رسالة من SCWIST حول اكتشاف مدرسة Kamloops السكنية

تحذير بشأن المحتوى: أعمال عنف وموت ضد السكان الأصليين. يوفر خط الأزمات لجمعية الناجين من المدارس الهندية السكنية دعمًا استشاريًا على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع للناجين من المدارس الداخلية على الرقم 24-7-1-866.

في 28 مايو ، اكتشفت Tk'eml'ps te Secwépemc First Nation جثث 215 طفلًا من السكان الأصليين في مقابر جماعية في مدرسة Kamloops Indian Residential السابقة. تم انتزاع هؤلاء الأطفال من منازلهم وأمهاتهم وآبائهم وإخوتهم ... ولن يعودوا أبدًا. تم دفعهم إلى منشأة قضت على ثقافتهم ولغتهم من خلال العنف والاعتداء العاطفي والجنسي القاسي. 

نتقدم بأحر تعازينا وتضامننا مع الناجين وجميع الأسر المتضررة.

على الرغم من العثور على 215 جثة للأطفال ، فمن المؤكد أنه لا يزال هناك المزيد من الضحايا مجهولي المصير من بين آلاف الأطفال الذين قتلوا. كانت المدارس الداخلية جهدًا منهجيًا ، برعاية كاملة من الحكومة الكندية ، للقضاء تمامًا على ثقافة السكان الأصليين واستيعاب السكان الأصليين بقوة إلى درجة الاختفاء. هذه إبادة جماعية.

في حين أن المدارس الداخلية قد تكون تاريخية ، فإن الصدمة الناتجة بين الأجيال ليست كذلك ، وتواصل سياسات الحكومة الفيدرالية تقويض حقوق الشعوب الأصلية. أثار الاكتشاف المروع لجثث هؤلاء الأطفال جولة أخرى من النقاش حول الحقيقة والمصالحة. من غير المقبول أن يبكي المستوطنون ببساطة. لا يزال الأشخاص غير الأصليين الذين يعيشون هنا ، سواء كانوا بيض أو عنصريين على حدٍ سواء ، يستفيدون من الاستعمار. يجب علينا تثقيف أنفسنا ، والاعتراف بالعنصرية المنهجية التي تستمر في إلحاق الضرر بأسر السكان الأصليين ، واتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة.

SCWIST ملتزم بتحقيق نداءات لجنة الحقيقة والمصالحة للعمل. بالنسبة لمجتمع العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، يشمل ذلك إجراء محادثات صعبة حول حقوق الشعوب الأصلية ، لا سيما في سياق استخراج الموارد الطبيعية وتقاطعات تغير المناخ وحقوق الإنسان.

SCWIST هي منظمة تشجع المشاركة في العلوم - لا يمكننا أن نغض الطرف عن حقيقة أن أحد أشكال هذه الإساءة كان إلى حد كبير تجارب غذائية غير أخلاقية على أطفال المدارس الداخلية. هذه الأعمال فظيعة ويجب علينا ، كأعضاء وداعمين للمجتمع العلمي ، أن ندرك الإرث الضار لهذه التجارب وأن نبقى يقظين بشأن دعم أفضل الممارسات للبحث ، لا سيما عند العمل مع مجموعات السكان الأصليين.

لدينا مسؤولية للمشاركة بنشاط في المصالحة. إليك ما يمكن أن يفعله غير السكان الأصليين:

Message from SCWIST on Kamloops residential school discovery

Content warning: anti-Indigenous violence and death. The Indian Residential School Survivors Society Crisis Line provides counselling support 24/7 to survivors of residential schools at 1-866-925-4419.

On May 28, the Tk’emlúps te Secwépemc First Nation discovered the bodies of 215 Indigenous children in mass graves at the former Kamloops Indian Residential School. These children were ripped away from their homes, their mothers, their fathers, their siblings… never to return. They were pushed into a facility that eliminated their culture and language through violence and ruthless emotional and sexual abuse. 

We extend our deepest condolences and solidarity to survivors and all families affected.

Although 215 children’s bodies were found, it is certain that there are more still unaccounted for of the thousands of children killed. Residential schools were a systematic effort, fully sponsored by the Canadian government, to completely eliminate Indigenous culture and forcefully assimilate Indigenous peoples to the point of invisibility. This is genocide.

While residential schools may be historical, the resulting intergenerational trauma is not, and policies of the federal government continue to undermine the rights of Indigenous peoples. The horrific discovery of these children’s bodies has sparked another round of conversation about Truth and Reconciliation. It is unacceptable for settlers to simply mourn; non-Indigenous people who live here, white and racialized alike, still benefit from colonialism.  We must educate ourselves, acknowledge the systemic racism that continues to harm Indigenous families, and take action.

SCWIST is committed to realizing the Calls to Action of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission. For the STEM community, this includes having difficult conversations about the rights of Indigenous peoples, particularly in the context of natural resource extraction and the intersections of climate change and human rights.

SCWIST is an organization that promotes participation in science – we cannot turn a blind eye to the fact that one form of this abuse was highly unethical nutritional experiments on residential school children. These actions are atrocious and we, as members and supporters of the scientific community, must recognize the hurtful legacy of these experiments and stay vigilant about upholding best practices for research, particularly when working with Indigenous groups.

We have a responsibility to actively participate in reconciliation. Here’s what non-Indigenous folk can do: