请欢迎我们最新的董事会成员!

在 2021 年年度股东大会上,我们很高兴地欢迎四位新成员加入 SCWIST 董事会。

他们广泛的技能和经验将成为我们董事会的资产,我们期待与他们合作。 请加入我们,欢迎他们加入团队!

我们还要感谢已完成任期并即将卸任的董事会成员:Paloma Corvalan、Heidi Hui、Nasira Aziz 和 Neha Batta。

认识我们的新董事会成员

Lily Takeuchi, BMLSc, 理学硕士

STEM 领域: 生物医学工程

Lily Takeuchi 是多伦多大学生物医学工程博士生,她正在研究药物筛选平台和器官芯片设备的开发。 在获得博士学位之前,Lily 是 Mitacs 的业务发展专家,在那里她致力于培养产学关系,以促进加拿大的知识和创新型经济。

Lily 在过去 3 年里一直是 SCWIST 志愿者,在战略发展组合的各个委员会下任职,包括担任资助委员会负责人和战略发展和财务委员会成员。 Lily 对 STEM 的可访问性充满热情,并与加拿大科学女童协会、Let's Talk Science 和血液研究中心等组织合作,为年轻学生举办教育研讨会。 在业余时间,Lily 喜欢通过远足、举重和与她的狗 Melly 散步来保持活跃。

Poh Tan 博士,BSc,PhD(Exp. Med),PhD ABD(Sci. Educ)

STEM 领域: 干细胞研究、生物技术、创业、科学教育 

Poh 是一位母亲、企业家、科学家和教育家。 她从不列颠哥伦比亚大学获得了她的第一个博士学位,研究了调节造血干细胞流动性的蛋白质。 她目前正在西蒙弗雷泽大学完成她的第二个科学教育博士学位,以通过土著夏威夷的视角理解和扩展科学素养的定义。 

Poh 拥有学术界和工业界的经验,是国内和国际出版的学者。 她是两次 TEDx 演讲者,也是两家企业(咨询和科学教育)的作者和创始人。 Poh 的企业家精神和个性意味着她永远不会满足于现状,而她的动力和奉献精神意味着她始终将组织的最大利益放在心上,不断争取积极的变革。 当她不管理项目时,她会花时间陪她的两个儿子,跳草裙舞,弹尤克里里,寻找潮汐垂钓的最佳地点。

Aska Patel 博士,RPh,药学博士,理学士。 医药。

STEM 领域: 科学、医疗保健、制药科学、药剂师

Aska Patel 博士是药剂师、企业家、患者倡导者和医疗保健领域的变革推动者。 她于 2012 年从滑铁卢大学完成了药学学士学位,并于 2016 年回到同一所大学完成了她的药学博士学位。

从那以后,她一直在社区、医院、政府和家庭护理机构工作,为药剂师在我们的医疗保健系统中的参与创造了新的角色。 她最近启动了她的创业企业,提供医疗保健咨询,同时作为创业顾问加入了一家数字健康企业。 Aska 热衷于在 STEM 领域为女性创造机会,并倡导为药学领域的女性创造网络和指导机会。

作为通过打破医疗障碍来倡导公平医疗的热情倡导者,Aska 是各个省、国家和全球组织的各个委员会的成员。 在业余时间,Aska 喜欢与家人共度时光、旅行、保持活跃和探索新美食。 

诺恩·马利克博士

STEM 领域: 核医学(肿瘤学、神经变性)

Noeen Malik 博士是核医学科学家(专业:药物发现和 PET/CT 成像)、商业战略家(专业:治疗学)和 SCWIST 的代理活动总监。 作为一名科学家,她的职责主要是管理实验室工作,从临床前评估到临床放射性药物的 cGMP 生产,以促进创新的商业化。 在 SCWIST,她管理和协调事件流。

她最近的冒险是 SCWIST科学研讨会,她概念化和组织。 本次小型研讨会预计 SCWIST 在加拿大 10 个省中的 13 个省(来自加拿大 89 所参与大学/研究所中的 38 所的 91 篇摘要;寻求赞助:东北大学、adMare Bioinnovations、AbCellera、微软、Acuitas Therapeutics、Sixsense Strategy group、MOLLI Surgical ,和 SOPHOS)。

此外,她还是 GIANT(全球免疫行动网络团队)的公共事务和基础设施委员会成员,该团队与 WHO/UN 合作,与全球 20 个国家合作,提高对免疫/疫苗的认识。

她还志愿担任人权活动家(大赦国际、IRC 和 IYC-UN)和筹款活动(SOS 儿童村)。 她也是一个 漫画家和科学插画家。

Please welcome our newest board members!

At our 2021 Annual General Meeting, we had the pleasure of welcoming four new members to SCWIST’s Board of Directors.

Their broad range of skills and experience will be an asset to our board and we are looking forward to working with them. Please join us in welcoming them to the team!

We would also like to thank those board members who have finished their terms and are now stepping down: Paloma Corvalan, Heidi Hui, Nasira Aziz and Neha Batta.

Meet our new Board Members

Lily Takeuchi, BMLSc, MSc

STEM Field: Biomedical Engineering

Lily Takeuchi is a PhD Student in Biomedical Engineering at the University of Toronto who is researching the development of drug screening platforms and organ-on-a-chip devices. Prior to her PhD, Lily was a Business Development Specialist with Mitacs where she worked on fostering industry-academic relationships to further Canada’s knowledge and innovation-based economy.

Lily has been a SCWIST volunteer for the last 3 years under various committees in the Strategic Development Portfolio including serving as the Grants Committee Lead and as a Strategic Development and Finance Committee member. Lily is passionate about accessibility in STEM and has worked with organizations such as the Canadian Association for Girls in Science, Let’s Talk Science and the Centre for Blood Research to deliver educational workshops to young students. In her spare time, Lily enjoys staying active through hiking, powerlifting, and going on walks with her dog, Melly.

Dr. Poh Tan, BSc, PhD (Exp. Med), PhD ABD (Sci. Educ)

STEM Field: Stem cell research, biotechnology, entrepreneurship, science education 

Poh is a mother, entrepreneur, scientist, and educator. She obtained her first PhD from the University of British Columbia investigating proteins that regulate the mobility of hematopoietic stem cells. She is currently completing her second PhD in science education at Simon Fraser University to understand and extend the definition of scientific literacy through an Indigenous Hawaiian lens. 

Poh has experience in both academia and industry and is a national and international published scholar.  She is a two-time TEDx speaker and an author and founder of two businesses (consulting and science education). Poh’s entrepreneurial spirit and personality means she is never satisfied with the status quo, and her motivation and dedication means she always has the organization’s best interest in mind to continually strive for positive change. When she’s not managing projects, she spends her time with her two sons, dancing hula, playing ukulele, and looking for the best spots for tidal fishing.

Dr. Aska Patel, RPh, PharmD., BSc. Pharm.

STEM Field: Sciences, healthcare, pharmaceutical sciences, pharmacist

Dr. Aska Patel is a pharmacist, entrepreneur, a patient advocate, and change agent in healthcare. She completed her Bachelors of Pharmacy from the University of Waterloo in 2012 and went back to the same to complete her Doctor of Pharmacy degree in 2016.

Since then she has worked in community, hospital, government and home care settings, creating new roles for pharmacists’ involvement within our healthcare system. She recently launched her entrepreneurial venture providing healthcare consulting while joining a digital health venture as a startup advisor. Aska is passionate about creating opportunities for women in STEM and advocates to create networking and mentorship opportunities for women in pharmacy.

As a passionate advocate for equitable healthcare by breaking down barriers to care, Aska is part of various committees at various provincial, national and global organizations. In her spare time, Aska enjoys spending time with her family, travelling, keeping active and exploring new cuisines. 

Noeen Malik, PhD

STEM Field: Nuclear Medicine (Oncology, Neurodegeneration)

Noeen Malik, PhD, is the nuclear medicine scientist (specialization: drug discovery and PET/CT imaging), business strategist (specialization: Theragnostics), and acting Director of Events at SCWIST. Being a scientist, her duties revolve around managing bench work to preclinical evaluations to cGMP production of clinical radiopharmaceuticals to facilitate the commercialization of innovations. At SCWIST, she manages and coordinates the flow of events.

Her recent venture is the SCWIST Science Symposium, which she conceptualized and organized. This mini-symposium projected SCWIST in 10 out 13 provinces of Canada (89 abstracts from 38 out of 91 participating universities/institutes across Canada; sponsorships sought: Northeastern University, adMare Bioinnovations, AbCellera, Microsoft, Acuitas Therapeutics, Sixsense Strategy group, MOLLI Surgical, and SOPHOS).

In addition, she is also executive director of public affairs and infrastructure committee member of GIANT (Global Immunization Action Networking Team) that works together with WHO/UN in collaboration with 20 countries globally to bring awareness about immunization/vaccines.

She also volunteers as a human rights activist (Amnesty International, IRC, and IYC-UN) and fundraiser (SOS Children’s Village). She is also a cartoonist and science illustrator.