科学展览会,STEM会议和COVID-19期间的入学时间

撰文: 玛雅·潘

在大流行期间参加或举办虚拟活动?

它会让你大吃一惊。 这是主要的。 也没关系,我想我可以代表大多数经历过在线活动的人说。

正如我在虚拟科学博览会上所经历的那样,也有积极的一面。 我不仅看到了当地的参赛者和评委,还看到了项目并结识了来自非洲大陆的学生和专业人士! 在不列颠哥伦比亚省癌症研究中心的 Isabella Tai 博士和 Zainab Bazzi 博士的指导和指导下,我完成了 12 年级的研究项目“识别肝细胞癌 (HCC) 诊断和预后遗传标记物”。 通过这种经验,我能够为高中的癌症研究做出贡献,这确实是令人鼓舞的。 

志愿服务和第一步

我开始对癌症研究感兴趣,因为我曾在西海岸儿童癌症基金会做志愿者,在癌症儿童及其兄弟姐妹的日间营地领导活动和唱歌。 西海岸的孩子们使这些孩子有机会成为孩子,并给他们的家人一些时间和机会放松身心。 我遇到了一个由项目协调员和医疗保健人员组成的美丽团队,他们教会了我关于癌症世界的护理和对话。 该计划对参与其中的每个人来说都非常特别,因为这些令人难以置信的孩子很有趣,充满爱心,并且很高兴在可能的情况下以虚拟方式和面对面地互相玩耍。

肝细胞癌 (HCC) 不影响儿童,但它是全球第五大最常见的癌症 [1],占原发性肝癌的 75-85% [2]。 不幸的是,HCC 是加拿大 [3] 和美国 [4] 癌症相关死亡上升最快的原因。 与大多数其他实体瘤相比,HCC 中肝硬化导致的并发症使得预后更难以预测 [5]。 因此,需要新的生物标志物来更好地预测 HCC 患者的预后。 这就是我与Tai博士和Bazzi博士一起开展的项目的地方:结合多种来源和研究,我致力于鉴定在正常肝细胞与HCC肝组织中差异表达的基因,以及可以使用它们编码的蛋白质作为预后标志物。 

最后,我能够鉴定出16个相关的蛋白质编码基因,它们在两个Geo DataSets中均显着差异表达。 除了一个基因外,所有基因在 HCC 组织中都表达不足,这是一个好兆头,因为表达不足的基因可以在活检中进行诊断,并且有利于组织学(组织)研究。 在之前的研究中也发现许多具有预后特性,我期待看到一些通过实验和最终在临床上进行测试。

克服意外

不幸的是,COVID-19 的限制意味着我无法在实验室中测试我的发现。 尽管如此,我还是学到了许多宝贵的技能,包括如何使用在线绘图软件和生物数据库。 研究在很大程度上依赖于在线数据库和软件,其中大部分都可以通过个人计算机访问,这在我们无法进入实验室和研究中心的一年中尤其有用。

尽管面对面的科学博览会被取消,但我还是能够参加 BC 虚拟科学博览会和北美范围的 INSPO 研究与创新竞赛。 这些都是很棒的经历,因为我能够向来自世界各地的化疗临床试验研究员、理疗师、精神病学家和大学生展示我的发现。 我最终被公认为拥有 BC 博览会的顶级生物学项目和 INSPO 竞赛的顶级生物信息学项目。 科学展览会结束后,我与戴博士共同撰写了一份初稿,内容是关于HCC的更为详尽的文献综述。

压力下的决定

在科学展前几个月,我和我的 Quantum Leaps Burnaby STEM 执行团队经历了在短短一个月内将面对面会议变成虚拟直播的疯狂经历。 我们原计划在 2020 月份照常在西蒙弗雷泽大学为高中女生和非二元学生举办年度 STEM 会议。 我对 XNUMX 年的这次会议感到特别兴奋,因为我制定了主题变革,以探索 STEM 如何成为各种社会和环境问题变革的催化剂。 但是,当然,由于大流行,像 Quantum Leaps 这样将许多人聚集在一起的活动无法继续进行。 作为会议的主席,我不得不做出是否完全取消活动的决定。 

Quantum Leaps Burnaby 执行团队(2020-21)从上到下,从左到右:Annie Wu(媒体总监)、Maia Poon(主席)、Rachel Lee(市场总监)、Susan Chung(秘书)、Rachel Chao(平面设计师) , 和阿娇 (财务主管)。

接受不确定性

由于我们的团队已经做了所有的工作,使会议对我们的与会者来说是最大的回报,SCWIST的慷慨支持以及出色的演讲者-Stem专业人士,SCWIST的许多管理人员和成员,对各自的工作做出了积极的改变田野——我放不下。 我还不太习惯主持 2020 多人的虚拟会议,尤其是在 60 年上半年“Zoombombing”的所有轰动下,所以我想出了如何在几周内向 YouTube 广播电话。 我出色的团队努力在互联网上和他们的学校推广直播。 我们在直播期间最终吸引了 500 多名观众,现在录制的观看次数已超过 2021 次——感谢所有看过它的人! 我希望你们每个人都从科学家、工程师、设计师和倡导者那里得到了一些智慧。 您可以在此处查看直播,并在此处继续关注 XNUMX 年会议。

如果你在 12 年级开始时告诉我,我将在网上完成本学年的最后三分之一和我的最后一个高中科学项目,我想我会笑或非常担心。 但是在线活动在很多方面都让我感到惊讶。 我希望你也发现了它们的优点。

Maia 目前是 合成生物 麦克马斯特大学的团队,将代表加拿大参加 iGEM 2021! 了解更多.

Science Fairs, STEM Conferences, and Starting School During COVID-19

Written by: Maia Poon

Attending or hosting a virtual event during the pandemic?

It will surprise you. That’s the main thing. It will also be okay, and I think I can say that on the behalf of most people who have experienced online events.

There are plus sides, as I experienced with virtual science fairs. Instead of meeting only local contestants and judges, I was able to see the projects and get to know students and professionals from across the continent! With the guidance and mentorship of Dr. Isabella Tai and Dr. Zainab Bazzi from the B.C. Cancer Research Centre, I was able to complete my grade 12 research project, “Identifying Hepatocellular Carcinoma (HCC) Diagnostic and Prognostic Genetic Markers.” Through this experience, I was able to contribute to cancer research in high school, which was really rewarding. 

Volunteerism and the first steps

I became interested in cancer research because of my experience volunteering with the West Coast Kids Cancer Foundation, leading activities and sing-alongs at day camps for children with cancer and their siblings. West Coast Kids gave these kids a chance to just be kids, and it gave their families some time and opportunities to relax. I have met a beautiful team of program coordinators and healthcare staff who have taught me about care and conversations in the cancer world. The program is so special to everyone who has been a part of it because of the incredible kids who are funny, loving, and excited to play with each other, virtually and in person when it’s possible.

Hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) does not affect children but is the fifth most common cancer globally [1], representing 75–85% of primary liver cancers [2]. Unfortunately, HCC is the fastest rising cause of cancer-related death in Canada [3] and the U.S [4]. In contrast to most other solid tumors, the complications resulting from liver cirrhosis in HCC make prognosis much more difficult to predict [5]. Consequently, novel biomarkers are needed to better predict prognosis in patients with HCC. This is where my project with Dr. Tai and Dr. Bazzi came in: Combining multiple sources and studies, I worked towards identifying genes that were differentially expressed in normal versus HCC liver tissue that, along with the proteins they coded for, could be used as prognostic markers. 

In the end, I was able to identify 16 relevant protein coding genes that were significantly differentially expressed in both Geo DataSets. All of the genes except one were underexpressed in HCC tissue, which is a good sign because underexpressed genes can be diagnostic in biopsies, and are beneficial to histology (tissue) studies. Many had also been found to have prognostic properties in previous studies, and I look forward to seeing some be tested experimentally and eventually, clinically.

Overcoming the unexpected

Unfortunately, COVID-19 restrictions meant that I was unable to test my findings in the lab. Nevertheless, I learned many valuable skills, including how to use online graphing software and biological databases. Research relies heavily on online databases and software, much of which can be accessed from personal computers, and this was especially helpful during a year that prevented us from going into the lab and research centre.

Although in-person science fairs were cancelled, I was able to enter the B.C. Virtual Science Fair and the North America-wide INSPO Research and Innovation Competition. These were great experiences because I was able to present my findings to a chemotherapy clinical trial researcher, a physiatrist, a psychiatrist, and university students from around the world. I ended up being recognized as having a top biology project in the B.C. fair and a top bioinformatics project in the INSPO competition. After the science fairs, I wrote a first draft with Dr. Tai of a more thorough literature review on HCC.

Decisions under pressure

A few months before the science fairs, my Quantum Leaps Burnaby STEM executive team and I had the crazy experience of turning around an in-person conference into a virtual livestream in just one month. We had planned for our annual STEM conference for high-school female and non-binary students to take place at Simon Fraser University as usual in April. I was particularly excited for this 2020 conference because I had developed the theme Change Making to explore how STEM could be a catalyst for change in a variety of social and environmental issues. But of course, events bringing together lots of people like Quantum Leaps could not go on due to the pandemic. As the Chair of the conference, I had to make the decision of whether or not to cancel the event completely. 

Quantum Leaps Burnaby Executive Team (2020-21) top to bottom, left to right: Annie Wu (Media Director), Maia Poon (Chair), Rachel Lee (Marketing Director), Susan Chung (Secretary), Rachel Chao (Graphic Designer), and Gillian Chang (Treasurer).

Accepting uncertainty

Because of all the work my team had already put into making the conference as rewarding as possible for our attendees, the kind support from SCWIST, and the amazing speakers—STEM professionals, many SCWIST executives and members, who had made positive change in their respective fields—I could not let it go. I was not yet comfortable hosting virtual meetings with more than twenty people, especially with all the sensation over “Zoombombing” in the first half of 2020, so I figured out how to broadcast a call to YouTube in the few weeks we had. My fantastic team worked hard to promote the livestream across the internet and to their schools. We ended up reaching over 60 viewers during the livestream, and the recording now has over 500 views—thank you to everyone who has seen it! I hope that each of you have taken some wisdom from the scientists, engineers, designers, and advocates. You can check the livestream out here and stay tuned for the 2021 conference here.

If you told me at the beginning of grade 12 that I would complete the last third of the school year and my last high school science project online, I think I would have laughed or gotten really worried. But online events have surprised me, in many good ways. I hope you have found the good in them as well.

Maia is currently a member of the SynBio Team at McMaster University and will be representing Canada at iGEM 2021! Learn more.