在STEM中提高妇女地位:联合国非政府组织妇女地位委员会

安雅·兰兹(Anja Lanz)和谢丽尔·克里斯蒂安森(Cheryl Kristiansen)

SCWIST荣誉会员Anja Lanz是UBC工程物理学位的设计工程师,她通过其职业生涯中的许多举措积极参与了提高女性在STEM中的工作。 Anja体现了志愿者精神,是SCWIST任命的三位GENC领导人之一 使多样化成为可能 制定了关键政策建议,以促进整个加拿大的性别平等。 

SCWIST负责人Anja Lanz在GENC会议上提出了政策建议。

作为SCWIST新的SCALE项目指导委员会的成员,Anja共享她的专业知识,以建立可持续发展,合作伙伴关系和宣传范围的组织能力,并且她还是SCWIST新的政策和影响委员会的重要成员。 最近,安雅(Anja)计划代表SCWIST参加北京+25联合国妇女地位委员会(CSW64)于2020年19月; 并且此全球性事件由于COVID-XNUMX而被取消。 Anja总是很足智多谋,决心十足,利用她的人脉关系参与了这个联合国项目,该项目从 北京+25运动.

这是安雅(Anja)关于她与联合国非政府组织妇女地位委员会的合作活动的最新活动:

我很幸运能够在大流行封锁中真正参与联合国非政府组织妇女地位委员会/纽约女权主义妇女运动行动计划(防火墙),这是北京+25运动的直接结果。 目标是根据联合国确定的妇女问题主题,为世界各地的大学生创建几个全球教学模块。 这些模块将公开提供,并且每个人都可以在暂定的2020年秋季/ 2021年冬季之前完成免费访问它们。

联合国确定的主题包括:

  1. 包容性发展,共同繁荣和体面工作
  2. 消除贫困,社会保护和社会服务
  3. 免于暴力,污名和定型观念
  4. 参与,问责制和促进性别平等的机构
  5. 和平与包容的社会
  6. 环境保护,保护与修复

我认为SCWIST的目标与主题1和主题4最为一致,并加入了这两个工作组,其中包括来自北美,欧洲,澳大利亚,尼日利亚和吉尔吉斯斯坦的妇女。 我们定期召开会议,讨论我们每个人都可以带到教学模块中的内容,以及谁拥有所有权来开发各个子节。 因为我专注于STEM,所以我作为STEM中唯一的女性代表为这些模块和工作组带来了独特的视角。 大部分材料是全球性的,重点放在联合国,教科文组织出版物和《消除对妇女一切形式歧视公约》(《消除对妇女一切形式歧视公约》)上。 另外,我们调整工作以解决相关的SDG – 联合国可持续发展目标.

我的贡献使我有独特的机会参与并提出了STEM中妇女的观点,否则,这项重要的工作就不会包括在内。 另外,我将为SCWIST带来一个全球视野,探讨如何使SCWIST的本地和国家目标与这一全球运动保持一致,以及如何向世界其他国家和组织学习最佳实践。
.

随着这个令人兴奋的项目的发展,请继续关注更多更新!

Advancing Women in STEM: United Nations NGO Commission on Status of Women

By Anja Lanz and Cheryl Kristiansen

Honourary SCWIST member, Anja Lanz, a design engineer with a degree in Engineering Physics from UBC, has been actively involved in advancing women in STEM through many initiatives in her career. Anja embodies the volunteer spirit and was one of three SCWIST appointed GENC leaders in the Make DIVERSITY Possible Project that developed key policy recommendations to advance gender equality across Canada. 

SCWIST Leader Anja Lanz presenting policy recommendations at GENC Meeting.

As a member of the Steering Committee for SCWIST’s new SCALE project, Anja shares her expertise to build organizational capacity for sustainability, collaborative partnerships and advocacy reach, and she is also a key member of SCWIST’s new Policy and Impact Committee. Recently, Anja was scheduled to represent SCWIST at the Beijing +25 United Nations Meeting of the Commission on the Status of Women (CSW64) in March 2020; and this global event was cancelled due to COVID-19. Always resourceful and extremely determined, Anja leveraged her networking connections to get involved in this UN project that evolved from the Beijing +25 movement.

Here is Anja’s update on recent activities involving her collaborative work with the United Nations NGO Commission on the Status of Women:

I feel very fortunate to be able to become really involved during the pandemic lockdown with a new and exciting project of the United Nations NGO Commission on the Status of Women / New York Feminist Women Movement Action Plan (FWMAP), which is a direct result of the Beijing +25 movement. The goal is to create several global teaching modules for university students around the world based on themes of women’s issues identified by the United Nations. These modules will be publicly available, and everyone will be able to freely access them once completed by a tentative deadline of Fall 2020/Winter 2021.

The themes identified by the United Nations include:

  1. Inclusive development, share prosperity, and decent work
  2. Poverty eradication, social protection and social services
  3. Freedom from violence, stigma and stereotypes
  4. Participation, accountability and gender-responsive institutions
  5. Peaceful and inclusive societies
  6. Environmental conservation, protection and rehabilitation

I felt that SCWIST goals are best aligned with the themes #1 and #4, and joined both these working groups, which include women from North America, Europe, Australia, Nigeria, and Kyrgyzstan. We have regular meetings to discuss what each of us can bring to the teaching modules, and who takes ownership to develop the various sub-sections. Since I focus on STEM, I bring a unique angle to these modules and to the working groups, as the only woman in STEM represented. The majority of material is global with an emphasis on the United Nations, UNESCO publications and CEDAW ( The Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women). In addition, we align our work to address the relevant SDG’s – UN Sustainable Development Goals.

My contributions give me the unique opportunity to participate and bring forward the perspectives of women in STEM, which otherwise would not have been included in this important work. Also, I bring back to SCWIST a global perspective on how to align SCWIST’s local and national goals to this global movement and to learn best practices from other nations and organizations around the world
.

Stay tuned for more updates as this exciting project develops!