SCWIST 与 Sea Smart 合作,激发海洋保护、可持续性和多样性方面的行动!

作为我们的 SCALE 项目的一部分,旨在建设能力、发展合作伙伴关系和激发集体影响力,SCWIST 正在与 海洋智能 在一系列专注于可持续性和多样性的虚拟研讨会和资源上。 总体目标是增强我们的虚拟参与度,以覆盖更多代表性不足的群体。 

XNUMX 月,来自不列颠哥伦比亚省和艾伯塔省的土著女孩在一次海洋生物学会期间探索了海洋生物学的职业生涯。 为期一周的课后计划

XNUMX 月,Sea Smart 为青年和教师的专业发展举办了“水下生活”讲习班。 “水下生命”是一个 联合国可持续发展目标,以及“性别平等”。 有 17 个相互关联的全球目标,构成了“到 2030 年为所有人实现更美好、更可持续的未来的蓝图”。 

SCWIST 的社区建设总监 Aska Patel 博士利用这些创新研讨会作为机会与我们的 SCWIST 分会负责人互动,包括来自艾伯塔省的 Christine Troskie 和来自曼尼托巴省的 Anju Bajaj 博士,他们在每次会议上都介绍了 SCWIST。

以下是 Anju 关于她的经历的重点:

“非常感谢您让我有机会在 11 月 12 日(14-12 岁青年研讨会)、15 月 18 日(16-17 岁青年研讨会)、XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日(青年-CAGIS 研讨会)上代表 SCWIST和 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日(教师讲习班)。 很高兴与布列塔尼(海洋智能协调员)一起参加侧重于“海洋保护、可持续发展目标 (SDG) 以及强调不同声音的重要性”的会议。 Brittany 是一位很棒的主持人,她根据参与者的年龄水平清楚地解释了主题。 “

很高兴看到今天的年轻人确实关心可持续发展目标,并且非常鼓舞人心地倾听他们热情地分享他们对如何采取行动的看法,包括:

  • “教育别人这件事”
  • “如果人们一起工作,那么我们可能会获得更多观点,从而找到更好的解决方案”
  • “致力于更多的可再生能源而不是化石燃料”
  • “采取政治行动……写信、签署请愿书,让政治家知道我们关心海洋保护”

在一次青年会议中,布列塔尼和安居与其中一位参与者拉雅进行了深入的讨论。 “我们发现 Raya 已承诺在明年完成 120 小时的环境志愿者工作。 Raya 参加了研讨会,以了解更多关于海洋污染的信息,因为她已经为性别和 LBGTQ 平等做了很多工作,但她想扩大自己的知识,以了解更多关于她如何帮助地球和海洋的信息。 她长大后的目标是成为一名土著律师。 为她点赞!! “

我们的 Sea Smart Facilitator Brittany 也分享了她的个人见解:““水下生命:海洋保护”研讨会让我们有机会与加拿大各地的青年建立联系,从不列颠哥伦比亚省到新斯科舍省! 通过小班授课,参与者能够深入讨论海洋的重要性、性别平等和海洋保护如何联系在一起,以及它们如何提供帮助。 每次研讨会,在听到有多少参与者已经并将继续倡导“水下生命”和所有可持续发展目标后,我都对我们的未来感到鼓舞和充满希望。 感谢 SCWIST 资助这些研讨会。 非常感谢安居参加研讨会。 她所有的积极性和鼓励的话都是对研讨会的一个很好的补充”

在8月17上th, Anju 还向老师们介绍了我们的 SCWIST 计划亮点: 

“Sea Smart Facilitator Hailey Renaud 在 Pro D 研讨会期间出色地吸引了老师们的兴趣。 我喜欢她以良好的节奏、正确/错误的问题、一些提示、一些视频以及小组中整体精彩的讨论来布置她的演讲的方式! 我们有一位来自印度的参与者,我很高兴她在我宣传该研讨会时从我的 Linkedin 个人资料中找到了 Sea Smart 信息。 我印象深刻的是,她一大早就参加了会议(按照她的时区)并参与了所有讨论。”

以下是老师们对海洋保护、可持续发展目标及其解决问题的投入的一些评论:

  • “无论你在哪里上课,都要为户外学习设定明确的时间。 河流通向海洋。 技术水循环。 鼓励陆联、水联、自然联动”
  • “我们每周至少带年轻人远足一次,而且通常靠近水源,因此参与了有关水循环的讨论”
  • “与其成为‘管家’,不如承认我们都是相互联系的,河流、人、动物、树木……。 我们是这一切的一部分,而不是高于它。 我们都需要彼此”

Hailey 和 Anju 为讨论贡献了更多解决方案,例如:

  • 无浪费的午餐,无浪费的一天等。
  • 步行/骑自行车上学运动
  • 在垃圾分类站有监控
  • 宣传海报
  • 升级最终会被扔进垃圾桶的各种物品
  • 邀请 Sea Smart 在课堂上举办研讨会
  • 化学物质较少的 DIY 物品,例如洗衣粉
  • 尊重、减少、再利用、回收和拒绝。

在 XNUMX 月的短短一周内,所有这些合作经历奠定了坚实的基础,对我们所有人都具有启发性——尤其是青年如何自愿投入时间来支持可持续发展、海洋保护、性别平等和 LBGTQ 平等。

非常感谢 Anju 和我们的 SCWIST 团队自愿付出时间和热情! 并祝贺 Sea Smart 的创造性专业知识,将这些重要信息与互动讨论和学习活动相结合——这样我们都可以为实现可持续发展目标采取行动!

下一步是什么? Sea Smart 将提供一些虚拟资源来加强学习机会。 这些研讨会可供 SCWIST 参与,让青年参与海洋保护、可持续性和多样性。 每个人都可以更多地了解世代平等以支持可持续发展目标和全球加速计划 点击此处。  了解更多关于 SCWIST 作为最近被提名人的性别平等和可持续发展目标的倡导者 加拿大可持续发展目标加速器奖.

SCWIST Collaborates with Sea Smart to Inspire Action on Ocean Conservation, Sustainability & Diversity!

As part of our SCALE project to build capacity, develop collaborative partnerships and inspire collective impact, SCWIST is collaborating with Sea Smart on a series of virtual workshops and resources focused on sustainability and diversity. The overall goal is to enhance our virtual engagement to reach more underrepresented groups. 

In May, Indigenous girls from across BC and Alberta explored careers in Marine Biology during a week-long after-school program

In August, Sea Smart delivered “Life Below Water” workshops for youth and professional development for teachers. “Life Below Water” is a UN Sustainable Development Goal, along with “Gender Equality”. There are 17 interlinked global goals that form “a blueprint to achieve a better and more sustainable future for all people by the year 2030”. 

SCWIST’s Director of Community Building, Dr. Aska Patel, leveraged these innovative workshops as an opportunity to engage our SCWIST Chapter Leads including Christine Troskie from Alberta, and Dr. Anju Bajaj from Manitoba – who provided an introduction to SCWIST for each session.

Here are highlights from Anju on her experience:

“Thank you very much for giving me an opportunity to represent SCWIST at the Sea Smart Workshops on August 11 (Workshop for youth 12-14), August 12 (Workshop for Youth 15-18), Aug 16 (Workshop for Youth-CAGIS), and August 17 (Workshop for Teachers).  It was very pleasant to be alongside Brittany (Sea Smart Facilitator) on the sessions focused on ‘ocean conservation, the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), and the importance of highlighting diverse voices’. Brittany is an awesome facilitator, and she clearly explained the topic as per the age levels of the participants. “

It was wonderful to see that youth today do care about SDGs and very inspiring to listen to them passionately share their views on HOW to take action including:

  • “Educate others about it”
  • “If people work together then we might get more perspectives which might lead to better solutions”
  • “Work towards more renewable energy sources instead of fossil fuels”
  • “Take political action … write letters, sign petitions, let politicians know that we care about ocean conservation”

In one of the youth sessions, Brittany and Anju had a deep discussion with one of the participants, Raya. “We found out that Raya has committed herself to completing 120 hrs of environmental volunteer work over the next year. Raya joined the workshop session to learn more about ocean pollution as she already does a lot for gender and LBGTQ equality but wants to expand her knowledge to learn more about how she can help the planet and the oceans. Her goal when she grows up is to be an Indigenous lawyer. Kudos to her!! “

Brittany, our Sea Smart Facilitator, also shared her personal insights: “The ‘Life Below Water: Ocean Conservation’ workshops have given us an opportunity to connect with youth all over Canada, from British Columbia to Nova Scotia!  With small class sizes, participants were able to dive into discussions about the importance of the ocean, how gender equality and ocean conservation are tied together, and how they can help. Every workshop, I was left feeling inspired and hopeful for our future after hearing how much participants have and will continue to advocate for ‘Life Below Water’ and all the Sustainable Development Goals. Thank you SCWIST for funding these workshops. Thank you so much to Anju for joining the workshops. All her positivity and words of encouragement were a wonderful addition to the workshops”

On August 17th, Anju also did the intro with our SCWIST program highlights to the group of teachers: 

“Sea Smart Facilitator Hailey Renaud did an amazing job to capture the interest of the teachers during the Pro D workshop. I like the way she laid out her presentation with a good pace, true/false questions, some prompts, some videos, and overall great discussions amongst the group! We had one participant from India and I was glad that she found Sea Smart info from my Linkedin Profile as I was promoting that workshop. I was impressed that she attended the meeting early in the morning (as per her time zone) and participated in all discussions.”

Here are a few comments from the teachers about ocean conservation, the SDGs, and their input to solve the issues:

  • “Set definite times for outdoor learning wherever you teach. Rivers lead to oceans. Tech the water cycle. Encourage land connection, water connection, nature connection”
  • “We took youth on hikes at least once a week and usually near a water source, so discussions of the water cycle were involved”
  • “Rather than becoming “stewards” recognize that we are all connected, rivers, people, animals, trees, …. We are part of it all, not above it. We all need each other”

Hailey and Anju contributed more solutions to the discussion such as:

  • Wasteless lunch, wasteless day etc.
  • Campaign to walk/bike to school
  • Have monitors at waste separation station
  • Posters to spread awareness
  • Upcycle various items that would end up in the trash
  • Invite Sea Smart in to give a workshop in the classroom
  • DIY items that have less chemicals e.g. laundry detergent
  • Respect, Reduce, Reuse, Recycle, and Refuse.

All of these collaborative experiences during a short week in August build a strong foundation that is inspirational for all of us – especially how youth are volunteering their time to support sustainability, ocean conservation, gender equality and LBGTQ equality.

A big thank you to Anju and our SCWIST team for volunteering their time and passion! And congrats to Sea Smart for their creative expertise to integrate these important messages along with interactive discussions and learning activities – so that we can ALL take action towards the Sustainable Development Goals!

What’s next? Sea Smart will be providing some virtual resources to reinforce the learning opportunities.  These workshops will be available for SCWIST to engage youth in ocean conservation, sustainability and diversity. EVERYONE can learn more about Generation Equality to support the Sustainable Development Goals and the Global Acceleration Plan here.  Learn more about how SCWIST advocates for Gender Equality and the SDGs as a recent nominee for the Canadian SDG Accelerators Awards.