يرجى الترحيب بأعضاء مجلس الإدارة الجدد لدينا!

في اجتماع الجمعية العمومية السنوي لعام 2021 ، كان من دواعي سرورنا أن نرحب بأربعة أعضاء جدد في مجلس إدارة SCWIST.

ستكون مجموعة مهاراتهم وخبراتهم الواسعة بمثابة رصيد لمجلس الإدارة ونحن نتطلع إلى العمل معهم. يرجى الانضمام إلينا في الترحيب بهم في الفريق!

نود أيضًا أن نشكر أعضاء مجلس الإدارة الذين أنهوا فترة عملهم ويتنحون الآن: بالوما كورفالان وهايدي هوي ونصيرة عزيز ونيها باتا.

تعرف على أعضاء مجلس الإدارة الجدد

ليلي تاكيوتشي ، BMLSc ، ماجستير

مجال STEM: الهندسة الطبية الحيوية

ليلي تاكيوتشي طالبة دكتوراه في الهندسة الطبية الحيوية بجامعة تورنتو ، وتبحث في تطوير منصات فحص الأدوية وأجهزة الأعضاء على رقاقة. قبل حصولها على درجة الدكتوراه ، كانت ليلي متخصصة في تطوير الأعمال في شركة Mitacs حيث عملت على تعزيز العلاقات بين الصناعة والأكاديمية لتعزيز المعرفة الكندية والاقتصاد القائم على الابتكار.

عملت ليلي كمتطوعة في SCWIST على مدى السنوات الثلاث الماضية في إطار لجان مختلفة في محفظة التنمية الاستراتيجية بما في ذلك العمل كرئيسة للجنة المنح وكعضو في لجنة التنمية الاستراتيجية والمالية. إن ليلي شغوفة بإمكانية الوصول في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات وقد عملت مع منظمات مثل الجمعية الكندية للفتيات في العلوم و Let's Talk Science ومركز أبحاث الدم لتقديم ورش عمل تعليمية للطلاب الصغار. في أوقات فراغها ، تستمتع Lily بالبقاء نشطة من خلال المشي لمسافات طويلة ورفع الأثقال والمشي مع كلبها ميلي.

دكتور بوه تان ، بكالوريوس ، دكتوراه (إكسب. ميد) ، دكتوراه ABD (علوم تعليم)

مجال STEM: أبحاث الخلايا الجذعية ، التكنولوجيا الحيوية ، ريادة الأعمال ، تعليم العلوم 

بوه هي أم ورائدة أعمال وعالمة ومعلمة. حصلت على الدكتوراة الأولى من جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية لدراسة البروتينات التي تنظم حركة الخلايا الجذعية المكونة للدم. تعمل حاليًا على إكمال الدكتوراه الثانية في تعليم العلوم في جامعة Simon Fraser لفهم وتوسيع تعريف محو الأمية العلمية من خلال عدسة السكان الأصليين في هاواي. 

يتمتع Poh بخبرة في كل من الأوساط الأكاديمية والصناعية وهو باحث منشور محليًا ودوليًا. وهي متحدثة لمرتين في TEDx ومؤلفة ومؤسس شركتين (الاستشارات وتعليم العلوم). روح المبادرة وشخصيتها في Poh تعني أنها غير راضية أبدًا عن الوضع الراهن ، ودافعها وتفانيها يعنيان أنها دائمًا ما تضع في اعتبارها مصلحة المؤسسة في السعي باستمرار من أجل التغيير الإيجابي. عندما لا تدير المشاريع ، فإنها تقضي وقتها مع ولديها ، ورقص الهولا ، ولعب القيثارة ، والبحث عن أفضل المواقع لصيد المد والجزر.

د. أسكا باتيل ، RPh ، دكتور ، بكالوريوس. فارم.

مجال STEM: العلوم والرعاية الصحية والعلوم الصيدلية والصيدلي

الدكتورة أسكا باتيل صيدلانية ورجل أعمال ومدافع عن المريض ووكيل تغيير في مجال الرعاية الصحية. أكملت درجة البكالوريوس في الصيدلة من جامعة واترلو في عام 2012 وعادت إليها لإكمال درجة الدكتوراه في الصيدلة في عام 2016.

ومنذ ذلك الحين عملت في مؤسسات الرعاية المجتمعية والمستشفيات والحكومية والمنزلية ، وخلقت أدوارًا جديدة لمشاركة الصيادلة في نظام الرعاية الصحية لدينا. أطلقت مؤخرًا مشروعها الريادي لتقديم استشارات الرعاية الصحية أثناء انضمامها إلى مشروع صحي رقمي كمستشارة لبدء التشغيل. أسكا شغوفة بخلق فرص للنساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات وتدعو إلى خلق فرص للتواصل والتوجيه للنساء في الصيدلة.

بصفتها مدافعة شغوفة عن الرعاية الصحية العادلة من خلال كسر الحواجز أمام الرعاية ، فإن Aska جزء من لجان مختلفة في مختلف المنظمات الإقليمية والوطنية والعالمية. في أوقات فراغها ، تستمتع Aska بقضاء الوقت مع عائلتها ، والسفر ، والحفاظ على النشاط واستكشاف المأكولات الجديدة. 

نوين مالك ، دكتوراه

مجال STEM: الطب النووي (علم الأورام ، التنكس العصبي)

نوين مالك ، حاصلة على درجة الدكتوراه ، هي عالمة الطب النووي (تخصص: اكتشاف الأدوية والتصوير المقطعي بالإصدار البوزيتروني / التصوير المقطعي المحوسب) ، واستراتيجي الأعمال (تخصص: العلاج الحراري) ، ومدير الفعاليات بالإنابة في SCWIST. كونها عالمة ، فإن واجباتها تدور حول إدارة أعمال البدلاء إلى التقييمات قبل السريرية لإنتاج cGMP للمستحضرات الصيدلانية الإشعاعية السريرية لتسهيل تسويق الابتكارات. في SCWIST ، تدير وتنسيق تدفق الأحداث.

مشروعها الأخير هو ندوة SCWIST للعلومالتي تصورتها ونظمتها. عرضت هذه الندوة المصغرة SCWIST في 10 من أصل 13 مقاطعة في كندا (89 ملخصًا من 38 من أصل 91 جامعة / معهدًا مشاركًا عبر كندا ؛ سعت الرعاية: Northeastern University و adMare Bioinnovations و AbCellera و Microsoft و Acuitas Therapeutics و Sixsense Strategy Group و MOLLI الجراحية و SOPHOS).

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فهي أيضًا المدير التنفيذي للشؤون العامة وعضو لجنة البنية التحتية في GIANT (فريق شبكة عمل التحصين العالمي) الذي يعمل جنبًا إلى جنب مع منظمة الصحة العالمية / الأمم المتحدة بالتعاون مع 20 دولة على مستوى العالم لنشر الوعي حول التطعيم / اللقاحات.

كما أنها متطوعة كناشطة في مجال حقوق الإنسان (منظمة العفو الدولية ، ولجنة الإنقاذ الدولية ، ومنظمة IYC-UN) وجمع التبرعات (قرية الأطفال SOS). هي أيضا رسام الكاريكاتير ورسام العلم.

Please welcome our newest board members!

At our 2021 Annual General Meeting, we had the pleasure of welcoming four new members to SCWIST’s Board of Directors.

Their broad range of skills and experience will be an asset to our board and we are looking forward to working with them. Please join us in welcoming them to the team!

We would also like to thank those board members who have finished their terms and are now stepping down: Paloma Corvalan, Heidi Hui, Nasira Aziz and Neha Batta.

Meet our new Board Members

Lily Takeuchi, BMLSc, MSc

STEM Field: Biomedical Engineering

Lily Takeuchi is a PhD Student in Biomedical Engineering at the University of Toronto who is researching the development of drug screening platforms and organ-on-a-chip devices. Prior to her PhD, Lily was a Business Development Specialist with Mitacs where she worked on fostering industry-academic relationships to further Canada’s knowledge and innovation-based economy.

Lily has been a SCWIST volunteer for the last 3 years under various committees in the Strategic Development Portfolio including serving as the Grants Committee Lead and as a Strategic Development and Finance Committee member. Lily is passionate about accessibility in STEM and has worked with organizations such as the Canadian Association for Girls in Science, Let’s Talk Science and the Centre for Blood Research to deliver educational workshops to young students. In her spare time, Lily enjoys staying active through hiking, powerlifting, and going on walks with her dog, Melly.

Dr. Poh Tan, BSc, PhD (Exp. Med), PhD ABD (Sci. Educ)

STEM Field: Stem cell research, biotechnology, entrepreneurship, science education 

Poh is a mother, entrepreneur, scientist, and educator. She obtained her first PhD from the University of British Columbia investigating proteins that regulate the mobility of hematopoietic stem cells. She is currently completing her second PhD in science education at Simon Fraser University to understand and extend the definition of scientific literacy through an Indigenous Hawaiian lens. 

Poh has experience in both academia and industry and is a national and international published scholar.  She is a two-time TEDx speaker and an author and founder of two businesses (consulting and science education). Poh’s entrepreneurial spirit and personality means she is never satisfied with the status quo, and her motivation and dedication means she always has the organization’s best interest in mind to continually strive for positive change. When she’s not managing projects, she spends her time with her two sons, dancing hula, playing ukulele, and looking for the best spots for tidal fishing.

Dr. Aska Patel, RPh, PharmD., BSc. Pharm.

STEM Field: Sciences, healthcare, pharmaceutical sciences, pharmacist

Dr. Aska Patel is a pharmacist, entrepreneur, a patient advocate, and change agent in healthcare. She completed her Bachelors of Pharmacy from the University of Waterloo in 2012 and went back to the same to complete her Doctor of Pharmacy degree in 2016.

Since then she has worked in community, hospital, government and home care settings, creating new roles for pharmacists’ involvement within our healthcare system. She recently launched her entrepreneurial venture providing healthcare consulting while joining a digital health venture as a startup advisor. Aska is passionate about creating opportunities for women in STEM and advocates to create networking and mentorship opportunities for women in pharmacy.

As a passionate advocate for equitable healthcare by breaking down barriers to care, Aska is part of various committees at various provincial, national and global organizations. In her spare time, Aska enjoys spending time with her family, travelling, keeping active and exploring new cuisines. 

Noeen Malik, PhD

STEM Field: Nuclear Medicine (Oncology, Neurodegeneration)

Noeen Malik, PhD, is the nuclear medicine scientist (specialization: drug discovery and PET/CT imaging), business strategist (specialization: Theragnostics), and acting Director of Events at SCWIST. Being a scientist, her duties revolve around managing bench work to preclinical evaluations to cGMP production of clinical radiopharmaceuticals to facilitate the commercialization of innovations. At SCWIST, she manages and coordinates the flow of events.

Her recent venture is the SCWIST Science Symposium, which she conceptualized and organized. This mini-symposium projected SCWIST in 10 out 13 provinces of Canada (89 abstracts from 38 out of 91 participating universities/institutes across Canada; sponsorships sought: Northeastern University, adMare Bioinnovations, AbCellera, Microsoft, Acuitas Therapeutics, Sixsense Strategy group, MOLLI Surgical, and SOPHOS).

In addition, she is also executive director of public affairs and infrastructure committee member of GIANT (Global Immunization Action Networking Team) that works together with WHO/UN in collaboration with 20 countries globally to bring awareness about immunization/vaccines.

She also volunteers as a human rights activist (Amnesty International, IRC, and IYC-UN) and fundraiser (SOS Children’s Village). She is also a cartoonist and science illustrator.