شباب السكان الأصليين يصبحون علماء أحياء بحرية تحت التدريب

كتب بواسطة: أشلي فان دير بو كران

لمدة أسبوع في شهر مايو ، حدث شيء مميز.

في كل يوم بعد المدرسة ، قامت 16 فتاة من تسعة مجتمعات للسكان الأصليين عبر كولومبيا البريطانية وألبرتا بتسجيل الدخول إلى أجهزة الكمبيوتر الخاصة بهم وسجلوا الدخول للحصول على برنامج مجاني بعد المدرسة حول علم الأحياء البحرية.

لمدة ساعة ونصف كل يوم ، كان الطلاب مذهولين عندما تعلموا عن النساء المؤثرات من جميع أنحاء العالم الذين يقودون مهمة حماية المحيط في مجتمعاتهم المحلية ، ويقودون تجاربهم العلمية الخاصة ويضعون تقريرًا يستند إلى بحث سؤال من اختيارهم.

بعض من علماء الأحياء البحرية في التدريب يستمتعون ببعض الوقت في الشمس.

تدريب علماء المستقبل

بدأت استضافة برنامج عالم الأحياء البحرية في التدريب (MBIT) بعد المدرسة لفتيات السكان الأصليين بالتعاون بين SCWIST و سي سمارت، وهي مؤسسة خيرية تقدم مجموعة من البرامج التعليمية التي تركز على قضايا المحيطات الحالية مع تمكين الشباب والشركات والمعلمين والمجتمعات لاتخاذ الإجراءات وإحداث موجة من التغيير في جميع أنحاء العالم.

لطالما اهتم SCWIST بنقص تمثيل المرأة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. من خلال تعاونهم مع Sea Smart ، كانوا يأملون في تقليل هذا الاختلال من خلال تقديم البرنامج مجانًا للعائلات والمجتمعات التي لن تتمكن من الحضور لولا ذلك.

على الرغم من العنوان ، فإن البرنامج يدور حول أكثر من علم الأحياء البحرية. يتعلق الأمر بتعليم الفتيات عن العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات وتعريضهن لتنوع الوظائف في مجال العلوم البحرية.

كان مفتاح المساعدة في هذا العرض هو رئيسة البرنامج بريتاني أهمان والمتحدثين الضيوف أروها ميلر وكاريسا أرنيت.

قادت بريتاني ، الحاصلة على بكالوريوس العلوم من جامعة فيكتوريا والتي تركز على علم الأحياء البحرية ، دروسًا عبر الإنترنت للشباب. مع خلفية متنوعة من مراقبة الشعاب المرجانية إلى التثقيف البيئي ، تمكنت من مشاركة حماسها للمحيط وإلهام الفتيات ليقعن في حب المحيط والعلم. ولم يضر أنها اختلطت في الكثير من جلسات Kahoot والألعاب ومقاطع الفيديو والأغاني التي علمت المشاركين علوم البحار في دروسها!

كان المتحدث الضيف الأول الذي انضم إلى الفصل هو أروها ميلر ، الذي يعمل في أوتياروا (الاسم الماوري لنيوزيلندا ، والذي يعني "السحابة البيضاء الطويلة") وهو عضو في مجتمع الماوري. شاركت بعضًا من معارفها التقليدية وعن عملها مع الأنواع البحرية الغازية.

كانت كاريسا أرنيت الزائرة الثانية. هي المديرة التنفيذية لجمعية ستروبري آيل للبحوث البحرية (SIMRS) وشاركت قصة كيف وصلت إلى منصبها الحالي وحول تنوع العمل الذي تقوم به SIMRS لحماية المحيط.

تقدم أروها ميلر عرضها عن الأنواع الغازية.

النجاح بقيادة الطلاب

على الرغم من وجود العديد من النقاط البارزة والنقاط المضيئة في البرنامج ، تؤكد بريتاني أن المشاريع البحثية هي أفضل جزء من الأسبوع. اختار الطلاب سؤالهم البحثي ، وتوصلوا إلى فرضية ، وقدموا ملاحظات ، وفسروا بياناتهم ، وفي اليوم الأخير ، قدموا نتائجهم.

فاجأت الأسئلة التي جاءت بريتاني مدى عمقها وروح الدعابة والذكاء. ما هو الطعام الذي تفضله حلزونات الحديقة؟ ما هي تأثيرات تحمض المحيطات؟ أي شاطئ قريب يجمع أكبر قدر من القمامة؟ كيف تأكل البرنقيل؟ كم عدد السناجب الموجودة في الفناء الخلفي لمنزلتي؟ كيف تقارن أحجام خلايا أوراق النبات المختلفة؟

في اليوم الأخير من المخيم ، شاركت كل فتاة البحث الذي أكملته وما تعلموه. حتى الأكثر هدوءًا وخجلًا بينهم تحمسوا وحيوا عندما تحدثوا عن مشاريعهم.

بينما كان وقتهم معًا قصيرًا - بضع ساعات فقط بعد المدرسة - في نهاية الأسبوع ، عادت الفتيات إلى المنزل برؤية جديدة للوظائف المتاحة لهن ، وأثار حب محيطات العالم والعلوم في نفوسهن جميعًا.

يعمل الطلاب في مشاريعهم البحثية.

ابنتي كانت تحب البرنامج! تعيش عائلتنا مع عائلة ممتدة (مثل العديد من عائلات السكان الأصليين) - الأطفال في المنزل من المدرسة. أنشطة التعلم الجماعي مهمة للغاية. لم تدرك مدى اهتمامها بعلم الأحياء ، والآن علم الأحياء البحرية. لقد كانت فرصة رائعة. إنها متحمسة للغاية بشأن المتحدثين الضيوف - أشخاص من بعيد! نحن نسمع عن عملهم. عائلتنا هي بالضبط نوع العائلة الذي يستهدفه هذا البرنامج. ذوي الدخل المنخفض ، لا يستطيعون عادة تحمل هذه البرامج. لم أكن أعتقد في السابق أن ابنتي ستعمل في علم الأحياء البحرية. - تريد أن تعرب عن امتنانها للممولين. - والد أحد المشاركين

هل تريد معرفة المزيد عن العمل الذي نقوم به لإلهام الشباب وتشجيعهم على وظائف في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات؟ تحقق من برنامج MS infinity الخاص بنا!

Indigenous Youth become Marine Biologists in Training

Written by: Ashley van der Pouw Kraan

For a week in May, something special happened.

Each day after school, 16 girls from nine Indigenous communities across BC and Alberta signed onto their computers and logged in for a free after-school program about marine biology.

For an hour and a half each day, the students were transfixed as they learned about influential women from across the world who are leading the charge to protect the ocean in their home communities, led their own scientific experiments and created a report based on a research question of their own choosing.

Some of the Marine Biologist in Training participants enjoy some time in the sun.

Training Future Scientists

Hosting the Marine Biologist in Training (MBIT) after-school program for Indigenous girls began with a collaboration between SCWIST and Sea Smart, a charity that delivers a range of educational programs focused on current ocean issues while empowers youth, businesses, teachers, and communities to take action and create a wave of change throughout the world.

SCWIST has long been concerned with the underrepresentation of women in STEM. Through their collaboration with Sea Smart, they hoped to reduce that imbalance by offering the program for free to families and communities who would otherwise not be able to attend.

Despite the title, the program is about more than marine biology. It’s about teaching the girls about STEM and exposing them to the diversity of careers within marine sciences.

Key to helping with that exposure were program lead Brittany Ahmann, and guest speakers Aroha Miller and Karyssa Arnett.

Brittany, who holds a Bachelor of Science from the University of Victoria focused on marine biology, led the online classes for the youth. With a background that varies from coral reef monitoring to environmental education, she was able to share her enthusiasm for the ocean and inspire the girls to fall in love with the ocean and science. And it didn’t hurt that she mixed in lots of Kahoot sessions, games, videos and songs that taught the participants about marine sciences into her lessons!

The first guest speaker to join the class was Aroha Miller, who works in Aotearoa (the Maori name for New Zealand, which means ‘the long white cloud’) and is a member of the Maori community. She shared some of her traditional knowledge and about her work with invasive marine species.

Karyssa Arnett was the second visitor. She is the Executive Director at Strawberry Isle Marine Research Society (SIMRS) and shared the story of how she got to her current position and about the diversity of work SIMRS does to protect the ocean.

Aroha Miller gives her presentation on invasive species.

Student-led Success

Although there are many highlights and bright spots in the program, Brittany maintains that the research projects are the best part of the week. Students picked their research question, came up with a hypothesis, made observations, interpreted their data, and, on the last day, present their findings.

The questions that came in surprised Brittany with their range of depth, humour and intelligence. What food do garden snails prefer? What are the impacts of ocean acidification? Which nearby beach collects the most trash? How do barnacles eat? How many squirrels are there in my backyard? How do the cell sizes of various plant leaves compare?

On the last day of camp, each girl shared the research they had completed and what they had learned. Even the quietest and shyest among them got excited and animated as they spoke about their projects.

While their time together was short — only a few hours afters school — at the end of the week, the girls went home with a new vision of the careers available to them, and a love for the world’s oceans and science sparked in them all.

Students work on their research projects.

My daughter has been loving the program! Our family lives with extended family (like many indigenous families) – kids are at home from school. Group learning activities are so important. Did not realize how interested she is in biology, and now marine biology. It’s been an amazing opportunity. She is super stoked about the guest speakers – people from far away! We are hearing about their work. Our family is exactly the type of family this program is intended for. Lower-income, can’t usually afford these programs. Would not have previously thought that my daughter would be into marine biology. — Want to express gratitude to funders. — Parent of a Participant

Want to learn more about the work we do to inspire and encourage youth to STEM careers? Check out our ms infinity program!