بيان مكافحة العنصرية السوداء

بدء محادثة حول مناهضة العنصرية

رؤية SCWIST هي بيئة خالية من الحواجز للفتيات والنساء في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات والتي تشمل الحواجز الإضافية التي تواجهها الفتيات والنساء السود بسبب العنصرية المنهجية. هذه هي رؤيتنا ، ونحن نعلم أنه يمكننا القيام بما هو أفضل. نحن نتضامن مع السود وفي الكفاح من أجل المساواة ، وسنواصل معالجة هذه القضايا في سياقنا الخاص.

في الشهر الماضي نشرتنا الإخباريةركزت رسالة الرئيس على القضايا المنهجية مع العنصرية التي ظهرت في المقدمة مع مقتل جورج فلويد والاحتجاجات المستمرة في الولايات المتحدة ودوليًا حول العنصرية ضد السود ووحشية الشرطة ضد السود والسكان الأصليين. شاركنا الإجراءات التي يمكنك اتخاذها مثل الاتصال بوسائل الإعلام والسياسيون ، الترشح لمنصب والتبرع بالوقت والمال ل التوعية, فعل مباشرو الدعوة المنظمات.

العنصرية النظامية الحالية والتاريخية في كندا تجاه مجتمعات السكان الأصليين ، والسود ، والعنصرية العرضية ضد المهاجرين ، وإرث معسكرات الاعتقال اليابانية ، والمشاعر المعادية لآسيا النابعة من COVID-19 ، كلها تساهم في استمرار الحواجز التي تواجهها النساء والفتيات طوال فترة تعليمهن. والمهن.

ما هي الإجراءات التي يتخذها SCWIST كمنظمة؟

  1. بالأمس ، كجزء من #shutdownSTEM ، استغرق الكثير منا في SCWIST وقتًا للتفكير والتثقيف والاستماع. 
  2. توسيع الاستثمار في SCWIST's ط نظام معلومات المنظمة (Immigrating Women in STEM) الذي يتصل بالنساء المهاجرات اللائي يواجهن حواجز متعددة في كندا.
  3. عندما نفكر في استخدام مقاولين خارجيين (بما في ذلك تقديم الطعام) ، سنبحث عن قصد عن السود والسكان الأصليين والأشخاص الملونين (BIPOC) والنساء و LGBTQIA2 + والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة والشركات المملوكة للمخضرمين و / أو المؤسسات الاجتماعية للقيام بهذا العمل .
  4. سوف نتطلع إلى إنشاء المزيد من المنح الدراسية للنساء السود والنساء من السكان الأصليين و WOC في STEM من خلال ميزانية المنح الدراسية المتزايدة حديثًا.
  5. ضمان إشراك النساء ذوات البشرة الملونة ، وخاصة القيادات النسائية من السود والسكان الأصليين ، عند وضع الأحداث باستخدام مكبرات الصوت وأعضاء اللجنة والاستمرار في إبراز أصوات وقصص متنوعة في محتوى اتصالاتنا. 
  6. تلتزم SCWIST بالاتصال بمنظمات BIPOC حتى نتمكن من تضخيم العمل الذي يقومون به. وهذا يشمل التوظيف المحسن لمديري مجلس الإدارة وأعضاء اللجنة التوجيهية للبحث عن المجموعات الممثلة تمثيلا ناقصا.
  7. سيكون لدينا تقرير حالة إلى أعضائنا في اجتماع الجمعية العمومية للعام المقبل حول الإجراءات التي التزمنا بها.

يمكننا جميعًا ، وخاصة النساء البيض وغير السود في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، استخدام أي قوة وامتياز لدينا من أجل الخير لخلق التغيير الإيجابي المطلوب الآن. تذكر أن التحيز المتأصل عميقاً وكل منا مسؤول بشكل شخصي عن التخلص من العنصرية.

نحن ندين بشدة العنصرية ضد السود ووحشية الشرطة ، ونؤكد أن حياة السود مهمة. عقولنا وقلوبنا منفتحة. نرحب بتعليقات أعضائنا ومجتمعنا الأوسع. يرجى الاتصال بنا على [البريد الإلكتروني محمي] للاقتراحات والتعليقات. 

شكراً لك
كيلي مارسينيو ، رئيس SCWIST

Anti-Black Racism Statement

Beginning a Conversation on Anti-Racism

SCWIST’s vision is an environment without barriers for girls and women in STEM which includes the additional barriers that Black girls and women face due to systemic racism. This is our vision, and we know we can do better. We stand in solidarity with Black people and in the fight towards equality, and will continue to address these issues within our own context.

In last month’s newsletter, the President’s Message focused on the systemic issues with racism brought to the forefront with George Floyd’s’s murder and the ongoing protests in the USA and internationally about anti-Black racism and police brutality against Black and Indigenous people. We shared actions you could take such as contacting media and politicians, running for office and donating time and money to outreach, direct action, and advocacy organizations.

Canada’s current and historic systemic racism toward Indigenous communities, Black people, the casual racism against immigrants, the legacy of Japanese internment camps, and anti-Asian sentiments stemming from COVID-19, all contribute to the continued barriers women and girls face throughout their education and careers.

What actions is SCWIST taking as an organization?

  1. Yesterday, as part of #shutdownSTEM, many of us within SCWIST took time to reflect, educate and listen. 
  2. Expanding investment in SCWIST’s IWIS (Immigrating Women in STEM) program which connects with immigrant women who face multiple barriers in Canada.
  3. When we are considering using external contractors (including catering), we will be purposefully looking for Black, Indigenous and People of Colour (BIPOC), women, LGBTQIA2+, people with disabilities, veteran owned companies, and / or social enterprises to do the work.
  4. We will be looking to create more scholarships for Black women, Indigenous women and WOC in STEM with our newly increased scholarship budget.
  5. Ensuring we engage women of colour, especially Black and Indigenous women leaders, when putting on events using speakers and panelists and continuing to feature diverse voices and stories in our communications content. 
  6. SCWIST commits to connecting with BIPOC organizations so we can amplify the work they are doing. This includes enhanced recruitment for our board directors and steering committee members to seek out underrepresented groups.
  7. We will have a status report to our members at next year’s AGM on the actions we have committed to.

We all, particularly white and other non-Black women in STEM, can use whatever power and privilege we do have for good to create the positive change that is needed now. Remember, inherent bias runs deep and we are each personally responsible and accountable for unlearning racism.

We actively condemn anti-Black racism and police brutality, and affirm that Black Lives Matter. Our minds and hearts are open. We welcome feedback from our members and our wider community. Please contact us at [email protected] for suggestions and comments. 

Thank you
Kelly Marciniw, SCWIST President