تحفز SCWIST على التعافي النسوي في كندا: STEM Forward من أجل الازدهار الاقتصادي

جمعية المرأة الكندية في العلوم والتكنولوجيا (SCWIST) تفخر بالإعلان عن دعم تمويلي من منظمة المرأة والمساواة بين الجنسين في كندا (WAGE) لدعم التعافي النسوي في كندا بمشروعها لدفع "STEM Forward for Economic Prosperity". يسعدنا أن نكون واحدًا من 237 مشروعًا في جميع أنحاء كندا يتم دعمها من قبل 100 مليون دولار من صندوق استعادة الاستجابة النسوية.

لمدة 40 عامًا ، كان SCWIST في طليعة المساواة بين الجنسين في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات). لقد أدى COVID-19 إلى توسيع الشقوق المنهجية - حيث تضخمت أوجه عدم المساواة بين النساء. يركز مشروع SCWIST على الوصول إلى الوظائف ، وممارسات التوظيف ، والمساواة في الأجور ، والعمل المرن ، والإجازة الوالدية ، وثقافة مكان العمل. ستعمل هذه الروافع على تعزيز السياسة لتغذية الانتعاش الاقتصادي العادل للكنديين بجميع أبعاد التنوع. الرخاء الاقتصادي الكندي مدفوع بالابتكار في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) - من خلال تطبيق أدمغة متنوعة مدربة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) ، يمكننا حل المشكلات المعقدة في الوقت الحاضر والمستقبل.

"لتسريع التغيير المنهجي ، يتعين علينا إزالة الحواجز التي تحول دون المساواة بين الجنسين والتي تمنع وصول النساء والمجموعات الأخرى الممثلة تمثيلا ناقصا إلى وظائف العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ذات الأجر الجيد." توضح الدكتورة كريستين كارينو ، رئيسة SCWIST ، وهي مهاجرة إلى كندا وبطلة الأمهات العائدات إلى العمل. يسير الازدهار الاقتصادي والأمن جنبًا إلى جنب مع السياسات والعمليات التنظيمية لضمان ثقافات مكان العمل المتكافئة للنساء المتنوعات. سنقوم بفحص فجوات الأجور بين الجنسين لإنشاء عمليات وحوافز لتقليل تلك الفجوات ، بما في ذلك التركيز على مقاييس المساءلة والشفافية لمشاركة العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات والمساواة في الأجور. نظرًا لأن الإجازة الوالدية وسياسات العمل المرنة عاملان أيضًا في فجوة الأجور ، فسيتم التعامل معها بشكل منهجي لزيادة الاحتفاظ والإنتاجية والرضا ".

سيعالج هذا المشروع التعاوني أيضًا الأعراف والمواقف الجنسانية الضارة من خلال إشراك الرجال ليكونوا مرشدين وحلفاء في مكان العمل. سيؤدي دفع المزيد من النساء إلى مناصب قيادية إلى زيادة سلطة المرأة وصوتها وقدرتها على اتخاذ القرار. سيتم تسليط الضوء على المنظمات التي لديها عمليات إنصاف قوية وتشجيعها على توجيه المنظمات الأخرى لبناء القدرات والتأثير الجماعي.

يضيف رونيل ألبرتس ، نائب رئيس SCWIST ، وهو متخصص في التكنولوجيا وعضو فخور في مجتمع 2SLGBTQA + ، "يجب أن يملأ الانتعاش النسوي خط أنابيب العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات باستخدام عدسة متقاطعة ونهج منسق لمعالجة الحواجز النظامية أمام العدالة. من خلال الأصوات الموحدة والموارد المشتركة ونفوذ شركائنا ، يمكن تغيير السياسة العامة لتطبيع الممارسات العادلة التي طورناها واختبرناها على مستوى المؤسسة. إن الاستجابة النسوية الحقيقية للأنظمة التي عفا عليها الزمن والتي سلطت الضوء عليها COVID-19 ستضمن حصول الفتيات والنساء من جميع الخلفيات على فرص الازدهار والأمن في قطاعات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات للمساهمة في ازدهار كندا ".

لمزيد من المعلومات: تعلن حكومة كندا عن المستفيدين من 100 مليون دولار لصندوق الاستجابة النسوية والإنعاش (من منظمة المرأة والمساواة بين الجنسين في كندا).

المزيد حول SCWIST: SCWIST تأسست في 1981 كمنظمة خيرية وطنية للنهوض بالمرأة والفتاة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. اليوم ، نحن موجودون لخلق بيئة حيث يمكن للنساء والفتيات والسكان المحرومين في كندا متابعة اهتماماتهم وتعليمهم ووظائفهم في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) دون عوائق. تقود قيمنا مهمتنا لتعزيز المشاركة والتقدم من خلال التعليم والشبكات والإرشاد والشراكات التعاونية و المناصرة.

أفضل STEM إلى الأمام من أجل الانتعاش النسوي في كندا يعتمد المشروع على إنجازات مشاريع SCWIST الأخرى التي يدعمها WAGE في العقد الماضي ، بما في ذلك جعل ذلك ممكنا شبكة التوجيه ، اجعل التنوع ممكنًا و SCALE لبناء القدرات والوصول والشراكات وتأثير الدعوة.

SCWIST Fuels Canada’s Feminist Recovery: STEM Forward for Economic Prosperity

The Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology (SCWIST) is proud to announce funding support from Women and Gender Equality Canada (WAGE) to fuel Canada’s feminist recovery with its project to propel ‘STEM Forward for Economic Prosperity’. We are thrilled to be one of 237 projects across Canada to be supported by the $100 million Feminist Response Recovery Fund.

For 40 years, SCWIST has been at the forefront of gender equality in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math). COVID-19 has widened the systemic cracks – women’s inequities are magnified. SCWIST’s project focuses on job access, hiring practices, pay equity, flexible work, parental leave and workplace culture. These levers will advance policy to fuel an economic recovery that is equitable for Canadians with all dimensions of diversity. Canada’s economic prosperity is driven by STEM innovation – by applying diverse, STEM-trained brains we can solve the complex problems of today and the future.

“To accelerate systemic change, we have to remove the barriers to gender equality that prevent access for women and other underrepresented groups to well-paying STEM jobs.” Dr. Khristine Carino, SCWIST President, an immigrant to Canada and champion of moms returning to work, explains. “Economic prosperity and security go hand-in-hand with organizational policies and processes to ensure equitable workplace cultures for diverse women. We will examine gender pay gaps to create processes and incentives to reduce those gaps, including a focus on accountability and transparency metrics for STEM participation and pay equity. Since parental leave and flexible work policies also factor into the pay gap, these will be addressed systematically to increase retention, productivity and satisfaction.”

This collaborative project will also address harmful gender norms and attitudes by engaging men to be mentors and allies in the workplace. Advancing more women into leadership roles will increase women’s authority, voice and decision-making power. Organizations with robust equity processes will be highlighted and encouraged to mentor other organizations to build capacity and collective impact.

SCWIST Vice-President Ronel Alberts, a Tech specialist and proud member of the 2SLGBTQA+ community, adds, “a feminist recovery must fill the STEM pipeline using an intersectional lens and harmonized approach to address systemic barriers to equity. With unified voices, shared resources and the leverage of our partners, public policy can be shifted to normalize the equitable practices we have developed and tested at the organization level. A true feminist response to the outdated systems brought to light by COVID-19 will ensure that girls and women from all backgrounds have opportunities for prosperity and security in STEM sectors to contribute to Canada’s prosperity.”

For more information: Government of Canada announces recipients of $100-million Feminist Response and Recovery Fund (from Women and Gender Equality Canada).

More about SCWIST: SCWIST was founded in 1981 as a national charitable organization to advance women and girls in STEM. Today, we exist to create an environment where women, girls and underserved populations in Canada can pursue their interest, education, and careers in STEM without barriers.  Our values drive our mission to promote participation and advancement through education, networking, mentorship, collaborative partnerships and advocacy.

The STEM Forward for Canada’s Feminist Recovery project builds on the accomplishments of other SCWIST projects supported by WAGE in the past decade, including the Make Possible mentoring network, Make DIVERSITY Possible and SCALE to build capacity, reach, partnerships and advocacy impact.