Foires scientifiques, conférences STEM et début de l'école pendant le COVID-19

Retour aux articles

Foires scientifiques, conférences STEM et début de l'école pendant le COVID-19

Écrit par: Maïa Poon

À quoi ressemble la participation ou l’organisation d’un événement virtuel pendant la pandémie ?

Cela vous surprendra. C'est l'essentiel. Tout ira bien également, et je pense pouvoir le dire au nom de la plupart des personnes qui ont vécu des événements en ligne.

Il y a des côtés positifs, comme j'en ai fait l'expérience avec les expo-sciences virtuelles. Au lieu de rencontrer uniquement des candidats et des juges locaux, j'ai pu voir les projets et rencontrer des étudiants et des professionnels de tout le continent ! Avec les conseils et le mentorat de la Dre Isabella Tai et de la Dre Zainab Bazzi du BC Cancer Research Centre, j'ai pu terminer mon projet de recherche de 12e année, « Identification des marqueurs génétiques diagnostiques et pronostiques du carcinome hépatocellulaire (CHC). » Grâce à cette expérience, j'ai pu contribuer à la recherche sur le cancer au lycée, ce qui était vraiment enrichissant. 

Le volontariat et les premiers pas

Je me suis intéressé à la recherche sur le cancer en raison de mon expérience de bénévolat avec la West Coast Kids Cancer Foundation, en dirigeant des activités et en chantant dans des camps de jour pour les enfants atteints de cancer et leurs frères et sœurs. West Coast Kids a donné à ces enfants la chance d'être simplement des enfants, et cela a donné à leurs familles du temps et des occasions de se détendre. J'ai rencontré une belle équipe de coordonnateurs de programmes et de personnel de santé qui m'ont appris les soins et les conversations dans le monde du cancer. Le programme est si spécial pour tous ceux qui y ont participé en raison des enfants incroyables qui sont drôles, aimants et enthousiastes à l'idée de jouer les uns avec les autres, virtuellement et en personne quand c'est possible.

Le carcinome hépatocellulaire (CHC) n'affecte pas les enfants mais est le cinquième cancer le plus fréquent dans le monde [1], représentant 75 à 85% des cancers primitifs du foie [2]. Malheureusement, le CHC est la cause de décès liés au cancer qui augmente le plus rapidement au Canada [3] et aux États-Unis [4]. Contrairement à la plupart des autres tumeurs solides, les complications résultant de la cirrhose du foie dans le CHC rendent le pronostic beaucoup plus difficile à prévoir [5]. Par conséquent, de nouveaux biomarqueurs sont nécessaires pour mieux prédire le pronostic chez les patients atteints de CHC. C'est là qu'intervient mon projet avec le Dr Tai et le Dr Bazzi : en combinant plusieurs sources et études, j'ai travaillé à l'identification de gènes qui étaient exprimés de manière différentielle dans le tissu hépatique normal par rapport au tissu hépatique HCC qui, avec les protéines pour lesquelles ils ont codé, pourraient être utilisés comme marqueurs pronostiques. 

En fin de compte, j'ai pu identifier 16 gènes codant pour des protéines pertinentes qui étaient exprimés de manière significativement différentielle dans les deux Geo DataSets. Tous les gènes sauf un étaient sous-exprimés dans le tissu HCC, ce qui est un bon signe car les gènes sous-exprimés peuvent être diagnostiques dans les biopsies et sont bénéfiques pour les études histologiques (tissus). Beaucoup d'entre eux se sont également avérés avoir des propriétés pronostiques dans des études précédentes, et j'ai hâte de voir certains être testés expérimentalement et éventuellement cliniquement.

Surmonter l'inattendu

Malheureusement, les restrictions liées au COVID-19 m'ont empêché de tester mes découvertes en laboratoire. Néanmoins, j'ai acquis de nombreuses compétences précieuses, notamment comment utiliser des logiciels de création de graphiques en ligne et des bases de données biologiques. La recherche repose fortement sur des bases de données et des logiciels en ligne, dont une grande partie est accessible à partir d'ordinateurs personnels, et cela a été particulièrement utile pendant une année qui nous a empêchés d'aller au laboratoire et au centre de recherche.

Bien que les expo-sciences en personne aient été annulées, j'ai pu participer à l'expo-sciences virtuelle de la Colombie-Britannique et au concours de recherche et d'innovation INSPO à l'échelle de l'Amérique du Nord. Ce furent des expériences formidables car j'ai pu présenter mes découvertes à un chercheur d'essais cliniques en chimiothérapie, à un physiatre, à un psychiatre et à des étudiants universitaires du monde entier. J'ai fini par être reconnu comme ayant un projet de biologie de haut niveau au salon BC et un projet de bioinformatique de haut niveau au concours INSPO. Après les expo-sciences, j'ai rédigé un premier projet avec le Dr Tai d'une revue de littérature plus approfondie sur le CHC.

Des décisions sous pression

Quelques mois avant les expo-sciences, mon équipe de direction Quantum Leaps Burnaby STEM et moi avons eu la folle expérience de transformer une conférence en personne en un livestream virtuel en seulement un mois. Nous avions prévu que notre conférence annuelle sur les STEM pour les étudiantes du secondaire et les étudiantes non binaires se tiendrait à l'Université Simon Fraser comme d'habitude en avril. J'étais particulièrement enthousiasmé par cette conférence 2020 parce que j'avais développé le thème Change Making pour explorer comment les STIM pourraient être un catalyseur de changement dans une variété de problèmes sociaux et environnementaux. Mais bien sûr, des événements rassemblant de nombreuses personnes comme Quantum Leaps n'ont pas pu se poursuivre en raison de la pandémie. En tant que président de la conférence, j'ai dû prendre la décision d'annuler complètement ou non l'événement. 

Quantum Leaps Burnaby Executive Team (2020-21) de haut en bas, de gauche à droite : Annie Wu (directrice des médias), Maia Poon (présidente), Rachel Lee (directrice du marketing), Susan Chung (secrétaire), Rachel Chao (graphiste) , et Gillian Chang (trésorière).

Because of all the work my team had already put into making the conference as rewarding as possible for our attendees, the kind support from SCWIST, and the amazing speakers—STEM professionals, many SCWIST executives and members, who had made positive change in their respective fields—I could not let it go. I was not yet comfortable hosting virtual meetings with more than twenty people, especially with all the sensation over “Zoombombing” in the first half of 2020, so I figured out how to broadcast a call to YouTube in the few weeks we had. My fantastic team worked hard to promote the livestream across the internet and to their schools. We ended up reaching over 60 viewers during the livestream, and the recording now has over 500 views—thank you to everyone who has seen it! I hope that each of you have taken some wisdom from the scientists, engineers, designers, and advocates.

Accepter l'incertitude

Si vous m'aviez dit au début de la 12e année que je terminerais le dernier tiers de l'année scolaire et mon dernier projet scientifique au secondaire en ligne, je pense que j'aurais ri ou me serais vraiment inquiété. Mais les événements en ligne m'ont surpris, à bien des égards. J'espère que vous avez trouvé le bon en eux aussi.

Maia est actuellement membre du SynBio Équipe de l'Université McMaster et représentera le Canada à iGEM 2021! Apprendre encore plus.

Restons en contact !


En haut

Science Fairs, STEM Conferences, and Starting School During COVID-19

Written by: Maia Poon

Attending or hosting a virtual event during the pandemic?

It will surprise you. That’s the main thing. It will also be okay, and I think I can say that on the behalf of most people who have experienced online events.

There are plus sides, as I experienced with virtual science fairs. Instead of meeting only local contestants and judges, I was able to see the projects and get to know students and professionals from across the continent! With the guidance and mentorship of Dr. Isabella Tai and Dr. Zainab Bazzi from the B.C. Cancer Research Centre, I was able to complete my grade 12 research project, “Identifying Hepatocellular Carcinoma (HCC) Diagnostic and Prognostic Genetic Markers.” Through this experience, I was able to contribute to cancer research in high school, which was really rewarding. 

Volunteerism and the first steps

I became interested in cancer research because of my experience volunteering with the West Coast Kids Cancer Foundation, leading activities and sing-alongs at day camps for children with cancer and their siblings. West Coast Kids gave these kids a chance to just be kids, and it gave their families some time and opportunities to relax. I have met a beautiful team of program coordinators and healthcare staff who have taught me about care and conversations in the cancer world. The program is so special to everyone who has been a part of it because of the incredible kids who are funny, loving, and excited to play with each other, virtually and in person when it’s possible.

Hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) does not affect children but is the fifth most common cancer globally [1], representing 75–85% of primary liver cancers [2]. Unfortunately, HCC is the fastest rising cause of cancer-related death in Canada [3] and the U.S [4]. In contrast to most other solid tumors, the complications resulting from liver cirrhosis in HCC make prognosis much more difficult to predict [5]. Consequently, novel biomarkers are needed to better predict prognosis in patients with HCC. This is where my project with Dr. Tai and Dr. Bazzi came in: Combining multiple sources and studies, I worked towards identifying genes that were differentially expressed in normal versus HCC liver tissue that, along with the proteins they coded for, could be used as prognostic markers. 

In the end, I was able to identify 16 relevant protein coding genes that were significantly differentially expressed in both Geo DataSets. All of the genes except one were underexpressed in HCC tissue, which is a good sign because underexpressed genes can be diagnostic in biopsies, and are beneficial to histology (tissue) studies. Many had also been found to have prognostic properties in previous studies, and I look forward to seeing some be tested experimentally and eventually, clinically.

Overcoming the unexpected

Unfortunately, COVID-19 restrictions meant that I was unable to test my findings in the lab. Nevertheless, I learned many valuable skills, including how to use online graphing software and biological databases. Research relies heavily on online databases and software, much of which can be accessed from personal computers, and this was especially helpful during a year that prevented us from going into the lab and research centre.

Although in-person science fairs were cancelled, I was able to enter the B.C. Virtual Science Fair and the North America-wide INSPO Research and Innovation Competition. These were great experiences because I was able to present my findings to a chemotherapy clinical trial researcher, a physiatrist, a psychiatrist, and university students from around the world. I ended up being recognized as having a top biology project in the B.C. fair and a top bioinformatics project in the INSPO competition. After the science fairs, I wrote a first draft with Dr. Tai of a more thorough literature review on HCC.

Decisions under pressure

A few months before the science fairs, my Quantum Leaps Burnaby STEM executive team and I had the crazy experience of turning around an in-person conference into a virtual livestream in just one month. We had planned for our annual STEM conference for high-school female and non-binary students to take place at Simon Fraser University as usual in April. I was particularly excited for this 2020 conference because I had developed the theme Change Making to explore how STEM could be a catalyst for change in a variety of social and environmental issues. But of course, events bringing together lots of people like Quantum Leaps could not go on due to the pandemic. As the Chair of the conference, I had to make the decision of whether or not to cancel the event completely. 

Quantum Leaps Burnaby Executive Team (2020-21) top to bottom, left to right: Annie Wu (Media Director), Maia Poon (Chair), Rachel Lee (Marketing Director), Susan Chung (Secretary), Rachel Chao (Graphic Designer), and Gillian Chang (Treasurer).

Accepting uncertainty

Because of all the work my team had already put into making the conference as rewarding as possible for our attendees, the kind support from SCWIST, and the amazing speakers—STEM professionals, many SCWIST executives and members, who had made positive change in their respective fields—I could not let it go. I was not yet comfortable hosting virtual meetings with more than twenty people, especially with all the sensation over “Zoombombing” in the first half of 2020, so I figured out how to broadcast a call to YouTube in the few weeks we had. My fantastic team worked hard to promote the livestream across the internet and to their schools. We ended up reaching over 60 viewers during the livestream, and the recording now has over 500 views—thank you to everyone who has seen it! I hope that each of you have taken some wisdom from the scientists, engineers, designers, and advocates. You can check the livestream out here and stay tuned for the 2021 conference here.

If you told me at the beginning of grade 12 that I would complete the last third of the school year and my last high school science project online, I think I would have laughed or gotten really worried. But online events have surprised me, in many good ways. I hope you have found the good in them as well.

Maia is currently a member of the SynBio Team at McMaster University and will be representing Canada at iGEM 2021! Learn more.