反黑人种族主义言论

开始反种族主义对话

SCWIST的愿景是STEM中女孩和妇女没有障碍的环境,其中包括黑人女孩和妇女由于系统种族主义而面临的其他障碍。 这是我们的愿景,我们知道我们可以做得更好。 我们与黑人团结一致,并为争取平等而奋斗,并将继续在我们自己的背景下解决这些问题。

在上个月 通讯,总统致辞将重点放在种族主义的系统性问题上,乔治·弗洛伊德(George Floyd)被谋杀以及在美国和国际上有关反黑人种族主义和警察对黑人和土著人民的残酷对待的抗议活动都引起了人们的关注。 我们分享了您可以采取的措施,例如 联系媒体 和政客, 竞选办公室 并捐赠时间和金钱给 推广, 直接行动鼓吹 组织。

加拿大当前和历史上针对土著社区的系统种族主义,黑人,针对移民的种族主义,日本拘留营的遗留以及源自COVID-19的反亚洲情绪,都加剧了妇女和女童在整个教育过程中所面临的持续障碍和职业。

SCWIST作为组织将采取什么行动?

  1. 昨天,作为#shutdownSTEM的一部分,SCWIST中的许多人都花了一些时间进行反思,教育和倾听。 
  2. 扩大对SCWIST的投资 的确 (在STEM中移民妇女)计划,该计划与在加拿大面临多重障碍的移民妇女联系起来。
  3. 当我们考虑使用外部承包商(包括餐饮服务)时,我们将有目的地寻找黑人,土著和有色人种(BIPOC),女性,LGBTQIA2 +,残疾人,老牌公司和/或社会企业来开展工作。
  4. 随着我们新增加的奖学金预算,我们将寻求为STEM中的黑人妇女,土著妇女和WOC创建更多奖学金。
  5. 确保我们在进行活动时使用有色人种的女性,尤其是黑人和土著女性领袖 演讲嘉宾 并继续在我们的通讯内容中展现不同的声音和故事。 
  6. SCWIST致力于与BIPOC组织建立联系,以便我们扩大他们正在进行的工作。 这包括增加对我们的董事和指导委员会成员的招聘,以寻找人数不足的群体。
  7. 我们将在明年的年度股东大会上向我们的会员提交一份有关我们已承诺采取的行动的状态报告。

我们所有人,特别是STEM中的白人妇女和其他非黑人妇女,都可以利用我们拥有的一切权力和特权永久创造现在所需的积极变化。 请记住,内在的偏见根深蒂固,我们每个人对不了解种族主义负有个人责任并负责。

我们积极谴责反黑人种族主义和警察的残暴行径,并确认“黑人生活至关重要”。 我们的思想和心灵是开放的。 我们欢迎成员和广大社区的反馈。 请通过以下方式与我们联系 [电子邮件保护] 寻求建议和意见。 

谢谢
SCWIST总裁Kelly Marciniw

Anti-Black Racism Statement

Beginning a Conversation on Anti-Racism

SCWIST’s vision is an environment without barriers for girls and women in STEM which includes the additional barriers that Black girls and women face due to systemic racism. This is our vision, and we know we can do better. We stand in solidarity with Black people and in the fight towards equality, and will continue to address these issues within our own context.

In last month’s newsletter, the President’s Message focused on the systemic issues with racism brought to the forefront with George Floyd’s’s murder and the ongoing protests in the USA and internationally about anti-Black racism and police brutality against Black and Indigenous people. We shared actions you could take such as contacting media and politicians, running for office and donating time and money to outreach, direct action, and advocacy organizations.

Canada’s current and historic systemic racism toward Indigenous communities, Black people, the casual racism against immigrants, the legacy of Japanese internment camps, and anti-Asian sentiments stemming from COVID-19, all contribute to the continued barriers women and girls face throughout their education and careers.

What actions is SCWIST taking as an organization?

  1. Yesterday, as part of #shutdownSTEM, many of us within SCWIST took time to reflect, educate and listen. 
  2. Expanding investment in SCWIST’s IWIS (Immigrating Women in STEM) program which connects with immigrant women who face multiple barriers in Canada.
  3. When we are considering using external contractors (including catering), we will be purposefully looking for Black, Indigenous and People of Colour (BIPOC), women, LGBTQIA2+, people with disabilities, veteran owned companies, and / or social enterprises to do the work.
  4. We will be looking to create more scholarships for Black women, Indigenous women and WOC in STEM with our newly increased scholarship budget.
  5. Ensuring we engage women of colour, especially Black and Indigenous women leaders, when putting on events using speakers and panelists and continuing to feature diverse voices and stories in our communications content. 
  6. SCWIST commits to connecting with BIPOC organizations so we can amplify the work they are doing. This includes enhanced recruitment for our board directors and steering committee members to seek out underrepresented groups.
  7. We will have a status report to our members at next year’s AGM on the actions we have committed to.

We all, particularly white and other non-Black women in STEM, can use whatever power and privilege we do have for good to create the positive change that is needed now. Remember, inherent bias runs deep and we are each personally responsible and accountable for unlearning racism.

We actively condemn anti-Black racism and police brutality, and affirm that Black Lives Matter. Our minds and hearts are open. We welcome feedback from our members and our wider community. Please contact us at [email protected] for suggestions and comments. 

Thank you
Kelly Marciniw, SCWIST President