معارض العلوم ومؤتمرات STEM وبدء المدرسة خلال COVID-19

كتب بواسطة: مايا بون

حضور أو استضافة حدث افتراضي أثناء الجائحة؟

سوف يفاجئك. هذا هو الشيء الرئيسي. سيكون الأمر كذلك ، وأعتقد أنني أستطيع أن أقول ذلك نيابة عن معظم الأشخاص الذين مروا بأحداث عبر الإنترنت.

هناك جوانب إضافية ، كما جربت مع معارض العلوم الافتراضية. بدلاً من مقابلة المتسابقين والقضاة المحليين فقط ، تمكنت من رؤية المشاريع والتعرف على الطلاب والمهنيين من جميع أنحاء القارة! بتوجيهات وتوجيهات من الدكتورة إيزابيلا تاي والدكتورة زينب بزي من مركز أبحاث السرطان في كولومبيا البريطانية ، تمكنت من إكمال مشروعي البحثي للصف الثاني عشر ، "تحديد العلامات الجينية التشخيصية والإنذارية لسرطان الخلايا الكبدية". من خلال هذه التجربة ، تمكنت من المساهمة في أبحاث السرطان في المدرسة الثانوية ، والتي كانت مجزية حقًا. 

التطوع والخطوات الأولى

أصبحت مهتمًا بأبحاث السرطان بسبب خبرتي في التطوع مع مؤسسة West Coast Kids Cancer Foundation ، وقيادة الأنشطة والغناء في المعسكرات اليومية للأطفال المصابين بالسرطان وإخوتهم. أعطى West Coast Kids هؤلاء الأطفال فرصة ليكونوا أطفالًا فقط ، ومنح عائلاتهم بعض الوقت والفرص للاسترخاء. لقد قابلت فريقًا رائعًا من منسقي البرامج وموظفي الرعاية الصحية الذين علموني عن الرعاية والمحادثات في عالم السرطان. البرنامج خاص جدًا لكل من كان جزءًا منه بسبب الأطفال المذهلين الذين يتمتعون بالمرح والحب والمتحمسين للعب مع بعضهم البعض ، افتراضيًا وشخصيًا عندما يكون ذلك ممكنًا.

سرطان الخلايا الكبدية (HCC) لا يصيب الأطفال ولكنه خامس أكثر أنواع السرطانات شيوعًا على مستوى العالم [1] ، ويمثل 75-85٪ من سرطانات الكبد الأولية [2]. لسوء الحظ ، فإن سرطان الكبد (HCC) هو السبب الأسرع صعودًا للوفيات المرتبطة بالسرطان في كندا [3] والولايات المتحدة [4]. على عكس معظم الأورام الصلبة الأخرى ، فإن المضاعفات الناتجة عن تليف الكبد في سرطان الكبد تجعل التكهن أكثر صعوبة [5]. وبالتالي ، هناك حاجة إلى مؤشرات حيوية جديدة للتنبؤ بشكل أفضل بمرضى سرطان الكبد. هذا هو المكان الذي جاء فيه مشروعي مع الدكتور تاي والدكتور بزي: من خلال الجمع بين مصادر ودراسات متعددة ، عملت على تحديد الجينات التي تم التعبير عنها بشكل مختلف في أنسجة الكبد الطبيعية مقابل أنسجة الكبد والتي يمكن استخدامها جنبًا إلى جنب مع البروتينات التي تم ترميزها. كعلامات النذير. 

في النهاية ، تمكنت من تحديد 16 جينة ترميز بروتين ذات صلة تم التعبير عنها بشكل تفاضلي في كل من مجموعات البيانات الجغرافية. كانت جميع الجينات باستثناء واحدة ناقصة التعبير في أنسجة سرطان الكبد ، وهي علامة جيدة لأن الجينات التي تعاني من نقص التعبير يمكن تشخيصها في الخزعات ، وهي مفيدة لدراسات الأنسجة (الأنسجة). كما تم العثور على العديد من الخصائص التنبؤية في الدراسات السابقة ، وأنا أتطلع إلى رؤية البعض يتم اختبارهم تجريبيًا وفي النهاية سريريًا.

التغلب على ما هو غير متوقع

لسوء الحظ ، تعني قيود COVID-19 أنني لم أتمكن من اختبار نتائجي في المختبر. ومع ذلك ، تعلمت العديد من المهارات القيمة ، بما في ذلك كيفية استخدام برامج الرسوم البيانية وقواعد البيانات البيولوجية عبر الإنترنت. تعتمد الأبحاث بشكل كبير على قواعد البيانات والبرامج عبر الإنترنت ، والتي يمكن الوصول إلى الكثير منها من أجهزة الكمبيوتر الشخصية ، وكان هذا مفيدًا بشكل خاص خلال عام منعنا من الذهاب إلى المختبر ومركز الأبحاث.

على الرغم من إلغاء معارض العلوم الشخصية ، إلا أنني تمكنت من المشاركة في معرض BC Virtual Science Fair ومسابقة INSPO للبحث والابتكار على مستوى أمريكا الشمالية. كانت هذه تجارب رائعة لأنني تمكنت من تقديم نتائجي إلى باحث التجارب السريرية للعلاج الكيميائي ، وطبيب فيزيائي ، وطبيب نفسي ، وطلاب جامعيين من جميع أنحاء العالم. انتهى بي الأمر إلى الاعتراف بأنني أمتلك أفضل مشروع في علم الأحياء في معرض BC وأكبر مشروع للمعلوماتية الحيوية في مسابقة INSPO. بعد المعارض العلمية ، كتبت مسودة أولى مع الدكتور تاي لمراجعة أكثر شمولاً للأدبيات حول سرطان الكبد.

قرارات تحت الضغط

قبل بضعة أشهر من المعارض العلمية ، كان لدي وفريقي التنفيذيين في Quantum Leaps Burnaby STEM تجربة مجنونة لتحويل مؤتمر شخصي إلى بث مباشر افتراضي في شهر واحد فقط. لقد خططنا لعقد مؤتمر STEM السنوي لطالبات المدارس الثانوية وغير الثنائيات في جامعة Simon Fraser كالمعتاد في أبريل. لقد كنت متحمسًا بشكل خاص لمؤتمر 2020 هذا لأنني قمت بتطوير موضوع "صنع التغيير" لاستكشاف كيف يمكن أن تكون العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات حافزًا للتغيير في مجموعة متنوعة من القضايا الاجتماعية والبيئية. لكن بالطبع ، الأحداث التي جمعت الكثير من الناس مثل قفزات كوانتوم لا يمكن أن تستمر بسبب الوباء. بصفتي رئيس المؤتمر ، كان علي اتخاذ قرار بشأن إلغاء الحدث بالكامل أم لا. 

كوانتوم قفزات بورنبي الفريق التنفيذي (2020-21) من الأعلى إلى الأسفل ، من اليسار إلى اليمين: آني وو (مديرة وسائل الإعلام) ، مايا بون (الرئيس) ، راشيل لي (مديرة التسويق) ، سوزان تشونغ (سكرتيرة) ، راشيل تشاو (مصمم جرافيك) ، وجيليان تشانغ (أمين الصندوق).

قبول عدم اليقين

بسبب كل العمل الذي بذله فريقي بالفعل في جعل المؤتمر مجزيًا قدر الإمكان للحاضرين ، والدعم اللطيف من SCWIST والمتحدثين الرائعين - محترفي العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، والعديد من المديرين التنفيذيين والأعضاء في SCWIST ، الذين أحدثوا تغييرًا إيجابيًا في كل منهم الحقول - لم أستطع تركها تذهب. لم أكن مرتاحًا بعد لاستضافة اجتماعات افتراضية مع أكثر من عشرين شخصًا ، خاصة مع كل الإحساس بـ "Zoombombing" في النصف الأول من عام 2020 ، لذلك اكتشفت كيفية بث مكالمة إلى YouTube في الأسابيع القليلة التي أمضيناها. عمل فريقي الرائع بجد للترويج للبث المباشر عبر الإنترنت ولمدارسهم. انتهى بنا المطاف بالوصول إلى أكثر من 60 مشاهدًا أثناء البث المباشر ، وقد حصد التسجيل الآن أكثر من 500 مشاهدة - شكرًا لكل من شاهده! آمل أن يكون كل واحد منكم قد أخذ بعض الحكمة من العلماء والمهندسين والمصممين والدعاة. يمكنك التحقق من البث المباشر هنا وترقب مؤتمر 2021 هنا.

إذا أخبرتني في بداية الصف 12 أنني سأكمل الثلث الأخير من العام الدراسي وآخر مشروع علمي في المدرسة الثانوية عبر الإنترنت ، فأعتقد أنني كنت سأضحك أو سأشعر بالقلق حقًا. لكن الأحداث عبر الإنترنت فاجأتني من نواح كثيرة جيدة. أتمنى أن تكون قد وجدت الخير فيهم أيضًا.

مايا حاليا عضو في سينبيو فريق في McMaster University وسيمثل كندا في iGEM 2021! إقرأ المزيد.

Science Fairs, STEM Conferences, and Starting School During COVID-19

Written by: Maia Poon

Attending or hosting a virtual event during the pandemic?

It will surprise you. That’s the main thing. It will also be okay, and I think I can say that on the behalf of most people who have experienced online events.

There are plus sides, as I experienced with virtual science fairs. Instead of meeting only local contestants and judges, I was able to see the projects and get to know students and professionals from across the continent! With the guidance and mentorship of Dr. Isabella Tai and Dr. Zainab Bazzi from the B.C. Cancer Research Centre, I was able to complete my grade 12 research project, “Identifying Hepatocellular Carcinoma (HCC) Diagnostic and Prognostic Genetic Markers.” Through this experience, I was able to contribute to cancer research in high school, which was really rewarding. 

Volunteerism and the first steps

I became interested in cancer research because of my experience volunteering with the West Coast Kids Cancer Foundation, leading activities and sing-alongs at day camps for children with cancer and their siblings. West Coast Kids gave these kids a chance to just be kids, and it gave their families some time and opportunities to relax. I have met a beautiful team of program coordinators and healthcare staff who have taught me about care and conversations in the cancer world. The program is so special to everyone who has been a part of it because of the incredible kids who are funny, loving, and excited to play with each other, virtually and in person when it’s possible.

Hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) does not affect children but is the fifth most common cancer globally [1], representing 75–85% of primary liver cancers [2]. Unfortunately, HCC is the fastest rising cause of cancer-related death in Canada [3] and the U.S [4]. In contrast to most other solid tumors, the complications resulting from liver cirrhosis in HCC make prognosis much more difficult to predict [5]. Consequently, novel biomarkers are needed to better predict prognosis in patients with HCC. This is where my project with Dr. Tai and Dr. Bazzi came in: Combining multiple sources and studies, I worked towards identifying genes that were differentially expressed in normal versus HCC liver tissue that, along with the proteins they coded for, could be used as prognostic markers. 

In the end, I was able to identify 16 relevant protein coding genes that were significantly differentially expressed in both Geo DataSets. All of the genes except one were underexpressed in HCC tissue, which is a good sign because underexpressed genes can be diagnostic in biopsies, and are beneficial to histology (tissue) studies. Many had also been found to have prognostic properties in previous studies, and I look forward to seeing some be tested experimentally and eventually, clinically.

Overcoming the unexpected

Unfortunately, COVID-19 restrictions meant that I was unable to test my findings in the lab. Nevertheless, I learned many valuable skills, including how to use online graphing software and biological databases. Research relies heavily on online databases and software, much of which can be accessed from personal computers, and this was especially helpful during a year that prevented us from going into the lab and research centre.

Although in-person science fairs were cancelled, I was able to enter the B.C. Virtual Science Fair and the North America-wide INSPO Research and Innovation Competition. These were great experiences because I was able to present my findings to a chemotherapy clinical trial researcher, a physiatrist, a psychiatrist, and university students from around the world. I ended up being recognized as having a top biology project in the B.C. fair and a top bioinformatics project in the INSPO competition. After the science fairs, I wrote a first draft with Dr. Tai of a more thorough literature review on HCC.

Decisions under pressure

A few months before the science fairs, my Quantum Leaps Burnaby STEM executive team and I had the crazy experience of turning around an in-person conference into a virtual livestream in just one month. We had planned for our annual STEM conference for high-school female and non-binary students to take place at Simon Fraser University as usual in April. I was particularly excited for this 2020 conference because I had developed the theme Change Making to explore how STEM could be a catalyst for change in a variety of social and environmental issues. But of course, events bringing together lots of people like Quantum Leaps could not go on due to the pandemic. As the Chair of the conference, I had to make the decision of whether or not to cancel the event completely. 

Quantum Leaps Burnaby Executive Team (2020-21) top to bottom, left to right: Annie Wu (Media Director), Maia Poon (Chair), Rachel Lee (Marketing Director), Susan Chung (Secretary), Rachel Chao (Graphic Designer), and Gillian Chang (Treasurer).

Accepting uncertainty

Because of all the work my team had already put into making the conference as rewarding as possible for our attendees, the kind support from SCWIST, and the amazing speakers—STEM professionals, many SCWIST executives and members, who had made positive change in their respective fields—I could not let it go. I was not yet comfortable hosting virtual meetings with more than twenty people, especially with all the sensation over “Zoombombing” in the first half of 2020, so I figured out how to broadcast a call to YouTube in the few weeks we had. My fantastic team worked hard to promote the livestream across the internet and to their schools. We ended up reaching over 60 viewers during the livestream, and the recording now has over 500 views—thank you to everyone who has seen it! I hope that each of you have taken some wisdom from the scientists, engineers, designers, and advocates. You can check the livestream out here and stay tuned for the 2021 conference here.

If you told me at the beginning of grade 12 that I would complete the last third of the school year and my last high school science project online, I think I would have laughed or gotten really worried. But online events have surprised me, in many good ways. I hope you have found the good in them as well.

Maia is currently a member of the SynBio Team at McMaster University and will be representing Canada at iGEM 2021! Learn more.