمه كل منا لوحدات التدريس ، ومن يتولى مسؤولية تطوير الأقسام الفرعية المختلفة. نظرًا لأنني أركز على العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) ، فإنني أجلب زاوية فريدة لهذه الوحدات ومجموعات العمل ، بصفتي المرأة الوحيدة الممثلة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. غالبية المواد عالمية مع التركيز على منشورات الأمم المتحدة واليونسكو و CEDAW (اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة). بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، نقوم بمواءمة عملنا لمعالجة أهداف التنمية المستدامة ذات الصلة - أهداف الأمم المتحدة الإنمائية المستدامة.

تمنحني مساهماتي فرصة فريدة للمشاركة وتقديم وجهات نظر المرأة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، والتي لولا ذلك لما تم تضمينها في هذا العمل المهم. أيضًا ، أعود إلى SCWIST بمنظور عالمي حول كيفية مواءمة أهداف SCWIST المحلية والوطنية مع هذه الحركة العالمية وتعلم أفضل الممارسات من الدول والمنظمات الأخرى حول العالم
.

ترقبوا المزيد من التحديثات مع تطور هذا المشروع المثير!

Advancing Women in STEM: United Nations NGO Commission on Status of Women

By Anja Lanz and Cheryl Kristiansen

Honourary SCWIST member, Anja Lanz, a design engineer with a degree in Engineering Physics from UBC, has been actively involved in advancing women in STEM through many initiatives in her career. Anja embodies the volunteer spirit and was one of three SCWIST appointed GENC leaders in the Make DIVERSITY Possible Project that developed key policy recommendations to advance gender equality across Canada. 

SCWIST Leader Anja Lanz presenting policy recommendations at GENC Meeting.

As a member of the Steering Committee for SCWIST’s new SCALE project, Anja shares her expertise to build organizational capacity for sustainability, collaborative partnerships and advocacy reach, and she is also a key member of SCWIST’s new Policy and Impact Committee. Recently, Anja was scheduled to represent SCWIST at the Beijing +25 United Nations Meeting of the Commission on the Status of Women (CSW64) in March 2020; and this global event was cancelled due to COVID-19. Always resourceful and extremely determined, Anja leveraged her networking connections to get involved in this UN project that evolved from the Beijing +25 movement.

Here is Anja’s update on recent activities involving her collaborative work with the United Nations NGO Commission on the Status of Women:

I feel very fortunate to be able to become really involved during the pandemic lockdown with a new and exciting project of the United Nations NGO Commission on the Status of Women / New York Feminist Women Movement Action Plan (FWMAP), which is a direct result of the Beijing +25 movement. The goal is to create several global teaching modules for university students around the world based on themes of women’s issues identified by the United Nations. These modules will be publicly available, and everyone will be able to freely access them once completed by a tentative deadline of Fall 2020/Winter 2021.

The themes identified by the United Nations include:

  1. Inclusive development, share prosperity, and decent work
  2. Poverty eradication, social protection and social services
  3. Freedom from violence, stigma and stereotypes
  4. Participation, accountability and gender-responsive institutions
  5. Peaceful and inclusive societies
  6. Environmental conservation, protection and rehabilitation

I felt that SCWIST goals are best aligned with the themes #1 and #4, and joined both these working groups, which include women from North America, Europe, Australia, Nigeria, and Kyrgyzstan. We have regular meetings to discuss what each of us can bring to the teaching modules, and who takes ownership to develop the various sub-sections. Since I focus on STEM, I bring a unique angle to these modules and to the working groups, as the only woman in STEM represented. The majority of material is global with an emphasis on the United Nations, UNESCO publications and CEDAW ( The Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women). In addition, we align our work to address the relevant SDG’s – UN Sustainable Development Goals.

My contributions give me the unique opportunity to participate and bring forward the perspectives of women in STEM, which otherwise would not have been included in this important work. Also, I bring back to SCWIST a global perspective on how to align SCWIST’s local and national goals to this global movement and to learn best practices from other nations and organizations around the world
.

Stay tuned for more updates as this exciting project develops!