SCWIST的每月志愿者奖

SCWIST的目的是突出志愿者的贡献,并感谢他们的时间和投入。 每个月,我们都会从小时,事件和影响力方面表现出色的志愿者中选出本月的志愿者,他们表现出对SCWIST品牌的理解。 此外,他们的志愿服务有助于自己的个人和职业发展。 

现在,我们希望获得“本月志愿者”奖的以下志愿者:

六月2021 | 艾莉丝·赫伯特

“我在 2020 年春季在 UBC 完成图书馆学硕士学位,并已搬回美国,尽管搬家了,但我仍然想在温哥华认识志同道合的女性,并对 STEM 教育非常感兴趣。 我找到了 SCWIST 并且非常喜欢他们看重的东西——他们如何在科学和技术领域支持女性,并为志愿者提供培养可转移技能的机会。 这个组织的志愿者们非常努力和善良! 成为其中的一员真是太好了。 每个月,我都会很高兴地阅读有关该领域科学家的新发现,了解当地、国家和国际 STEM 业务,并及时了解时事,仅举几例。 我期待着继续为 SCWIST 做志愿者。” — 艾莉丝

Alyse Hebert 于 2020 年 2200 月加入通讯委员会。从那时起,她每个月都有时间发起和起草 SCWIST 月刊。 Alyse 已经学会了采用 SCWIST 语音,并且能够应用注重细节的思维方式以合乎逻辑的方式格式化信息。 Alyse 还是 SCWIST 中最独立和自给自足的志愿者之一——您可以依靠她开始整理月刊,而无需任何提醒。 由于 Alyse 的工作,SCWIST 的 8 名时事通讯订阅者在每个月底都有引人入胜的内容可供阅读,并随时了解 SCWIST 计划。 Alyse 提高了她的技能,包括使用 Slack 和 MailChimp 等通信和营销工具。 除了实用技能外,Alyse 还建立了令人印象深刻的通讯组合,其中包括 XNUMX 份月刊。 她通过自己的贡献证明了她是可靠的、独立的和有组织的——这些属性对于工作场所都很重要,无论是非营利组织还是企业组织。

Alyse 直接使用 SCWIST MailChimp 模板、品牌指南,并通过这些工具传达组织的使命和价值观。 当订阅者在每个月末阅读时事通讯时,您可以打赌他们阅读的内容是由 Alyse 提供的。 一位喜欢 XNUMX 月时事通讯的订阅者通过电子邮件说:“很棒的时事通讯! 信息丰富,有趣,漂亮,太! 谢谢!” Alyse 已经证明她理解并可以放大 SCWIST 的声音。

通过每月为 SCWIST 的内容创建做出贡献,Alyse 一直是通信团队最敬业的志愿者之一。 她的工作备受赞赏,并没有被忽视!

四月2021 | 阿西玛·科斯拉

SCWIST认识到 阿西玛·科斯拉 并获得2021年XNUMX月的“本月志愿者”奖!

恭喜! 关于她在 SCWIST 的经历,Aashima 说:“当我 2020 年从美国搬到加拿大时,我正在寻找进入新市场并建立我的网络的方法。 在 2021 年初参加了我的第一次 SCWIST 活动后,我受到了来自生命科学界各个领域的女性群体的启发和鼓励。 此后不久,我加入了 SCWIST 活动团队。 通过规划我们的职业发展活动,我能够接触到非常有成就的科学家、工程师、数学家和其他提供绝对宝贵建议和支持的人,这些建议和支持将在我的整个职业生涯中为我提供帮助。 我也觉得绝对有必要让一群志同道合的人拥有相同的热情。 通过 SCWIST 与 STEM 领域的女性同胞会面,我已经能够创建一个由女性组成的支持小组,她们互相关心,分享自己的经验和教训。 我已经建立了持久的友谊,我将伴随我的余生。”

作为活动委员会的成员,Aashima共同组织和主持了“工业界学术界”迷你系列,有关科学传播的“棕色袋”以及我们的志愿者感谢活动。 她还主动为《科学奥德赛》设计了宣传材料,并为招聘会提供了数字营销和社交媒体计划。 目前,她正在领导即将举行的有关高等教育管理职业道路的活动的计划。

作为财务和拨款委员会的成员,她正在帮助SCWIST进行预算计划,并在此过程中了解了如何管理非营利组织的财务。 她还积极参加筹款会议。

Aashima会在需要时加入,对于提交最后一分钟的赠款申请至关重要。 她还是评估SCWIST数字扫盲奖学金申请的委员会成员。

在SCWIST,Aashima获得了在多元化团队中工作的经验,并为营造积极的工作氛围以促进思想,问题和解决方案的共享而感到自豪。 她还在练习与外部利益相关者的沟通,赠款写作和演讲技巧。 Aashima设计活动的图形,并且对使用SCWIST品牌的颜色和徽标有深入的了解。 作为活动协调员,Aashima非常了解以专业的方式代表SCWIST并成为SCWIST杰出大使。 

三月2021 | Maritza Jaramillo博士

SCWIST历史上的第一次:

  1. 我们有一章。
  2. 我们在魁北克的会员开始组织起来。
  3. SCWIST举办了一个活动,重点介绍了魁北克女科学家的工作,领导能力和个人经历。

没有Maritza Jaramillo博士的奉献和辛勤工作,这是不可能实现的。 尽管是一位非常繁忙的教授,她自己在自己的研究实验室里工作,但贾拉米洛博士(James Raramillo博士)是美国国立国际研究中心–阿曼-弗拉皮耶·桑特生物技术中心(CAFSB)的副教授,她投入时间为SCWIST-魁北克分会种植种子。 她热情地领导了该章的核心小组,策划了该章的开幕活动。 Jaramillo博士动员了她的专业网络在NSERC和INRS等大型组织中推广活动,从而导致了较高的活动注册率和出席率。 她还帮助吸引了魁北克的新成员和捐款。

作为SCWIST魁北克分会的顾问,Maritza Jaramillo博士继续参与该分会未来工作的战略规划。 她能够重新连接到她的专业网络,并通过SCWIST网络中的新联系人进行扩展。 她与NSERC和INRS一起提高了魁北克SCWIST的知名度。

2021年XNUMX月| 莫妮卡·卡哈尔(Monika Kajal)

莫妮卡(Monika)通过生成和传播工作委员会调查来领导改善SCWIST工作委员会的工作。 她的项目旨在通过工作委员会增加到SCWIST网站的访问量,并扩大雇主可以接触到的STEM女性候选人的人数。 莫妮卡(Monika)一直是BD团队和Comms团队之间在这个项目上的管道,并具有感染力。 她对SCWIST的年轻成员提出的新想法持开放态度,并为SCWIST的声音带来了令人耳目一新的方法。 当SCWIST希望为子孙后代建立基础时,莫妮卡(Monika)这样的态度将确保组织的成功。

从更保守的人到旨在进一步突破品牌界限的人们,莫妮卡已经证明了对SCWIST多元化观点的理解。 通过追求不同团队成员的意见,莫妮卡(Monika)表明了她具有自我激励和执着的精神。

Monika在工作委员会调查项目中权衡了所有利益相关者的意见,包括雇主,准雇员,BD团队,Comms团队和SCWIST作为一个组织。 她考虑了所有相关利益方在工​​作委员会中的潜在优势和所有问题的对立面,并确保SCWIST品牌不会受到损害。

2021年XNUMX月| Namrata Jain博士

Namrata始终保持主动并充分执行。 她精力充沛,有条理,承担的责任比她所承担的要多得多。 她拥有工作委员会改善项目的很大一部分,并且始终以高效,有效和专业的方式完成她的任务。

Namrata的任务是领导业务开发团队中两个项目的项目协调,她是跟踪进度并跟踪我们的团队之一。

Namrata正在学习如何在一个多元化的团队中工作,以及如何在练习项目计划,与外部利益相关者的交流,演讲技巧和战略思维的同时领导和激发他人。 在专业发展的推动下,Namarata希望创建一个富有生产力的协作空间。 她尊重团队成员,并努力增强团队内外的能力。

Namrata分享她的经验时回忆说:“我于2020年加入SCWIST业务开发团队,担任业务策略师,与STEM中的女性联系在一起,并为我的事业贡献力量。 SCWIST的使命是提高妇女和女孩在STEM中的存在和影响力,这与我个人的价值观产生了共鸣。 在SCWIST,我发现自己拥有出色的创造力。 从那时起,我参与了组织内部的各种长期和短期合作,包括业务开发工作委员会和电子商店,40周年品牌和商品,以及活动和交流团队。 我很高兴与成绩卓著,善良的女性一起工作并向他们学习,他们竭尽全力向我提供支持和指导。 作为一名SCWIST志愿者,我有机会利用自己的技能,为在STEM中为女性创造可能性提供了有价值的机会。 它还帮助我进一步发展了新技能,扩展了我的网络并建立了终身友谊。 我真正相信,当一群积极进取的人分享愿景时,他们会产生很大的影响。 SCWIST社区正在全力推动他们的发展。 我很高兴能成为这种力量的一部分。”

2020年XNUMX月| 尼拉里·里斯瓦(Nirali Rithwa)

Nirali Rathwa过去六个月一直是SCWIST的志愿者。 她一直是多个委员会的积极志愿者。 作为业务发展委员会,Nirali在Holiday Popup商店采取了主动行动,并成功执行了该项目。 作为业务策略师,她为通过电子商务平台发起和推广2020年假期活动做出了贡献。 它为SCWIST带来了虚拟可见性和收入。 她还作为社区参与经理,通过网络和推广帮助执行SCWIST的使命,知名度和议程,帮助管理Slack社区渠道并在她的个人社交媒体帐户上推广会员计划。 此外,Nirali一直在寻找潜在的成员,并成功邀请了来自加拿大中部和美国的潜在成员注册为SCWIST成员。 作为会员委员会成员,她与他人共同组织和共同主办了“安大略分会-炉边”活动,以促进安大略省STEM领域的女性参与和推广。 她积极领导了2021年初即将举行的三场活动的计划,作为活动委员会成员,Nirali自愿担任了科学素养研讨会,一些棕色手提袋,炉边社交活动和研讨会的技术主持人。 她还促进了SCWIST活动的发展,并通过LinkedIn和Twitter与她的网络联系。

在Pop-up shop工作期间,Nirali了解了快节奏的敏捷工作,适应,谈判,合作伙伴对话,技术术语,并获得了在多元化团队中工作的经验。 Nirali不断提升SCWIST的价值观,并确保以专业且有价值的方式看待SCWIST。 她对社交媒体大范围看待SCWIST的建议和反馈非常赞赏。

2020年XNUMX月| 安雅·兰兹(Anja Lanz)

安雅(Anja)继续担任STEM多样性冠军,GENC负责人以及“使多样性成为现实”项目团队,SCALE指导委员会和SCWIST政策与影响委员会成员。 她通过30个冠军集团,EGBC工程女性组织,联合国北京+集团在加拿大和国际上的活动,自愿参加了加拿大工程师协会和EGBC 30大会,从而扩大了SCWIST的工作影响力。 AWET项目咨询小组(工程和技术领域的妇女进步)和Langara – 49妇女参与科学计划。

安雅(Anja)一直在地方,国家和国际各级推广SCWIST。 她带来了学习,成长,联系并向SCWIST社区开放的机会。 她利用深远的联系为SCWIST创造可能性,组织联系和联系方式,并利用个人信誉和形象来增强我们的信誉。

安雅(Anja)在她的个人和专业活动中体现了志愿服务作为一种生活方式。 安雅(Anja)的志愿活动建立了协作,领导和倡导技能,并具有将人们和其他组织联系在一起以集体行动并产生更大影响的能力。 安雅(Anja)使用她的志愿活动来提高STEM技能,STEM的多样性和全球性别平等。

安雅(Anja)的志愿者活动与SCWIST的品牌,愿景和使命直接一致,以消除STEM中女性和女孩的障碍。 她不断挑战每个人做更多的事情,并找到消除障碍的方法。 她在所做的每件事中都展示了SCWIST的价值观-赋予,包括,激发,联系和维持力量。 她继续专注于SUSTAIN,以确保SCWIST在加拿大和国际上所做的工作得以持续。

安雅(Anja)是SCWIST的支柱之一,不仅对品牌有深刻的了解,而且通过推广它来提升SCWIST的知名度。

2020年XNUMX月| Vaishnavi Sridhar

  • 全权负责完成申请并获得NSERC的“科学素养周”(SLW)研讨会资金
  • 强有力的领导带头策划,组织和实施了14个SLW讲习班,该讲习班覆盖了加拿大各地的500名学生和教师。

Vaishnavi知道了编写赠款和向加拿大联邦机构NSERC申请资金的复杂性,其赠款资金的标准非常具有竞争力。

作为负责规划,组织和实施SLW研讨会的负责人,Vaishnavi开发了事件管理技能; 她还组建了有效的新青年参与志愿者团队,并提高了他们的领导才能,他们以卓越的表现和超出预期的方式举办了研讨会。

Vaishnavi意识到让不列颠哥伦比亚省(和加拿大)的学生充分参与并高度参与SLW研讨会的重要性,因此她确保研讨会的内容和节目具有高质量。 如果不这样做,将对SCWIST品牌产生负面影响,她对此深有体会。

Vaishnavi在SLW方面的积极经验使SLW成为应用程序编写者和研讨会活动的负责人,这促使她致力于与领导力总监和青年参与总监共同致力于更长期的委员会工作。

2020年XNUMX月| 诺伊·马利克(Noeen Malik)

Noeen于19年2020月3日以志愿者身份加入SCWIST。在不到XNUMX个月的时间里,她极大地帮助了SCWIST在国际,国内和当地的知名度。 她是活动团队的重要成员,她贡献了新的想法,活力,专业知识和领导才能。

SCWIST首次全球活动的活动负责人和主持人: Noeen的想法是2020年性别平等周论坛(关于在STEM职业和领导力方面提高妇女地位的国际观点)。 她不遗余力地确保活动成功举办:邀请了国际知名人士,通过社交媒体和她的专业网络积极推广了该活动,吸引了来自世界各地的100多个注册,热情地主持了小组讨论,并花了额外的时间来关注小而重要的细节。

其他:

  • SCWIST万圣节和Science Trivia Challenge Science World联合负责人和测验大师
  • 科学扫盲周讲习班共同主持
  • SCWIST棕色手提包主持人
  • SCWIST代表/主持人在Science World Girls和STEAM指导会议上
  • 参加关于公平,多样性和包容性的密涅瓦性别平等领导力论坛会议的参与者和SCWIST代表。

尽管是放射化学领域的知名科学家,但Noeen珍视她在SCWIST的志愿服务,因为该组织为她提供了进入加拿大更大的专业网络以及大量指导者和领导榜样的机会。

2020年XNUMX月| 陈洁仪

Angela于2月份担任SCWIST的社交媒体经理,并在过去60个月中帮助我们振兴了社交媒体。 除了与活动总监密切合作以促进活动源源不断外,Angela在140个月的时间内将SCWIST的Instagram从2位关注者发展到XNUMX位关注者。 她发布了令人耳目一新的内容,其中包括有趣的事实,相关女权主义/ STEM新闻的重点内容以及成员功能。 她的内容有效地吸引了年轻人群中的新成员。 她为交流小组的博客主题集思广益会议做出了积极贡献,并且敏锐地教育了其他人如何开展有影响力的广告系列。 她坚定,热情和热情。

在SCWIST之外,Angela的目标是创办自己的市场公司。 她已经成功创建了社交媒体营销策略并将其应用于SCWIST的平台,并且她的经验可以转移到未来的应用程序和项目中。 安琪拉(Angela)还学会了以不同的观点开展工作,以及如何在不同的方法背后表达自己的思想。 她具有与各种个性打交道并支持其思想的能力,这些技能将有助于她在余下的职业生涯中的职业发展。

Angela通过使我们的帖子内容翔实和友好而密切关注过去社交媒体工作中的SCWIST声音,这是Communications的最重要方面。 她在帖子中适当地使用了SCWIST营销品牌指南,包括使用Canva制作带有SCWIST徽标和颜色的宣传材料的图形和视频。

想要为STEM中的女性采取行动吗? SCWIST的志愿者!

SCWIST’s Volunteer of the Month Awards

SCWIST’s aim is to highlight the contributions of our volunteers and to thank them for their time and commitment. Each month, we select a Volunteer of the Month from among volunteers whose performance is outstanding in terms of hours, events and impact and they demonstrate the understanding of the SCWIST brand. In addition, their volunteering contributes to their own personal and professional growth. 

We now wish to recognize the following volunteers with the Volunteer of the Month award:

June 2021 | Alyse Hebert

“I was finishing up my master’s degree in library science at UBC in Spring 2020 and had moved back to the U.S. Even though I moved, I still wanted to meet like-minded women in Vancouver and was quite interested in STEM education. I found SCWIST and really liked what they valued – how they supported women in science and technology fields and gave volunteers opportunities to build transferable skills. The volunteers in this organization are so hard working and kind! It’s been a wonderful group to be a part of. Every month, I get the pleasure to read about scientists in the field making new discoveries, to become more knowledgeable on local, national, and international STEM businesses, and to keep up to date on current events just to name a few perks. I look forward to continuing to volunteer for SCWIST.” — Alyse

Alyse Hebert joined the Communications committee in October 2020. Since then, she has dedicated time every month to initiate and draft the SCWIST monthly newsletter. Alyse has learned to adopt the SCWIST voice and is able to apply a detail-oriented mindset to format information in a logical manner. Alyse is also one of the most independent and self-sufficient volunteers at SCWIST – you can depend on her to start putting together the monthly newsletter without needing any reminders. Because of Alyse’s work, SCWIST’s 2200 newsletter subscribers have engaging content to read at the end of every month and are kept informed of SCWIST programs. Alyse has grown her skill set to include the use of communications and marketing tools such as Slack and MailChimp. In addition to her practical skills, Alyse built an impressive communications portfolio comprising 8 monthly newsletters. She has demonstrated through her contributions that she is reliable, independent, and organized – these attributes are all important for the workplace, regardless if it is a non-profit or corporate organization.

Alyse works directly with the SCWIST MailChimp templates, brand guide, and conveys the organization’s mission and values through these tools. When a subscriber reads the newsletter at the end of each month, you can bet that the content they read was facilitated by Alyse. One subscriber who enjoyed the October newsletter emailed, “Great newsletter! Informative and interesting and pretty, too! Thanks!” Alyse has demonstrated that she understands and can amplify the SCWIST voice.

Alyse has been one of the Communications team’s most dedicated volunteers by contributing to content creation for SCWIST on a monthly basis. Her work is much appreciated and has not gone unnoticed!

April 2021 | Aashima Khosla

SCWIST recognizes Aashima Khosla with the “Volunteer of the Month” award for April 2021!

Congratulations! Regarding her experience with SCWIST, Aashima says, “When I moved to Canada from the States in 2020, I was searching for ways to engage in a new market and establish my network. After attending my first SCWIST event in early 2021, I was inspired and encouraged by the group of women I met from across all sectors of the Life Science community. I joined the SCWIST events team shortly thereafter. Through planning our career development events, I am able to come into contact with extremely accomplished scientists, engineers, mathematicians, and others who provide absolutely invaluable advice and support that will help me throughout my career. I also feel it is absolutely imperative to surround yourself with a group of like-minded individuals who share your same passions. By meeting fellow women in STEM through SCWIST, I’ve been able to create a support group of women who care for each other, and who share their own experiences and lessons they have learned. I have formed long-lasting friendships that I will carry with me for the rest of my life.”

As an Events Committee member, Aashima co-organized and co-moderated the Academia to Industry mini-series, a Brown Bag on science communication, and our volunteer appreciation event. She also took the initiative to design promotional materials for the Science Odyssey and assist with digital marketing and social media initiatives for the job fair. Currently, she is leading the planning of an upcoming event on career pathways to higher education administration.

As a Finance and Grants Committee member, she is helping with SCWIST’s budget planning and, in the process, learned about managing the finances of a non-profit organization. She is also actively participating in fundraising meetings.

Aashima jumps in when needed and was crucial to the submission of a last-minute grant application. She was also a member of the committee that evaluated the SCWIST Digital Literacy Scholarship applications.

At SCWIST, Aashima has gained experience working in a diverse team and takes pride in creating a positive working atmosphere to foster sharing of ideas, problems, and solutions. She is also practicing communication with external stakeholders, grant writing, and presentation skills. Aashima designs graphics for events and has a demonstrated understanding of using the SCWIST brand colours and logos. As events coordinator, Aashima is strongly aware about representing SCWIST in a professional manner and being SCWIST Ambassador par excellence. 

March 2021 | Dr. Maritza Jaramillo

For the first time in SCWIST’s history:

  1. We have a chapter.
  2. Our members in Quebec are starting to organize themselves as a group.
  3. SCWIST had an event which highlighted the work, leadership and personal experiences of female scientists in Quebec.

This would not have been possible without the dedication and hard work of Dr. Maritza Jaramillo. Although a very busy professor running her own research lab, Dr. Jaramillo, an Associate Professor at the Faculty of INRS – Centre Armand-Frappier Santé Biotechnologie (CAFSB), committed her time to plant the seeds in creating the SCWIST-Quebec Chapter. She enthusiastically led the chapter core group in planning the chapter’s inaugural event. Dr. Jaramillo mobilized her professional network in promoting the event within large organizations such as NSERC and INRS which resulted in high event registration and attendance. She also was instrumental in bringing in new members and donations from Quebec.

As an advisor in the SCWIST-Quebec Chapter, Dr. Maritza Jaramillo continues to be involved in strategic planning for the next steps in the chapter’s future. She was able to reconnect with her professional network, as well as expand it with new contacts in the SCWIST network. She raised the profile of SCWIST in Quebec, with NSERC and INRS.

February 2021 | Monika Kajal

Monika has been leading the effort on improving SCWIST’s Job Board by generating and disseminating the Job Board Survey. Her project aims to increase traffic to the SCWIST website via the job board and to enlarge the candidate pool of females in STEM that employers can reach. Monika has been a conduit between the BD team and Comms team on this project, and has a contagious enthusiasm. She is open to new ideas brought forth by the younger members of SCWIST and brings a refreshing approach to SCWIST’s voice. As SCWIST looks to build a foundation for future generations of members, it will be attitudes such as Monika’s that ensure success of the organization.

Monika has demonstrated an understanding of the diverse perspectives of SCWIST, from those who are more conservative to those who aim to push the boundaries of the brand a bit more. By pursuing the opinions of those sitting on different teams, Monika has shown that she is self-motivated and persistent.

Monika weighs the opinions of all stakeholders in the Job Board Survey project, including employers, prospective employees, the BD team, the Comms team, and SCWIST as an organization. She considers potential advantages and contra of all questions in the job board for all stakeholders involved, and ensures that the SCWIST brand will not be harmed.

January 2021 | Dr. Namrata Jain

Namrata always takes the initiative and executes to the fullest. She is driven, organized and has taken much more responsibility than she was tasked with. She has owned a big part of the Job Board improvement project, and always completed her tasks in an efficient, effective and professional manner.

Namrata was tasked with leading the project coordination of both projects in the Business Development team and she is the one tracking progress and following us with the team.

Namrata is learning how to work in a diverse group and how to lead others with drive and passion while practicing project-planning, communication with external stakeholders, presentation skills and strategic thinking. Driven by professional growth, Namrata wants to create a productive and collaborative space. She respects her team members and works towards empowering others in the team and outside of it.

Sharing her experience, Namrata recalls, “I joined the SCWIST Business Development team as a Business Strategist in 2020 to connect with fellow women in STEM and contribute to a cause that is close to my heart. SCWIST’s mission of improving the presence and influence of women and girls in STEM resonates with my own personal values. At SCWIST, I found myself in the company of brilliant and creative minds. Since then, I have been involved in various long and short-term collaborations within the organization, including the Business Development Job Board & e-Shop, 40th-anniversary Branding & Merchandise, as well as the Events and Communication teams. I have had the pleasure of working with and learning from highly accomplished and kind women that went out of their way to extend support and mentorship to me. Being a SCWIST volunteer has given me a chance to utilize my skills for a worthy cause of creating possibilities for women in STEM. It also helped me further develop new skills, expand my network, and create life-long friendships. I truly believe that when a group of motivated people share a vision, they can make a big impact. The SCWIST community is driving theirs with full strength. I am grateful to be part of that strength.”

December 2020 | Nirali Rithwa

Nirali Rathwa has been a volunteer with SCWIST for last six months. She has been an active volunteer on several committees. As a Business Development Committee, Nirali took initiatives on Holiday Pop up shop and successfully executed the project. As a business strategist, she contributed towards launching and promoting Holiday 2020 campaign over e-commerce platform. It generated virtual visibility and revenue for the SCWIST. She also helped execute the SCWIST’s mission, visibility, and agendas through networking and promotion as a community engagement manager, helping manage the Slack Community channel and promoting membership initiatives on her personal social media accounts. Moreover, Nirali is constantly looking at recruiting potential members and has successfully invited prospective members from Central Canada and the USA to register as SCWIST members. As an Affiliate committee member she co-organized and co-hosted “Ontario Chapter – Fireside” to engage and promote women in the STEM field from Ontario province. She has proactively led the planning of three upcoming events in early 2021. As an Events Committee member, Nirali has volunteered as a tech host for the Science Literacy workshops, some brown bags, fireside socials and workshops. She has also been instrumental in promoting SCWIST events, reaching out to her network on LinkedIn and Twitter.

While working on the Pop-up shop Nirali learned about fast-paced agile work, adapting, negotiation, partner conversations, technological terms and gained experience of working in a diverse team. Nirali constantly promotes SCWIST values, and makes sure SCWIST is seen in a professional and valuable way. Her recommendations and feedback about social media seeing SCWIST in a big picture is much appreciated.

August 2020 | Anja Lanz

Anja continues to go beyond her role as STEM Diversity Champion, GENC Leader, and member of Make DIVERSITY Possible project team, SCALE Steering Committee and SCWIST Policy and Impact Committee. She extends the impact of SCWIST’s work by volunteering on the Engineers Canada and EGBC 30 by 30 Champions Group, EGBC Women in Engineering Group, United Nations Beijing + Group with activities in Canada and internationally; Advisory Group for the AWET project (Advancing Women in Engineering and Technology) and Langara – 49 Women in Science Initiative.

Anja has consistently promoted SCWIST at local, national and international levels. She brings opportunities to learn, grow, connect, and make them available to the SCWIST community. She uses her far-reaching connections to create possibilities, organizational connections and contacts for SCWIST and uses her personal credibility and profile to enhance ours.

Anja embodies volunteering as a way of life – in her personal and professional activities. Anja’s volunteering activities build collaboration, leadership and advocacy skills – and her ability to connect people and other organizations together in a way to collectively act and create a larger impact. Anja uses her volunteering activities to advance STEM skills, diversity in STEM and gender equality globally.

Anja’s volunteer activities are directly aligned with SCWIST’s brand, vision and mission to remove barriers for women and girls in STEM. She continually challenges everyone to do more and to find ways to remove barriers. She demonstrates SCWIST values in everything that she does – to empower, include, inspire, connect and sustain. She has a continued focus on SUSTAIN – to ensure the work that is being done at SCWIST, in Canada and internationally – is sustained.

Anja is one of the pillars of SCWIST and not only understands the brand profoundly but promotes it to raise SCWIST’s profile.

September 2020 | Vaishnavi Sridhar

  • Fully responsible for completing application and obtaining NSERC funding for Science Literacy Week (SLW) workshop
  • Strong leadership spearheading the planning, organizing and implementation of the 14 SLW workshops which reached ~500 students and teachers across Canada.

Vaishnavi learned the intricacies of writing grants and applying for funding from NSERC, a Canadian Federal agency, with very competitive standards in grant funding.

As the lead responsible for planning, organizing and implementing the SLW workshops, Vaishnavi developed event management skills; and also levelled up her leadership, as she assembled and effectively worked a team of new Youth Engagement volunteers, who delivered the workshops with excellence and beyond expectation.

Vaishnavi was cognizant of the importance of having the SLW workshops well-attended and highly engaged by students across British Columbia (and Canada), thus she ensured that workshop content and programming was of high quality. Failure to do so would have impacted the SCWIST brand negatively, of which she was fully aware of.

Vaishnavi’s positive experience as SLW grants application writer and workshop events lead, has motivated her to commit to longer term committee work with the Director for Leadership and Director for Youth Engagement.

October 2020 | Noeen Malik

Noeen joined SCWIST as a volunteer on Aug 19, 2020. In the span of less than 3 months, she has significantly helped raise SCWIST’s profile internationally, nationally and locally. A key member of the Events Team, she has contributed fresh ideas, energy, expertise and leadership.

Event lead and moderator of SCWIST’s first global event: The 2020 Gender Equality Week Forum (International Perspectives on Advancing Women in STEM Careers and Leadership) is Noeen’s brainchild. She worked relentlessly to ensure that the event would be a success: brought in high profile international speakers, actively promoted the event on social media and with her professional network resulting in over 100 registrations from all over the world, enthusiastically moderated the panel discussion, and spent additional hours attending to small but important details.

Others:

  • Co-lead and Quiz Master, SCWIST Halloween and Science Trivia Challenge fundraiser for Science World
  • Science Literacy Week workshop co-host
  • SCWIST Brown Bag host
  • SCWIST representative/ moderator at the Science World Girls and STEAM mentorship session
  • Participant and SCWIST representative to the Minerva Gender Equality Leadership forum session on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion.

Despite being an established scientist in Radiochemistry, Noeen values her volunteering with SCWIST because the organization provides her access to a larger professional network in Canada and a pool of mentors and leadership role models.

November 2020 | Angela Chen

Angela took on the role of Social Media Manager for SCWIST in September and has been instrumental in revitalizing our social media presence in the past 2 months. In addition to working closely with the Director of Events to promote an steady stream of events, Angela has grown SCWIST’s Instagram from 60 followers to over 140 followers in a span of 2 months. She has posted refreshing content that includes fun facts, highlights of relevant feminism/STEM news, and member features. Her content is effective in engaging new members that are in a younger demographic. She has actively contributed to the communications team’s blog topic brainstorm sessions and has keenly educated others on running an impactful ad campaign. She is committed, passionate, and enthusiastic.

Outside of SCWIST, Angela’s goal is to start her own market company. She has successfully created and applied social media marketing strategies to SCWIST’s platforms and her learnings can be transferred to future applications and projects. Angela has also learned to work with different opinions and how to articulate her thinking behind different approaches. Her ability to work with diverse personalities and stand behind her ideas are skills that will contribute to her professional growth for the rest of career.

Angela has paid close attention to the SCWIST voice from past social media work by keeping our posts informative and friendly, which is the most important aspect of Communications. She has appropriately applied the SCWIST marketing brand guide to her posts, including using Canva to make graphics and videos that have SCWIST’s logos and colours for promotional materials.

Want to take action for women and girls in STEM? Volunteer with SCWIST!