黑人妇女与STEM中榜样的必要性

卡桑德拉·伯德(Kassandra Burd)

仅仅说我们在STEM中没有看到足够的女性是不够的。 当我们深入研究时,我们不仅目睹了基于性别的歧视,而且还在各个STEM领域目睹了基于种族的歧视。 在考虑这些学科如何取得进步以及如何提高少数群体妇女的知名度时,采用交叉方法来理解STEM领域绝对至关重要。

黑人妇女是一个特定的少数群体,人数严重不足。 探索在这一发现中起作用的不同方面非常重要。 我们必须理解为什么我们在STEM中没有看到足够多的黑人女性。

缺乏可见的黑人榜样在对追求STEM学位或职业感兴趣的黑人女性的匮乏中起着重要作用。 根据美国国家教育统计中心的数据,黑人女性仅获得2.9%的STEM学士学位,而拉丁裔女性为3.6%,亚洲女性为4.8%-显然是另一个问题(科学日报,2019).

那些进入STEM领域的人更有可能相信自己的归属,因此数量有限的黑人女性很可能暗示几乎没有归属感(Science Daily,2019)。 对于黑人妇女,他们对自己的种族身份以及在教育和就业中可能面临的潜在歧视一窍不通,当他们无法与导师认同时,似乎缺乏信任和和谐。 随着更多的黑人妇女成为指导者和榜样,黑人女孩和妇女将更有可能感到有能力,这可能会增加从事STEM事业的动力。

让已经在该领域工作的白人妇女和黑人充当黑人妇女的盟友和拥护者也是有帮助的,这也显示出可以改善归属感(《科学日报》,2019年)。 印第安纳州普渡大学的伊娃·皮特里(Eva Pietri)博士指出:“同盟在增加有色女性中的归属感方面可以发挥非常重要的作用,但她们必须通过行动和行为清楚地表明自己的同盟关系”(《科学日报》,2019年)。 该声明很有说服力:它强调行动–仅讲讲少数族裔在STEM中的必要性,仅采取必要的步骤进行变革以促进黑人妇女的成功,这是不够的。

美国国家科学基金会(National Science Foundation)称,有色女性中只有不到十分之一的科学家和工程师是女性。尤里卡勒特,2018)。 此外,黑人妇女对追求STEM专业学位的兴趣比白人妇女高。 但是,他们获得这些学位的可能性较小(O'Brien等人,2015)。 这些令人沮丧的统计数据使人们很容易理解为什么WOC,特别是黑人妇女,没有动力从事STEM事业。

刻板印象的种族壁垒到位,这就是为什么不仅要关注STEM中的主流性别问题,而且还要关注交叉的性别种族问题至关重要。 密苏里大学的博士后研究员Terrell Morton说:“人们对科学的表象非常狭窄,现在,是年龄较大的白人戴着护目镜和手持烧杯。 当年轻的WOC在学习环境中看到这些图像时,会使她感到不受欢迎,因为该图像中没有任何东西可以代表她”(Eurekalert,2018年)。 我们可以通过创建更具包容性的教室,积极强调性别和种族认同的活动,结合阅读和作业来增强黑人的声音,并突出黑人妇女的榜样来支持黑人妇女参加STEM。 例如,当黑人女性数学家被问及成功的原因时,他们提到了指导,支持计划和学习小组(Borum&Walker,2012)。 最终,这突出了支持网络对建立信心和技能的重要性。

为了在STEM中进一步支持黑人妇女,我们必须了解影响她们经历的主要因素。 研究(Ireland et al。,2018)显示,有助于黑人妇女和女孩追求STEM学位的经历的主要组成部分包括:

  1. 身份
  2. 对STEM的兴趣程度,持久性和信心;
  3. 对能力和成就的感知; 和
  4. 技术支持

如果使与个人相似的杰出而有成就的人物更加突出,那么个人就更有可能受到鼓舞和鼓励去追求自己的目标。 看到自己在所选择领域的成功人士中得到反映,可以帮助您坚持不懈和蓬勃发展。 它产生了一种心态:“如果她能做到,我也能做到。”

体制障碍黑人妇女在追求学位或职业时面临的挑战是不公平和不公平的。 黑人妇女为黑人女孩和妇女树立榜样的知名度无疑将在鼓励她们争取迫切需要其他观点的白人男性主导的STEM职业方面发挥积极作用。 在STEM中将重点放在黑人女性导师身上,这清楚地表明,不仅是黑人女性将从中受益,而且在包括女性少数群体在内的众多STEM领域中,不可避免地会变得更加积极和细致。

Black Women and the Necessity of Role Models in STEM

By Kassandra Burd

It is not enough to say that we aren’t seeing enough women in STEM. When we dig a little deeper, we’re not only witnessing gender-based discrimination, but also race-based discrimination in various STEM fields. Taking an intersectional approach to the way we perceive STEM fields is absolutely critical when thinking of how these disciplines can make progress, as well as how they can increase visibility for women belonging to minority groups.

Black women are a specific minority group that are seriously underrepresented. Exploring the differential aspects that play a role in this finding is exceptionally important. We must understand why we are not seeing enough Black women in STEM.

Lack of visible Black role models plays a significant role in the scarcity of Black women who are interested in pursuing a STEM degree or career. According to the National Center for Education Statistics in the United States, only 2.9% of STEM Bachelor degrees are awarded to Black women versus 3.6% of Latina women, and 4.8% Asian women – clearly another problem (Science Daily, 2019).

Those who enter STEM fields are more likely to believe that they belong, and so the limited number of Black women might very well imply that there is little to no sense of belonging (Science Daily, 2019). For Black women who are hyperaware of their racial identity and the potential discrimination they might face both within education and employment, there appears to be a lack of trust and harmony when they are unable to identify with their mentors. With more Black women as mentors and role models, Black girls and women will be more likely to feel empowered, which might increase motivation to pursue a career in STEM.

It is also helpful to have White women and men who are already in the field serve as allies and advocates for Black women, which is also shown to improve a sense of belonging (Science Daily, 2019). Dr. Eva Pietri, from Indiana-Purdue University, notes that “allies can play a really big role in increasing belonging among women of colour, but they have to really clearly signal their allyship through actions and behaviours” (Science Daily, 2019). This statement is powerful: it emphasizes action – it is not sufficient to merely preach about the necessity of women minorities in STEM, but rather to implement the necessary steps to produce change and promote Black women’s success.

Fewer than one in ten scientists and engineers are women of colour, according to the National Science Foundation (Eurekalert, 2018). Moreover, Black women express more interest in pursuing degrees in STEM fields than White women; however, they are less likely to earn those degrees (O’Brien et al., 2015). These discouraging statistics make it easy to comprehend why WOC, specifically Black women, feel uninspired to pursue a STEM career.

Stereotypical racial barriers are in place, which is why it is crucial to not only focus on mainstream gender issues within STEM, but also intersectional gender-racial issues. Terrell Morton, a postdoctoral fellow at University of Missouri, states: “People have a very narrow view of what science looks like, and right now, it’s older white men wearing goggles and holding beakers. When a young WOC sees those images in a learning environment, it can make her feel unwelcome because there is nothing in that image that represents her” (Eurekalert, 2018). We can support Black women in STEM by creating more inclusive classrooms, activities that positively highlight gender and racial identity, incorporating reading and assignments that amplify Black voices, and giving prominence to Black women role models. For instance, when Black women mathematicians were asked what they attributed to their success, they mentioned mentorship, supportive programs, and study groups (Borum & Walker, 2012). Ultimately, this highlights the importance of support networks to help build confidence and skill.

In order to further support Black women in STEM, we must understand the main factors that contribute to their experiences. Research studies (Ireland et al., 2018) show the central components that are conducive to Black women and girls’ experiences in the pursuit of STEM degrees include:

  1. Identity;
  2. Level of interest in STEM, persistence, and confidence;
  3. Perception of ability and achievement; and
  4. Support

If prominent and accomplished figures that resemble an individual are made more salient, the individual is more likely to feel inspired and encouraged to pursue their goals. Seeing yourself reflected in successful individuals in your chosen field helps you persevere and thrive. It yields to the mindset, “If she can do it, I can do it too.”

Systemic barriers Black women face in the pursuit of their degree or career are inequitable and unfair. Increasing visibility of Black women role models for Black girls and women would undoubtedly play a positive role in encouraging them to strive for White male-dominated STEM careers that are in dire need of alternative perspectives. Placing an emphasis on Black women mentors in STEM makes it clear that it is not only Black women who will benefit, but also the many STEM fields that would inevitably become more positively nuanced and multidimensional with the inclusion of women minorities.