在服务不足的社区中赋予妇女权力

By 阿什莉·奥泽尔(Ashley Orzel) (ashleyorzel.com)

根据教科文组织统计研究所(UIS)的数据在全球,只有不到30%的STEM研究人员是女性。 联合国秘书长安东尼奥·古特雷斯(AntónioGuterres)在一份讲话中说:“实现性别平等并赋予妇女和女孩权力是我们时代的未完成任务,也是当今世界最大的人权挑战。” 声明 在2018年国际妇女节上。

新的 世界经济论坛性别差距报告 据预测,要消除全球劳动力中普遍存在的性别差距,将需要257年。 尽管在全球范围内,妇女在STEM中的任职人数仍然不足,但在法律和社会规范中强烈铭文重男轻女的社区中,又面临着更大的挑战。 

“女性主要被看作是家庭主妇,即使他们加入了劳动力队伍,他们也被认为更适合像学校老师这样的'软'角色,”巴基斯坦ist路支省文化在线首席执行官,电视主持人Hadeel Sahal Al Balushi说,他也是的演讲嘉宾 SCWIST的2020年性别平等周论坛。 她补充说,这与兴趣或能力无关,而与鼓励和文化成见有关。 

那么,我们如何在国际上帮助想从事STEM事业的女性呢? 

改变人们的观念

“为了改变一切,妇女必须捍卫自己的权利。 我们不能只是保持被动,而是希望社会有一天改变立场。”

Hadeel Sahal Al Balushi, 巴基斯坦Bal路支省电视台主持人兼文化在线首席执行官

受制于社会压力,许多妇女面临着在局限于家庭的传统角色或追求教育和职业之间做出选择的困境。 

根据艾伦·约翰逊(Allan Johnson)的说法, 性别纠结:揭示我们的父权制遗产父权制通常不是男人在统治女人方面一直在进行的持续努力,而是一个长期存在的制度,我们无意识地诞生并参与其中。 

父权制有一种说服我们的方式,那就是生活,没有其他选择。 改变心态意味着挑战现有的社会结构并消除障碍。 

约翰逊的解决方案首先要承认父权制的持续存在以及我们如何参与父权制。 他写道:“关键总是将我们的选择与我们参与的系统联系起来。” 您越关注它,就会发现改变它的机会越多。 

受教育的机会

培养知识和信心以挑战现有社会结构的关键是获得教育。

由于经济差异,教师,学校和基础设施超出了许多社区的承受能力。 对公共服务进行投资可以增强妇女在关系中争取更多平等的能力,并提高她们获得高质量中学教育的机会(资源).

1991年的研究 教育妇女:父权制国家的政治经济学 发现“妇女教育中的不平等趋势不是故意的排斥政策的结果,而是关于男女社会角色的不受挑战的社会规范。”

根据印度国家扫盲团的一项研究,妇女识字率得到了以下好处:儿童参与初等教育的参与增加,婴儿死亡率降低,儿童保育和免疫接种的成功率提高,生育率下降,自信心和自妇女形象,提高妇女对其社会和法律权利的认识。

在发展中国家,首要的重点必须是留住学生。 更好的受教育机会使妇女拥有更大的社会和政治发言权,同时也提高了生产力和经济增长(资源).

指导和联系的价值

在STEM中赋予下一代女性权力的一种有价值的工具是将她们与行业领导者联系起来。 

SCWIST的 在STEM(IWIS)计划中移民妇女 肩负着建立支持性社区的使命,妇女可以在其中分享经验,寻求建议并扩大其网络。 还可以通过SCWIST的网站为女孩提供免费指导 成为可能 平台。

调研 由微软进行 揭示了榜样和指导者对STEM中的女孩和年轻妇女具有深远的影响。 指导,适当的职业建议和指导对于推动他们的愿望至关重要。 如果我们向年轻女性展示他人所取得的成就以及她们对世界的影响,我们可以激发她们实现其在STEM中的潜力。

女性领导:赋予女性发言权

目前,在全球25个议会席位中,只有35,127%由妇女担任,在21名部长中,有3,343%是妇女。 在某些国家/地区,女性根本没有代表(资源).

我们需要提高妇女的声音,以更好地促进妇女迈向性别平等的旅程,并使妇女担任政府和领导职务。 

在加拿大, 一项研究中 研究表明,担任公职的妇女对“政策,计划和行动,如渔业,汽车工业,国家安全,自然资源,环境,科学,人力资源和国际关系等都有明显影响。” 这种影响不仅源于女性观点,而且源于开放,合作且等级低下的领导风格。

这是我们需要鼓励妇女站起来前进的时候。 让妇女担任领导职务正在打破父权制并显示妇女可以取得的成就。 

总结

解决性别差距和缩小性别差距,特别是在长期存在父权制的无人社区中,这是一项艰巨的任务。 但是,我们可以采取一些步骤来逐步发展成为一个全球社会。 通过认识到不平等,挑战自我和现有的社会结构,投资于更好的受教育机会,将女孩与鼓舞人心的导师联系起来以及鼓励更多的妇女担任领导职务,我们可以使更多的妇女勇于大胆并充分发挥其潜力。

阿什莉·奥泽尔(Ashley Orzel) 是一位自由内容专家,专注于写作,编辑,网站策略和多媒体制作。 对阿什利有疑问吗? 拜访她 官网 或通过Twitter与她联系 @ashleyjaye.

Empowering women in underserved communities

By Ashley Orzel (ashleyorzel.com)

According to UNESCO Institute of Statistics (UIS) data, less than 30% of the world’s STEM researchers are women. “Achieving gender equality and empowering women and girls is the unfinished business of our time, and the greatest rights challenge in our world,” UN Secretary-General António Guterres said in a statement on International Women’s Day in 2018.

The World Economic Forum Gender Gap Report predicts that it will take 257 years to eliminate the prevailing gender gap in the workforce, globally.  While women remain underrepresented in STEM on a global scale, there is an added challenge in communities where patriarchy is strongly inscribed in the laws and social norms. 

“Women are primarily seen as homemakers, and even when they join the workforce, they are seen as being more suitable to ‘soft’ roles like school teachers,” said Hadeel Sahal Al Balushi, TV Anchor and CEO of Culture Online in Balochistan, Pakistan, who was also a guest speaker at SCWIST’s 2020 Gender Equality Week Forum. She adds that this has less to do with interests or capabilities, and more to do with encouragement and cultural stereotypes. 

So how can we help women internationally who want to pursue a career in STEM? 

Changing the Mindset of the People

“For things to change, women must stand up for their rights. We cannot just remain passive and keep hoping that one day the society will change its stance.”

Hadeel Sahal Al Balushi, TV Anchor and CEO of Culture Online in Balochistan, Pakistan

Bound to social pressure, many women face the dilemma of choosing between a traditional role confined to the home or pursuing an education and career. 

According to Allan Johnson, the author of The Gender Knot: Unraveling our Patriarchal Legacy, patriarchy is generally not an explicit ongoing effort by men to dominate women, but a long-standing system that we are unconsciously born into and participate in. 

Patriarchy has a way of convincing us that this is the way life is and there is no alternative. Changing the mindset means challenging an existing social structure and removing its barriers. 

Johnson’s solution starts with acknowledging the ongoing existence of patriarchy and how we participate in it. “The key is always to connect our choices to the systems we participate in,” he writes. The more you pay attention to it, the more opportunities you will find to change it. 

Access to Education

A key to developing the knowledge and confidence to challenge an existing social structure is through access to education.

Teachers, schools and infrastructure are beyond the reach of many communities due to economic disparity. Investing in public services can increase women’s ability to negotiate more equality in their relationships and improve their access to high-quality secondary education (source).

The 1991 study Educating Women: The Political Economy of Patriarchal States found that “the tendency for inequality in women’s education is not the result of deliberate policies of exclusion, but unchallenged social norms regarding social roles of men and women.”

Based on a National Literacy Mission in India, the study identified the following benefits from women’s literacy: increased participation of children in primary education, reduced infant mortality, greater success in child care and immunizations, declined fertility rates, greater self-confidence and self-image among women, and greater awareness by women of their social and legal rights.

In the developing world, the first focus must be on student retention. Better access to education gives women a greater social and political voice, while also boosting productivity and economic growth (source).

The Value of Mentorship and Connection

A valuable tool for empowering the next generation of women in STEM is connecting them with leaders in the industry. 

SCWIST’s Immigrating Women in STEM (IWIS) program has a mission to develop a supportive community where women can share their experiences, seek advice and broaden their networks. Free mentorship for girls is also available through SCWIST’s Make Possible platform.

Research conducted by Microsoft revealed that role models and mentors have a profound impact on girls and young women in STEM. Mentorships, proper career advice and guidance is vital for powering their aspirations. If we show young women what others have achieved and the impact that they have made on the world, we can inspire them to realize their potential in STEM.

Female Leadership: Giving Women a Voice

Currently, only 25% of the 35,127 global seats in parliament are occupied by women and 21% of the 3,343 ministers are women; in some countries, women are not represented at all (source).

We need to promote women’s voices to better facilitate women’s journey to gender equality and get women in government and leadership positions. 

In Canada, one study showed that women in public service have had a clear impact on “policy, programs and operations such as in fisheries, the automotive industry, national security, natural resources, the environment, science, human resources and international relations.” This impact arises not only from the inclusion of women’s perspectives, but also from leadership styles that are open, collaborative and less hierarchical.

This is the time we need to encourage women to rise up and push forward. Having women in leadership roles is breaking down patriarchal structures and showing what women can achieve. 

Conclusion

Solving gender disparity and closing the gender gap, particularly in unserved communities with long-standing patriarchy, is a daunting task. But there are steps we can take individually to progress as a global society. By acknowledging the inequality, challenging ourselves and the existing social structure, investing in better access to education, connecting girls with inspiring mentors, and encouraging more women to pursue leadership positions, we can empower more women to be bold and realize their full potential.

Ashley Orzel is a freelance content specialist with a focus on writing, editing, website strategy and multimedia production. Have questions for Ashley? Visit her website or contact her via Twitter @ashleyjaye.